DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 and 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. 2021/0143897 to Edge in view of US Pub. 2021/0105065 to Ravishankar et al. (hereinafter Ravishankar).
In regard claim 1, Edge teaches or discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) communicating with a satellite radio access network (RAN) and a cellular network (see paragraph [0011], supporting satellite wireless access by a user equipment (UE) performed by a satellite Radio Access Network (RAN) node, includes obtaining first broadcast data, the first broadcast data containing information for virtual cells or virtual tracking areas or both associated with one or more public land mobile networks (PLMNs)), the method comprising:
transmitting, to an access and mobility management function (AMF), a registration request message including information about the UE's supporting capability for each of a first timer for the satellite RAN and a second timer for the cellular network, an access cell type, and location information (see paragraphs [0098], [0102], [0103], and [0104], the UE 105 sends a registration request through space vehicle 115 and serving sNB 112 to the AMF 215 of the serving PLMN that is associated with the serving virtual cell and/or virtual TA in which the UE 105 is locate. Receive a registration request from the UE to a serving core network in a serving PLMN associated with a serving virtual cell or a virtual tracking area in which the UE is located via the first satellite);
receiving, from the AMF, a registration accept message including supporting information about a network related to the first timer and the second timer and mobility management information (see paragraph [0099], the AMF 215 sends a registration accept message to the UE 105 through sNB 112 and space vehicle 115. Stages 5-7 may be repeated to register with a different PLMN, e.g., if the UE 105 moves to a new virtual cell, new virtual TA or new country that is associated with a different PLMN, or to provide monitoring or tracking information for the UE 105 to the PLMN); and
determining at least one timer to be used by the UE of the first timer and the second timer based on the supporting information about the network and the mobility management information (see paragraphs [0018], [0048], [0057], [0058], and [0087], where the program code is operable to configure at least one processor in a user equipment (UE) for supporting satellite wireless access to a serving public land mobile network (PLMN). The UE 105 may also determine the virtual TA and PLMN associated with the virtual cell in which the UE 105 is located. Support of mobility by the UE 105 may then proceed similarly to that for access to a terrestrial cellular network).
Edge may not explicitly teach or disclose a registration accept message including supporting information about a network related to the first timer and the second timer and mobility management information.
However, Ravishankar teaches or discloses a registration accept message including supporting information about a network related to the first timer and the second timer and mobility management information (see paragraphs [0040], [0054], and [0064], upon UT 124-3 receipt of the forwarded registration accept 208, UT 124-3 can be registered in RA2. The UT 124-3 can thereafter move among RA2/TA4, RA2/TA5, RA2/TA6, and RA2/TA7 without having to re-register with the AMF 106. The registration accept content, including the newly assigned RA, to the UT. The registration accept 508 can include the S-TMSI of the requesting RSC UT 306).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify a network element of Edge by including a registration accept message including supporting information about a network related to the first timer and the second timer and mobility management information suggested by Ravishankar. This modification would provide to reduce overhead/power paging of 5G UTs and, in some configurations, reduced overhead location reporting by 5G UTs read in paragraph [0005].
In regard claims 2 and 10, Edge teaches or discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising one of:
transitioning a state of the UE using the at least one timer;
maintaining a current state of the UE using the at least one timer; or
performing a registration procedure for the UE using the at least one timer (see abstract, paragraphs [0006], [0058], [0065], [0080], [0083], and [0098], the UE may perform registration with a serving core network in a serving PLMN associated with the serving virtual cell or tracking area. The UE 105 may perform a Registration with serving 5GCN 240 whenever its virtual TA has changed and would register in a different 5GCN whenever a virtual TA and country change had occurred. The UE 105 may perform a Registration with the PLMN associated with the virtual cell (or virtual TA) in which the UE 105 is located. The UE 105 may periodically update its location and register with a different PLMN when required by a change in the virtual cell, virtual tracking area, or country. The UE 105 sends a registration request through space vehicle 115 and serving sNB 112 to the AMF 215 of the serving PLMN that is associated with the serving virtual cell and/or virtual TA in which the UE 105 is located).
