DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 4 recites the limitation “wherein the first solid electrolyte layer and the second solid electrolyte layer contain a solid electrolyte”. It is not clear whether it is the same or different solid electrolyte as recited in claim 1 from which it depends. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as “wherein the first solid electrolyte layer and the second solid electrolyte layer contain the solid electrolyte”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1, 2, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. (JP2016134254A) as cited in IDS dated 5/7/24.
Regarding claim 1, Kato discloses an all-solid-state battery (abstract, battery 10 in Fig. 2, [0015]) in which a positive electrode active material layer(positive electrode active material layer 1, Fig. 2, [0015]), a solid electrolyte layer(3, Fig. 2, [0015]), a negative electrode active material layer(2, Fig. 2, [0015]), and a negative electrode current collector (5, Fig. 2, [0015]) are laminated in this order on at least one surface of a positive electrode current collector(4, Fig. 2, [0015]), wherein the negative electrode active material layer contains a negative electrode active material and a solid electrolyte([0039]-[0041]), wherein a filling rate of the negative electrode active material layer is 75% or more [0041]) which overlaps the claim range of less than 80%, thus reading on the limitation.
Continuing with claim 1, Kato discloses wherein a weight percentage of the solid electrolyte in the negative electrode active material layer is 10% by weight to 80% by weight ([0039], [0036]) which overlaps the claim range of 1 weight % to 50 weight %, thus reading on the limitation.
Kato is explicitly silent to the claimed ranges however “in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 2, Kato discloses the positive electrode active material layer contains a positive electrode active material([0031]-[0033]), wherein the solid electrolyte layer contains a solid electrolyte([0024]-[0028]), wherein a filling rate of the positive electrode active material layer is 85% or more(75% or more [0038]), and wherein a filling rate of the solid electrolyte layer is 85% or more ([0030]).
Kato is explicitly silent to the claimed range however “in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 5, Kato discloses the negative electrode active material is Si or a Si alloy([0040]).
7. Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. (JP2016134254A) as cited in IDS dated 5/7/24 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US2023/0128073) as cited in IDS dated 6/18/25.
Regarding claim 3, Kato discloses a first positive electrode active material layer(1, Fig. 2), a first solid electrolyte layer(3, Fig. 2), a first negative electrode active material layer(2, Fig. 2), and a first negative electrode current collector (5, Fig. 2) are laminated in this order on one surface of the positive electrode current collector (4, Fig. 2, [0015]), wherein the first negative electrode active material layer contains the negative electrode active material ([0040]) and wherein a filling rate of the first negative electrode active material layer is less than 80% (75% or more [0041]) but does not explicitly disclose wherein a second positive electrode active material layer, a second solid electrolyte layer, a second negative electrode active material layer, and a second negative electrode current collector are laminated in this order on the other surface of the positive electrode current collector, wherein the second negative electrode active material layer contains the negative electrode active material.
Lee teaches all-solid secondary battery (title). Lee teaches as illustrated in FIG. 2, the all-solid secondary battery may include the cathode layer 10, the anode layers 20 a, 20 b, and the solid electrolyte layers 30 a, 30 b located therebetween([0030]). Lee teaches the cathode layer 10 may include the cathode current collector 11 and first and second cathode active material layers 12 a and 12 b on opposite surfaces, e.g., both sides, of the cathode current collector 11 ([0030]). Lee teaches the solid electrolyte layers 30 a, 30 b may include a first solid electrolyte layer 30 a contiguous, e.g., in direct contact, with the first cathode active material layer 12 a and a second solid electrolyte layer 30 b contiguous, e.g., in direct contact, with the second cathode active material layer 12 b ([0030]). Lee teaches the anode layers 20 a, 20 b may include a first anode active material layer 22 a and a second anode active material layer 22 b, which are contiguous, e.g., in direct contact, with the first solid electrolyte layer 30 a and the second solid electrolyte layer 30 b, respectively, and may include a first anode current collector 21 a and a second anode current collector 21 b, which are contiguous, e.g., in direct contact, with the first anode active material layer 22 a and the second anode active material layer 22 b, respectively ([0030]). Lee teaches the resulting stack was placed in a heated plate press and pressed, and the prepared stack was plate press-treated at 85° C. at a pressure of 500 Mpa for 30 minutes, to prepare a laminated cell([0148]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the all solid state battery of Kato, a second positive electrode active material layer, a second solid electrolyte layer, a second negative electrode active material layer, and a second negative electrode current collector are laminated in this order on the other surface of the positive electrode current collector, wherein the second negative electrode active material layer contains the negative electrode active material as taught by Lee as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
Continuing with claim 3, modified Kato discloses wherein a filling rate of the second negative electrode active material layer is 75% or more (Kato [0041]) which overlaps the claim range of less than 80%, thus reading on the limitation.
Kato is explicitly silent to the claimed range however “in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 4, modified Kato discloses the first positive electrode active material layer and the second positive electrode active material layer contain a positive electrode active material(Kato [0032]), wherein the first solid electrolyte layer and the second solid electrolyte layer contain the solid electrolyte(Kato [0024]), wherein a filling rate of the first positive electrode active material layer and the second positive electrode active material layer is 85% or more (Kato, 75% or more [0038]), thus reading on the limitation.
Kato is explicitly silent to the claimed range however “in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05.
Continuing with claim 4, modified Kato discloses wherein a filling rate of the first solid electrolyte layer and the second solid electrolyte layer is 85% or more(Kato, 85% or more [0030]).
Conclusion
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724