DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Reference character 109 is not found in the specification, see FIG 1, see also [0019]-[0020].
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8-20-2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I corresponding to claims 1-12 and 15-20 in the reply filed on 8-20-2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8, 12, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung (KR20190123912A).
Regarding Claim 1, Jung discloses a power supply unit of an aerosol generating device, comprising:
a housing (case 10, [0027]);
a power supply (72, [0035]);
an aerosol generator (heater 30) configured to generate an aerosol from an aerosol source by using power supplied from the power supply (e.g., heater 30 receives electricity from the power supply 72 [0035] and heats aerosol source 7 [0036];
a controller configured to control the aerosol generator (microcontroller/MCU 61 receives operation signal of the switch and applies electricity to the heater/aerosol generator 30 [0042]);
an aerosol source accommodation part (space in 20 including accommodating space 20v) configured to allow the aerosol source to be inserted and removed and configured to accommodate at least a part of the aerosol source; (20 is hollow and has a front opening 10i for allowing the insertion of the cigarette 7 and accommodating space 20v receives and accommodates aerosol source/cigarette 7 allowing it to be inserted and removed [0029]-[0030]), and
a movable member configured to move in an insertion direction accompanying insertion of the aerosol source (after cigarette/aerosol source 7 is inserted into accommodating space 20v, and pressed, container 20 moves with cigarette 7 towards its pressed (elastically pressed) position [0049];
a biasing member (elastic support 40) configured to bias the movable member in a direction opposite to the insertion direction (e.g., elastic support/spring 40 elastically supports container 20 and restores it from the pressed position supporting 20 against the case 10 [0039] and [0061], compare elastic support 40 as shown between FIG 3 to FIG 4); and
a detection device disposed inside the housing and configured to detect a movement of the movable member in the insertion direction (e.g., switch 60 is inside case 10 and may be positioned between fixing part 50 and container 20 so that movement of container 20 presses the switch 60 [0043]-[0044] and [0049]),
the controller starts generation of the aerosol when an input to the detection device is detected, e.g., see [0053], MCU 61 receives switch 60’s “on” signal and energizes heater 30.
Regarding Claim 2, Jung discloses the detection device is a contact type switch (60), and is disposed in a manner of coming into contact with the movable member (20) when the aerosol source is inserted and the movable member moves in the insertion direction (e.g., Jungs push button/tact/contact switch 60 is actuated by moving movable member container 20 when the aerosol source is inserted and the movable member moves in the insertion direction when the movement is completed, see [0042]-[0049].).
Regarding Claim 3, Jung discloses the detection device is a contact type switch (60/160), and is disposed in a manner of coming into contact with the biasing member (40/140) when the aerosol source is inserted and the movable member moves in the insertion direction. (e.g., Jungs push button switch is a contact switch 60, insertion moves container 20, container 20 compresses biasing elastic support 40, and the compressed support 40 presses switch 60. [0045], see also [0088]-[0089], switch 160, container 120, and elastic support 140.)
Regarding Claim 8, modified Jung teaches the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Jung teaches the movable member (20) is configured to move between an initial position and an action position at which the movable member acts on the detection device when the aerosol source (7) is inserted (e.g., Jung teaches a movable member 20 that receives cigarette 7 within the receiving space 20v. Container 20 is elastically supported by the elastic support 40 [0049], see FIG 2-4.
the movable member (20) is positioned at the initial position during the generation of the aerosol. (e.g., Jung teaches that elastic support 40 elastically supports container 20 and returns container 20 toward its initial position after pressing force is released. After the cigarette has been inserted and the user releases the pressing force, container 20 returns to its initial position under the restoring force of the elastic support 40 while switch 60 remains “on” and heater 30 continues heating cigarette 7 generating aerosol. (see FIG 2-3 and [0044] and [0049]).
Regarding Claim 12, Jung discloses the aerosol source (e.g., cigarette 7 which is received within chamber 20 as explained above which is heated by heater 30 is the aerosol source [0026].
Regarding Claims 15-16, Jung discloses the power supply unit of an aerosol generating device (power supply 72); and the aerosol source (cigarette 7), which is heated by heater 30 which is powered with electricity by the power supply 72 while the cigarette/aerosol source 7 is in the receiving space 20v in the container 20, [0026].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (KR20190123912A), in view of Ogawa (US20190311865A1)
Regarding Claim 4, Jung discloses the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Jung fails to explicitly disclose the biasing member (elastic support 40) covers the detection device (60) and is configured to dispose the detection device in a space different from a surrounding space.
