Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Guo is not prior art because para 1 refers to the provisional application 63/389,621 being filed on July 15, 2023 which is not prior art. However, the cover page of Guo states that the provisional was in fact filed on July 15, 2022, which is prior art for the instant application. Furthermore, Guo also claims foreign priority to PCT/CN2022/106201 which was filed on Jul 18,2022 which is prior art for the instant applications. The rejection of Guo and MolvanJazi still applies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (2023/0388871) in view of MolavianJazi (2022/021844).
Regarding claim 1, Guo discloses a method comprising receiving by a base station via a first cell, a first message comprising one or measurements of a wireless device, that are associated with reference signals of a second cell (figure 36, measurement report#1). Guo discloses a second message to send to the second cell for a L1/L2 triggered mobility procedure (Early sync or DL/UL Sync #4) and receiving a third message based on the second message and indicating PRACH resources (Cell switch command 6, Figure 36). Also see, abstract, para 427-429 and 452).
Guo does not disclose the use of one or more preamble repetitions.
However, MolavianJazi teaches in an analogous art, a handover procedure in which multiple preambles can be sent from the UE to the target cell (para 543-546).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include repetition to increase the robustness of the handover process.
Regarding claims 2-3, Guo further discloses receiving a fourth message based on the second message indicating PRACH resources (Figure 36, Rach step 7), and the first cell is the serving cell and the second cell comprises a candidate target base station distributed unit (Figure 1, S-Cell130s and T-Cell 130t).
Regarding claim 5, 8-9, Guo further disclose the first message is an uplink control information (para 112, layer 1 measurements done by the UE which are sent to the SCell, hence uplink signaling, also para 428), the LTM procedure comprises early timing advance (para 429- to send to the second cell as well as para 452, multiple preamble resources are used by the UE). Guo discloses the second message comprises a configuration parameter indicating a number of times for preamble repetition (para 452, SSB/Mask Index to indicate 4 preamble transitions).
Regarding claims 6-7, Guo discloses where the second message is a wireless device context modification required (early timing advance signaling is a context modification for the current connection between the serving cell and target cell, para 429, 433-434) and where the 3rd message is a wireless device context modification confirm message or a DL RRC message (Figure 24, Message 7 is related to cell switch command in Figure 36 and is a DL RRC message).
Regarding claim 10, Guo disclose a method comprising: sending, by a base station via a second cell (Figure 35b, measurements are sent to target/second cell), a first message indicating: one or more measurements, of a wireless device, that are associated with reference signals of a first cell (Measurement report #1, Fig 36); receiving, from the second cell, a second message based on the first message and for the wireless device to send to the second cell for an early timing advance acquisition of a layer 1 or layer 2 triggered mobility (LTM) procedure (Early sync step #4, Figure 36); and sending, to the first cell, a third message indicating physical random access channel (PRACH) resources for the one or more preamble repetitions (Figure 36, command #6), Also see para 427-429 and 452. Guo does not disclose the use of one or more preamble repetitions.
However, MolavianJazi teaches in an analogous art, a handover procedure in which multiple preambles can be sent from the UE to the target cell (para 543-546). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include repetition to increase the robustness of the handover process.
Regarding claims 11-13, Guo further discloses receiving a fourth message based on the second message indicating PRACH resources , which are configuration parameters to connected in the LTM procedure (Figure 36, Rach step 7), and the first cell is the serving cell and the second cell comprises a candidate target base station (Figure 1, S-Cell130s and T-Cell 130t).
Regarding claims 15-16, Guo further disclose the LTM procedure comprises early timing advance which is one or more measurement configurations (para 429- to send to the second cell as well as para 452, multiple preamble resources are used by the UE). Guo discloses the second message comprises a configuration parameter indicating a number of times for preamble repetition (para 452, SSB/Mask Index to indicate 4 preamble transitions).
