DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2-3 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities: in claims 2 and 3 CHANGE the “ the fastening groove” WITH “fitting groove”; see [00137], [00189] ; to distinguish it from the fastening groove (117) located at the bottom of the door frame (40). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites “the fastening protrusion (53’) is received within the second fitting hole,” this limitation is not clear because the fastening protrusion (53’) is received in the fastening groove, the third fitting protrusion (55) is received within the second fitting hole.
Appropriate correction or an explanation is required.
Claims 18-20 are rejected based on their respective dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 13 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Us Pub No.: 20210396456(“Park et al.”).
Regarding Claim 1, Park et al. discloses a home appliance comprising:
a body (10) having an inner space defined therein; and
a door (30) configured to open and close the inner space, the door (refer to Figs.1-44) including:
a door frame (40) located in front of the body; and a door panel located in front of the door frame (40), the door panel including: a panel body located in front of the door frame (40) to cover the door frame (40);
a fitting protrusion (55) fitted with the door frame (40) to couple the panel body to the door frame (40), the fitting protrusion (55) being displaced upwardly or downwardly relative to the door frame (40) to prevent the panel body from moving forwardly or rearwardly relative to the door frame (40); and
a fastening protrusion (53’, see Fig. 39) coupled to the door frame (40) to prevent the panel body from moving upwardly or downwardly relative to the door frame (40), the fastening protrusion (53’) being located below the fitting protrusion (55),
wherein the door frame (40) includes:
a panel support portion defining a front surface of the door frame (40); and
a fitting hole (cut through 41, see Figs. 6 and 27) extending through the panel support portion in a front-rear direction,
wherein the fitting protrusion (55) includes:
a protrusion body (hook) protruding rearwardly from the panel body; and
a stopper portion (end portion) protruding upwardly from the protrusion body, wherein, when the door panel is moved rearward during assembly while being aligned to face the panel support portion, the stopper portion (end portion) is configured to pass through the panel support portion through the fitting hole, and
wherein, when the door panel is moved upwardly during assembly, at least a portion of the stopper portion (end portion) is located higher than an uppermost extent of the fitting hole so as to face a rear surface of the panel support portion; Claim 2-wherein the door frame (40) further includes a top protrusion (533, 535, 536 see Fig 22-23) located in front of the panel support portion, the top protrusion being spaced from the panel support portion in a front-rear direction to define a fastening groove (see 533 extending into groove), and wherein the door panel further includes a first fitting protrusion (55), at least a portion of the first fitting protrusion (55) is inserted into the fastening groove; Claim 3- wherein the first fitting protrusion (55) includes: a first protrusion portion protruding rearwardly from the panel body ; and a second protrusion portion protruding upwardly from the first protrusion portion, the second protrusion portion being inserted into the fastening groove; Claim 4- wherein a top of the second protrusion portion protrudes upwardly beyond a top of the panel body; Claim 5, wherein the panel body is located in front of the first fitting protrusion (55) so as to cover the first fitting protrusion (55); Claim 6, wherein the door frame (40) includes: a panel support portion defining a front surface of the door frame (40) ; and a fitting hole extending through the panel support portion in a front-rear direction, wherein the fitting protrusion (55) includes: a protrusion body protruding rearwardly from the panel body; and a stopper portion (end portion) protruding upwardly from the protrusion body, wherein, when the door panel is moved rearward during assembly, the stopper portion (end portion) is configured to pass through the panel support portion through the fitting hole, and wherein, when the door panel is moved upwardly during assembly, at least a portion of the stopper portion (end portion) is located higher than an uppermost extent of the fitting hole so as to face a rear surface of the panel support portion; Claim 7 - Claim 7, wherein the fitting protrusion (55) includes a recess at a connection portion between the protrusion body and the stopper portion (end portion), the recess having a shape in which at least one of a top surface of the protrusion body is downwardly depressed or a front surface of the stopper portion (end portion) is rearwardly depressed; Claim 8, wherein the fitting protrusion (55) has a curved portion connecting a rear surface of the stopper portion (end portion) and a top surface of the stopper portion (end portion) to each other.
Regarding Claim 9, wherein the door panel further includes a rib protruding from the panel body, the rib being located between the panel body and the panel support portion, and wherein the rib contacts the panel support portion when the door panel is coupled to the door frame (40).