In regard claims 3, 7, 11, and 14, Edge teaches or discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the location information includes at least one of:
tracking area (TA) or TA list information allowed to the UE (see paragraphs [0057], [0060], [0092], [0105], [0120], and [0135], tracking areas 320 (TA1, TA2, and TA3), which may be virtual and defined as a set of contiguous virtual cells, or may be based on existing terrestrial tracking areas. TAs may be included in the data that is periodically broadcast by one or more SVs 115. The information for the virtual cells or the virtual tracking areas or both comprises at least one of: (i) locations of grid points in an array of grid points; (ii) virtual cell identifiers associated with the grid points; (iii) tracking area identifiers associated with the virtual tracking areas, the virtual cell identifiers or the grid points; or (iv) PLMN identifiers associated with the grid points, the virtual cell identifiers or the tracking area identifiers, e.g., as discussed in reference to stages 1a and 2. The information for the virtual cells or the virtual tracking areas or both may be compressed when inter-grid point spacing and orientation are fixed. A list of virtual tracking areas and corresponding PLMNs that are in wireless coverage of the satellite. Each virtual tracking area in the list of virtual tracking areas may be wholly or mostly included in a current wireless coverage area of the satellite),
last visited TA identifier (TAI) information,
location information where access by the UE is recommended, or
location information except for information stored in a forbidden list not allowed
to the UE for access.
In regard claims 4, 8, 12, and 15, Edge teaches or discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the registration accept message further includes location information capable of access and registration by the UE (see paragraph [0099], the AMF 215 sends a registration accept message to the UE 105 through sNB 112 and space vehicle 115. Stages 5-7 may be repeated to register with a different PLMN, e.g., if the UE 105 moves to a new virtual cell, new virtual TA or new country that is associated with a different PLMN, or to provide monitoring or tracking information for the UE 105 to the PLMN).
In regard claim 5, Edge teaches or discloses a method performed by an access and mobility management function (AMF) communicating with a satellite radio access network (RAN) and a cellular network (see paragraph [0034], the RAN 110, for example, may be a Next Generation (NG) Radio Access Network (RAN) (NG-RAN) 110 or a separate satellite RAN (SRAN). Herein, RAN 110 is assumed to be an NG-RAN unless stated otherwise. The NG-RAN 110 may include a number of Satellite Node Bs (sNB) 112-1 to 112-5 (collectively referred to herein as sNBs 112). the sNBs 112 may provide an N2 interface to one or more Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) in a 5G core network. The sNBs 112 may function as gateways and use ground stations 113 for transmitting signals to, and receiving signals from, one or more SVs 115 and may be referred to herein as satellite RAN nodes), the method comprising:
receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a registration request message including
information about the UE's supporting capability for each of a first timer for the satellite
RAN and a second timer for the cellular network, an access cell type, and location Information (see paragraphs [0011], [0012], [0015], [0118], and [0131], receiving a registration request from the UE to a serving core network in a serving PLMN associated with a serving virtual cell or a virtual tracking area in which the UE is located via the first satellite; and providing the registration request to a first entity in the serving core network. A registration request is received from the UE to a serving core network (e.g. a 5GCN 240) in a serving PLMN associated with a serving virtual cell or a virtual tracking area in which the UE is located via the first satellite, e.g., as illustrated at stage 6. At block 710, the registration request is provided to a first entity in the serving core network. At block 808, a registration request is received from the UE to a serving core network (e.g. a 5GCN 240) in a serving PLMN associated with a serving virtual cell or a virtual tracking area in which the UE is located);
determining whether a network accessed by the UE is the satellite RAN or the
cellular network, based on the access cell type and the location information (see paragraphs [0007], [0058], [0104], and [0146], a UE 105 may periodically obtain its own location, e.g. using an SPS, which may be accurate and easy to obtain in the types of outdoor environment in which a satellite network, e.g., NG-RAN 110, could be used, and then determine which virtual cell it is located in, e.g., by reference to the broadcast grid points and other virtual cell and virtual TA data. The UE 105 may also determine the virtual TA and PLMN associated with the virtual cell in which the UE 105 is located. A serving satellite Radio Access Network (RAN) node (SRN) (e.g. an sNB 112) accessible from the first satellite is determined, e.g., as illustrated at stage 5. At block 610, registration is performed with a serving core network in a serving PLMN associated with the serving virtual cell or tracking area in which the UE is located via the first satellite and the serving SRN, e.g., as illustrated at stage 6); and
transmitting, to the UE, a registration accept message including supporting information about a network related to the first timer and the second timer and mobility management information, based on a result of the determination (see paragraph [0099], the AMF 215 sends a registration accept message to the UE 105 through sNB 112 and space vehicle 115. Stages 5-7 may be repeated to register with a different PLMN, e.g., if the UE 105 moves to a new virtual cell, new virtual TA or new country that is associated with a different PLMN, or to provide monitoring or tracking information for the UE 105 to the PLMN).
