DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-2 and 21-38 are pending. Claims 3-20 have been cancelled. Claims 21-38 have bene added. Claims 1-2 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
(1) Applicant states:
Remarks pp. 15-16.
Han explicitly teaches such draping animation as shown in Figs. 4 and 9.
Where, the clothes (Fig. 4 421b and Fig. 9 2rd-4h are draped on an avatar, which is similar to Applicant’s figs. 2A-B, 3A-B.
(2) Applicant states:
Remarks p. 16.
Han teaches selecting a pattern to display at a changed position, stating “For example, the user terminal 100 may obtain a user input to move the part 432B constituting the collar to another position, and accordingly, may display the part 432B constituting the collar on a position according to the user input.” Han ¶ 136.
Han discloses a patten could be moved to a depth level, stating “For example, the user terminal 100 may move the display position of the part 432C constituting the back side of clothing in a direction away from the 3D shape 431 of the body such that the distance between the 3D shape 431 of the body and the part 432C constituting the back side of clothing is equal to or greater than the predetermined first threshold distance D_min.” Han ¶ 124.
The teaches from Han ¶ 136 and Han ¶ 124 appear to be taken from different, though similar, contexts. However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Han’s selecting a pattern by a user to move with Han’s teaching of moving a pattern towards or away from a body. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to allow a user to manipulate the position of each selected pattern. The user may view the pattern more clearly based on the user’s preference. After the combination, a user may select a pattern to be displayed at a selected depth level.
Applicant contends, “Han lacks any motivation . . ..” However, as Applicant characterizes Han to “adjust distances between parts to prevent overlapping,” which shows the problem, solution, and motivation. When parts are overlapping, one could not see the parts clearly. One could adjust distances between parts, so that one could see them better.
(3) Applicant states:
Remarks p. 16.
See the Examiner’s analyses for the amended features.
Compact Prosecution
With respect to Claim Interpretation, the Examiner has provided some notes regarding “[BRI on the record]” throughout the Office Action, so that the record is clear about the scope of the claimed invention, and the record is also clear about the basis for the Examiner’s analyses. A clear record of the claim interpretation could expedite the examination by creating the condition to allow the examination to focus on Applicant’s inventive concept and its comparison with related prior art.
If there are disagreements, Applicant may present an alternative interpretation based on MPEP 2111. The Examiner will adopt Applicant’s interpretation on the record, if Applicant’s interpretation is reasonable and/or arguments are persuasive.
Applicant may amend claims relying on the Examiner’s claim interpretation provided on the record.
Claim Objections
The objections to Claims 1, 3, 6, and 18 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments to Claim 1 and Applicant’s cancellation of these claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The rejections claims under 35 USC § 101 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments to the independent claims and cancellation of some claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 21-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a depth level displaying patterns”
Claim 2, depending on Claim 1, recites “a depth level displaying pieces”
Claim 24, depending on Claim 2, recites “not displayed at the depth level displaying patterns but displayed at the depth level displaying pieces”
First, “a depth level displaying patterns” and “a depth level displaying pieces” are grammatically confusing.
Second, there are competing speculations of the meaning of these terms. For example, “a depth level displaying patterns” could possibly mean:
a depth level to display patterns?
a depth-level displaying pattern?
Third, Claim 24 requires that displaying at “a depth level displaying patterns” and displaying at “a depth level displaying pieces” should be differentiated, because of the terms “patterns” or “pieces.” But how?
Finally, the specification did not use those terms and did not appear to make a distinction between “a depth level displaying patterns” and “a depth level displaying pieces.” For example the specification states:
[0084] A visual depth may refer to a degree of visualization of a garment (e.g., pieces and patterns) that are output on a screen where a user modifies the garment. Accordingly, the degree of visualization of the garment output on the screen may vary depending on a change in the visual depth. The visual depth may include multiple depth levels, a user may select a depth level for modification from among depth levels hierarchically displaying pieces included in a 3D garment and patterns included in each of the pieces in a 3D exploded view (e.g., a 3D garment worn by an avatar in a simulation), so that even targets, which are modifiable in a 3D simulation space yet intricately entangled, may be clearly separated enough for visualization and/or modification.
Spec. ¶ 84.
Such disclosure does not provide clear guidance on how to interpret “a depth level displaying patterns” and “a depth level displaying pieces.”
