Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-8, 10-19 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (2) based upon a public use or sale or other public availability of the invention as being anticipated by Bock et al (Pub. No.: U.S. 2020/0380113 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bock discloses a device comprising: a sensor configured to detect a security feature of a product to be examined; a display panel; a memory having stored thereon computer readable instructions; and processing circuitry configured to execute the computer readable instructions to cause the device to (see abstract, also page 1, paragraphs, [0005-0006] methods and systems for authentication using a mobile device. The authentication can be authentication of goods, or the authentication of documents. These goods can be, for example, pharmaceutical products, software, or consumer products, such as food items, or cleaning items, or any other goods that have been, or are subject to being, counterfeited. The documents can be, for example, identification cards, passports, visas, currency, securities, credit cards or other financial instruments or security items. One embodiment of a system for authentication using a mobile device is accomplished where the mobile device includes a camera or an image capture device having an imaging element, which can be, for example, a CCD or CMOS chip, and a flash or other illumination device or element. Alternatively, the imaging element may be any imaging element created in the future that can be used to capture images. The mobile device also includes a transmitter, a receiver, a microprocessor, and a memory. The “memory” includes or can be modified to include “instructions” that cause the microprocessor to: control the camera to capture a plurality of images of a security hologram, wherein a first image of the security hologram is captured when the camera is at a first position and a second image of the security hologram is captured when the camera is at a second position; activate the illumination element at least at a first point in time relative to the capturing of the first image and at least at a second point in time relative to the capturing of the second image; synchronize the capturing of the first image of the security hologram at the first point in time or after a first amount of time following the first point in time and the capturing of the second image of the security hologram at the second point in time or after a second amount of time following the second point in time; store the first image and the second image in the memory);
display, on the display panel, human readable instructions for positioning the device at a relative examination position with respect to the product to be examined prior to for performing an initial examination of the security feature of the product to be examined using the sensor, determine whether the sensor is properly positioned relative to the security feature, (see page 1, paragraph, [0005] the embodiments described herein relate to methods and systems for authentication using a mobile device. The authentication can be authentication of goods, or the authentication of documents. These goods can be, for example, pharmaceutical products, software, or consumer products, such as food items, or cleaning items, or any other goods that have been, or are subject to being, counterfeited. The documents can be, for example, identification cards, passports, visas, currency, securities, credit cards or other financial instruments or security items. Also see page 4, paragraph, [0029] also, page 16, paragraph, [0140-0141], in one embodiment, a machine vision system is used to locate the hologram and frame it in the “display” of the mobile device. When the mobile device is positioned at the “appropriate location” relative to the hologram, or vice versa, the user is directed to activate the imaging device or camera such that the plurality of lenses captures and transfer images of the hologram to the CCD or other image capture element (image of product prior to examination of security feature). Alternatively, when the mobile device is “positioned at the appropriate location” relative to the hologram, or vice versa, the plurality of lenses automatically captures and transfer images of the hologram to the CCD or other image capture element. In one or more embodiments, the images of the hologram comprise at least a first image captured on a first portion of a CCD or other image capture element and a “second image captured” on a second portion of the CCD or other image capture element. In FIG. 15 there is shown a method and process for authentication software application using a mobile device. As part of the registration process for a user to register a payment card to be used as part of a payment process in accordance with the present invention, the software application is first activated. The software application can be activated by launching the software application from the mobile device desktop. in step 50, the user is prompted and “guided in the positioning of the mobile” device with respect to the hologram on the payment card. One embodiment of such guidance and prompting is described in more detail with respect to FIGS. 16A and 16B. In step 52, it is determined whether the mobile device is properly positioned with respect to the hologram so as to allow capture of an image of the hologram. If the mobile device is “not properly” positioned, either after a fixed period of time, or continually, the user is returned to step 50 and the user is notified about the “incorrect position”. The user may then adjust the position of the mobile device such that it becomes properly positioned relative to the hologram. If the mobile device is properly positioned, an image of the hologram is “automatically taken”, in step 54, using an image capture device. Alternatively, the image may be taken manually by the user upon an indication by the app that the hologram is in the proper position. In step 56, the app analyzes the image and confirms whether the image was accurately captured. If the image is not properly captured, the process returns to step 50, where the mobile device