DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This FINAL action is in response to amendment filed on 12/08/2025.
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, and 11-16 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 9, 11, 15 is/are amended.
Claim(s) 4-6, 8, 12-14, 16 is/are original.
Claim(s) 2, 10 is/are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180362016 A1 ATALA; Hosam et al. (hereinafter Atala), in view of US 20170282902 A1 KRASKA; Marvin Paul et al. (hereinafter Kraska).
Regarding claim 1, Atala discloses: A hybrid electric vehicle (HEV) (see Atala at least [0001] a hybrid electric vehicle), comprising:
an internal combustion engine (see Atala at least [0014] an internal combustion engine);
an electric traction motor (see Atala at least [0025] The controller 150 commands the power electronics 156 to convert voltage from the traction battery 120 to an AC voltage provided to the M/G 118 to provide positive or negative torque to the shaft 130 and [0026] the M/G 118 may act as a motor and provide a driving force for the powertrain 112);
a belt starter generator (BSG) unit configured to start the internal combustion engine and generate electricity (see Atala at least [0029] A low-voltage starter system 168 may also be coupled to the engine 114 to provide a secondary or backup means of starting the engine 114. The low-voltage starter system 168 may be a belt-integrated starter/generator (BISG) system);
a low voltage battery system including a low voltage battery electrically coupled to the BSG unit (see Atala at least [0030] The vehicle 110 may further include a power converter module 158 and at least one auxiliary battery 160. The auxiliary battery 160 may be low-voltage battery such as a 12 Volt battery that is commonly used in automobiles. Terminals of the auxiliary battery 160 may be electrically coupled to a low-voltage power network or bus 166. The low-voltage power network 166 includes wiring and conductors for conducting current between connected modules and Fig. 1 shows auxiliary battery 160 electrically coupled to starter 114 via low-voltage power network 166);
a high voltage battery system including a high voltage traction battery configured to power the electric traction motor (see Atala at least [0014] Power electronics 156 condition direct current (DC) power provided by the traction battery 120 to the requirements of the M/G 118 and [0013] an electric motor/generator (M/G) 118 and [0025] The controller 150 commands the power electronics 156 to convert voltage from the traction battery 120 to an AC voltage provided to the M/G 118 to provide positive or negative torque to the shaft 130);
a DC/DC converter configured to convert high voltage from the high voltage battery system into low voltage to charge the low voltage battery and support low voltage loads (see Atala at least [0030] The power converter 158 may be configured to convert high-voltage power from the M/G 118 to low-voltage power. For example, high-voltage power may be supplied at a voltage level that is compatible with the traction battery (e.g., 300 Volts). Low-voltage power may be supplied at a voltage level that is compatible with the auxiliary battery 160 (e.g., 12 Volts)… The power converter module 158 may be a DC/DC converter); and
a powertrain control system for managing the DC/DC converter and the BSG unit to charge and maintain the low voltage battery system (see Atala at least [0003] a controller programmed to, (i) responsive to a low-voltage power demand exceeding a limit of a power converter configured to convert high-voltage power generated by a second electric machine to low-voltage power, operate the first electric machine and the power converter to satisfy the demand), including a controller having one or more processors (see Atala at least [0020] Controller 150 may include a microprocessor or central processing unit (CPU)) programmed to:
control the DC/DC converter to supply power output to the low voltage battery system while the BSG unit is disabled (see Atala at least [0050] If the power demand of the low-voltage network 166 is less than or equal to the power limit of the power converter 158 and the power converter 158 is operational, the controller 220 may operate only the power converter 158 to satisfy the power demand);
monitor the DC/DC converter power output (see Atala at least [0046] The power converter 158 may include a control module that monitors the voltage and current to derive a power output);
detect when the DC/DC converter power output exceeds a predetermined threshold (see Atala at least [0003] (i) responsive to a low-voltage power demand exceeding a limit of a power converter configured to convert high-voltage power generated by a second electric machine to low-voltage power) and a new low voltage power load is requested (see Atala at least [0043] an engine cooling fan may be activated to cool the engine coolant. The additional power demand of the engine cooling fan may cause the power demand on the low-voltage power network 166 to exceed the power limit of the power converter 158); and
subsequently enable the BSG unit to provide additional power output to satisfy the requested new low voltage power load (see Atala at least [0003] a controller programmed to, (i) responsive to a low-voltage power demand exceeding a limit of a power converter configured to convert high-voltage power generated by a second electric machine to low-voltage power, operate the first electric machine and the power converter to satisfy the demand and [0044] The presence of the low-voltage starter system 168 (including electric machine 226) permits additional options for satisfying the power demand and [0029] The low-voltage starter system 168 may be a belt-integrated starter/generator (BISG) system), including:
enable the BSG unit (see Atala at least [0003] operate the first electric machine).