All the independent claims are rejected because they have similar deficiency. All dependent claims are rejected because they inherit the deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 27, 32-33, and 36-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 20210166472 A1)
Regarding Claim 1, Han teaches A method of simulating sewing (“In addition, provided is a clothing sewing prediction in a more accurate form.” Han ¶ 9.), comprising:
performing a draping simulation on an avatar to generate a three-dimensional (3D) garment based on sewing relationships defined by sewing line matching information (
[BRI on the record]
With respect to “simulate,” the Examiner is reading the limitation to mean: to give or assume the appearance or effect of often with the intent to deceive: imitate. The specification provides no clear guidance. The Examiner bases his interpretation on the plain meaning of the term.
[Mapping Analysis]
Han Fig. 4 421 and Fig. 9 show a draping simulation of an avatar to generate 3D garment.
Han fig. 9:
Han fig. 5:
, which shows that matching sewing lines are indicated as being matched by guiding/thread lines in light gray.
“For example, the processor 112 may display a 3D shape 433A of thread connecting the first portion 432B-1 and the second portion 432C-1 to display the first portion 432B-1 and the second portion 432C-1 in correspondence with each other.” Han ¶ 97.);
displaying the 3D garment based on a result of the draping simulation (
Han fig. 4:
“The processor 112 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may display a 3D shape 421a of a body based on body data and a 3D shape 421b of clothing in consideration of the 3D shape 421a of the body on the region 421 for displaying the shape in the 3D space of clothing.” Han ¶ 77.
The 3D garment is mapped to Han 421b of clothing, which shows the result of draping simulation.);
receiving a user input to select a pattern included in a piece of the 3D garment to display an exploded view at a depth level displaying patterns (
[BRI on the record] With respect to “exploded view,” the Examiner is reading the limitation to mean: a view of a piece of garment, in which patterns of the garment are detached/exploded from each other. Since the claimed “exploded view” is recited in the context of depth level, the claimed “exploded view” must be in 3D. This interpretation is in light of the specification:
[Mapping Analysis]
Han fig. 5:
, shows a displayed exploded view of garment patterns at a depth level.
Han further explains, “For example, the processor 112 may display the combining relationship between the part 432A constituting a front side of clothing, the part 432B constituting a collar of clothing, and the parts 432C constituting the back side of clothing as shown in FIG. 5.” Han ¶ 94.
Han teaches selecting a pattern to display at a changed position, stating “For example, the user terminal 100 may obtain a user input to move the part 432B constituting the collar to another position, and accordingly, may display the part 432B constituting the collar on a position according to the user input. At this time, the user terminal 100 may update and display the 3D shape 462 of thread that connects the first portion 432B-1 of the part 432B constituting the collar of clothing and having the changed position and the second portion 432C-1 of the part 432C constituting the back side of clothing combined with the first portion 432B-1. However, this is merely exemplary and the spirit of the present disclosure is not limited thereto.” Han ¶ 136.
An example of a pattern is mapped to fig. 5 432B, which is selected and can be displayed at different depth levels based on its moved position.
Han ¶ 136 is unclear that moving a selected pattern, e.g., the collar 432B, would necessarily lead to a depth level.
Han discloses, “For example, the user terminal 100 may move the display position of the part 432C constituting the back side of clothing in a direction away from the 3D shape 431 of the body such that the distance between the 3D shape 431 of the body and the part 432C constituting the back side of clothing is equal to or greater than the predetermined first threshold distance D_min. However, this is merely exemplary and the spirit of the present disclosure is not limited thereto.” Han ¶ 124.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Han’s selecting a pattern by a user to move with Han’s teaching of moving a pattern towards or away from a body. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to allow a user to manipulate the position of each selected pattern. The user may view the pattern more clearly based on the user’s preference.);
identifying a selected pattern of the piece of the 3D garment based on the user input (
“For example, the user terminal 100 may obtain a user input to move the part 432B constituting the collar to another position, and accordingly, may display the part 432B constituting the collar on a position according to the user input. At this time, the user terminal 100 may update and display the 3D shape 462 of thread that connects the first portion 432B-1 of the part 432B constituting the collar of clothing and having the changed position and the second portion 432C-1 of the part 432C constituting the back side of clothing combined with the first portion 432B-1. However, this is merely exemplary and the spirit of the present disclosure is not limited thereto.” Han ¶ 136.