guides the user in re-positioning the image capture device with respect to the hologram. In certain embodiments, including higher security applications, one or more “additional images” of the hologram are captured. In this process, after the first image is captured, in step 57 the user is directed to reposition the mobile device such that it is positioned at a different location with respect to the hologram. Once the mobile device is repositioned to the proper location, in step 58, a second image is captured by the imaging element. In certain embodiments, the image capture occurs automatically when the mobile device is positioned at the correct location for image capture with respect to the hologram. In some embodiments this occurs through the use of registration points on the hologram. In other embodiments, the image capture is accomplished through user input when the mobile device is positioned in the “correct location” for image capture with respect to the hologram, as illustrated in steps 50-56. In certain embodiments, the user assisted image capture is achieved in conjunction with feature changes in the display, as described in greater detail with respect to FIGS. 16a and 16b. This image capture is confirmed in step 60. If the second image is not properly captured the process returns to step 56, and the user is notified to reposition the mobile device. In some embodiments this notification is accomplished via the display. In some embodiments, the display displays textual messages that provide notification or direction for the user relating to repositioning of the mobile device. In other embodiments, the display displays non-textual queues to help notify or direct the user relating to repositioning of the mobile device);
examine the security feature of the product using the sensor based on results of the determination, the examination of the security feature including performing the initial examination, authenticate the product based on results from the examination and provide authentication results of the product on the display panel (see above, also, page 17, paragraphs, [0141] and [0147], in certain embodiments, the user assisted image capture is achieved in conjunction with feature changes in the display, as described in greater detail with respect to FIGS. 16a and 16b. This image capture is confirmed in step 60. If the second image is not properly captured the process returns to step 56, and the user is notified to reposition the mobile device. In some embodiments this notification is accomplished via the display. In some embodiments, the display displays textual messages that provide notification or direction for the user relating to repositioning of the mobile device. In other embodiments, the display displays non-textual queues to help notify or direct the user relating to repositioning of the mobile device. Upon receipt of the transaction data, in step 96, the mobile device analyzes the transaction data to determine whether the transaction data is accurate. The analysis is accomplished by the mobile device “comparing” the transaction data corresponding to the transaction code with the transaction data received from the server. In certain embodiments, the analysis is accomplished by the user comparing the transaction data as provided by the merchant to the transaction data as received from the server. In certain other embodiments, the analysis is accomplished by the server comparing the transaction data sent by the merchant to the server to the transaction code sent to the server by the mobile device. In step 97, the mobile device determines whether the transaction data is accurate. In certain embodiments, the server determines whether the transaction data is accurate. If the transaction data is not accurate, in step 98, the server sends a transaction denial message to the mobile device. In certain embodiments, the server sends a notification to the mobile device that the transaction has been denied, failure, or that the user should recheck the transaction data. In certain embodiments, If the transaction data is not accurate, in step 98, the mobile device sends a transaction denial message to the server. In certain embodiments, the mobile device sends a notification to the server that the transaction has been denied, failure, or that the server should contact the merchant regarding reconfirming or correcting the transaction data. If the transaction data is “accurate”, in step 99 the server approves the transaction and the transaction is completed via the server. In other embodiments, if the transaction data is “accurate”, in step 99 the mobile device approves the transaction and communicates with the server to complete the transaction).
Regarding claim 2, Bock discloses the device of claim 1, further comprising: a speaker; and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to execute the computer readable instructions to cause the device to, provide the authentication results of the product using the speaker (see claim 1, also page 8, paragraphs, [0056-0057] in one or more embodiments, in addition to or in place of one or more advertisements and/or one or more coupons, the system presents to the user via the display and/or speaker information about the company and/or product that the user is interacting with via the authentication request and/or that is or are in geographic proximity to the user's location. Alternatively, or additionally, the system presents to the user information about a company or product that corresponds to information in the user's predetermined profile. In one or more embodiments, in addition to or in place of the foregoing, the system presents to the user via the display and/or speaker information about one or accessories for the one or more products that the user is interacting with via the authentication request, that is or are in geographic proximity to the user's location, and/or that relate to the user's activities or interactions with the one or more networks to which the user's mobile device is connected. Alternatively, or additionally, the system presents to the user information about an accessory that corresponds to information in the user's predetermined profile).
