DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 15-18, 20, 43, 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palm et al. (US Patent Application No. 2004/0055957) in view of Haghdoost et al. (US Patent Application No. 2017/0190139).
Regarding claim 1, Palm et al. teach a composition comprising an agglomeration of a plurality of porous microparticles (page 1, paragraphs [0002], [0015], page 4, paragraph [0048], page 7, paragraph [0076], page 9, paragraph [0105]).
Palm et al. fail to teach wherein the microparticles forming a hierarchically porous material structure. However, Haghdoost et al. teach a plurality of surface features providing a hierarchical structure (page 1, paragraph [0005]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the microparticles of Palm et al. in a hierarchical structure as that of Haghdoost et al. in order to impart functional or aesthetic characteristics (Haghdoost et al., page 1, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Palm et al. teach wherein said microparticles comprising a biogenic material including diatomaceous earth (page 2, paragraph [0015], page 5, paragraph [0054]).
Regarding claim 4, Palm et al. teach wherein said microparticles comprise a synthetic material (page 1, paragraph [0015]).
Regarding claim 5, Palm et al. teach wherein said microparticles include a combination of a biogenic material and a synthetic material (page 1, paragraph [0015]).
Regarding claims 6-9, Palm et al. fail to teach wherein at least one of said plurality of microparticles includes a first plurality of nanoscale features disposed on at least a portion of a surface thereof. However, Haghdoost et al. teach a plurality of surface features providing a hierarchical structure (page 1, paragraph [0005]), and include a first plurality of nanoscale features providing a first nanostructured coating and a second plurality of nanoscale features providing a second nanostructure coating (page 1, paragraph [0005], page 2, paragraph [0007]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide nanoscale features on the microparticles of Palm et al. as that of Haghdoost et al. in order to impart functional or aesthetic characteristics (Haghdoost et al., page 1, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 15, Palm et al. fail to teach wherein the first nanostructured coating has a thickness in a range of about 1 nm to about 50 nm. However, Haghdoost et al. teach a plurality of surface features providing a hierarchical structure (page 1, paragraph [0005]), and include a first plurality of nanoscale features providing a first nanostructured coating and a second plurality of nanoscale features (page 1, paragraph [0005], page 2, paragraph [0007]).
Haghdoost et al. do not disclose wherein the first nanostructured coating has a thickness in a range of about 1 nm to about 50 nm. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in thickness involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the thickness of the coating of Haghdoost et al. in order to impart functional or aesthetic characteristics (Haghdoost et al., page 1, paragraph [0004]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide nanoscale features on the microparticles of Palm et al. as that of Haghdoost et al. in order to impart functional or aesthetic characteristics (Haghdoost et al., page 1, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 16, Palm et al. fail to teach wherein the first nanostructured coating is at least partially coated with a second coating. However, Haghdoost et al. teach a plurality of surface features providing a hierarchical structure (page 1, paragraph [0005]), and include a first plurality of nanoscale features providing a first nanostructured coating and a second plurality of nanoscale features (page 1, paragraph [0005], page 2, paragraph [0007]), wherein the first nanostructured coating is at least partially coated with a second coating (page 1, paragraph [0005], page 2, paragraph [0007]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide nanoscale features on the microparticles of Palm et al. as that of Haghdoost et al. in order to impart functional or aesthetic characteristics (Haghdoost et al., page 1, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 17, Palm et al. fail to teach wherein the second coating includes a second plurality of nanoscale features. However, Haghdoost et al. teach a plurality of surface features providing a hierarchical structure (page 1, paragraph [0005]), and include a first plurality of nanoscale features providing a first nanostructured coating and a second plurality of nanoscale features (page 1, paragraph [0005], page 2, paragraph [0007]), wherein the first nanostructured coating is at least partially coated with a second coating (page 1, paragraph [0005], page 2, paragraph [0007]), wherein the second coating includes a second plurality of nanoscale features (page 1, paragraph [0005], page 2, paragraph [0007]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide nanoscale features on the microparticles of Palm et al. as that of Haghdoost et al. in order to impart functional or aesthetic characteristics (Haghdoost et al., page 1, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 18, Palm et al. fail to teach wherein the second coating comprises an inorganic material. However, Haghdoost et al. teach a plurality of surface features providing a hierarchical structure (page 1, paragraph [0005]) and include a first plurality of nanoscale features providing a first nanostructured coating and a second plurality of nanoscale features (page 1, paragraph [0005], page 2, paragraph [0007]), wherein the first nanostructured coating is at least partially coated with a second coating (page 1, paragraph [0005], page 2, paragraph [0007]), wherein the second coating comprises an inorganic material (page 1, paragraph [0005], page 2, paragraph [0007]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide nanoscale features on the microparticles of Palm et al. as that of Haghdoost et al. in order to impart functional or aesthetic characteristics (Haghdoost et al., page 1, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 20, Palm et al. fail to teach wherein the first plurality of nanoscale features exhibits a barbed morphology. However, Haghdoost et al. teach a plurality of surface features providing a hierarchical structure (page 1, paragraph [0005]), and include a first plurality of nanoscale features (page 1, paragraph [0005], page 2, paragraph [0007]).