An example of a pattern is mapped to fig. 5 432B, which is selected and can be displayed at different depth levels based on its moved position, similar to fig. 6, as the Examiner has explained.);
displaying, at the depth level displaying patterns, the exploded view of the piece of the 3D garment wherein the selected pattern and one or more patterns associated with the selected pattern are separated from each other by predetermined distances, while maintaining respective 3D shapes of patterns of the piece as deformed by the draping simulation (
Han fig. 5:
, shows a displayed exploded view of garment patterns at a depth level. The selected pattern and one or more patterns are separated by a distance. The thread line could visually show the association.
Han fig. 9:
Here, at least the second and third figures show that maintaining respective 3D shapes of patterns of the piece as deformed by the draping simulation in the exploded view.), and
displaying, within the exploded view, one or more guide lines extending between sewing lines associated with the selected pattern to indicate matching of the sewing lines, according to the sewing line matching information (
[BRI on the record]
With respect to “sewing lines,” the Examiner is reading the limitation to mean: outline of a garment pattern for sewing operation. This interpretation is in light of the specification:
[0037] . . . Where a user provides an outline and a length (hereinafter, ‘a sewing line’) for setting a sewing operation, sewing for a virtual garment may be implemented by joining the polygonal vertices of the mesh on a sewing line in each of the two 2D patterns.
[0023] FIGS. 2A and 2B are exploded views illustrating sewing lines at a first depth level, according to an example embodiment.
Spec. ¶¶ 23, 37.
Fig. 2A:
With respect to “guide lines,” the Examiner is reading the limitation to mean: lines that connect matching sewing lines. This interpretation is in light of the specification:
[0057] The simulation device may generate a plurality of guide lines connecting matching sewing lines as indicated by sewing line matching information. The guide lines described herein refer to lines that connect matching sewing lines. The simulation device may display guide lines connecting to the selected pattern while not displaying guide lines not connected to the selected pattern. . . .
[0058] . . . FIG. 2A illustrates a T-shirt piece 210 that includes patterns 211, 212, 213, 214, 215, 216, 217, sewing line 232, 230, 250, 252, and guide lines 231, 251.
Spec. ¶¶ 57-58.
[Mapping Analysis]
Han fig. 5.
“For example, the user terminal 100 may obtain a user input to move the part 432B constituting the collar to another position, and accordingly, may display the part 432B constituting the collar on a position according to the user input. At this time, the user terminal 100 may update and display the 3D shape 462 of thread that connects the first portion 432B-1 of the part 432B constituting the collar of clothing and having the changed position and the second portion 432C-1 of the part 432C constituting the back side of clothing combined with the first portion 432B-1.” Han ¶ 136.
an example for the sewing lines is mapped to disclosed the part of the outline of 432B for sewing operation.
an example for the guide lines is mapped to disclosed portions of the lines that connect matching sewing lines of 432B and 432C that shows correspondence between sewing lines..);
wherein the sewing line matching information indicates matching of the sewing lines between the patterns of the piece of the 3D garment (Han figs. 5. “For example, the user terminal 100 may obtain a user input to move the part 432B constituting the collar to another position, and accordingly, may display the part 432B constituting the collar on a position according to the user input. At this time, the user terminal 100 may update and display the 3D shape 462 of thread that connects the first portion 432B-1 of the part 432B constituting the collar of clothing and having the changed position and the second portion 432C-1 of the part 432C constituting the back side of clothing combined with the first portion 432B-1.” Han ¶ 136.).
The Examiner has explained the obviousness analysis with respect to the limitation: receiving a user input to select a pattern to display an exploded view at a depth level displaying pattens.
Han teaches selecting a pattern to display at a changed position, stating “For example, the user terminal 100 may obtain a user input to move the part 432B constituting the collar to another position, and accordingly, may display the part 432B constituting the collar on a position according to the user input.” Han ¶ 136.
Han discloses a patten could be moved to a depth level, stating “For example, the user terminal 100 may move the display position of the part 432C constituting the back side of clothing in a direction away from the 3D shape 431 of the body such that the distance between the 3D shape 431 of the body and the part 432C constituting the back side of clothing is equal to or greater than the predetermined first threshold distance D_min.” Han ¶ 124.