Regarding claim 3, Bock discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to execute the computer readable instructions to cause the device to: transmit the authentication results of the product to a server; and the transmission of the authentication results causes the server to update a database (see page 10, paragraph, [0068] for example, the first image and the second image. When initiating an authentication process, the previously captured images are sent to the server, pre-processed and sent to the server, or processed and sent to the server, where they are processed, analyzed, and compared one to the other for purposes of authentication. In one or more embodiments, authentication may be accomplished using at least a first image and a second image previously captured from the hologram that is pre-stored on the mobile device, and one image previously stored in a remote memory, such as, for example, a database storage location. This pre-storing may be accomplished at any point in time. In one or more embodiments, for example, when registering the hologram, as described above, the application also stores an image captured from the hologram on the mobile device and the application also stores an image captured from the hologram in memory, such as, for example, a remote memory, data storage device, or remote database. When initiating an authentication process, the previously captured images are sent to the server, pre-processed and sent to the server, or processed and sent to the server, or if already stored at the server, retrieved from the memory, where they are processed, analyzed, and compared one to the other for purposes of authentication. In one or more embodiments, the images stored on the mobile device may require periodic replacement or “updating to confirm authenticity”. In one or more embodiments, in place of comparing a first image stored on the mobile device to a second image stored on the mobile device, the first image is compared to a plurality of images stored on the mobile device. In one or more embodiments, in place of comparing a first image stored on the mobile device to a second image stored in the memory, the first image is compared to a plurality of images stored in the memory. In one or more embodiments, in place of comparing a first image stored in the memory to a second image stored in the memory, the first image is compared to a plurality of images stored in the memory).
Regarding claim 4, Bock discloses the device of claim 3, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to execute the computer readable instructions to cause the device to: transmit current location information associated with the device to the server; and the transmission of the current location information causes the server to update product tracking information associated with the product in the database (see page 10, paragraph, [0068] the first image and the second image. When initiating an authentication process, the previously captured images are sent to the server, pre-processed and sent to the server, or processed and sent to the server, where they are processed, analyzed, and compared one to the other for purposes of authentication. In one or more embodiments, authentication may be accomplished using at least a first image and a second image previously captured from the hologram that is pre-stored on the mobile device, and one image previously stored in a remote memory, such as, for example, a database storage location. This pre-storing may be accomplished at any point in time. In one or more embodiments, for example, when registering the hologram, as described above, the application also stores an image captured from the hologram on the mobile device and the application also stores an image captured from the hologram in memory, such as, for example, a remote memory, data storage device, or remote database. When initiating an authentication process, the previously captured images are sent to the server, pre-processed and sent to the server, or processed and sent to the server, or if already stored at the server, retrieved from the memory, where they are processed, analyzed, and compared one to the other for purposes of authentication. In one or more embodiments, the images stored on the mobile device may require periodic replacement or “updating to confirm authenticity”. In one or more embodiments, in place of comparing a first image stored on the mobile device to a second image stored on the mobile device, the first image is compared to a plurality of images stored on the mobile device. In one or more embodiments, in place of comparing a first image stored on the mobile device to a second image stored in the memory, the first image is compared to a plurality of images stored in the memory. In one or more embodiments, in place of comparing a first image stored in the memory to a second image stored in the memory, the first image is compared to a plurality of images stored in the memory. Also, page 23, paragraph, [0176] the exemplary computer platform includes an internal communication bus 406, program storage and data storage of different forms, e.g., disk 408, read only memory (ROM) 410, or random-access memory (RAM) 412, for various data files to be processed and/or communicated by the server, as well as possibly program instructions to be executed by the CPU. The server 400 also includes an I/O component 414, supporting input/output flows between the server and other components therein such as user interface elements 416, 418, which can be a keyboard, mouse, track pad, microphone, or any other interface device. The server 400 may also receive programming and data from other locations and devices such as mobile devices 420 via the network 401 using network communications protocols).
