DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of made of record does not teach or fairly suggest the combination of claimed elements “wherein the printed circuit board comprises: a second conductive layer disposed in the multiple first areas and the second area; a first insulating layer positioned on the second conductive layer and disposed in the multiple first areas and the second area; and a first conductive layer positioned on the first insulating layer and disposed in the second area and not disposed in the multiple first areas” as recited in claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-10, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (US 20190280375 A1) in view of Choi et al. (US 20220294099 A1) and Cho et al. (US 20150301097 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ahn teaches an electronic device (Fig. 1, electronic device 101) comprising:
a housing (Fig. 7, housing 710);
a printed circuit board disposed in the housing (Fig. 7, printed circuit board 720), the printed circuit board comprising a wireless communication module comprising communication circuitry (Par. 93, a wireless communication circuit (e.g., the communication module 190 in FIG. 1)), a radio frequency switch (Par. 93, switch element (e.g., the switch element 250 in FIG. 2)), a , and a (Fig. 2 and Par. 57, matching circuit 251 e.g., a lumped element or a tunable circuit (electronic component comprising circuitry);
a shield can disposed on the printed circuit board to cover at least a partial area of the printed circuit board (Fig. 7, shield can 722.and Par. 93)
an antenna module (Par. 99, conductive pattern 230 in FIG. 2), including at least one antenna (Par. 87, conductive pattern is formed of an Inverted F Antenna (IFA) or a Planar Inverted F Antenna (PIFA) including a ground portion, a feeding portion, and a radiator), configured to transmit and/or receive signals and/or power between external electronic devices using at least part of the housing and at least part of the shield can (Fig. 1 and Par. 26);
wherein the multiple pads comprise: a first pad electrically connected to the radio frequency switch (Par. 99, second conductive plate 220 (first pad) in FIG. 2); and
a second pad electrically connected to the Par. 99, second conductive plate 210 (second pad) in FIG. 2,
wherein the radio frequency switch is configured to select one of: a first path configured to cause the antenna module to have a first radiation efficiency based on a signal of a first frequency band provided from the wireless communication module being applied to the first path Pars. 52-53 and 82); and a second path configured to cause the antenna module to have a second radiation efficiency different from the first radiation efficiency based on a signal of the first frequency band being applied to the second path, and is connected to the second electrical component (Pars. 52-53 and 82).
However, Ahn does not teach the “matching circuit 251 e.g., a lumped element or a tunable circuit (electronic component comprising circuitry) as taught above comprising a first electronic component comprising circuitry and a second electronic component comprising circuitry. Choi teaches the lumped element 4342 comprising a first component T1 and a second component T2 (Fig. 7 and Pars. 98-100).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above teaching as taught Choi into Ahn to prevent degradation of antenna radiation performance.
However, the modified Ahn does not teach “the shield can” as taught above comprising “multiple pads in contact with the printed circuit board” and “wherein the multiple pads are configured to be electrically isolated from the printed circuit board”. Cho teaches the shielding can 4 comprising protrusions 8a (multiple pads) in contact with the printed circuit board 2 and separated/isolated from the printed circuit board 110 by ground wall 5 (Fig. 11 and Par. 100).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above teaching as taught Cho into the modified Ahn to effectively blocking the electromagnetic interference.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Ahn teaches previous claim. The modified Ahn further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the radio frequency switch is configured to select a path providing higher radiation efficiency between the first radiation efficiency and the second radiation efficiency (Choi, Pars. 98-100).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Ahn teaches previous claim. The modified Ahn further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the printed circuit board is configured to contact the multiple pads, and comprises: multiple first areas electrically isolated from the multiple pads (Cho, Fig. 11, slots 8b (multiple first areas)); and a second area (Cho, Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Ahn teaches previous claim. The modified Ahn further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the shield can comprises: a shield plate; and a sidewall extending vertically along an edge of the shield plate (Cho, Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Ahn teaches previous claim. The modified Ahn further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the radio frequency switch comprises multiple terminals (Fig. 5 and Par. 82).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Ahn teaches previous claim. The modified Ahn further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the multiple pads are spaced apart from each other along an edge of the shield can (Cho, Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Ahn teaches previous claim. The modified Ahn further teaches the electronic device of claim 3, wherein the multiple first areas are recessed from one surface of the printed circuit board facing the multiple pads more than the second area (PCB 2 forms one or more slots 8b (multiple first areas are recessed) into which the protrusions 8a (multiple pads) are inserted (Cho, Fig. 11 and Par. 100)).
Regarding claims 16-17, apparatus of claims 16-17 are performed by the apparatus of claim 1. They recite same scope of limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, apparatus of claim 18 performed by the apparatus of claim 3. They recite same scope of limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 53.
