DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, filed 6/3/26, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, with respect to the rejection(s) of the claim(s) under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi et al. (2021/0144582) in view of Damnjanovic et al. (2009/0196275).
As per claim 1, Yi et al. teaches a method comprising: receiving, by a wireless device, one or more radio resource control configuration parameters indicating a threshold associated with delay information for one or more logical channels [Yi et al., paragraphs 0251-0252 and 0287].
But Yi et al. fails to explicitly teach, however, Damnjanovic et al. in the same field of endeavor teaches, sending, to a base station and based on a remaining time until expiry of data for transmission satisfying the threshold, an indication of the delay information, wherein the delay information comprises a time until the expiry [Damnjanovic et al., paragraph 0050].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yi et al. with Damnjanovic et al. in order to provide a base station information about an amount of data in the buffer of the access terminal as provided by Buffer Status Reports, while also providing the length of time that such data has been sitting in the buffer.
As per claim 2, Yi-Damnjanovic teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the sending the indication of the delay information comprises sending a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) packet data unit (PDU) comprising a first MAC CE, and wherein the method further comprises: determining, for a delay reporting procedure, the first MAC CE comprising the delay information associated with the one or more logical channels; multiplexing, in the MAC PDU, the first MAC CE based on: a first logical channel associated with the first MAC CE having a higher priority than a second logical channel associated with a second MAC CE associated with a triggered buffer status report (BSR); and at least one uplink shared channel (UL-SCH) resource accommodating the first MAC CE [Yi et al., paragraphs 0260-0268].
As per claim 3, Yi-Damnjanovic teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising determining the delay information based on a smallest remaining time of at least one packet of a logical channel group associated with the data for transmission, wherein the logical channel group comprises at least one logical channel of the one or more logical channels, wherein the remaining time satisfying the threshold comprises the remaining time being less than the threshold [Yi et al., paragraph 104].
As per claim 4, Yi-Damnjanovic teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the indication of the delay information comprises a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), and wherein a priority of a first logical channel of the first MAC CE is: greater than to a priority of a second logical channel of a MAC CE for buffer status report (BSR), wherein the BSR is a prioritized side link (SL)-BSR; and less than a priority of a third logical channel of a MAC CE for timing advance report (TAR) [Yi et al., paragraph 0112].
As per claim 5, Yi-Damnjanovic teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the indication of the delay information comprises a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), and the first MAC CE comprises a buffer size corresponding to a first logical channel; the one or more radio resource control configuration parameters indicate a first buffer status report (BSR) table of a plurality of BSR tables for use by at least one logical channel comprising the first logical channel, wherein the first BSR table allows a refined BSR compared to a second BSR table of the plurality of BSR tables; and the buffer size is based on the first BSR table [Yi et al., paragraphs 0128-0130].
As per claim 6, Yi-Damnjanovic teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising sending a capability message comprising at least one of: an indication of a capability to send delay information; an indication of a capability to trigger the delay reporting procedure; or an indication of a capability to determine a delay budget associated with the one or more logical channels [Yi et al., paragraph 0137].
As per claim 7, Yi et al. teaches a method comprising: determining, by a wireless device and for a delay reporting procedure, a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) comprising delay information associated with one or more logical channels [Yi et al., paragraphs 0251-0252];
multiplexing, in a MAC packet data unit (PDU), the first MAC CE based on [Yi et al., paragraph 0072]:
a first logical channel associated with the first MAC CE having a higher priority than a second logical channel associated with a second MAC CE, wherein the second MAC CE is associated with a triggered buffer status report (BSR) [Yi et al., paragraphs 0249 and 0262]; and
at least one uplink shared channel (UL-SCH) resource accommodating the first MAC CE [Yi et al., paragraphs 0092-0098]; and
sending, via the at least one UL-SCH resource, the MAC PDU comprising the first MAC CE [Yi et al., paragraph 0254].
But Yi et al. fails to explicitly teach, however, Damnjanovic et al. in the same field of endeavor teaches, delay information, indicating a remaining time until expiry of data for transmission [Damnjanovic et al., paragraph 0050].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yi et al. with Damnjanovic et al. in order to provide a base station information about an amount of data in the buffer of the access terminal as provided by Buffer Status Reports, while also providing the length of time that such data has been sitting in the buffer.
As per claim 8, Yi-Damnjanovic teaches the method of claim 7, further comprising: receiving, by the wireless device, one or more radio resource control configuration parameters indicating a threshold associated with the delay information; and wherein the sending the MAC PDU comprising the first MAC CE is based on a-the remaining time until the expiry of the data for transmission satisfying the threshold; and wherein the first MAC CE comprises an indication of the delay information [Yi et al., paragraph 0144].