Regarding claim 5, Bock discloses the device of claim 3, wherein the product to be examined is a legally restricted product; and the transmission of the authentication results further causes the server to: contact at least one of a product manufacturer of the product to be examined, a brand holder associated with the product to be examined, an intellectual property holder associated with the product to be examined, a law enforcement authority, a public official, a merchant, or any combinations thereof, based on the authentication results of the product to be examined (see page 9, paragraphs, [0060-0061] in one or more embodiments, upon denial of an authentication request, the location of the user mobile device used to upload the images corresponding to the authentication request is determined. The location may be determined by the store code entered into the device for the authentication request, by geo-positioning, triangulation, cell tower identification, WIFI hotspot location identification, Bluetooth transmitter/receiver location, or some other technique or combination of location-based techniques. The location is then transmitted to law enforcement officials. The law enforcement officials are then able to initiate an immediate investigation as to the status of the credentials of the individual using the item having the hologram, such as, for example, the credit card, debit card, bank card, gift card, Medicare card, welfare card, passport, driver's license, identification card, or some other secure card or security card. One or more law enforcement units then travel to the location of the item having the hologram to investigate the questionable item or use. In one or more embodiments, one or more holograms on one or more IDs, licenses, passports, credit cards, debit cards, mobile device and/or other items are associated with a unique identifier, such as, for example, a social security number. Therefore, any authentication of the one or more IDs, licenses, passports, credit cards, debit cards, mobile device and/or other items will provide association and/or implied authentication to any one or more of the other IDs, licenses, passports, credit cards, debit cards, mobile device and/or other items).
Regarding claim 6, Bock discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the product to be examined is at least one of: a passport, a driver license, an identification card, currency, banknotes, a physical product, a product packaging, a shipping manifest, a tax stamp, a shipping container seal, or any combinations thereof (see page 1, paragraph, [0005] The embodiments described herein relate to methods and systems for authentication using a mobile device. The authentication can be authentication of goods, or the authentication of documents. These goods can be, for example, pharmaceutical products, software, or consumer products, such as food items, or cleaning items, or any other goods that have been, or are subject to being, counterfeited. The documents can be, for example, identification cards, passports, visas, currency, securities, credit cards or other financial instruments or security items).
Regarding claim 7, Bock discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the security feature is at least one of: a security thread, a three-dimensional (3-D) security ribbon, a watermark, a color-shifting ink, a microprint, a spare out, an infra-red (IR) taggant, an ultra-violet (UV) taggant, a variable image, an encrypted barcode, anti-tamper slits, a hologram, a magnetic ink, a conductive ink, a thermal ink, a hot stamping foil, intentional misspellings, or any combinations thereof (see page 7, paragraph, [0044] and paragraph, [0124], the device then transmits or sends the images to the server or the images are uploaded from the mobile device to the server where the verification is performed using the images. This provides an additional level of security as any security breach will require access to both the device ID and the “hologram”. The channel that is used may include an independent and/or “encrypted” band and/or communication protocol within the constellation of network bands and protocols available for transmission of data between the mobile device and the server. The system may exploit the regular channels for Internet communications as well as selective channels for specific devices. The medium or memory can be an electronic, magnetic, optical, electromagnetic, infrared, or semiconductor system (or apparatus or device) or a propagation medium).
Regarding claim 8, Bock discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to execute the computer readable instructions to cause the device to: obtain sensor configuration information for the sensor from a server, the sensor configuration information associated with the security feature of the product to be examined and position information associated with an expected position of the security feature; configure the sensor based on the obtained sensor configuration information; and authenticate the product using the configured sensor (see page 4, paragraph, [0029] also, page 9, paragraph, [0064], and page 18, paragraph, [0148], in one embodiment, a machine vision system is used to locate the hologram and frame it in the “display” of the mobile device. When the mobile device is “positioned” at the “appropriate location” relative to the hologram, or vice versa, the user is directed to activate the imaging device or camera such that the plurality of lenses captures and transfer images of the hologram to the CCD or other image capture element. Alternatively, when the mobile device is “positioned at the appropriate location” relative to the hologram, or vice versa, the plurality of lenses “automatically” captures and transfer images of the hologram to the CCD or other image capture element. In one or more embodiments, the images of the hologram comprise at least a first image captured on a first portion of a CCD or other image capture element and a second image captured on a second portion of the CCD or other image capture element. The confirmation of the association between the user and the unique hologram and the association of the hologram to the user's mobile device is accomplished by capturing at least one image of the hologram at a “predetermined position” with respect to the image capture device. In one or more embodiments, the at least one image is transmitted to the authentication server (security feature), where it is stored in a database. In one or more other embodiments, the confirmation of the association between the user and the unique hologram and the association of the hologram to the user's mobile device is accomplished by capturing a first hologram at a first predetermined position with respect to the image capture device and a second hologram at a second predetermined position with respect to the image capture device. In one or more embodiments, the first image and the second image are transmitted to the authentication server where they are stored in a database.