The teaches from Han ¶ 136 and Han ¶ 124 appear to be taken from different, though similar, contexts. However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Han’s selecting a pattern by a user to move with Han’s teaching of moving a pattern towards or away from a body. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to allow a user to manipulate the position of each selected pattern. The user may view the pattern more clearly based on the user’s preference. After the combination, a user may select a pattern to be displayed at a selected depth level.
Regarding Claim 27, Han teaches The method of claim 1, wherein different patterns other than the selected pattern are not displayed in the depth level displaying patterns (
Han teaches selecting a pattern to display at a changed position, stating “For example, the user terminal 100 may obtain a user input to move the part 432B constituting the collar to another position, and accordingly, may display the part 432B constituting the collar on a position according to the user input.” Han ¶ 136.
Han discloses a patten could be moved to the depth level displaying pattern, stating “For example, the user terminal 100 may move the display position of the part 432C constituting the back side of clothing in a direction away from the 3D shape 431 of the body such that the distance between the 3D shape 431 of the body and the part 432C constituting the back side of clothing is equal to or greater than the predetermined first threshold distance D_min.” Han ¶ 124.
The teaches from Han ¶ 136 and Han ¶ 124 appear to be taken from different contexts. However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Han’s selecting a pattern by a user to move with Han’s teaching of moving a pattern towards or away from a body. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to allow a user to manipulate the position of each selected pattern. The user may view the pattern more clearly based on the user’s preference. After the combination, a user may select a pattern to be displayed at a selected second depth level, while unmoved patterns are displayed at the first depth level or a different depth level.).
Regarding Claim 32, Han teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving another user input indicating deleting of a subset of the guide lines connecting two sewing lines (
Han teaches pattern data that includes the number of sewing stitches, stating “In this case, the stitch information may include not only information about a material used when combining parts, but also information about a usage type when combining the corresponding material. For example, when the stitch information is information about seams of the cut pieces of fabric, the stitch information may include information about the number of sewing stitches and information about the color, thickness, and material of threads used for sewing” (Han ¶ 62) and “For example, the pattern data may include at least one of form, dimension information, stitch information, material information, and landmark information of at least one part constituting clothing as an attribute” (Han ¶ 60).
Han teaches editing pattern data, including the number of sewing stitches, stating “Furthermore, in addition to the form of the part, the processor 112 may generate and/or edit the pattern data of clothing based on user inputs corresponding to various items constituting the pattern data of clothing.” Han ¶ 69. Also see Han ¶ 68.
It would have been obvious to try: choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. There are following predictable solutions: reducing the stitch number, maintaining the stitch number, increasing the stitch number, or specifying a number of stitches. It would have been obvious to try reducing the stitch number or specify a number of stitches, deleting of a subset of the guide lines. ); and
updating the sewing line matching information to delete the matching of the two sewing lines connected by the subset of the guide lines (
Han figs. 5-6 show that if the stitch number (Han ¶ 62) between matched sewing lines is reduced to 0, the matching of the two sewing lines is deleted.).
Regarding Claim 33, Han teaches The method of claim 1,
wherein more than two sewing lines are indicated as being matched in the sewing line matching information (Han fig. 5:
, which shows that matching sewing lines are indicated as being matched by guiding/thread lines in light gray.
“Meanwhile, in the present disclosure, ‘displaying the first portion 432B-1 and the second portion 432C-1 in correspondence with each other’ may mean displaying a 3D shape of thread according to sewing connecting the first portion 432B-1 and the second portion 432C-1 on a 3D space. For example, the processor 112 may display a 3D shape 433A of thread connecting the first portion 432B-1 and the second portion 432C-1 to display the first portion 432B-1 and the second portion 432C-1 in correspondence with each other.” Han ¶ 97.).
Regarding Claim 36, Han teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions thereon, the instructions when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform (Han ¶¶ 51-52) the method of claim 1 (See Claim 1 rejection analysis for details).
Claims 37-38 are substantially similar to Claim 1-2. The rejection of Claims 1-2 based on Han is also applied to Claim 37-38. In addition, Claim 37 recites, “A computing device comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions thereon, the instructions when executed by the processor cause the processor to: . . .” (Han figs. 1-2, ¶¶ 40, 46, 51-53).
Claims 2, 21, 24, 29-31, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 20210166472 A1) as applied to Claim 1, in further view of Wang et al. (“Feature based 3D garment design through 2D sketches”).
