Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-4 and 14 in the reply filed on 06/16/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 5-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-14 are pending. Claims 1-4 and 14 are presented for this examination. Claims 5-13 are withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 11/05/2024 and is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The term “for extreme environment” in claims 1-4 and claim 14 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “extreme” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “relatively low sintering temperature” in claim 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “relatively low” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Instant claim 14 fails to recite whether E is also from periodic table refractory transitional metal group IVB through VIB as element A, X, Y, Z and D. For that reason, instant claim 14 is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Wang (CN115057706A).
As for claims 1 and 3, instant claimed “for extreme environment” is interpreted as preamble Statements reciting purpose or intended use according to MPEP 2111.02 II.
Because the preamble merely states the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than a claim limitation, no patentable weight would be given. See MPEP 2111.02 II
Wang discloses a two-phase high entropy boride with hexagonal (HCP) crystal structure and high entropy carbide with face centered cubic crystal structure. ([0032] and claim 1). Hence, instant claimed dual phase high entropy boride carbide composite is expected. The composite is for ultra-high temperature.
The high entropy boride comprises the following formula : (claim 1)
,
The high entropy carbide comprises the following formula : (claim 1)
wherein a, b, c, d, e, f, g, h, I and j are between 0-50%, X and Y is one or two or more of W, V, Ti, Cr or Mo.
Hence, if a, b, e, f, g and j are >0 and c, d, h, i are all zero; X and Y are both V and Ti.
The above high entropy boride formula becomes:
(Zr, Hf, V, Ti) B2.
The above high entropy carbide formula becomes
(Zr, Hf, V, Ti) C.
As for claim 2, instant claimed hardness is an inherent property due to similar compositions, microstructure of claimed product according to MPEP 2112.01
When the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the prior art products necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. See MPEP 2112.01.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See also Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) In the instant case, Wang teaches a dual phase high entropy boride carbide compositie with same boride and carbide structure as claimed and same compositions as claimed, instant claimed hardness would be expected absent evidence of the contrary.
As for claim 4, instant claimed wherein clause is product by process limitation in a product claim. Hence, it is not given patentable distincion over prior art according to MPEP 2113.
When the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by-process claim, a rejection based alternatively on either Section 102 or Section 103 is proper. See MPEP 2113.
According to MPEP 2113, determination of patentability of product is based on the product itself. That is, the patentability of product does not depend on its method of production unless the process of making the claimed product imparts any structural and/or functional limitation and characteristic on the claimed product.
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Guo (CN115385696A).
As for claim 14, Guo discloses a dual phase high entropy ceramic comprising a dual phase of high entropy boride and high entropy carbide, where the high entropy boride comprises any five boride powder of the Ti, Zr, Nb, Ta, V, Hf. Inventive Example 2 ([0041]) discloses following formulas of the boride and the carbide.
Hence, the boride formula meets instant claimed (A-X-Y-Z-D-E)B2 where A, X, Y, Z and D having a range of 0.2. E has a range of 0. A,X, Y, Z,D are from Hf, Zr, Ta, Nb and Ti.
Likewise, the carbide formula meets instant claimed (A-X-Y-Z-D-E)C where A, X, Y, Z and D having a range of 0.2. E has a range of 0. A,X, Y, Z,D are from Hf, Zr, Ta, Nb and Ti.
Hence, Guo anticipated instant claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN115057706A).
As for claim 14, Wang discloses a dual phase high entropy boride and high entropy carbide as indicated in 102/103 rejection of claim 1 above over Wang.
The high entropy boride comprises the following formula : (claim 1)
,
The high entropy carbide comprises the following formula : (claim 1)
wherein a, b, c, d, e, f, g, h, I and j are between 0-50%, X and Y is one or two or more of W, V, Ti, Cr or Mo. Hence, wang’s boride and carbide formula read on claimed (A-X-Y-Z-D-E)B2 and (A-X-Y-Z-D-E)C.
Given a, b, c, d, e, f, g, h, I and j between 0-50%, they overlap instant claimed range of 0.2-0.4.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges overlap or are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Conclusion
/JENNY R WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733