Finally, page 18, paragraph, [0148] one embodiment of such guidance and prompting is described in more detail with respect to FIGS. 16A and 16B. In step 104, it is determined whether the mobile device is properly positioned with respect to the hologram so as to allow capture of an image of the hologram. If the mobile device is not properly positioned, either after a fixed period of time, or continually, the user is returned to step 102 and the user is notified about the incorrect position. The user may then adjust the position of the mobile device such that it becomes properly positioned relative to the hologram. If the mobile device is properly positioned, an image of the hologram is “automatically” taken, in step 106, using an image capture device. Alternatively, the image may be taken manually by the user upon an indication by the app that the image is in the proper position. In step 108, the app analyzes the image and confirms whether the image was accurately captured. If the image is not properly captured, the process returns to step 102, where the mobile device guides the user in re-positioning the image capture device with respect to the hologram).
Regarding claim 10, Bock discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to execute the computer readable instructions to cause the device to: obtain a target image of the product to be examined; identify the product to be examined using an identifier of the product to be examined included in the target image, the identifier including at least one of a serial number, UPC barcode, QR code, product logo, identifying graphical design, or any combinations thereof; and analyze the target image using product authentication rules associated with the identified product stored in the memory (see claim 1, also page 7, paragraphs, [0046-0047] in some embodiments, the server includes a database containing algorithms used for authentication. Each algorithm for authentication is accessed using a unique customer identifier. In other embodiments, the server includes a database in which each algorithm for authentication is accessed using a unique mobile device authentication code or identifier. In yet other embodiments, the server includes a database in which each algorithm for authentication is accessed using a unique identifier that corresponds to the credit card number. In other embodiments, the mobile device authentication code is correlated to the card identification code. The system checks the unique mobile device authentication code or identifier, the unique customer identifier, or the unique identifier that corresponds to the credit card number to confirm the source of the images to be authenticated. Upon confirmation of the unique mobile device authentication code or identifier, the unique customer identifier, or the unique identifier that corresponds to the credit card number to confirm the source of the images to be authenticated, the system analyzes the uploaded images to confirm authenticity of the hologram. In one or more embodiments, the system incorporates an additional feature that provides for additional security. This feature is a vendor or retailer code. In one or more embodiments, the vendor or retailer code is used as part of a transaction confirmation process. As part of completing a transaction that includes an authentication process, after the one or more images are captured by the user device, the vendor or retailer provides the user with a vendor or retailer code. Alternatively, the system automatically generates or assigns vendor or retailer codes on a permanent basis that is unique to the vendor or retailer. Alternatively, the system generates one or more random codes that are assigned to the vendor or retailer on a per transaction basis. This code is or codes are then input into the device or the application being run by or on the device. In one or more embodiments, the vendor or retailer code is input to the device or application manually. Alternatively, in one or more embodiments, the vendor or retailer code is input to the device or application automatically. Such automatic input may be accomplished in various ways, such as, for example, by imaging a QR or bar code, direct OCR of a captured image, uploading via a Bluetooth, WIFI, Willan, or other wireless connection, or selection of a vendor name or other identifier via the user device or an application running on the user device. Alternatively, the device or application automatically generates the one or more code. Upon receipt or generation of the vendor or retailer code, the device or the application running on the device uploads the vendor or retailer code to the server, either together with image data or independent of the image data. The server then uses the vendor or retailer code to direct authentication analysis information, such as, for example, an authentication confirmation or denial signal, flag, identifier or message to the vendor or retailer. The vendor or retailer use such authentication confirmation or denial signal, flag, identifier or message to process the transaction request, such as, for example, allowing further processing of the transaction request, denying further processing of the transaction request, or requesting further information from the user).
