DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/06/2024 was filed before the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 2, 5 – 6, 9 – 13 and 16 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0191369 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Ito teaches a sensor assembly (vehicle camera device, 10) comprising: a sensor (camera, 14) having a sensor lens (lens, 14A) and a field-of-view (angle of view, 14V) through the sensor lens (14A; Fig. 2) and a baffle (window surround, 42) defining a sensor lens aperture (Fig. 2), wherein the field-of-view (14V) through the sensor lens (14A) is through the sensor lens aperture (Fig. 2), wherein the baffle (42) comprises a series of concentric rings (first tapered portion, 44 and second tapered portion, 46; Paragraph [0025]) extending away from the sensor lens aperture (Fig. 1) and increasing in diameter as a distance from the sensor lens aperture increases (Fig. 1; Paragraph [0025]).
Regarding Claim 2, Ito teaches the sensor assembly (vehicle camera device, 10) wherein the series of concentric rings (Fig. 1) defines a viewing angle (14V), wherein the viewing angle corresponds to the field-of-view of the sensor lens (14V; Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 5, Ito teaches the sensor assembly (vehicle camera device, 10) further comprising an injector (nozzle, 50), wherein the injector is received within a port (48) of the baffle (42) and configured to direct a spray pattern of cleaning fluid toward the sensor lens (14A; Paragraph [0033]).
Regarding Claim 6, Ito teaches the sensor assembly (vehicle camera device, 10) wherein the injector (50) is controlled by a controller (control device; Paragraph [0028]), and wherein the controller commands the injector (50) to spray the sensor lens with cleaning fluid (Paragraph [0028]).
Regarding Claim 9, Ito teaches the sensor assembly (vehicle camera device, 10) further comprising a pneumatic nozzle (50), wherein the pneumatic nozzle is configured to direct a burst of air to the sensor lens of the sensor assembly (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 10, Ito teaches the sensor assembly (vehicle camera device, 10) wherein the pneumatic nozzle (50) is controlled by the controller (Paragraph [0028]), and wherein the controller commands the nozzle to direct the burst of air to the sensor lens of the sensor assembly (Paragraphs [0027] and [0028]).
Regarding Claim 11, Ito teaches the sensor assembly (vehicle camera device, 10) further comprising a nozzle (50), wherein the nozzle (50) is supplied with a cleaning fluid for cleaning of the sensor lens (14A; Paragraph [0033]), and wherein the nozzle (50) is configured to direct a spray pattern of the cleaning fluid toward the sensor lens of the sensor Paragraph [0033]).
Regarding Independent Claim 12, Ito teaches a baffle (42) for a sensor assembly (10) comprising: a sensor lens aperture (18A) for receiving therein a sensor lens (14A) of the sensor assembly (10); a series of concentric rings (44 and 46) extending away from the sensor lens aperture (18A) and increasing in diameter as a distance from the sensor lens aperture increases (Paragraph [0025]); and a nozzle (56) defined within the baffle (42; Paragraph [0029]), wherein the nozzle (56) is configured to direct a spray pattern of cleaning fluid toward a sensor lens received in the sensor lens aperture (Paragraphs [0028] and [0030]).
Regarding Claim 13, Ito teaches a baffle (42) baffle of claim 12, wherein the nozzle (56) is supplied with fluid from an injector (50), wherein the baffle (42) defines a port (48) into which the injector (50) is received (Paragraph [0033]).
Regarding Independent Claim 16, Ito teaches a method for protecting and cleaning a lens (14a) of a sensor assembly (10) comprising: surrounding the lens (14a) of the sensor assembly (10) with a baffle (42; Paragraph [0025]), wherein the baffle (42) defines a sensor lens aperture (18a), and wherein the baffle (42) comprises a series of concentric rings (44, 46) extending away from the sensor lens aperture (18) and increasing in diameter as a distance from the sensor lens aperture increases (Paragraph [0025]).
Regarding Claim 17, Ito teaches the method further comprising: cleaning the lens (14a) of the sensor assembly (10) with a spray pattern of cleaning fluid (Paragraph [0028]); wherein the spray pattern emanates from a nozzle (50) disposed within the baffle (42.
Regarding Claim 18, Ito teaches the further comprising: controlling the cleaning of the lens (14a) of the sensor assembly using a controller (control device; Paragraph [0028]), wherein the controller commands the cleaning of the lens (14a; Paragraph [0028]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 – 4 and 14 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0191369 A1) in view of Lee (EP1739958 A1) as cited by Applicant.
Regarding Claim 3, Ito teaches the sensor assembly of claim 1 as discussed above.
Ito does not explicitly teach wherein the series of concentric rings include forward-facing surfaces between surfaces that are substantially parallel to an axis through a center of the sensor lens.