Regarding claim 20, apparatus of claim 20 performed by the apparatus of claim 5. They recite same scope of limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 5.
Claims 4, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (US 20190280375 A1) in view of Choi et al. (US 20220294099 A1) and Cho et al. (US 20150301097 A1) and in further view of Suh et al. (US 20180227858 A1).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Ahn teaches previous claim. The modified Ahn further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein based on the first path being selected by the radio frequency switch, a first antenna time constant value is formed, and wherein based on the second path being selected by the radio frequency switch, a second antenna time constant value different from the first antenna time constant value is formed (Choi, Fig. 7 and Pars. 98-100, each lumped element 4342 (e.g., T1, T2 . . . , and Tn) on each path & NOTE: lumped element (i.e. resistor or capacitor or inductor)).
It is very well-known in art that each lumped element as taught above has a value (i.e. time constant value) and that is supported by Suh (Pars. 56, 63).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above teaching as taught Suh into the modified Ahn to effectively adjusting the operating frequency.
Regarding claim 15, the modified Ahn teaches previous claim. The modified Ahn further teaches the electronic device of claim 4, wherein the printed circuit board further comprises: a third electronic component, comprising circuitry, electrically connected to the radio frequency switch, wherein the radio frequency switch further comprises a third path configured to cause the antenna module to have a third radiation efficiency based on a signal of the first frequency band being applied to the third path, and is connected to the third electrical component, and wherein based on the third path being selected by the radio frequency switch, a third antenna time constant value, different from the first antenna time constant value and the second antenna time constant value, is formed (See rejection of claim 4).
Regarding claim 19, apparatus of claim 19 performed by the apparatus of claim 4. They recite same scope of limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 4.
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (US 20190280375 A1) in view of Choi et al. (US 20220294099 A1) and Cho et al. (US 20150301097 A1) and in further view of Mun et al. (US 20200367393 A1).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Ahn teaches previous claim.
The modified Ahn does not teach the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the wireless communication module is disposed on the printed circuit board surrounded by the shield can, and is electrically connected to the shield can.
Mun teaches such feature (Fig. 5E and Par. 43).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above teaching as taught Kim into the modified Ahn to effectively blocking the electromagnetic interference.
Regarding claim 14, the modified Ahn teaches previous claim.
However, the modified Ahn does not teach the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first electronic component is configured to electrically connect the shield can to the printed circuit board.
Mun teaches such feature (Fig. 2 and Par. 72-74).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above teaching as taught Kim into the modified Ahn to effectively blocking the electromagnetic interference.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (US 20190280375 A1) in view of Choi et al. (US 20220294099 A1) and Cho et al. (US 20150301097 A1) and in further view of Kim et al. (US 20200323489 A1).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Ahn teaches previous claim.
However, the modified Ahn does not teach the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a battery disposed adjacent to the printed circuit board, wherein the shield can is disposed between the printed circuit board and the battery.
Kim teaches such feature (Par. 151).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above teaching as taught Kim into the modified Ahn to effectively preventing battery from overheat.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (US 20190280375 A1) in view of Choi et al. (US 20220294099 A1) and Cho et al. (US 20150301097 A1) and in further view of Jo et al. (US 20220077566 A1).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Ahn teaches previous claim. The modified Ahn further teaches the electronic device of claim 11, wherein the multiple pads are electrically isolated from the “ground wall 5” Chom (Fig. 11 and Par. 100).
However, the modified Ahn does not mention the ground of first conductive layer.
Jo teaches such feature (Par. 221).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above teaching as taught Jo into the modified Ahn to provide structure of the PCB.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (US 20190280375 A1) in view of Choi et al. (US 20220294099 A1) and Cho et al. (US 20150301097 A1) and in further view of Sakong et al. (US 20160056535 A1).
Regarding claim 13, the modified Ahn teaches previous claim.
However, the modified Ahn further does not teach the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the radio frequency switch is disposed adjacent to the multiple pads.
Sakong teaches such feature (Fig. 6 and Par. 82).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above teaching as taught Jo into the modified Ahn to prevent dispersion of electronic products.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lee et al. US 20220322522 A1[0140] Referring to FIG. 7, the flexible circuit board 700 according to an comparative example may include an insulating layer 710, an upper conductive layer 720 formed in the first direction {circle around (1)} from the insulating layer 710, and a lower conductive layer 730 formed in the second direction {circle around (2)} opposite to the first direction {circle around (1)} from the insulating layer 710.