However, Ogawa teaches a switch device comprising a silicone rubber elastic sheet 5 having elastically deformable dome portions 3, 4, and define cavities 13, 14 over fixed contacts 11 on substrate 2 (see FIG 1A and [0029]-[0033]), each dome includes movable contact 12 which contacts fixed contact 11 when the dome is depressed. The dome automatically returns to its original shape by elastic restoring force when pressure is released [0038]. Ogawa teaches the elastic sheet covers the contact region and that nonlinear air grooves 31,41 inhibit intrusion of dust and water droplets and other foreign matter into cavities 13,14 reducing contact failures [0043].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung’s elastic support 40 and contact switch 60 to employ the rubber dome switch arrangement taught by Ogawa such that the rubber dome provides an elastic restoring force to movable container 20 while covering the detection contacts within a separate cavity which modification would meet the biasing member covers the detection device and is configured to dispose the detection device in a space different from a surrounding space.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification to inhibit the intrusion of dust, moisture, and other foreign matter into the switch contact region thereby reducing the likelihood of contact failure as taught by Ogawa [0043].
Regarding Claim 17, Additionally, Jung teaches the power supply unit of an aerosol generating device (power supply 72); and the aerosol source (cigarette 7), which is heated by heater 30 which is powered with electricity by the power supply 72 while the cigarette/aerosol source 7 is in the receiving space 20v in the container 20, [0026].
Claims 5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (KR20190123912A), in view of Zhu (US20200093185A1)
Regarding Claim 5, Jung discloses the claim limitations set forth above. Additionally, Jung teaches detection when the aerosol source is inserted and the movable member moves in the insertion direction. (e.g., see Jung [0049], cigarette 7 moves container 20 in the insertion direction)
However, Jung fails to explicitly disclose the detection device is a non-contact type switch, and is configured to detect a movement of the movable member or the biasing member when the aerosol source is inserted and the movable member moves in the insertion direction.
However, Zhu teaches suitable switch and detection mechanisms suitable for use in aerosol generating devices (see abstract) and teaches the detection device is a non-contact type switch (e.g., photoelectric switch, [0032]), and is configured to detect a movement of the movable member (e.g., the photoelectric switch detects movement of a light shielding portion carried by movable member/slider 70).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung’s insertion detection arrangement by replacing the contact-actuated detection switch with a photoelectric switch as taught by Zhu and providing a cooperating light shielding portion on movable container 20, as taught by Zhu [0032]. Zhu expressly identifies photoelectric detection of a spring returned sliding member as an alternative to mechanical switch actuation in an electronic cigarette. The modification would provide a known alternative means of detecting Jung’s existing insertion driven movement with the predictable result that movement of container 20 changes the optical switch state and supplies an initiating signal to Jung’s controller 61. E.g., Jung’s source insertion mechanism and heating control behavior would be retained.
Regarding Claim 18, Additionally, Jung teaches the power supply unit of an aerosol generating device (power supply 72); and the aerosol source (cigarette 7), which is heated by heater 30 which is powered with electricity by the power supply 72 while the cigarette/aerosol source 7 is in the receiving space 20v in the container 20, [0026].
Claims 6-7 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (KR20190123912A), in view of Yamada (CN113056210A).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Jung teaches the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Jung fails to explicitly disclose an air flow path configured to introduce outside air into the aerosol source accommodation part, wherein the detection device is disposed at a position other than the air flow path.
However, Yamada teaches a suction device including air vent 15, bottom cap 50, inner tube 42, and airflow path 70. Air entering air vent 15 travels through bottom cap 50, second opening 42b and inner tube 42 containing smoking article 110, thereby introducing outside air into the aerosol source accommodation portion. (see FIG 3 and [n0047])
Jung teaches contact switch 60 located between container 20 and fixing portion 50 (FIG 2). The switch detects the displacement of container 20 and supplies an actuation signal to sensor/controller 61.
Yamada teaches temperature sensor 60 positioned at sensor installation portion 62 on the wall of bottom cap 50, separate from the principal internal airflow passage 70. [n0048]. Yamada thus provides a known configuration in which a detection component is positioned outside the main air flow path.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung’s aerosol generating apparatus to incorporate Yamada’s known arrangement for introducing outside air into the aerosol source receiving region such that air enters through a housing inlet, passes through an internal passage, and reaches cigarette 7 within container 20 while Jung’s switch 60 remains outside the airflow passage.
Regarding Claim 7 modified Jung teaches the claim limitations as set forth above. Jung teaches movable container 20 including receiving space 20v for accommodating cigarette 7, wherein container 20 moves longitudinally within case 10 upon insertion of cigarette 7. [0026]-[0028]. Jung also teaches that container 20 includes a rear through hole 20r through which heater 30 extends. Jung expressly discloses that through hole 20r may be larger than heater 30, thereby providing clearance between the heater and the through hole wall. [0029]-[0033]. Jung fails to explicitly disclose that movable container 20 includes at least a portion of an airflow path configured to introduce outside air into receiving space 20v.