Regarding claim 13, Bock discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising: providing the authentication results of the product using a speaker associated with the device (see claim 1, also page 8, paragraphs, [0056-0057] in one or more embodiments, in addition to or in place of one or more advertisements and/or one or more coupons, the system presents to the user via the display and/or speaker information about the company and/or product that the user is interacting with via the authentication request and/or that is or are in geographic proximity to the user's location. Alternatively, or additionally, the system presents to the user information about a company or product that corresponds to information in the user's predetermined profile. In one or more embodiments, in addition to or in place of the foregoing, the system presents to the user via the display and/or speaker information about one or accessories for the one or more products that the user is interacting with via the authentication request, that is or are in geographic proximity to the user's location, and/or that relate to the user's activities or interactions with the one or more networks to which the user's mobile device is connected. Alternatively, or additionally, the system presents to the user information about an accessory that corresponds to information in the user's predetermined profile).
Regarding claim 14, Bock discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising: transmitting the authentication results of the product to a server; and the transmitting the authentication results causes the server to update a database (see page 10, paragraph, [0068] for example, the first image and the second image. When initiating an authentication process, the previously captured images are sent to the server, pre-processed and sent to the server, or processed and sent to the server, where they are processed, analyzed, and compared one to the other for purposes of authentication. In one or more embodiments, authentication may be accomplished using at least a first image and a second image previously captured from the hologram that is pre-stored on the mobile device, and one image previously stored in a remote memory, such as, for example, a database storage location. This pre-storing may be accomplished at any point in time. In one or more embodiments, for example, when registering the hologram, as described above, the application also stores an image captured from the hologram on the mobile device and the application also stores an image captured from the hologram in memory, such as, for example, a remote memory, data storage device, or remote database. When initiating an authentication process, the previously captured images are sent to the server, pre-processed and sent to the server, or processed and sent to the server, or if already stored at the server, retrieved from the memory, where they are processed, analyzed, and compared one to the other for purposes of authentication. In one or more embodiments, the images stored on the mobile device may require periodic replacement or “updating to confirm authenticity”. In one or more embodiments, in place of comparing a first image stored on the mobile device to a second image stored on the mobile device, the first image is compared to a plurality of images stored on the mobile device. In one or more embodiments, in place of comparing a first image stored on the mobile device to a second image stored in the memory, the first image is compared to a plurality of images stored in the memory. In one or more embodiments, in place of comparing a first image stored in the memory to a second image stored in the memory, the first image is compared to a plurality of images stored in the memory).
Regarding claim 16, Bock discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the product to be examined is a legally restricted product; and the transmitting the authentication results further causes the server to: contact at least one of a product manufacturer of the product to be examined, a brand holder associated with the product to be examined, an intellectual property holder associated with the product to be examined, a law enforcement authority, a public official, a merchant, or any combinations thereof, based on the authentication results of the product to be examined (see page 9, paragraphs, [0060-0061] in one or more embodiments, upon denial of an authentication request, the location of the user mobile device used to upload the images corresponding to the authentication request is determined. The location may be determined by the store code entered into the device for the authentication request, by geo-positioning, triangulation, cell tower identification, WIFI hotspot location identification, Bluetooth transmitter/receiver location, or some other technique or combination of location-based techniques. The location is then transmitted to law enforcement officials. The law enforcement officials are then able to initiate an immediate investigation as to the status of the credentials of the individual using the item having the hologram, such as, for example, the credit card, debit card, bank card, gift card, Medicare card, welfare card, passport, driver's license, identification card, or some other secure card or security card. One or more law enforcement units then travel to the location of the item having the hologram to investigate the questionable item or use. In one or more embodiments, one or more holograms on one or more IDs, licenses, passports, credit cards, debit cards, mobile device and/or other items are associated with a unique identifier, such as, for example, a social security number. Therefore, any authentication of the one or more IDs, licenses, passports, credit cards, debit cards, mobile device and/or other items will provide association and/or implied authentication to any one or more of the other IDs, licenses, passports, credit cards, debit cards, mobile device and/or other items).
Regarding claim 17, Bock discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the product to be examined is at least one of: a passport, a driver license, an identification card, currency, banknotes, a physical product, a product packaging, a shipping manifest, a tax stamp, a shipping container seal, or any combinations thereof (see page 1, paragraph, [0005] The embodiments described herein relate to methods and systems for authentication using a mobile device. The authentication can be authentication of goods, or the authentication of documents. These goods can be, for example, pharmaceutical products, software, or consumer products, such as food items, or cleaning items, or any other goods that have been, or are subject to being, counterfeited. The documents can be, for example, identification cards, passports, visas, currency, securities, credit cards or other financial instruments or security items).