Lee, however, teaches the series of concentric rings (Annotated Fig. 2) include forward-facing surfaces (Annotated Fig. 2) between surfaces that are substantially parallel to an axis (Annotated Fig. 2) through a center of the sensor lens (Annotated Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Ito to further explicitly teach the series of concentric rings include forward-facing surfaces between surfaces that are substantially parallel to an axis through a center of the sensor lens, as taught by Lee, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining element perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 4, Ito, as modified, teaches the sensor assembly of claim 3 as discussed above.
Ito does not explicitly teach the surfaces that are substantially parallel to the axis through the center of the sensor lens have a surface texture configured to diffuse light.
Lee, however, teaches the surfaces that are substantially parallel to the axis through the center of the sensor lens have a surface texture configured to diffuse light (Paragraph [0006]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Ito to further teach the surfaces that are substantially parallel to the axis through the center of the sensor lens have a surface texture configured to diffuse light, as taught by Lee, to provide an assembly the prevents particle pollution, thus improving the quality of the captured images.
Regarding Claim 14, Ito teaches the baffle of claim 12 as discussed above.
Ito further teaches wherein the series of concentric rings (44 and 46) defines a viewing angle (14V), wherein the viewing angle corresponds to a field-of-view (14V) of the sensor lens (14A; Fig. 2).
Ito does not explicitly teach wherein the series of concentric rings include forward-facing surfaces between surfaces that are substantially parallel to an axis through a center of the sensor lens.
Lee, however, teaches the series of concentric rings (Annotated Fig. 2) include forward-facing surfaces (Annotated Fig. 2) between surfaces that are substantially parallel to an axis (Annotated Fig. 2) through a center of the sensor lens (Annotated Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Ito to further teach the series of concentric rings include forward-facing surfaces between surfaces that are substantially parallel to an axis through a center of the sensor lens, as taught by Lee, to provide an assembly the prevents particle pollution, thus improving the quality of the captured images.
Regarding Claim 15, Ito, as modified, teaches the baffle of claim 14, as discussed above.
Ito does not explicitly teach wherein the surfaces that are substantially parallel to the axis through the center of the sensor lens have a matte finish surface texture.
Lee, however, teaches wherein the surfaces (Annotated Fig. 2) that are substantially parallel to the axis through the center of the sensor lens (Annotated Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Ito to further teach the surfaces that are substantially parallel to the axis through the center of the sensor lens, as taught by Lee, to provide an assembly the prevents particle pollution, thus improving the quality of the captured images.
Although Lee teaches a surface texture configured to diffuse light (Paragraph [0006], Lee fails to explicitly teach the surfaces have a matte finish surface texture.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Ito to further explicitly teach the series of concentric rings include forward-facing surfaces between surfaces that are substantially parallel to an axis through a center of the sensor lens, as taught by Lee, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (MPEP 2144.07).
Claims 7 – 8 and 19 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0191369 A1) in view of Lee (EP1739958 A1) as cited by Applicant and Nikolaus (WO 2022263323 A1).
Regarding Claims 7 and 19, Ito teaches the baffle and method of claims 6 and 18 as discussed above.
Ito does not explicitly the controller is configured to establish a cleaning regimen based, at least in part, on environmental context of the sensor assembly.
Nikolaus, however, teaches the controller (control system; Paragraph [0016]) is configured to establish a cleaning regimen based, at least in part, on environmental context of the sensor assembly (Paragraph [0004]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Ito to further teach the controller is configured to establish a cleaning regimen based, at least in part, on environmental context of the sensor assembly, as taught by Nikolaus, to provide an assembly that maintains consistent, high-quality data input without being hindered by fouling or obscured lenses.
Regarding Claims 8 and 20, Ito teaches the baffle and method of claims 6 and 18 as discussed above.
Ito as modified by Nikolaus does not explicitly the cleaning regimen is further based, at least in part, on at least one of time of travel of a vehicle associated with the sensor assembly or distance of travel of the vehicle associated with the sensor assembly.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Ito to further explicitly teach the cleaning regimen is further based, at least in part, on at least one of time of travel of a vehicle associated with the sensor assembly or distance of travel of the vehicle associated with the sensor assembly, as claimed, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining element perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Conclusion
Art made of record, however, not relied upon for the current rejection is as follows: U. S. Patent No. 5,124,549 to Michaels et al. teaches a vehicle light sensor for controlling light responsive systems such as an automatic headlamp dimmer. The sensor includes an enclosure containing a lens and a photo responsive detector. An optical chamber within the enclosure permits unwanted light from reaching the detector. A series of baffles within the chamber prevent light from outside a desired entrance angle from reaching the detector. A thin-film aperture is attached to the detector for controlling the size and shape of the detector's field of view. Gray scale shading may also be incorporated into the aperture to reduce the intensity of incoming light in selected portions of the field of view. An adjustment mechanism provides very fine angular view adjustments, beyond what is practical by simple assembly of molded parts.
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723