Atala does not explicitly teach: a low voltage battery electrically coupled to the BSG unit for recharging thereby; hold the new low voltage power load request such that controller does not immediately provide power to meet the requested new low voltage power load; and ramp the BSG up to a desired output voltage set point to satisfy the requested new low voltage power load.
However, Kraska teaches: a low voltage battery electrically coupled to the BSG unit for recharging thereby (see Kraska at least [0050] In the generator mode, the electric machine 168 may provide current to support the low-voltage bus 166 and charge the auxiliary battery 160);
hold the new low voltage power load request such that controller does not immediately provide power to meet the requested new low voltage power load (see Kraska at least [0048] At the second time t.sub.2 208, the power converter output current 216 may become saturated at the power converter current limit 218. At this time, the power converter 158 may not be able to supply additional current to support the low-voltage bus 166. As depicted between the second time t.sub.2 208 and a third time t.sub.3 210, the power converter output current 216 is limited to the power converter current limit 218); and
ramp the BSG up to a desired output voltage set point to satisfy the requested new low voltage power load (see Kraska at least [0048] However, the ISG current 214 may still be increasing toward the desired current 212. Any additional ISC current 214 may be supplied by the auxiliary battery 160).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hybrid electric vehicle powertrain control system disclosed by Atala to include the holding of converter output around a threshold level and allowing the BSG to provide the extra power needs of Kraska. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because stalling the output of the converter, at least for a period, while increasing the supplementary output of the BSG helps avoid saturation of the converter, as suggested by Kraska (see Kraska at least [0003] The vehicle also includes a controller programmed to, in response to an increase in current demand for the electric machine, limit a current increase rate of the electric machine to a rate that prevents saturation of a power converter current output for at least a predetermined time).
Regarding claim 3, Atala and Kraska disclose: The HEV of claim 1, wherein the controller is further programmed to control an output voltage set point of the DC/DC converter and the output voltage set point of the BSG unit to satisfy the requested new low voltage power load (see Atala at least [0057] The second power converter 204 may be controlled to convert the power generated by the electric machine 226 to a form compatible with the low-voltage power network 166. At operation 316, the controller may manage the power output of the electric machine 226 by controlling the second power converter 204. For example, the electric machine 226 may be controlled to output an amount of power that is the difference between the power demand and the power limit. The power may be controlled by controlling the voltage and/or current supplied to the low-voltage power network 166).
Claim(s) 4, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atala, in view of Kraska, and further in view of CN 112297944 A LIU, YI-LIN et al. (hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claim 4, Atala and Kraska teach: The HEV of claim 1, wherein the controller is further programmed to determine if (i) the DC/DC converter power output is below a second predetermined threshold (see Atala at least [0051] the power output of the second power converter 204 may be dynamically changed such that power flowing into or from the batteries 212, 214 is less than a predetermined threshold).
Atala and Kraska do not teach: determine if (ii) low voltage power load requests are decreasing.
However, Liu teaches: determine if (ii) low voltage power load requests are decreasing (see Liu at least [pg. 8, para. 7, beginning with “In the embodiment of the invention”] the vehicle controller 16 obtains the driving demand power, if the driving demand power is less than the preset power threshold value).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hybrid electric vehicle powertrain control system disclosed by Atala and Kraska to include the determination of a decrease in power demand of Liu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because deliberate usage of different power supplies allows for the most efficient working of the vehicle for any power load demand, as suggested by Liu (see Liu at least [pg. 8, para. 2, beginning with “that is, when”] so the vehicle controller can adjust the power supply voltage of the motor controller according to the driving requirement power, but not using the fixed voltage to supply power for the motor controller; the motor controller is always kept in the high-efficient working interval).