Han et al. US 20230247272 A1 [0506] The insulation layer 3011 may comprise a plurality of insulation layers. The insulation layer 3011 may comprise three insulation layers. The insulation layer 3011 may comprise first to third insulation layers. [Last 3 lines of 536)…Through this, the cover member 3100 may be grounded. The cover member 3100 may block electromagnetic interference (EMI). At this time, the cover member 3100 may be referred to as an ‘EMI shield can’. [0514] The first conductive layer 3012a may comprise a third portion 3012a-3. The third portion 3012a-3 may be connected from the third edge 3011c of the insulation layer 3011.
Kim US 20190357347 A1 [0032] The ground pad 12 formed at an outer portion on the bottom of the PCB 10 is continuously formed in the edge portion of the PCB 10 and electrified connecting with the electromagnetic shielding coating layer 73 formed on the top of the PCB 10 through the ground via hole 11 in the electromagnetic shielding structure 40 of the closed shield can type.
Li et al. US 20240154310 A1 [0036] The display shield can function as an antenna as part of an antenna system for the device. The antenna system can include an antenna feed and a shorting pin that can provide electrical connection from the display shield to a radio chipset and antenna tuning circuitry. The radio chipset and antenna tuning circuitry can be components of the device and be physically separated by the display shield from a display module. The antenna tuning circuitry can tune the antenna system to receive and/or transmit radio frequency signals along a variety of different frequency bands through the display shield. The antenna tuning circuit and/or radio chipset can be implemented as part of a main logic board for the electronic device.
Mun et al. (US 20180116078 A1) [0043] Referring to FIG. 2, the electromagnetic wave shielding structure 1 may include the printed circuit board 10 and the plurality of elements 111 and 112 mounted on the printed circuit board 10. The plurality of elements 111 and 112 may be different types of circuit elements and may be integrated circuit chips (IC chips), passive elements, and release components. For example, the IC chip may be an application processor (AP), a memory, a radio frequency (RF) chip, or the like, the passive element may be a resistor, a condenser, a coil, or the like, and the release component may be a connector, a card socket, or an electromagnetic wave shielding component.
Zhao et al. US 20220286098 A1 herein a first time constant of the first resistor and the first capacitor and a second time constant of the second resistor and the second capacitor.
Kim et al. US 20210336327 A1 [0104] According to an embodiment, at least one non-conductive member may be disposed between the conductive pattern 340 and the third conductive layer 350. For example, the non-conductive member may be formed on the conductive pattern 340 or the third conductive layer 350. For example, the non-conductive member may be an insulation layer that is disposed on one surface of the conductive pattern 340 facing the third conductive layer 350, or an insulation layer that is disposed on one surface of the third conductive layer 350 facing the conductive pattern 340
Lee et al. US 20180270997 A1 (Par. 7) The shield can 12 may be soldered on the pad 14 after the pad 14 is attached to the PCB 13.
Mun et al. 20190082562 A1 Fig. 7 0079] In addition, in the electromagnetic interference shielding structure 100 according to an embodiment, the shield can 140 may be fixed to the shield pad 120 having a predetermined elasticity. Thus, the shield pad 120 may be easily removed from the printed circuit board 110 by using a paddle-shaped tool without applying hot air during a rework process.
Lee et al. US 20200127361 A1 [0107] The shield can 570 may be configured to have a ⊏-shape (or an inverted u-shape (∩-shape) which includes both side walls having a predetermined height and a shielding surface connecting the both side walls, or to have a flat-plate shape (- shape) which includes only a shielding surface without both side walls. In FIG. 5, the shield can 570 has a ⊏-shape (or a ∩-shape) and may be fixedly disposed on the second circuit boards 520 to shield the electronic element 540. Surfaces of both side walls of the shield can 570 at one side thereof (the lower surfaces of both side walls of the shield can 570) may be fixedly placed on at the upper surface of each of the second circuit boards 520. The shield can 570 may be made of a metal material (e.g. copper or aluminum), and both ends for stably placing the shield can 570 may be fixed by metal pads or adhesive parts.
Salong et al. US 20160056535 A1 [0082] Referring to FIG. 6, a multiband antenna 600 may include at least a portion of a housing 610, a feeding unit 620, a current dispersion path 630, and a switch 640. The housing 610 illustrated in FIG. 6 may be a universal serial bus (USB) connector, a high definition multimedia interface (HDMI) connector, a recommended standard 232 (RS-232) connector, a plain old telephone service (POTS) connector, and the like. According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the housing 610 may be implemented with a shield can, stacked on an electronic part mounted at a printed circuit board (PCB), as well as various types of connectors.
/Cindy Trandai/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648
2/2/2026