As per claim 9, Yi-Damnjanovic teaches the method of claim 7, further comprising sending a capability message comprising at least one of: an indication of a capability to transmit delay information; an indication of a capability to trigger the delay reporting procedure; or an indication of a capability to determine a delay budget associated with the one or more logical channels [Yi et al., paragraph 0152].
As per claim 10, Yi-Damnjanovic teaches the method of claim 7, further comprising receiving one or more configuration parameters that configure a plurality of logical channels comprising the one or more logical channels [Yi et al., paragraph 0165].
As per claim 11, Yi-Damnjanovic teaches the method of claim 7, further comprising receiving one or more configuration parameters that configure the wireless device to trigger the delay reporting procedure for the one or more logical channels [Yi et al., paragraph 0171].
As per claim 12, Yi-Damnjanovic teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the MAC PDU comprises the first MAC CE and the second MAC CE [Yi et al., paragraph 0144].
As per claim 13, Yi-Damnjanovic teaches the method of claim 7, further comprising triggering, based on the BSR being triggered, the delay reporting procedure [Yi et al., paragraph 0125].
As per claim 14, Yi-Damnjanovic teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the BSR is at least one of: an extended BSR; a pre-emptive BSR; an extended pre-emptive BSR; or a side-link (SL) BSR [Yi et al., paragraph 0112].
As per claim 15, Yi-Damnjanovic teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the delay information comprises at least one or more indications of: a remaining time associated with one or more PDUs or one or more PDU sets; a minimum remaining time associated with one or more PDUs or one or more PDU sets; a maximum remaining time associated with one or more PDUs or one or more PDU sets; an average remaining time associated with one or more PDUs or one or more PDU sets; a delay budget associated with one or more PDUs or one or more PDU sets; a minimum delay budget associated with one or more PDUs or one or more PDU sets; a maximum delay budget associated with one or more PDUs or one or more PDU sets; or an average delay budget associated with one or more PDUs or one or more PDU sets [Yi et al., paragraphs 0102-0104].
As per claim 16, Yi et al. teaches a method comprising: triggering, by a wireless device, a delay reporting procedure [Yi et al., paragraph 0268];
determining, for the delay reporting procedure, a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) comprising delay information associated with one or more logical channels [Yi et al., paragraphs 0251-0252];
multiplexing, in a MAC packet data unit (PDU), the first MAC CE, wherein the multiplexing is based on [Yi et al., paragraph 0072]:
a first priority of a first logical channel associated with the first MAC CE; and
a second priority of a second logical channel associated with a second MAC CE, the first MAC CE [Yi et al., paragraphs 0249 and 0262]; and
sending, via at least one uplink shared channel (UL-SCH) resource accommodating the first MAC CE, the MAC PDU comprising the first MAC CE [Yi et al., paragraphs 0086-0090 and 0254].
But Yi et al. fails to explicitly teach, however, Damnjanovic et al. in the same field of endeavor teaches, delay information, indicating a remaining time until expiry of data for transmission [Damnjanovic et al., paragraph 0050].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yi et al. with Damnjanovic et al. in order to provide a base station information about an amount of data in the buffer of the access terminal as provided by Buffer Status Reports, while also providing the length of time that such data has been sitting in the buffer.
As per claim 17, Yi-Damnjanovic teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising transmitting a capability message comprising at least one of: an indication of a capability to transmit delay information; an indication of a capability to trigger the delay reporting procedure; or an indication of a capability to determine a delay budget associated with the one or more logical channels [Yi et al., paragraph 0068].
As per claim 18, Yi-Damnjanovic teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising receiving one or more configuration parameters that configure: a plurality of logical channels comprising the one or more logical channels; and the wireless device to trigger the delay reporting procedure for the one or more logical channels [Yi et al., paragraph 0061].
As per claim 19, Yi-Damnjanovic teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising determining that the data for transmission is associated with the one or more logical channels [Yi et al., paragraph 0057].
As per claim 20, Yi-Damnjanovic teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the delay information comprises at least one or more indications of: a remaining time associated with one or more PDUs or one or more PDU sets; or a delay budget associated with one or more PDUs or one or more PDU sets [Yi et al., paragraph 0165].
There are prior art made of record not relied upon but is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Ranodhi N. Serrao
/RANODHI SERRAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444