Regarding claim 5, Atala, Kraska, and Liu disclose: The HEV of claim 4, wherein if (i) and (ii) are true, the controller is programmed to ramp down the BSG unit power output (see Liu at least [pg. 8, para. 7, beginning with “In the embodiment of the invention”] if the driving demand power is less than the preset power threshold value, then controlling the first switch 14 to cut off the connection between the second power battery 12 and the motor controller 13; and controlling the first voltage converter 15 to stop working).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hybrid electric vehicle powertrain control system disclosed by Atala, Kraska, and Liu to include the decreasing of power assistance from the auxiliary power source in response to a decrease in the power demand of Liu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because deliberate usage of different power supplies allows for the most efficient working of the vehicle for any power load demand, as suggested by Liu (see Liu at least [pg. 8, para. 2, beginning with “that is, when”] so the vehicle controller can adjust the power supply voltage of the motor controller according to the driving requirement power, but not using the fixed voltage to supply power for the motor controller; the motor controller is always kept in the high-efficient working interval).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atala, in view of Kraska, further in view of Liu, and further in view of CN 114165340 A LEROY, T et al. (hereinafter Leroy).
Regarding claim 6, Atala, Kraska, and Liu disclose: The HEV of claim 5.
Atala, Kraska, and Liu do not disclose: wherein if the BSG unit power output is below a third predetermined threshold or if a ramping down timer has expired, the controller is further programmed to shut off the BSG unit.
However, Leroy discloses: wherein if the BSG unit power output is below a third predetermined threshold or if a ramping down timer has expired, the controller is further programmed to shut off the BSG unit (see Leroy at least [pg. 6, para. 4, beginning with “Referring to FIG. 3”] when the PCM 50 detects that the BISG speed is close to the predefined threshold value, this occurs at about 0.9 seconds indicated by the dashed line 314, BISG gradually stops outputting stop torque, until the BISG speed reaches the threshold value of the 366RPM (i.e., engine speed) 130RPM This occurs at approximately one second indicated by the dashed line 316 when the stop torque is substantially reduced to 0 Nm. At such a low speed, the engine speed can be further reduced in a more gentle slope until the engine 14 is completely stopped).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hybrid electric vehicle powertrain control system disclosed by Atala, Kraska, and Liu to include the ramping down, then turning off of the belt starter generator when it reaches a threshold of Leroy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because allowing components to gradually wind down before shutting them off at a relatively low value allows for a more stable stopping of the engine, as suggested by Leroy (see Leroy at least [pg. 6, para. 2, beginning with “The system may”] From the perspective of the user, by removing the torque before the engine 14 completely stops, it also can reduce the engine vibration, and can more stably execute the engine stop).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atala, in view of Kraska, further in view of US 20190176630 A1 Luedtke; Daniel R. (hereinafter Luedtke), and further in view of CN 117341669 A ZHANG, Hu-biao et al. (hereafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 7, Atala and Kraska teach: The HEV of claim 1.
Atala and Kraska do not teach: wherein the powertrain control system further includes: an auxiliary power module (APM) in signal communication with the controller and configured to control an output voltage setpoint of the DC/DC converter; and a motor control processor (MCP) in signal communication with the controller and configured to control an output voltage setpoint of the BSG unit.
However, Luedtke teaches: wherein the powertrain control system further includes: an auxiliary power module (APM) in signal communication with the controller and configured to control an output voltage setpoint of the DC/DC converter (see Luedtke at least [0024] The arbitration circuit 312 then decides which set point to utilize. The DC-DC control circuit 316 receives the command output by the arbitration circuit 312 and generates a duty cycle for the DC-DC converter 136, which is connected to both the HV and LV buses 208 and 212, respectively. The LV control circuit 304 calculates the difference between an LV target voltage (LV*) and the actual voltage (LV) of the LV bus 212 (LV.sub.error=LV*−LV), which is used by the controller 306 to generate an LV setpoint).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hybrid electric vehicle powertrain control system disclosed by Atala and Kraska to include the separate DC-DC converter circuit or module of Luedtke. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because a DC-DC converter setpoint determining circuit takes inputs from both the low-voltage and high-voltage sides of the DC-DC converter in order to determine the relevant setpoint for the DC-DC converter, as suggested by Luedtke (see Luedtke at least [0024] The LV control circuit 304 and the HV control circuit 308 each have an associated controller 306 and 320, respectively. The arbitration circuit 312 receives LV and HV set points from the LV and HV control circuits 304 and 308, respectively. The arbitration circuit 312 then decides which set point to utilize).
Atala, Kraska, and Luedtke do not teach: a motor control processor (MCP) in signal communication with the controller and configured to control an output voltage setpoint of the BSG unit.