Haghdoost et al. do not disclose wherein the first plurality of nanoscale features exhibits a barbed morphology. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in morphology involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the morphology of the nanoscale features of Haghdoost et al. in order to impart functional or aesthetic characteristics (Haghdoost et al., page 1, paragraph [0004]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide nanoscale features on the microparticles of Palm et al. as that of Haghdoost et al. in order to impart functional or aesthetic characteristics (Haghdoost et al., page 1, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 43, Palm et al. teach a filtration system comprising a filter medium (page 4, paragraphs [0042], [0044], page 8, paragraph [0104]), a granulated filtration material coupled to said filter medium (page 1, paragraphs [0002], [0015], page 2, paragraphs [0014], [0015], page 4, paragraph [0042], [0044], [0048], page 7, paragraph [0076], page 8, paragraph [0104], page 9, paragraph [0105]), wherein said granulated filtration material includes an agglomeration of a plurality of microparticles (page 1, paragraphs [0002], [0015], page 4, paragraph [0048], page 7, paragraph [0076], page 9, paragraph [0105]).
Palm et al. fail to teach wherein the microparticles forming a hierarchically porous material structure. However, Haghdoost et al. teach a plurality of surface features providing a hierarchical structure (page 1, paragraph [0005]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the microparticles of Palm et al. in a hierarchical structure as that of Haghdoost et al. in order to impart functional or aesthetic characteristics (Haghdoost et al., page 1, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 44, Palm et al. teach wherein said microparticles comprise a plurality of porous microparticles (page 1, paragraphs [0002], [0015], page 4, paragraph [0048], page 7, paragraph [0076], page 9, paragraph [0105]).
Claims 10-13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palm et al. (US Patent Application No. 2004/0055957) in view of Haghdoost et al. (US Patent Application No. 2017/0190139), in further view of Shirman et al. (US Patent Application No. 2021/0205803).
Palm et al. and Haghdoost et al. are relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 10, Palm et al. fail to teach wherein the first nanostructured coating is configured to provide any of a catalytic and a sorption function. However, Shirman et al. teach a composite comprising porous particles (page 1, paragraph [0003]), wherein the composite provides any of a catalytic and a sorption function (page 2, paragraph [0014]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide catalytic or sorption function in Palm et al. as that of Shirman et al. in order to exhibit multiple functions (Shirman et al., page 2, paragraph [0014]).
Regarding claim 11, Palm et al. fail to teach wherein the first nanostructured coating is configured to provide sorption and storage of CO2. However, Shirman et al. teach a composite comprising porous particles (page 1, paragraph[0003]), wherein the composite provides any of a catalytic and a sorption function (page 2, paragraph [0014]), wherein the composite provides sorption and storage of CO2 (page 1, paragraph [0010]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide sorption function in Palm et al. as that of Shirman et al. in order to exhibit multiple functions (Shirman et al., page 2, paragraph [0014]).
Regarding claim 12, Palm et al. fail to teach wherein the first nanostructured coating is configured to treat any of gaseous and particulate contaminants. However, Shirman et al. teach a composite comprising porous particles (page 1, paragraph[0003]), wherein the composite provides any of a catalytic and a sorption function (page 2, paragraph [0014]), wherein the composite is configured to treat any of gaseous and particulate contaminants (page 1, paragraph [0010]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide sorption function in Palm et al. as that of Shirman et al. in order to exhibit multiple functions (Shirman et al., page 2, paragraph [0014]).
Regarding claim 13, Palm et al. fail to teach wherein the first nanostructured coating is configured to provide sorption of at least one volatile organic compound. However, Shirman et al. teach a composite comprising porous particles (page 1, paragraph[0003]), wherein the composite provides any of a catalytic and a sorption function (page 2, paragraph [0014]), wherein the composite is configured to provide sorption of at least one volatile organic compound (page 1, paragraph [0010]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide sorption function in Palm et al. as that of Shirman et al. in order to exhibit multiple functions (Shirman et al., page 2, paragraph [0014]).
Regarding claim 19, Palm et al. fail to teach wherein the second coating is configured to enhance any of a catalytic function, a sorption function, and a biocidal function of the composition. However, Shirman et al. teach a composite comprising porous particles (page 1, paragraph [0003]) configured to enhance any of a catalytic function and sorption function (page 2, paragraph [0014]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide catalytic or sorption function in Palm et al. as that of Shirman et al. in order to exhibit multiple functions (Shirman et al., page 2, paragraph [0014]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palm et al. (US Patent Application No. 2004/0055957) in view of Haghdoost et al. (US Patent Application No. 2017/0190139) and Shirman et al. (US Patent Application No. 2021/0205803), in further view of Stabler et al. (US Patent Application No. 2018/0104670).
Palm et al., Haghdoost et al. and Shirman et al. are relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 14, Palm et al. fail to teach wherein the at least one volatile organic compound is formaldehyde. However, Stabler et al. teach a porous article (page 1, paragraph [0001]) comprising microparticles (page 1, paragraph [0001]) and nanoparticles (page 1, paragraph [0011]), wherein the article provides purification and/or filtration of formaldehyde (page 5, paragraphs [0073], [0086]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to allow the composition of Palm et al. to provide sorption of formaldehyde as that of Stabler et al. in order to provide the purification and/or filtration of formaldehyde (Stabler et al., (page 5, paragraphs [0073], [0086]).
Conclusion
/Chinessa T. Golden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 10/17/2025