Edge may not explicitly teach or disclose a registration accept message including supporting information about a network related to the first timer and the second timer and mobility management information, based on a result of the determination.
However, Ravishankar teaches or discloses a registration accept message including supporting information about a network related to the first timer and the second timer and mobility management information, based on a result of the determination (see paragraphs [0040], [0054], and [0064], the SRAN 102, in response, can forward 204 the registration request to the AMF 106. The AMF 106 can respond by registration operations 206, followed by sending a registration accept 208. The registration operations 206 can be according to standard 5G techniques and, therefore. The SRAN 102, in response to the registration accept 208 can forward 210 the registration accept to UT 124-3. Upon UT 124-3 receipt of the forwarded registration accept 208, UT 124-3 can be registered in RA2. The UT 124-3 can thereafter move among RA2/TA4, RA2/TA5, RA2/TA6, and RA2/TA7 without having to re-register with the AMF 106).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify a network element of Edge by including a registration accept message including a registration accept message including supporting information about a network related to the first timer and the second timer and mobility management information, based on a result of the determination suggested by Ravishankar. This modification would provide to reduce overhead/power paging of 5G UTs and, in some configurations, reduced overhead location reporting by 5G UTs read in paragraph [0005].
In regard claim 9, Edge teaches or discloses a user equipment (UE) communicating with a satellite radio access network (RAN) and a cellular network, the UE (see Fig. 9) comprising:
a transceiver (see Fig. 9, elements 903, 902, 906, and 908);
memory storing one or more computer programs (see Fig. 9, element 920); and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the transceiver and the
memory (see Fig. 9, elements 904, 908, 906, 902, 903, and 920),
wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the UE to:
transmit, to an access and mobility management function (AMF), a registration request message including information about the UE's supporting capability for each of a first timer for the satellite RAN and a second timer for the cellular network, an access cell type, and location information (see paragraphs [0098], [0102], [0103], and [0104], the UE 105 sends a registration request through space vehicle 115 and serving sNB 112 to the AMF 215 of the serving PLMN that is associated with the serving virtual cell and/or virtual TA in which the UE 105 is locate. Receive a registration request from the UE to a serving core network in a serving PLMN associated with a serving virtual cell or a virtual tracking area in which the UE is located via the first satellite),
receive, from the AMF, a registration accept message including supporting information about a network related to the first timer and the second timer and mobility management information (see paragraph [0099], the AMF 215 sends a registration accept message to the UE 105 through sNB 112 and space vehicle 115. Stages 5-7 may be repeated to register with a different PLMN, e.g., if the UE 105 moves to a new virtual cell, new virtual TA or new country that is associated with a different PLMN, or to provide monitoring or tracking information for the UE 105 to the PLMN), and
determine at least one timer to be used by the UE of the first timer and the second timer based on the supporting information about the network and the mobility management information (see paragraphs [0018], [0048], [0057], [0058], and [0087], where the program code is operable to configure at least one processor in a user equipment (UE) for supporting satellite wireless access to a serving public land mobile network (PLMN). The UE 105 may also determine the virtual TA and PLMN associated with the virtual cell in which the UE 105 is located. Support of mobility by the UE 105 may then proceed similarly to that for access to a terrestrial cellular network).
Edge may not explicitly teach or disclose a registration accept message including supporting information about a network related to the first timer and the second timer and mobility management information.
However, Ravishankar teaches or discloses a registration accept message including supporting information about a network related to the first timer and the second timer and mobility management information (see paragraphs [0040], [0054], and [0064], upon UT 124-3 receipt of the forwarded registration accept 208, UT 124-3 can be registered in RA2. The UT 124-3 can thereafter move among RA2/TA4, RA2/TA5, RA2/TA6, and RA2/TA7 without having to re-register with the AMF 106. The registration accept content, including the newly assigned RA, to the UT. The registration accept 508 can include the S-TMSI of the requesting RSC UT 306).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify a network element of Edge by including a registration accept message including supporting information about a network related to the first timer and the second timer and mobility management information suggested by Ravishankar. This modification would provide to reduce overhead/power paging of 5G UTs and, in some configurations, reduced overhead location reporting by 5G UTs read in paragraph [0005].
