Terminal Disclaimer
2. The terminal disclaimer filed on 2/17/26 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patent Nos. 11,679,935 and 11,678,735 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore (US 2018/0255913 A1) in view of Hill (US 3,848,787 A) and Carmichael (US 6,758,378 B2).
Regarding claim 8, Moore discloses a portable carrying apparatus (see 820 in Figure 6h), comprising: a first arm comprising a first frame (left portion proximate 845), the first frame comprising a first plurality of attachment protrusions (left pegs 9); a second arm comprising a second frame (right portion proximate 850), the second frame comprising a second plurality of attachment protrusions (right pegs 9); and a body portion (central curved portion); wherein the first plurality of attachment protrusions (9) and the second plurality of attachment protrusions (9) each comprise outwardly extending protrusions (see Figure 6h) configured to (i.e. has structure so as to be capable to) receive at least one of a hook, a carabiner, or a rope (none of the hook, carabiner, or rope currently being claimed in combination).
Moore fails to disclose the first arm frame comprising a first connector portion, the second arm frame comprising a second connector portion, and the body portion comprising first and second attachment interfaces, wherein the first connector portion of the first arm is mateably coupled with the first attachment interface of the body portion and the second connector portion of the second arm is mateably coupled with the second attachment interface of the body portions wherein the first arm and the second arm are each selectively detachable from the body portion to permit disassembly of the portable carrying apparatus.
Hill teaches that it is desirable for an elongate carrier like that of Moore to be formed in pieces (14,15) that can be disassembled for easier transport when not in use (see col. 3 lines 21-24). Carmichael teaches that it was already known in the art for a hanger device like that of Hill to include left and right arms (40) with first and second connector portions (44) that are detachable from left and right attachment interfaces of (26) a central body portion (10). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have made the first and second arms of Moore detachable from the body portion in the manner taught by Carmichael, the motivation being to allow a user to disassemble the Moore carrier for easier transport when not in use, as taught by Hill.
Regarding claim 9, Moore as modified above would include the apparatus of claim 8 wherein Moore discloses the first plurality of attachment protrusions (left pegs 9) are disposed on a lateral portion of the first frame (see Figure 6h).
Regarding claim 10, Moore as modified above would include the apparatus of claim 8 wherein Moore discloses the second plurality of attachment protrusions (right pegs 9) are disposed on a lateral portion of the second frame (see Figure 6h).
Regarding claim 11, Moore as modified above would include the apparatus of claim 8 wherein the first frame comprises a handle portion (formed by the outermost protrusion and tip of the frame, where a “handle portion” is nothing more than a physical structure capable of being grabbed/held by a user) at a distal end of the first frame.
Regarding claim 12, Moore as modified above would include the apparatus of claim 8 wherein the second frame comprises a handle portion (formed by the outermost protrusion and tip of the frame, where a “handle portion” is nothing more than a physical structure capable of being grabbed/held by a user) at a distal end of the second frame.
Regarding claim 13, Moore as modified above would include the apparatus of claim 8 wherein Moore discloses an upper portion of the body portion comprises a handle (862).
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 1-7 and 14-20 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant’s arguments filed 2/20/26 with respect to claim 8 have been fully considered and are persuasive but are also moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
8. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JUSTIN MATTHEW LARSON whose telephone number is (571)272-8649. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 7am-3pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nathan Newhouse can be reached on (571)272-4544. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JUSTIN M LARSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734 5/29/26