However, Zhang teaches: a motor control processor (MCP) in signal communication with the controller and configured to control an output voltage setpoint of the BSG unit (see Zhang at least [pg. 10, para. 10, beginning with “In some embodiments of the present invention, the control module 702 is specifically configured”] the control module 702 is specifically configured to determine a target power generation voltage, and control the BSG motor to output a target power generation torque to generate power according to the target power generation voltage).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hybrid electric vehicle powertrain control system disclosed by Atala, Kraska, and Luedtke to include the separate BSG motor control module of Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because a BSG motor control module can specifically control the behavior of the BSG in order to manipulate other system parameters into their target values, as suggested by Zhang (see Zhang at least [pg. 7, para. 6, beginning with “Specifically, after the high”] the BSG motor can generate electricity according to the target generating torque so as to control the high voltage end voltage of the DC-DC converter to be equal to the target generating voltage).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atala, in view of Yamazaki, further in view of Luedtke, further in view of Zhang, and further in view of US 20160121725 A1 Shin; Dong Jun et al. (hereinafter Shin).
Regarding claim 8, Atala, Kraska, Luedtke, and Zhang disclose: The HEV of claim 7.
Atala, Kraska, Luedtke, and Zhang do not disclose: wherein the powertrain control system further includes: an intelligent battery sensor (IBS) system configured to monitor a temperature and state of charge (SOC) of the low voltage battery.
However, Shin teaches: wherein the powertrain control system further includes: an intelligent battery sensor (IBS) system configured to monitor a temperature and state of charge (SOC) of the low voltage battery (see Shin at least [0013] temperature information of the auxiliary battery and SOC information sensed by an IBS mounted on a terminal of the auxiliary battery).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hybrid electric vehicle powertrain control system disclosed by Atala, Kraska, Luedtke, and Zhang to include the intelligent battery sensor of Shin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because an intelligent battery sensor can provide useful battery information which can then be utilized to determine values for the DC-DC converter (LDC), as suggested by Shin (see Shin at least [0013] variably adjusting voltage of an LDC for a hybrid vehicle and may include: … variably adjusting the LDC output voltage by generating a LDC output voltage order table based on temperature information of the auxiliary battery and SOC information).
Claim(s) 9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atala, in view of GB 2594279 A WILLIAM HARRISON et al. (hereinafter Harrison).
Regarding claim 9, Atala discloses: A method of operating a powertrain control system (see Atala at least [0054] FIG. 3 depicts a flow chart of a possible sequence of operations to implement the power distribution system and [0003] a controller programmed to, (i) responsive to a low-voltage power demand exceeding a limit of a power converter configured to convert high-voltage power generated by a second electric machine to low-voltage power, operate the first electric machine and the power converter to satisfy the demand) of a hybrid electric vehicle (HEV) (see Atala at least [0013] a hybrid electric vehicle (HEV)) having an internal combustion engine (see Atala at least [0014] an internal combustion engine), an electric traction motor (see Atala at least [0025] The controller 150 commands the power electronics 156 to convert voltage from the traction battery 120 to an AC voltage provided to the M/G 118 to provide positive or negative torque to the shaft 130 and [0026] the M/G 118 may act as a motor and provide a driving force for the powertrain 112), a belt starter generator (BSG) unit (see Atala at least [0029] The low-voltage starter system 168 may be a belt-integrated starter/generator (BISG) system), a low voltage battery system including a low voltage battery (see Atala at least [0030] The vehicle 110 may further include a power converter module 158 and at least one auxiliary battery 160. The auxiliary battery 160 may be low-voltage battery such as a 12 Volt battery that is commonly used in automobiles), and a DC/DC converter (see Atala at least [0030] The power converter module 158 may be a DC/DC converter), the method comprising:
controlling, by a controller having one or more processors (see Atala at least [0020] Controller 150 may include a microprocessor or central processing unit (CPU)), the DC/DC converter to supply power output to the low voltage battery system while the BSG unit is disabled (see Atala at least [0050] If the power demand of the low-voltage network 166 is less than or equal to the power limit of the power converter 158 and the power converter 158 is operational, the controller 220 may operate only the power converter 158 to satisfy the power demand);
monitoring, by the controller, the DC/DC converter power output (see Atala at least [0046] The power converter 158 may include a control module that monitors the voltage and current to derive a power output);
detecting, by the controller, when the DC/DC converter power output exceeds a predetermined threshold (see Atala at least [0003] (i) responsive to a low-voltage power demand exceeding a limit of a power converter configured to convert high-voltage power generated by a second electric machine to low-voltage power) and a new low voltage power load is requested (see Atala at least [0043] an engine cooling fan may be activated to cool the engine coolant. The additional power demand of the engine cooling fan may cause the power demand on the low-voltage power network 166 to exceed the power limit of the power converter 158); and
subsequently enabling, by the controller, the BSG unit to provide additional power output to satisfy the requested new low voltage power load (see Atala at least [0003] a controller programmed to, (i) responsive to a low-voltage power demand exceeding a limit of a power converter configured to convert high-voltage power generated by a second electric machine to low-voltage power, operate the first electric machine and the power converter to satisfy the demand and [0044] The presence of the low-voltage starter system 168 (including electric machine 226) permits additional options for satisfying the power demand and [0029] The low-voltage starter system 168 may be a belt-integrated starter/generator (BISG) system).
