DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 9-11, the language is unclear about the relationship between the clamp and stationary platform. Does the stationary platform encompass the clamp or is the stationary platform part of the clamp? Further clarification is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over multiple embodiments Drake (US 9480839 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Drake discloses a lead delivery system (eg. Fig. 1, abstract, Col. 1, Ln. 36-50) comprising: a lead delivery device (eg. Fig. 1-2 lead delivery device) including: a trigger configured to activate a lead advancer to advance a lead into a patient (eg. multiple embodiments Col. 3, Ln. 35-55 Col. 17, Ln. 5-16, Col. 19, Ln. 30-55, hydraulic pressure trigger, Col. 13, Ln. 30-55, claim 1); and a cannula configured to receive the lead (eg. Col. 8, Ln. 14-48 cannulated catheter), the cannula extending through the lead delivery device and having a distal end through which the lead is deployed into the patient (eg. Col. 8, Ln. 14-48, lead guided over the guidewire to target site 82).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined/modified multiple embodiments of the trigger and drive mechanisms such as the hydraulic pressures and advancement member to provide predictable and known alternative ways to bring a lead through a cannula.
Claim(s) 2-8, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over multiple embodiments Drake (US 9480839 B2) in view of Chin (US 2004/0102804 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Drake discloses the invention of claim 1, but does not disclose the system configured to variably control a size of a cannula opening.
Chin teaches an endoscopic introducer device that has an expandable sheath (eg. Para 148-158 Fig. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the invention of Drake with the expandable sheath as taught by Chin to provide the predictable result of having flexibility of accommodating different sizes of instruments being introduced to the body.
Regarding claims 3 and 15, the combined invention of Drake and Chin discloses the cannula is configured to expand (eg. Chin, Fig. 1C-E and 15, 124, Para. 148-158).
Regarding claim 4, the combined invention of Drake and Chin discloses the cannula is configured to separate (eg. Chin, Fig. 1C-E, 124 and Fig. 15, Para. 148-158).
Regarding claim 5, the combined invention of Drake and Chin discloses cannula having two cannula halves (eg. Chin, Fig. 1C, halves of the cannula).
Regarding claim 6, the combined invention of Drake and Chin discloses having multiple cannula segments (eg. Chin, Fig. 1C-E, 124 and Fig. 15, Para. 148-158).
Regarding claim 7, the combined invention of Drake and Chin discloses comprising one or more of a screw, an adjustable latch, a ratcheting mechanism, or a lever to control the size of the cannula opening (eg. Chin, Para. 28, 190, Fig. 1 and 15, lever, one of ordinary skill could use a multitude of different mechanisms such as adjustable latches or levers to control the dilation of the cannula since these are well-known mechanisms in the art).
Regarding claim 8, the combined invention of Drake and Chin discloses a second cannula allowing simultaneous delivery of components into the patient (eg. Chin, Para. 23-24, 62, 222, second instrument/incision/access port).
Regarding claim 16, the combined invention of Drake and Chin discloses an expandable sheath, wherein the cannula is further configured to expand within the sheath and allow the lead to pass through the cannula (eg. Chin, Fig. 1C-E and 15, 124, Para. 34-35 outer expandable sheath, 148-158).
Claim(s) 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over multiple embodiments Drake (US 9480839 B2) in view of Chin (US 2004/0102804 A1), further in view of yee (US 8876712 B2).
Regarding claim 9, Drake discloses the invention of claim 1, but does not disclose a stationary platform for engaging the anatomy of the patient.
Yee teaches an intracardiac sheath stabilizer that has a base that can be held against an exterior chest wall (eg. Abstract, Col. 2, Ln. 55 – Col. 3, Ln. 20, Col. 4, Ln. 18-45, Fig. 9A-B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the invention of Drake to have a stationary base with the tubular sheath as taught by Yee to provide the predictable result of helping stabilize the device to a patient anatomy. One of ordinary skill could use that same tube and anchor system to also move leads in combination with the surgical elements.
Regarding claim 10, the combined invention of Drake and Yee discloses a clamp configured to secure the delivery system to one or more anatomical structures of a patient (eg. Chin, clamp Para. 12, 243, 282 and Yee, Col. 5, Ln. 19-31, Col. 6, Ln. 64 – Col. 7, Ln. 15).
Regarding claim 11, the combined invention of Drake and Yee discloses the clamp comprising the stationary platform and a hook portion configured to extend or retract in relation to the stationary platform Col. 6, Ln. 64 – Col. 7, Ln. 30, Col. 9, Ln. 3-64).
Regarding claim 12, the combined invention of Drake and Yee discloses the cannula is located proximate the stationary platform (eg. Yee Col. 6, Ln. 64 – Col. 7, Ln. 15, Fig. 9A-B).
Regarding claim 13, the combined invention of Drake and Yee discloses the lead delivery device configured to adjust a distance between the distal end of the cannula and the stationary platform (eg. Yee, Col. 7, Ln. 32-48, Col. 9, Ln. 40-52, Col. 13, Ln. 55 – Col. 14, Ln. 6, Fig. 5, Col. 7, Ln. 30-65 different links).
Regarding claim 14, the combined invention of Drake and Yee discloses delivery device including one or more of a screw, an adjustable latch, or a ratcheting mechanism that adjusts the distance between the distal end of the cannula and the stationary platform (eg. Yee, Col. 7, Ln. 32-48, Col. 9, Ln. 40-52, Col. 13, Ln. 55 – Col. 14, Ln. 6, Fig. 5, Col. 7, Ln. 30-65 different links, One of ordinary skill could use the mechanisms as taught by Yee as a known alternative to changing the distance between the base and the distal end of the cannula).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J LAU/Examiner, Art Unit 3796