Regarding Claim 2, Han teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising:
responsive to receiving another user input to select a depth level displaying pieces displaying pieces included in the 3D garment separated from each other by predetermined distances,
Han teaches receiving a request to display, stating “The processor 112 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may generate the pattern data with respect to the corresponding clothing based on a user input through an interface such as the screen 410. For example, in the region 411 for editing the form of the part, a user may generate the pattern data of clothing by modifying the forms of the parts 411a to 411g or adding a new part in a two-dimensional (2D) space. Furthermore, in addition to the form of the part, the processor 112 may generate and/or edit the pattern data of clothing based on user inputs corresponding to various items constituting the pattern data of clothing.” Han ¶ 69.
Han teachers exploded view of the piece at a first level in Figs. 5-8 with possible earlier depth levels.
The depth level is mapped after a pattern/piece is selected and moved. The depth level before the movement could be mapped to earlier depth level).
However, Han does not explicitly disclose without displaying the avatar.
Wong teaches without displaying the avatar (
).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang’s seam-line designing with Han. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to help a user to focus on pattern design for garments, and not to be distracted by an avatar.
Regarding Claim 21, Han in view of Wang teaches The method of claim 2, further comprising:
receiving another user input to select a piece included in the 3D garment to display an exploded view at the depth level displaying pieces (
Han teaches selection of clothing piece, stating “selection of clothing is an important part as a way to express one's individuality in addition to solving basic food, clothing and shelter.” Han ¶ 2. Han Figs. 4, 9 shows selection of different clothing pieces for exploded views.
Han fig. 5:
, shows a displayed exploded view of garment patterns/pieces at a depth level.
Han further explains, “For example, the processor 112 may display the combining relationship between the part 432A constituting a front side of clothing, the part 432B constituting a collar of clothing, and the parts 432C constituting the back side of clothing as shown in FIG. 5.” Han ¶ 94.
Han teaches selecting a pattern to display at a changed position, stating “For example, the user terminal 100 may obtain a user input to move the part 432B constituting the collar to another position, and accordingly, may display the part 432B constituting the collar on a position according to the user input. At this time, the user terminal 100 may update and display the 3D shape 462 of thread that connects the first portion 432B-1 of the part 432B constituting the collar of clothing and having the changed position and the second portion 432C-1 of the part 432C constituting the back side of clothing combined with the first portion 432B-1. However, this is merely exemplary and the spirit of the present disclosure is not limited thereto.” Han ¶ 136.
An example of a pattern is mapped to fig. 5 432B, which is selected and can be displayed at different depth levels based on its moved position.
Han ¶ 136 is unclear that moving a selected pattern, e.g., the collar 432B, would necessarily lead to a depth level.
Han discloses, “For example, the user terminal 100 may move the display position of the part 432C constituting the back side of clothing in a direction away from the 3D shape 431 of the body such that the distance between the 3D shape 431 of the body and the part 432C constituting the back side of clothing is equal to or greater than the predetermined first threshold distance D_min. However, this is merely exemplary and the spirit of the present disclosure is not limited thereto.” Han ¶ 124.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Han’s selecting a pattern/piece by a user to move with Han’s teaching of moving a pattern towards or away from a body. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to allow a user to manipulate the position of each selected pattern/piece. The user may view the pattern/piece more clearly based on the user’s preference.);
displaying the exploded view of the selected piece with the patterns included in the selected piece separated from each other by predetermined distances (
Han fig. 5:
, shows a displayed exploded view of garment patterns at a depth level. The selected pattern and one or more patterns are separated by a distance. The thread line could visually show the association.
Han fig. 9:
Here, at least the second and third figures show that maintaining respective 3D shapes of patterns of the piece as deformed by the draping simulation in the exploded view.); and
displaying one or more guide lines extending between sewing lines of the patterns included in the selected piece to indicate matching of the sewing lines, according to the sewing line matching information (
Han fig. 5.
“For example, the user terminal 100 may obtain a user input to move the part 432B constituting the collar to another position, and accordingly, may display the part 432B constituting the collar on a position according to the user input. At this time, the user terminal 100 may update and display the 3D shape 462 of thread that connects the first portion 432B-1 of the part 432B constituting the collar of clothing and having the changed position and the second portion 432C-1 of the part 432C constituting the back side of clothing combined with the first portion 432B-1.” Han ¶ 136.
an example for the sewing lines is mapped to disclosed the part of the outline of 432B for sewing operation.
an example for the guide lines is mapped to disclosed portions of the lines that connect matching sewing lines of 432B and 432C that shows correspondence between sewing lines.).