Atala does not teach: holding, by the controller, the new low voltage power load request until the BSG unit has ramped up to a desired output voltage set point.
However, Harrison teaches: holding, by the controller, the new low voltage power load request until the BSG unit has ramped up to a desired output voltage set point (see Harrison at least [pg. 19, lines 5-6] the control system 12 can hold the altered torque request 56 substantially at zero for the belt integrated starter generator for a predetermined period of time and [pg. 19, lines 21-22] the altered torque request 56 comprises an increase in the rate of torque delivery from the belt integrated starter generator 14 after the period of time and [pg. 18, lines 26-27] the rate of torque delivery is increased up until the point where it matches the original torque request 54).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hybrid electric vehicle powertrain control system disclosed by Atala to include the new load request delaying technique of Harrison. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because a new load request may require changes in system parameters that could include unwanted disruptions if initiated immediately, and a delay may mitigate these disruptions, as suggested by Harrison (see Harrison at least [pg. 19, lines 6-8] to allow the torsional damper to suppress, mitigate and/or control its own oscillations before torque is reapplied in the other direction).
Regarding claim 11, Atala and Harrison disclose: The method of claim 10, further comprising controlling, by the controller, an output voltage set point of the DC/DC converter and the output voltage set point of the BSG unit to satisfy the requested new low voltage power load (see Atala at least [0057] The second power converter 204 may be controlled to convert the power generated by the electric machine 226 to a form compatible with the low-voltage power network 166. At operation 316, the controller may manage the power output of the electric machine 226 by controlling the second power converter 204. For example, the electric machine 226 may be controlled to output an amount of power that is the difference between the power demand and the power limit. The power may be controlled by controlling the voltage and/or current supplied to the low-voltage power network 166).
Claim(s) 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atala, in view of Harrison, further in view of Liu.
Regarding claim 12, Atala and Harrison disclose: The method of claim 9, further comprising: determining, by the controller, if (i) the DC/DC converter power output is below a second predetermined threshold (see Atala at least [0051] the power output of the second power converter 204 may be dynamically changed such that power flowing into or from the batteries 212, 214 is less than a predetermined threshold).
Atala and Harrison do not teach: determining, by the controller, if (ii) low voltage power load requests are decreasing.
However, Liu teaches: determining, by the controller, if (ii) low voltage power load requests are decreasing (see Liu at least [pg. 8, para. 7, beginning with “In the embodiment of the invention”] the vehicle controller 16 obtains the driving demand power, if the driving demand power is less than the preset power threshold value).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hybrid electric vehicle powertrain control system disclosed by Atala and Harrison to include the determination of a decrease in power demand of Liu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because deliberate usage of different power supplies allows for the most efficient working of the vehicle for any power load demand, as suggested by Liu (see Liu at least [pg. 8, para. 2, beginning with “that is, when”] so the vehicle controller can adjust the power supply voltage of the motor controller according to the driving requirement power, but not using the fixed voltage to supply power for the motor controller; the motor controller is always kept in the high-efficient working interval).
Regarding claim 13, Atala, Harrison, and Liu teach: The method of claim 12, further comprising: if (i) and (ii) are true, ramping down the BSG unit power output via the controller (see Liu at least [pg. 8, para. 7, beginning with “In the embodiment of the invention”] if the driving demand power is less than the preset power threshold value, then controlling the first switch 14 to cut off the connection between the second power battery 12 and the motor controller 13; and controlling the first voltage converter 15 to stop working).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hybrid electric vehicle powertrain control system disclosed by Atala, Harrison, and Liu to include the decreasing of power assistance from the auxiliary power source in response to a decrease in the power demand of Liu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because deliberate usage of different power supplies allows for the most efficient working of the vehicle for any power load demand, as suggested by Liu (see Liu at least [pg. 8, para. 2, beginning with “that is, when”] so the vehicle controller can adjust the power supply voltage of the motor controller according to the driving requirement power, but not using the fixed voltage to supply power for the motor controller; the motor controller is always kept in the high-efficient working interval).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atala, in view of Harrison, further in view of Liu, and further in view of Leroy.