Regarding claim 18, Bock discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the security feature is at least one of: a security thread, a three-dimensional (3-D) security ribbon, a watermark, a color-shifting ink, a microprint, a spare out, an infra-red (IR) taggant, an ultra-violet (UV) taggant, a variable image, an encrypted barcode, anti-tamper slits, a hologram, a magnetic ink, a conductive ink, a thermal ink, a hot stamping foil, intentional misspellings, or any combinations thereof (see page 7, paragraph, [0044] and paragraph, [0124], the device then transmits or sends the images to the server or the images are uploaded from the mobile device to the server where the verification is performed using the images. This provides an additional level of security as any security breach will require access to both the device ID and the “hologram”. The channel that is used may include an independent and/or “encrypted” band and/or communication protocol within the constellation of network bands and protocols available for transmission of data between the mobile device and the server. The system may exploit the regular channels for Internet communications as well as selective channels for specific devices. The medium or memory can be an electronic, magnetic, optical, electromagnetic, infrared, or semiconductor system (or apparatus or device) or a propagation medium).
Regarding claim 21, Bock discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising: obtaining a target image of the product to be examined; identifying the product to be examined using an identifier of the product to be examined included in the target image, the identifier including at least one of a serial number, UPC barcode, QR code, product logo, identifying graphical design, or any combinations thereof; and analyze the target image using product authentication rules associated with the identified product stored in memory of the device (see claim 1, also page 7, paragraphs, [0046-0047] in some embodiments, the server includes a database containing algorithms used for authentication. Each algorithm for authentication is accessed using a unique customer identifier. In other embodiments, the server includes a database in which each algorithm for authentication is accessed using a unique mobile device authentication code or identifier. In yet other embodiments, the server includes a database in which each algorithm for authentication is accessed using a unique identifier that corresponds to the credit card number. In other embodiments, the mobile device authentication code is correlated to the card identification code. The system checks the unique mobile device authentication code or identifier, the unique customer identifier, or the unique identifier that corresponds to the credit card number to confirm the source of the images to be authenticated. Upon confirmation of the unique mobile device authentication code or identifier, the unique customer identifier, or the unique identifier that corresponds to the credit card number to confirm the source of the images to be authenticated, the system analyzes the uploaded images to confirm authenticity of the hologram. In one or more embodiments, the system incorporates an additional feature that provides for additional security. This feature is a vendor or retailer code. In one or more embodiments, the vendor or retailer code is used as part of a transaction confirmation process. As part of completing a transaction that includes an authentication process, after the one or more images are captured by the user device, the vendor or retailer provides the user with a vendor or retailer code. Alternatively, the system automatically generates or assigns vendor or retailer codes on a permanent basis that is unique to the vendor or retailer. Alternatively, the system generates one or more random codes that are assigned to the vendor or retailer on a per transaction basis. This code is or codes are then input into the device or the application being run by or on the device. In one or more embodiments, the vendor or retailer code is input to the device or application manually. Alternatively, in one or more embodiments, the vendor or retailer code is input to the device or application automatically. Such automatic input may be accomplished in various ways, such as, for example, by imaging a QR or bar code, direct OCR of a captured image, uploading via a Bluetooth, WIFI, Willan, or other wireless connection, or selection of a vendor name or other identifier via the user device or an application running on the user device. Alternatively, the device or application automatically generates the one or more code. Upon receipt or generation of the vendor or retailer code, the device or the application running on the device uploads the vendor or retailer code to the server, either together with image data or independent of the image data. The server then uses the vendor or retailer code to direct authentication analysis information, such as, for example, an authentication confirmation or denial signal, flag, identifier or message to the vendor or retailer. The vendor or retailer use such authentication confirmation or denial signal, flag, identifier or message to process the transaction request, such as, for example, allowing further processing of the transaction request, denying further processing of the transaction request, or requesting further information from the user).
With regard to claims 11-12, 15, 19 and 22 the arguments analogous to those presented above for claims 1-8, 10, 13-14, 16-18 and 21 are respectively applicable to claims 11-12, 15, 19 and 22.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 20, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
Status information about the PAIR system, see http:// pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/SEYED H AZARIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667
May 4, 2026