Regarding Claim 10, wherein the door frame (40) includes: a panel support portion defining a front surface of the door frame (40); a top protrusion (533, 535, 536 see Fig 22-23) located in front of the panel support portion, the top protrusion being spaced from the panel support portion in a front-rear direction to define a fastening groove (See 533 extending into groove; and a first fitting hole located between a lower end of the panel support portion and the top protrusion, the first fitting hole extending through the panel support portion in the front-rear direction, and wherein the fitting protrusion (55) includes: a first fitting protrusion (55) inserted into the fastening groove; and a second fitting protrusion (55) located between the first fitting protrusion (55) and the fastening protrusion (53’) , the second fitting protrusion (55) extending through the first fitting hole.
Regarding Claim 13, the combination discloses wherein the first fitting protrusion (55) includes a plurality of first fitting protrusion (55)s spaced from each other horizontally, and wherein one of the first fitting protrusion (55) s is located at a horizontal center of the door panel and has a length in the horizontal direction that is larger than a length in the horizontal direction of each of remaining ones of the plurality of first fitting protrusion (55)s located at positions other than the horizontal center of the door panel;Regarding Claim 15 , wherein the door frame (40) includes: a first fastening groove recessed rearwardly in a front surface of the door frame (40) ; and a fastening boss located above the first fastening groove, wherein the fastening protrusion (53’) is inserted into the first fastening groove so as to face the fastening boss in a vertical direction, and wherein the home appliance further includes a fastener passing through the fastening protrusion (53’) and the fastening boss in the vertical direction to couple the fastening protrusion (53’) and the fastening boss to each other; Regarding Claim 16 , wherein the door panel further includes a second fastening groove recessed upwardly in a bottom surface of the fastening protrusion (53’) , and wherein the fastener includes: a body passing through the fastening protrusion (53’) and the fastening boss; and a head connected to the body and exposed below the fastening boss, the head being accommodated in the second fastening groove;
Regarding Claim 17 , wherein the door frame (40) includes a second fitting hole recessed rearwardly in a front surface of the door frame (40) , and wherein the fastening protrusion (53’) is received within the second fitting hole;
Regarding Claim 18 , wherein a bottom surface of the door frame (40) and the fastening protrusion (53’) face each other in the vertical direction, and wherein the home appliance further includes a fastener passing through the fastening protrusion (53’) and the bottom surface of the door frame (40) in the vertical direction to couple the door frame (40) and the fastening protrusion (53’) to each other;
Regarding Claim 19, the combination discloses wherein the door frame (40) further includes: a fastening groove recessed upwardly in the bottom surface of the door frame (40) ; and a fastening boss located above the fastening groove, wherein the fastener includes: a body passing through the fastening protrusion (53’) and the fastening boss; and a head connected to the body and exposed downwardly of the fastening boss, wherein the head is accommodated in the fastening groove;
Regarding Claim 20, the combination discloses comprising a cap ( the lower cap of the door frame, as seen in Fig . 39) located below the head to cover the head, the cap being inserted into the fastening groove.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 12 and 14are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over
Park et al. as applied to claims 10 and 13 above in view of KR 20220068124 (“JONGHYUN et al.”).
Park et al. discloses the claimed invention but does not disclose a third fitting protrusion (55) between the pair of second fitting protrusion (55)s extending thoug ha second fitting hole.
JONGHYUN et al. discloses a simiar invention wherein Claim 11-wherein the door frame (40) further includes a second fitting hole (50) extending through the panel support portion in the rear-front direction, wherein the second fitting protrusion (55) includes a pair of second fitting protrusion (55) spaced from each other horizontally, and wherein the fitting protrusion (55) further includes a third fitting protrusion (55) (120) located between the pair of second fitting protrusion (55)s (At each side), the third fitting protrusion (55) extending through the second fitting hole (50); Claim 12, wherein the first fitting protrusion (55) (along the top) includes a plurality of first fitting protrusion (55)s spaced from each other horizontally, wherein the third fitting protrusion (55) (120) includes a plurality of third fitting protrusion (55)s (120)located between the pair of second fitting protrusion (55)s, and wherein each of the third fitting protrusion (55)s is located between an adjacent pair of the first fitting protrusion (55)s (along the top); Claim 14-, wherein the door frame (40) further includes a pair of second fitting holes (50) extending through the panel support portion in the rear-front direction, wherein the fitting protrusion (55) further includes a pair of third fitting protrusion (55)s (120) spaced from each other horizontally, the pair of third fitting protrusion (55)s being located between the first fitting protrusion (55)s and the fastening protrusion (53’), the pair of third fitting protrusion (55)s extending through the pair of second fitting holes, and wherein the one of the first fitting protrusion (55)s is located between the pair of third fitting protrusion (55)s.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have positioned third fitting protrusion (55) between the first and second fitting protrusion (55) in the manner demonstrated by JONGHYUN et al. to provide a secure and durable connection that minimizes deformation of the door panel.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/KIMBERLEY S WRIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637
1