Regarding claim 14, Atala, Harrison, and Liu teach: The method of claim 13.
Atala, Harrison, and Liu do not teach: wherein if the BSG unit power output is below a third predetermined threshold or if a ramping down timer has expired, the controller is configured to shut off the BSG unit.
However, Leroy teaches: wherein if the BSG unit power output is below a third predetermined threshold or if a ramping down timer has expired, the controller is configured to shut off the BSG unit (see Leroy at least [pg. 6, para. 4, beginning with “Referring to FIG. 3”] when the PCM 50 detects that the BISG speed is close to the predefined threshold value, this occurs at about 0.9 seconds indicated by the dashed line 314, BISG gradually stops outputting stop torque, until the BISG speed reaches the threshold value of the 366RPM (i.e., engine speed) 130RPM This occurs at approximately one second indicated by the dashed line 316 when the stop torque is substantially reduced to 0 Nm. At such a low speed, the engine speed can be further reduced in a more gentle slope until the engine 14 is completely stopped).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hybrid electric vehicle powertrain control system disclosed by Atala, Harrison, and Liu to include the ramping down, then turning off of the belt starter generator when it reaches a threshold of Leroy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because allowing components to gradually wind down before shutting them off at a relatively low value allows for a more stable stopping of the engine, as suggested by Leroy (see Leroy at least [pg. 6, para. 2, beginning with “The system may”] From the perspective of the user, by removing the torque before the engine 14 completely stops, it also can reduce the engine vibration, and can more stably execute the engine stop).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atala, in view of Harrison, further in view of Luedtke, and further in view of Zhang.
Regarding claim 15, Atala and Harrison disclose: The method of claim 9.
Atala and Harrison do not recite: wherein the powertrain control system further includes: an auxiliary power module (APM) in signal communication with the controller and configured to control the output voltage setpoint of the DC/DC converter.
However, Luedtke teaches: wherein the powertrain control system further includes: an auxiliary power module (APM) in signal communication with the controller and configured to control the output voltage setpoint of the DC/DC converter (see Luedtke at least [0024] The arbitration circuit 312 then decides which set point to utilize. The DC-DC control circuit 316 receives the command output by the arbitration circuit 312 and generates a duty cycle for the DC-DC converter 136, which is connected to both the HV and LV buses 208 and 212, respectively. The LV control circuit 304 calculates the difference between an LV target voltage (LV*) and the actual voltage (LV) of the LV bus 212 (LV.sub.error=LV*−LV), which is used by the controller 306 to generate an LV setpoint).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hybrid electric vehicle powertrain control system disclosed by Atala and Harrison to include the separate DC-DC converter circuit or module of Luedtke. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because a DC-DC converter setpoint determining circuit takes inputs from both the low-voltage and high-voltage sides of the DC-DC converter in order to determine the relevant setpoint for the DC-DC converter, as suggested by Luedtke (see Luedtke at least [0024] The LV control circuit 304 and the HV control circuit 308 each have an associated controller 306 and 320, respectively. The arbitration circuit 312 receives LV and HV set points from the LV and HV control circuits 304 and 308, respectively. The arbitration circuit 312 then decides which set point to utilize).
Atala, Harrison, and Luedtke do not teach: a motor control processor (MCP) in signal communication with the controller and configured to control the output voltage setpoint of the BSG unit.
However, Zhang teaches: a motor control processor (MCP) in signal communication with the controller and configured to control the output voltage setpoint of the BSG unit (see Zhang at least [pg. 10, para. 10, beginning with “In some embodiments of the present invention, the control module 702 is specifically configured”] the control module 702 is specifically configured to determine a target power generation voltage, and control the BSG motor to output a target power generation torque to generate power according to the target power generation voltage).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hybrid electric vehicle powertrain control system disclosed by Atala, Harrison, and Luedtke to include the separate BSG motor control module of Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because a BSG motor control module can specifically control the behavior of the BSG in order to manipulate other system parameters into their target values, as suggested by Zhang (see Zhang at least [pg. 7, para. 6, beginning with “Specifically, after the high”] the BSG motor can generate electricity according to the target generating torque so as to control the high voltage end voltage of the DC-DC converter to be equal to the target generating voltage).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atala, in view of Harrison, further in view of Luedtke, further in view of Zhang, and further in view of Shin.
