DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The Instant Application, filed 02/16/2024, claims priority from Provisional Application 63/446119, filed 02/16/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite mental processes which can be performed by a human (i.e., receiving and sending). These limitations, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the combination of additional elements fails to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claim is directed to an abstract idea with generic computer elements and these generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. The claim(s) do not include any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Thus, the claim fails to be patent eligible when analyzed under the prongs of step 2A and step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 54 (January 7, 2019)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yi et al. (2021/0144582).
As per claim 1, Yi et al. teaches a method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, one or more radio resource control configuration parameters indicating:
delay information for one or more logical channels; and
a threshold associated with the delay information; and
sending, based on a remaining time associated with data for transmission satisfying the threshold, an indication of the delay information [paragraphs 0251-0252].
As per claim 2, Yi et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the sending the indication of the delay information comprises sending a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) packet data unit (PDU) comprising a first MAC CE, and wherein the method further comprises: determining, for a delay reporting procedure, a first MAC CE comprising delay information associated with the one or more logical channels; multiplexing, in the MAC PDU, the first MAC CE based on: a first logical channel associated with the first MAC CE having a higher priority than a second logical channel associated with a second MAC CE associated with a triggered buffer status report (BSR); and at least one uplink shared channel (UL-SCH) resource accommodating the first MAC CE [paragraphs 0260-0268].
As per claim 3, Yi et al. teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising determining the delay information based on a smallest remaining time of at least one packet of a logical channel group associated with the data for transmission, wherein the logical channel group comprises at least one logical channel of the one or more logical channels, wherein the remaining time satisfying the threshold comprises the remaining time being less than the threshold [paragraph 104].
As per claim 4, Yi et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the indication comprises a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), and wherein a priority of a first logical channel of the first MAC CE is: greater than to a priority of a second logical channel of a MAC CE for buffer status report (BSR), wherein the BSR is a prioritized side link (SL)-BSR; and less than a priority of a third logical channel of a MAC CE for timing advance report (TAR) [paragraph 0112].
As per claim 5, Yi et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the indication comprises a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), and the first MAC CE comprises a buffer size corresponding to a first logical channel; the one or more radio resource control configuration parameters indicate a first buffer status report (BSR) table of a plurality of BSR tables for use by at least one logical channel, wherein the first BSR table allows a refined BSR compared to a second BSR table of the plurality of BSR tables; and the buffer size, corresponding to the first logical channel being in the at least one logical channel, is based on the first BSR table [paragraphs 0128-0130].
As per claim 6, Yi et al. teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising sending a capability message comprising at least one of: an indication of a capability to send delay information; an indication of a capability to trigger the delay reporting procedure; or an indication of a capability to determine a delay budget associated with the one or more logical channels [paragraph 0137].
As per claim 7, Yi et al. teaches a method comprising: determining, by a wireless device and for a delay reporting procedure, a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) comprising delay information associated with one or more logical channels [paragraphs 0251-0252];
multiplexing, in a MAC packet data unit (PDU), the first MAC CE based on [paragraph 0072]:
a first logical channel associated with the first MAC CE having a higher priority than a second logical channel associated with a second MAC CE, wherein the second MAC CE is associated with a triggered buffer status report (BSR) [paragraphs 0249 and 0262]; and
at least one uplink shared channel (UL-SCH) resource accommodating the first MAC CE [paragraphs 0092-0098]; and
sending, via the at least one UL-SCH resource, the MAC PDU comprising the first MAC CE [paragraph 0254].
As per claim 8, Yi et al. teaches the method of claim 7, further comprising: receiving, by the wireless device, one or more radio resource control configuration parameters indicating: delay information for one or more logical channels; and a threshold associated with the delay information; and wherein the sending the MAC PDU comprising the first MAC CE is based on a remaining time, associated with data for transmission, satisfying the threshold; and wherein the first MAC CE further comprises an indication of the delay information [paragraph 0144].
As per claim 9, Yi et al. teaches the method of claim 7, further comprising sending a capability message comprising at least one of: an indication of a capability to transmit delay information; an indication of a capability to trigger the delay reporting procedure; or an indication of a capability to determine a delay budget associated with the one or more logical channels [paragraph 0152].
As per claim 10, Yi et al. teaches the method of claim 7, further comprising receiving one or more configuration parameters that configure a plurality of logical channels comprising the one or more logical channels [paragraph 0165].
As per claim 11, Yi et al. teaches the method of claim 7, further comprising receiving one or more configuration parameters that configure the wireless device to trigger the delay reporting procedure for the one or more logical channels [paragraph 0171].
As per claim 12, Yi et al. teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the MAC PDU comprises the first MAC CE and the second MAC CE [paragraph 0144].
As per claim 13, Yi et al. teaches the method of claim 7, further comprising triggering, based on the BSR being triggered, the delay reporting procedure [paragraph 0125].
As per claim 14, Yi et al. teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the BSR is at least one of: an extended BSR; a pre-emptive BSR; an extended pre-emptive BSR; or a side-link (SL) BSR [paragraph 0112].
As per claim 15, Yi et al. teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the delay information comprises at least one or more indications of: a remaining time associated with one or more PDUs or one or more PDU sets; a minimum remaining time associated with one or more PDUs or one or more PDU sets; a maximum remaining time associated with one or more PDUs or one or more PDU sets; an average remaining time associated with one or more PDUs or one or more PDU sets; a delay budget associated with one or more PDUs or one or more PDU sets; a minimum delay budget associated with one or more PDUs or one or more PDU sets; a maximum delay budget associated with one or more PDUs or one or more PDU sets; or an average delay budget associated with one or more PDUs or one or more PDU sets [paragraphs 0102-0104].
As per claim 16, Yi et al. teaches a method comprising: triggering, by a wireless device, a delay reporting procedure [paragraph 0268];
determining, for the delay reporting procedure, a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) comprising delay information associated with one or more logical channels [paragraphs 0251-0252];
multiplexing, in a MAC packet data unit, the first MAC CE, wherein the multiplexing is based on [paragraph 0072]:
a first priority of a first logical channel associated with the first MAC CE; and
a second priority of a second logical channel associated with a second MAC CE, the first MAC CE [paragraphs 0249 and 0262]; and
sending, via at least one uplink shared channel (UL-SCH) resource accommodating the first MAC CE, the MAC PDU comprising the first MAC CE [paragraphs 0086-0090 and 0254].
As per claim 17, Yi et al. teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising transmitting a capability message comprising at least one of: an indication of a capability to transmit delay information; an indication of a capability to trigger the delay reporting procedure; or an indication of a capability to determine a delay budget associated with the one or more logical channels [paragraph 0068].
As per claim 18, Yi et al. teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising receiving one or more configuration parameters that configure: a plurality of logical channels comprising the one or more logical channels; and the wireless device to trigger the delay reporting procedure for the one or more logical channels [paragraph 0061].
As per claim 19, Yi et al. teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising determining that pending data is associated with the one or more logical channels [paragraph 0057].
As per claim 20, Yi et al. teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the delay information comprises at least one or more indications of: a remaining time associated with one or more PDUs or one or more PDU sets; or a delay budget associated with one or more PDUs or one or more PDU sets [paragraph 0165].
There are prior art made of record not relied upon but is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached.
Conclusion
Ranodhi N. Serrao
/RANODHI SERRAO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444