Regarding Claim 24, Han in view of Wang teaches The method of claim 2, wherein a subset of the sewing lines not associated with the selected pattern is not displayed at the depth level displaying patterns but displayed at the depth level displaying pieces (
Han teaches selecting a pattern to display at a changed position, stating “For example, the user terminal 100 may obtain a user input to move the part 432B constituting the collar to another position, and accordingly, may display the part 432B constituting the collar on a position according to the user input.” Han ¶ 136.
Han discloses a patten could be moved to second depth level, stating “For example, the user terminal 100 may move the display position of the part 432C constituting the back side of clothing in a direction away from the 3D shape 431 of the body such that the distance between the 3D shape 431 of the body and the part 432C constituting the back side of clothing is equal to or greater than the predetermined first threshold distance D_min.” Han ¶ 124.
The teaches from Han ¶ 136 and Han ¶ 124 appear to be taken from different contexts.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Han’s selecting a pattern by a user to move with Han’s teaching of moving a pattern towards or away from a body. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to allow a user to manipulate the position of each selected pattern. The user may view the pattern more clearly based on the user’s preference. After the combination, a user may select a pattern to be displayed at a selected second depth level, while unmoved patterns are displayed at the first depth level.
The second level could be mapped to the depth level displaying patterns, and the first level could be mapped to the depth level displaying pieces.).
Regarding Claim 29, Han in view of Wang teaches The method of claim 2,
further comprising enabling user interface elements for editing features or characteristics applicable to each of the patterns included in the piece at the depth level displaying pieces (Fig. 4 421) (
“Referring to FIG. 3, the screen 410 may include a region 411 for editing forms of parts 411a to 411g constituting clothing, a region 412 for displaying a shape of clothing in a 3D (3D) space, and a region 413 for setting various setting values or setting attributes of the parts 411a to 411g or stitch information between the parts 411a to 411g when displaying clothing.” Han ¶ 68.
“The processor 112 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may generate the pattern data with respect to the corresponding clothing based on a user input through an interface such as the screen 410. For example, in the region 411 for editing the form of the part, a user may generate the pattern data of clothing by modifying the forms of the parts 411a to 411g or adding a new part in a two-dimensional (2D) space. Furthermore, in addition to the form of the part, the processor 112 may generate and/or edit the pattern data of clothing based on user inputs corresponding to various items constituting the pattern data of clothing.” Han ¶ 69.).
Regarding Claim 30, Han in view of Wang teaches The method of claim 21,
further comprising displaying another piece of the 3D garment in a manner different from the piece of the garment at the depth level displaying pieces (Han figs. 4 and 9, showing different garments at different depth levels).
Regarding Claim 31, Han in view of Wang teaches The method of claim 21, wherein the selected pattern and the one or more patterns associated with the selected pattern are displayed at enlarged distances at the depth level displaying patterns (
Fig. 9 shows decreasing depth levels.),
the enlarged distances larger than predetermined distances between the selected pattern and the one or more patterns associated with the selected pattern at the depth level displaying pieces (Fig. 9’s 2nd, 3rd, 4th, or 5th figures have enlarged distances larger than figure 6th.).
Regarding Claim 34, Han teaches The method of claim 1.
Han does not explicitly teach further comprising:
receiving a style line that defines an outline or style of a pattern included in the piece at the depth level display patterns; and
generating a first sewing line on the pattern at one side of the style line, a second sewing line on the pattern at the other side of the style line, and one or more additional guide lines connecting the first sewing line and the second sewing line.
Wang teaches
receiving a style line that defines an outline or style of a pattern included in the piece at the depth level display patterns (
The style line is mapped to painted “seam line.”
After the combination of Han and Wang, we would have:
); and
generating a first sewing line on the pattern at one side of the style line, a second sewing line on the pattern at the other side of the style line (Wang fig. 21), and one or more additional guide lines connecting the first sewing line and the second sewing line (Han fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wang’s seam-line designing with Han. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to assist pattern design for garments. “This paper presents a new approach for intuitively modeling a three-dimensional (3D) garment around a 3D human model by two dimensional (2D) sketches input. Our approach is feature based—every human model has pre-defined features, and the constructed garments are related to the features on human models. . . . Our technique can greatly improve the efficiency and the quality of pattern making in the garment industry.” Wang Abstract.