Regarding claim 16, Atala, Harrison, Luedtke, and Zhang disclose: The method of claim 15.
Atala, Harrison, Luedtke, and Zhang do not disclose: wherein the powertrain control system further includes: an intelligent battery sensor (IBS) system configured to monitor a temperature and state of charge (SOC) of the low voltage battery.
However, Shin teaches: wherein the powertrain control system further includes: an intelligent battery sensor (IBS) system configured to monitor a temperature and state of charge (SOC) of the low voltage battery (see Shin at least [0013] temperature information of the auxiliary battery and SOC information sensed by an IBS mounted on a terminal of the auxiliary battery).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hybrid electric vehicle powertrain control system disclosed by Atala, Harrison, Luedtke, and Zhang to include the intelligent battery sensor of Shin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because an intelligent battery sensor can provide useful battery information which can then be utilized to determine values for the DC-DC converter (LDC), as suggested by Shin (see Shin at least [0013] variably adjusting voltage of an LDC for a hybrid vehicle and may include: … variably adjusting the LDC output voltage by generating a LDC output voltage order table based on temperature information of the auxiliary battery and SOC information).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/08/2025 have been fully considered.
Applicant's arguments overcome the objections to the specification.
Applicant's amendments overcome the objections to the claims.
Regarding the arguments provided for the 35 U.S.C. §103 rejections of claims 1, 3-8 (remarks pages 9-14), the applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot because of new grounds of rejection.
Regarding the arguments provided for the 35 U.S.C. §102 rejections of claims 9 and the 35 U.S.C. §103 rejections of claims 10-16, the applicant's arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
(A) Applicant argues “In this regard, Applicant notes claim 9 has been amended to include features of claim 10, in which Harrison (GB2594279) was used to reject the claim. The Office concedes that Atala fails to describe or suggest the claimed features (see OA, page 15), but that Harrison describes such features in page 18, Ins. 26-27 and page 19, Ins. 5-6 and 21-22. Applicant respectfully disagrees, as discussed below… As pointed out by the Office, Harrison states that "the control system 12 can hold the altered torque request 56 substantially at zero." Applicant notes that these passages are talking about controlling torque provided by a belt integrated starter generator (BISG) (see also Abstract)… In contrast, claim 9 requires holding the low voltage power load request. Holding motor torque (Harrison) does not satisfy the requirement of holding a low voltage power load request (claim 9). Accordingly, Applicant submits the cited art fails to describe each and every feature of claim 9… In light of the foregoing, Applicant submits claim 9 is patentable over Atala and Harrison. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejection.” (remarks pg. 9)
Regarding (A), Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner agrees, as earlier discussed in the non-final office action and in the final rejection of claim 9 under 35 U.S.C. 103, that Atala fails to fully disclose all limitation of original claim 10, whose content is now incorporated into claim 9. However, Examiner maintains that Harrison teaches the missing elements of the amended claim 9 such that, when viewed in combination with the BSG hybrid powertrain control system of Atala, renders obvious the claimed invention. Atala describes all elements of the claimed invention as written in claim 9 through the subsequent enabling of the BSG to satisfy a power load, but lacks the “holding” step as newly amended. Harrison describes the missing step of holding a load request until the BSG is ready to step in. Harrison’s holding of the request while waiting for the BSG would be obvious to combine with the low voltage battery system of Atala because Harrison’s approach accounts for the BSG’s ramping or suppression process before demanding extra power. Examiner notes that the term “holding” in claim 9 can be interpreted broadly and, unless further limitation on the intended interpretation of the word “holding” is amended into the claims, Harrison’s action of prolonging a zero torque request until the BSG system is ready to reapply power reads on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitations as claimed. Since claims 11-16 remain dependent on a rejected claim and are themselves rejected under prior art, these claims are not allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 11506719 B2 Chen; Hanyang B. et al. discloses hybrid vehicle battery monitoring related to belt integrated starter generator and DC/DC generator
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ELLE ROSE KNUDSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/Hitesh Patel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
3/24/26