In regard claim 13, Edge teaches or discloses an access and mobility management function (AMF) communicating with a satellite radio access network (RAN) and a cellular network, the AMF (see Fig. 2) comprising:
a transceiver (see paragraph [0099], the AMF 215 sends a registration accept message);
memory storing one or more computer programs (see Fig. 2, element 215); and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the transceiver and the
memory (see Fig. 2, element 215),
wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the AMF to:
receive, from a user equipment (UE), a registration request message including information about the UE's supporting capability for each of a first timer for the satellite RAN and a second timer for the cellular network, an access cell type, and location information (see paragraph [0098], the UE 105 sends a registration request through space vehicle 115 and serving sNB 112 to the AMF 215 of the serving PLMN that is associated with the serving virtual cell and/or virtual TA in which the UE 105 is located),
determine whether a network accessed by the UE is the satellite RAN or the cellular network, based on the access cell type and the location information (see paragraphs [0007], [0058], [0104], and [0146], a UE 105 may periodically obtain its own location, e.g. using an SPS, which may be accurate and easy to obtain in the types of outdoor environment in which a satellite network, e.g., NG-RAN 110, could be used, and then determine which virtual cell it is located in, e.g., by reference to the broadcast grid points and other virtual cell and virtual TA data. The UE 105 may also determine the virtual TA and PLMN associated with the virtual cell in which the UE 105 is located. A serving satellite Radio Access Network (RAN) node (SRN) (e.g. an sNB 112) accessible from the first satellite is determined, e.g., as illustrated at stage 5. At block 610, registration is performed with a serving core network in a serving PLMN associated with the serving virtual cell or tracking area in which the UE is located via the first satellite and the serving SRN, e.g., as illustrated at stage 6); and
transmit, to the UE, a registration accept message including supporting information about a network related to the first timer and the second timer and mobility management information, based on a result of the determination (see paragraph [0099], the AMF 215 sends a registration accept message to the UE 105 through sNB 112 and space vehicle 115. Stages 5-7 may be repeated to register with a different PLMN, e.g., if the UE 105 moves to a new virtual cell, new virtual TA or new country that is associated with a different PLMN, or to provide monitoring or tracking information for the UE 105 to the PLMN).
Edge may not explicitly teach or disclose a registration accept message including supporting information about a network related to the first timer and the second timer and mobility management information, based on a result of the determination.
However, Ravishankar teaches or discloses a registration accept message including supporting information about a network related to the first timer and the second timer and mobility management information, based on a result of the determination (see paragraphs [0040], [0054], and [0064], the SRAN 102, in response, can forward 204 the registration request to the AMF 106. The AMF 106 can respond by registration operations 206, followed by sending a registration accept 208. The registration operations 206 can be according to standard 5G techniques and, therefore. The SRAN 102, in response to the registration accept 208 can forward 210 the registration accept to UT 124-3. Upon UT 124-3 receipt of the forwarded registration accept 208, UT 124-3 can be registered in RA2. The UT 124-3 can thereafter move among RA2/TA4, RA2/TA5, RA2/TA6, and RA2/TA7 without having to re-register with the AMF 106).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify a network element of Edge by including a registration accept message including a registration accept message including supporting information about a network related to the first timer and the second timer and mobility management information, based on a result of the determination suggested by Ravishankar. This modification would provide to reduce overhead/power paging of 5G UTs and, in some configurations, reduced overhead location reporting by 5G UTs read in paragraph [0005].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edge in view of Ravishankar as applied to claim above, and further in view of US Pub. 2022/0386401 to Qia et al. (hereinafter Qiao).
In regard claim 6, Edge and Ravishankar may not explicitly teach or disclose the method of claim 5, wherein at least one of the first timer or the second timer is used for transitioning a state of the UE and a registration procedure for the UE.
However, Qiao teaches or discloses wherein at least one of the first timer or the second timer is used for transitioning a state of the UE and a registration procedure for the UE (see paragraph [0063], the AMF 312 may manage a registration area of the wireless device 301, which may enable the network to track the physical location of wireless device 301 within the network. The AMF 312 may manage wireless device mobility for a wireless device in connected mode. For example, the AMF 312 may manage wireless device handovers from one AN (or portion thereof) to another. The AMF 312 may perform, for a wireless device in idle mode, registration updates, and/or page the wireless device to transition the wireless device to connected mode).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify a network element of Edge and systems for paging in GEO satellite-based 5G networks of Ravishankar by including at least one of the first timer or the second timer is used for transitioning a state of the UE and a registration procedure for the UE suggested by Qiao. This modification would provide to reduce retransmissions, reduce connection releases, reduce power consumption, improve data throughput, and/or enable selection of various functions/procedures that may provide improved quality of service read in paragraph [0004].
Conclusion
/PHIRIN SAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476