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Wang as applied to Claim 21, in further view of Kongo (US 20170316590 A1).
Regarding Claim 22, Han in view of Wang teaches The method of claim 21.
However, Han in view of Wang does not explicitly disclose
wherein the guide lines indicating different matchings of the sewing lines are displayed further with different colors, different transparency levels or both different colors and different transparency levels.
Kongo teaches wherein the guide lines indicating different matchings of the sewing lines are displayed further with different colors, different transparency levels or both different colors and different transparency levels (“Here, the sewing machine 40 provides semi-automatic embroidery using multiple threads having different colors according to the embroidery data, for example.” Kongo ¶ 53.
After Han in combined with Kongo, the guide lines, or threads, extending between the sewing lines of the different patterns as shown in Han figs. 5-8 are displayed with different colors.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kongo’s thread coloring with Han in view of Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to allow the system visualize the color choices of threads used to stitch matching patterns. This would help a designer to make better design decisions. “Here, the sewing machine 40 provides semi-automatic embroidery using multiple threads having different colors according to the embroidery data, for example.” Kongo ¶ 53.
Regarding Claim 23, Han in view of Wang and Kongo teaches The method of claim 22,
wherein matching sewing lines and a guide line connecting the matching sewing lines are displayed with a same color, a same transparency level or both the same color and the same transparency levels (“Thus, such an arrangement prevents an issue of failure to satisfactorily confirm the planned stitch line due to the line being difficult to see in a case in which the base cloth and the thread have the same color or a case in which the pattern of the base cloth and the thread have the same color.” Kongo ¶ 87.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kongo’s thread coloring with Han in view of Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to allow the system visualize the color choices of threads used to stitch matching patterns. This would help a designer to make better design decisions. “Thus, such an arrangement prevents an issue of failure to satisfactorily confirm the planned stitch line due to the line being difficult to see in a case in which the base cloth and the thread have the same color or a case in which the pattern of the base cloth and the thread have the same color.” Kongo ¶ 87.
Claims 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han as applied to Claim 1, in further view of Boersma et al. (US 20110225208 A1).
Regarding Claim 25, Han teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving another user input indicating moving an end point of at least one subset of the sewing lines (
Han fig. 5:
“The processor 112 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may generate the pattern data with respect to the corresponding clothing based on a user input through an interface such as the screen 410. For example, in the region 411 for editing the form of the part, a user may generate the pattern data of clothing by modifying the forms of the parts 411a to 411g or adding a new part in a two-dimensional (2D) space. Furthermore, in addition to the form of the part, the processor 112 may generate and/or edit the pattern data of clothing based on user inputs corresponding to various items constituting the pattern data of clothing.” Han ¶ 69.
When the shaped of the part changed/edited is 432B, the end point, 432B-1, may be changed.);
Han does not explicitly disclose displaying the at least one subset of the sewing lines whose lengths are modified based on the another user input.
Boersma teaches displaying the at least one subset of the sewing lines whose lengths are modified based on the another user input (
“Changes made via the 3D window to 3D graphic indicia and/or metadata are used to modify GIS data in a GIS database, and the modified GIS data is used to update the 3D rendering to reflect the user changes.” Boersma Abstract.
After Han is combined with Boersma, Han’s 3D rendering (model +exploded view of the garment) is updated to reflect the updates/edits on the garment. The updated sewing lines and their associated updated guide lines are also updated based on the user input that made the edit(s).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Boersma’s rendering update with Han. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to allow a user to see and evaluate updated visual information to make better informed design decisions.
Regarding Claim 26, Han in view of Boersma teaches The method of claim 25,
wherein the at least one subset of the sewing lines comprises a first sewing line and a second sewing line (
[BRI on the record]
With respect to “sewing lines,” the Examiner is reading the limitation to mean: outline of a garment pattern for sewing operation.
[Mapping Analysis]
Han fig. 9:
Han fig. 5:
There are multiple outlines of garment patterns mapped sewing lines.), and
wherein one or more guide lines connecting the first sewing line and the second sewing line are updated, in response to a length of at least one of the first sewing line or the second sewing line being modified by the other user input (
Han fig. 5:
“The processor 112 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may generate the pattern data with respect to the corresponding clothing based on a user input through an interface such as the screen 410. For example, in the region 411 for editing the form of the part, a user may generate the pattern data of clothing by modifying the forms of the parts 411a to 411g or adding a new part in a two-dimensional (2D) space. Furthermore, in addition to the form of the part, the processor 112 may generate and/or edit the pattern data of clothing based on user inputs corresponding to various items constituting the pattern data of clothing.” Han ¶ 69.