Yamada teaches a suction device comprising heating assembly 41, which accommodates smoking article 110 and defines part of the passage through which inhalation air flows. Yamada teaches that air entering through vent 15 passes through heating assembly 41 toward smoking article 110 during inhalation, see [n0040]-[n0041], and FIG 3.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jung’s movable container 20 and to incorporate an airflow passage as taught by Yamada such that outside air enters through an inlet in Jung’s housing 10 and passes through a portion of movable container 20 into receiving space 20v. In this configuration the airflow passes through the clearance between Jung’s rear through hole 20r and heater 30 making container 20 a component that defines part of the airflow path. The modified structure would retain Jung’s insertion responsive movement of container 20 elastic support 40 and switch 60, with the switch positioned outside the airflow passage as addressed in claim 6.
Regarding Claims 19-20, Additionally, Jung teaches the power supply unit of an aerosol generating device (power supply 72); and the aerosol source (cigarette 7), which is heated by heater 30 which is powered with electricity by the power supply 72 while the cigarette/aerosol source 7 is in the receiving space 20v in the container 20, [0026].
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (KR20190123912A), in view of Adams (US6053176A).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Jung teaches the claim limitations as set forth above.
Jung teaches sensor 61 which receives ON signal from switch 60 upon insertion of cigarette 7 and controls the supply of electricity to heater 30, thereby initiating and maintaining heating of cigarette 7 [0051].
However, Jung fails to explicitly disclose the controller is configured to continue the generation of the aerosol until a predetermined time or a predetermined number of times of inhaling is detected after the start of the generation of the aerosol, and stop the generation of the aerosol when the predetermined time elapses or when the predetermined number of times of inhaling is detected.
Adams teaches an electronic smoking system that includes a controller (60), heater 64, (column 4 lines 14-20, see FIG 2) and a puff counting arrangement (see column 4 lines 36-54) and teaches that system is configured to continue the generation of the aerosol until a predetermined time (column 4 lines 31-33) or a predetermined number of times of inhaling is detected after the start of the generation of the aerosol (column 4 lines 52-54), and stop the generation of the aerosol when the predetermined time elapses (see column 4 lines 31-35) or when the predetermined number of times of inhaling is detected. (e.g., Adams teaches that after a preselected number of puffs has been taken the smoking system is switched off and disabled, thus Adams teaches the claimed control function of automatically terminating a smoking session after a predetermined inhalation count. column 4 lines 50-54)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung’s sensor/controller to incorporate a puff counting arrangement as taught by Adams, whereby controller 61 continues supplying electricity to heater 30 during a smoking session and automatically terminates heating once a preselected period of time or number of inhalations has been detected as taught by Adams. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate such a control arrangement to terminate operation after the predetermined smoking capacity of the cigarette has been consumed as taught by Adams.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Jung teaches the claim limitations as set forth above.
Jung teaches the controller 61 which controls the heater 30 in response to the signal from the switch 60 being pressed/held by cigarette 7 as explained above [0036], see also [0026]. Jung further teaches that in the FIG 3 embodiment, cigarette continuously presses switch 60 while the cigarette remained inserted [0046], accordingly switch 60 maintains its ON state, and controller 61 continues supplying electricity to heater 30 in response to the maintained ON signal during aerosol generation thus the controller is configured to continue the generation of the aerosol when the input to the detection device is detected again/continually during the generation of the aerosol, which meets the claim.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (KR20190123912A), in view of Lee (US20200214355A1)
Regarding Claim 11, Jung discloses the claim limitations as set forth above.
Jung teaches that controller 61 can stop supplying electricity to heater 30 in response to an OFF signal from switch 60.
However, Jung fails to explicitly disclose an operation switch that is exposed to an outside of the housing and is configured to prohibit the generation of the aerosol.
Lee teaches an aerosol generating device with a case 110, a heater 130, a controller 140 and an operation switch on the external surface of the case 110 that may be a button, switch, or touchscreen [0087] and that the operation switch can be used to enter/receive user commands such as commands for starting and stopping heating [0087]. Lee also teaches the controller 140 is electrically connected to the input unit arranged on an external side surface of the case 110 to receive user input.
Lee teaches the controller may respond to a user input for completing smoking received through the input unit. [0133] and that when a user no longer wishes to smoke the ser may provide this input causing the heater 130 to stop heating [0134].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung’s aerosol generating apparatus to include an additional externally accessible operation switch as taught by Lee, connected to controller 61 and configured to prohibit aerosol generation by terminating electricity supplied to heater 30 as taught by Lee.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow the user to terminate heating when smoking is no longer desired or when an unexpected event occurs as taught by Lee [0134]
Conclusion
/M.T.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1747
/Michael H. Wilson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1747