Regarding claim 17, Guo discloses a method comprising: sending, by a wireless device and to a first base station, a first message comprising one or more measurements of the wireless device that are associated with reference signals of a second base station (Figure 36, measurement report #1); and receiving, from the first base station, a second message comprising: an indication for the wireless device to send to the second base station for an early timing advance acquisition of a layer 1 or layer 2 triggered mobility (LTM) procedure; (Early sync or dl/ul sync #4 and an indication indicating physical random access channel (PRACH) resources for the one or more preamble repetitions (cell switch command #6). Also see para 427-429 and 452.
Guo does not disclose the use of one or more preamble repetitions.
However, MolavianJazi teaches in an analogous art, a handover procedure in which multiple preambles can be sent from the UE to the target cell (para 543-546).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include repetition to increase the robustness of the handover process.
Regarding claims 18-20, Guo discloses the first base station is a serving base station of the LTM procedure (SCell 130s) and the second base station is a candidate target base station (TCell 130t) of the LTM procedure. Guo discloses where the second message is a wireless device context modification required message (early timing advance signaling is a context modification for the current connection between the serving cell and target cell, para 429, 433-434) and where the first message is an uplink control information (para 112, layer 1 measurements done by the UE which are sent to the SCell, hence uplink signaling, also para 428.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Guo the first cell is associated with a base station distributed unit (Figures 9-11, signals are received via the DU) and thee sending of the second message and the reception of the third message being processed by a base station central unit (Use of CU in signaling between source and target cell Figure 9).
Regarding claim 21, Guo further discloses wherein the one or more preamble repetitions are for an early timing advance acquisition of the LTM procedure (abstract and para 428-429).
Regarding claim 22, Guo discloses a base station (Figures 54 and 57, Network DU/Cells) comprising a processor and memory storing instructions (host platform 5528, para 801 as well as Figure 56 discussion, para 803-804) when executed by the one or more processors, cause the base station to: receive via a first cell, a first message comprising one or measurements of a wireless device, that are associated with reference signals of a second cell (figure 36, measurement report#1). Guo discloses sending a second message to the second cell for a L1/L2 triggered mobility procedure (Early sync or DL/UL Sync #4) and receive a third message based on the second message and indicating PRACH resources (Cell switch command 6, Figure 36). Also see, abstract, para 427-429 and 452).
Guo does not disclose the use of one or more preamble repetitions.
However, MolavianJazi teaches in an analogous art, a handover procedure in which multiple preambles can be sent from the UE to the target cell (para 543-546).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include repetition to increase the robustness of the handover process.
Regarding claims 23-26, the claims disclose the same limitations as claims 3-4 and 8-9 and are rejected given the same reasoning as stated above.
Regarding claim 27, Guo discloses a wireless device (UE, 5502, Figure 55) comprising one or more processors, and memory storing instructions that when executed by the one or more processors (host platform 5508, para 794 and Figure 56 discussion of para 803-804) configure the wireless device to: send, to a first base station, a first message comprising one or more measurements of the wireless device that are associated with reference signals of a second base station (Figure 36, measurement report #1); and receive, from the first base station, a second message comprising: an indication for the wireless device to send to the second base station for an early timing advance acquisition of a layer 1 or layer 2 triggered mobility (LTM) procedure; (Early sync or dl/ul sync #4 and an indication indicating physical random access channel (PRACH) resources for the one or more preamble repetitions (cell switch command #6). Also see para 427-429 and 452.
Guo does not disclose the use of one or more preamble repetitions.
However, MolavianJazi teaches in an analogous art, a handover procedure in which multiple preambles can be sent from the UE to the target cell (para 543-546).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include repetition to increase the robustness of the handover process.
Regarding claims 28-30, the claims disclose the same limitations of claims 18-20 and are rejected for the same reasons as stated above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim (2026/0101253) discloses a layer 1/layer 2 mobility identifier.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
WILLIAM GEORGE TROST IV
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2641
/WILLIAM G TROST IV/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641