When length of at least one of the first sewing line or the second sewing line being modified, the outlines of the garment are modified. When the outlines of the garment are modified, for example, the position 432B-1 may be changed, the guideline connecting the position 432B-1 will be updated accordingly).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 20210166472 A1) as applied to Claim 1, in further view of Yu et al. (US 20130326377 A1).
Regarding Claim 28, Han teaches The method of claim 1.
Han does not explicitly disclose further comprising disabling user interface elements for editing different patterns other than the selected pattern at the depth level displaying patterns.
Yu teaches
further comprising disabling user interface elements for editing different patterns other than the selected pattern at the depth level displaying patterns (“A content creation application can be configured so that a content creator may only be allowed to select a single element on an editing canvas to start launch editing. This can avoid complexity and performance delay.” Yu ¶ 25.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yu’s editing technique with Han. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to reduce the possibility of editing errors. A user may not accidently edit items not selected. “A content creation application can be configured so that a content creator may only be allowed to select a single element on an editing canvas to start launch editing. This can avoid complexity and performance delay.” Yu ¶ 25.
Claims 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Wang as applied to Claim 34, in further view of Boersma et al. (US 20110225208 A1).
Regarding Claim 35, Han in view of Wang teaches The method of claim 34, further comprising:
displaying the first sewing line, the second sewing line and the one or more additional guide lines (
Han fig. 5:
, which shows that matching sewing lines are indicated as being matched by guiding/thread lines in light gray.
“For example, the processor 112 may display a 3D shape 433A of thread connecting the first portion 432B-1 and the second portion 432C-1 to display the first portion 432B-1 and the second portion 432C-1 in correspondence with each other.” Han ¶ 97.);
editing at least one of the first sewing line or second sewing line responsive to receiving another user input (
“The processor 112 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may generate the pattern data with respect to the corresponding clothing based on a user input through an interface such as the screen 410. For example, in the region 411 for editing the form of the part, a user may generate the pattern data of clothing by modifying the forms of the parts 411a to 411g or adding a new part in a two-dimensional (2D) space. Furthermore, in addition to the form of the part, the processor 112 may generate and/or edit the pattern data of clothing based on user inputs corresponding to various items constituting the pattern data of clothing.” Han ¶ 69.
When the forms of the patterns are changed, the sewing lines are edited. For example, When the shaped of the part changed/edited is 432B, the end point, 432B-1, may be changed.
In addition, Han fig. 5:
The features disclosed by Figs. 3, 5 could be combined to have:
The teaches from fig. 3 and fig. 5 could be combined. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Han Figs. 3, 5. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to allow a user to have a wider options to view the clothing and/or to select pattern/parts to edit.
After these features are combined, a user could select 432B to edit, and any edit to 432B would be reflected on the exploded view.)
Boersma teaches displaying edited versions of the first sewing line or the second sewing lines; and displaying updated versions of the one or more additional guide lines connecting the edited versions of the first sewing line or the second sewing line (
“Changes made via the 3D window to 3D graphic indicia and/or metadata are used to modify GIS data in a GIS database, and the modified GIS data is used to update the 3D rendering to reflect the user changes.” Boersma Abstract.
After Han in view of Wang is combined with Boersma, Han’s 3D rendering (model +exploded view of the garment) is updated to reflect the updates/edits on the garment. The updated sewing lines and their associated updated guide lines are also updated. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Boersma’s rendering update with Han in view of Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to allow a user to see and evaluate updated visual information to make better informed design decisions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Brebner (US 20180349108 A1), related Claim 9 and states, “A zoom UI allows a user to select a data type and zoom into a mode where only the selected item is locked to the viewport of a user for viewing and editing.” Brebner ¶ 381. However, Brebner does not teaches limitations of Claim 1.
Liu et al. (“A survey on CAD methods in 3D garment design.”):
Fig. 11:
Liu teaches draping simulation in Claim 1 as shown in fig. 4, and Liu teaches exploded view as shown fig. 11.
However, Liu does not explicitly disclose draping simulation while in the exploded view.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHENGXI LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611