DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/17/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Troxler (U.S. Publication 20150268218) in view of Johansson (U.S. Patent 6496137).
Regarding claim 1, Troxler teaches a system for contactless moisture estimation of soil (fig. 1 (100)), the system comprising:
an antenna array comprising a first antenna configured to transmit radiofrequency (RF) signals (fig. 1 (transmit and receive antenna 102) [0034] shows a bistatic system the receiving function not limited to a single antenna element)
a controller electrically coupled to the antenna array; the controller configured to (“a system controller” [0006-7]):
emit, via the first antenna and into the soil, RF signals at each of a plurality of frequency increments (δ.sub.f) ranging from a lower frequency (f.sub.s) to an upper frequency (f.sub.e) (frequency domain and FMCW radar operation in which RF signals are transmitted across a frequency sweep under control of the controller [0006-7, 50] emission across a frequency sweep comprises emission at plurality of discrete frequency increments between a lower and an upper frequency);
determine a channel frequency response (CFR) for each of the plurality of frequency increments (δ.sub.f) by measuring an amplitude attenuation and a phase change of reflected RF signals (measuring both amplitude and phase of reflected RF signals as a function of frequency and deriving frequency domain response characteristics of the subsurface material, such measurements constitute a channel frequency response [0007-8, 0030-31]),
determine a power delay profile (PDP) based on the CFR of each of the plurality of frequency increments (δ.sub.f) (transforming frequency domain radar measurements into time domain responses corresponding to reflected signal from subsurface interfaces [0030-37, 50]);
extract a subset of the reflected RF signals associated with the emitted RF signals by performing peak detection on the PDP (identifying reflection peaks in the time domain response corresponding to subsurface interfaces and selecting such reflections for further analysis [0035-37]) of each of the plurality of second antennas; and
for each layer of the soil and for each of the subset of reflected RF signals (identifying multiple subsurface reflecting interfaces corresponding to different material layers based on time domain radar responses [0035-37]), determine: i) a wavelength of the reflected RF signal in a layer (determining RF propagation characteristics in subsurface material, including frequency and propagation velocity, from radar measurements [0007-8, 0030-31] wavelength in a material is determined from frequency and propagation velocity according to well-known electromagnetic relationships), ii) an estimated depth of the layer (determining subsurface layer depth based on propagation delay and spacing between reflection peaks in the time domain response [0036]), iii) a dielectric permittivity of the layer based on the wavelength in the layer (determining dielectric permittivity of subsurface material based on RF propagation characteristics derived from radar measurements [0007-8, 0030-31]), and iv) an estimated moisture content of the layer based on the dielectric permittivity (estimating moisture content from dielectric permittivity from radar measurements [0006-8]).
Troxler teaches receiving reflected signals using radar receiver structures in monostatic and bistatic configurations but does not explicitly teach plurality of received antennas.
Johansson in a relevant art teaching ground penetrating radar antennae array comprising a plurality of receive antennas configured to receive reflected RF signals from subsurface structures (“fig. 4 antenna array 106, a trig box 422, a control unit 404, a first positioning device 405, a second positional device 406, a computer 402, and a display 116. Antenna array 106 may comprise a plurality of receive antenna R1-R8 and a plurality of transmit antennas T1-T9. Antenna array 106 transmits electromagnetic impulses into the ground and receives reflected electromagnetic waveforms. Trig box 422 outputs trigger signals TT1-TT9 that trigger, i.e., "activate," transmit antennas T1-T9 to transmit an impulse and trigger signals TT1-TT9 that trigger receive antennas R1-R8 to sample a received waveform. For example, signal TR1 triggers when receive antenna R1 samples a received waveform. Signal TR9 triggers when receive antenna R8 samples a received waveform” col. 5 lines 25-40).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the radar receiving function of Troxler using the antenna array architecture thought by Johansson to improve robustness and reliability of reflected RF signal acquisition.
Regarding claims 2, 12, 19, Troxler as modified further teaches wherein lower frequency (f.sub.s) is 2 GHz and the upper frequency (f.sub.e) is 3 GHz (“Non-limiting exemplary frequencies for asphalt may be from 1 GHz to 2 GHz to approximately 10 GHz or even as high as 20 GHz. For soil moisture measurements, non-limiting exemplary frequencies may range from 300 MHz to several GHz is appropriate. If the bandwidth is at least 25% of the center frequency, the system may be considered as ultra wide band UWB. For example, sweeping from 1.5 to 2.5 GHz would constitute an UWB FMCW. Wide bands are desirable for resolution and in some cases depth control” [0050]).
Regarding claims 3, 13, 20 Troxler further teach the controller is further configured to filter out non-soil related reflections from the subset of the reflected RF signals by removing peaks that do not appear in the PDP (transforming frequency domain radar measurement into time domain responses and identifying reflections peaks corresponding to subsurface interfaces, while disregarding reflections that do not correspond to relevant sub surface features [0030-37).
Troxler teaches receiving reflected signals using radar receiver structures in monostatic and bistatic configurations but does not explicitly teach plurality of received antennas.
Johansson in a relevant art teaching ground penetrating radar antennae array comprising a plurality of receive antennas configured to receive reflected RF signals from subsurface structures (“fig. 4 antenna array 106, a trig box 422, a control unit 404, a first positioning device 405, a second positional device 406, a computer 402, and a display 116. Antenna array 106 may comprise a plurality of receive antenna R1-R8 and a plurality of transmit antennas T1-T9. Antenna array 106 transmits electromagnetic impulses into the ground and receives reflected electromagnetic waveforms. Trig box 422 outputs trigger signals TT1-TT9 that trigger, i.e., "activate," transmit antennas T1-T9 to transmit an impulse and trigger signals TT1-TT9 that trigger receive antennas R1-R8 to sample a received waveform. For example, signal TR1 triggers when receive antenna R1 samples a received waveform. Signal TR9 triggers when receive antenna R8 samples a received waveform” col. 5 lines 25-40).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the radar receiving function of Troxler using the antenna array architecture thought by Johansson to improve robustness and reliability of reflected RF signal acquisition.
Regarding claims 4, 14, Troxler further teaches wherein to filter out non-soil related reflections from the subset of the reflected RF signals, the controller is further configured to verify that a phase of the peaks detected in the PDP (measuring and processing phase information of the reflected RF signals as a function of frequency and using such phase information to characterize subsurface structures and interfaces [0007-8, 0030-31 and 0035])
Troxler teaches receiving reflected signals using radar receiver structures in monostatic and bistatic configurations but does not explicitly teach plurality of received antennas.
Johansson in a relevant art teaching ground penetrating radar antennae array comprising a plurality of receive antennas configured to receive reflected RF signals from subsurface structures (“fig. 4 antenna array 106, a trig box 422, a control unit 404, a first positioning device 405, a second positional device 406, a computer 402, and a display 116. Antenna array 106 may comprise a plurality of receive antenna R1-R8 and a plurality of transmit antennas T1-T9. Antenna array 106 transmits electromagnetic impulses into the ground and receives reflected electromagnetic waveforms. Trig box 422 outputs trigger signals TT1-TT9 that trigger, i.e., "activate," transmit antennas T1-T9 to transmit an impulse and trigger signals TT1-TT9 that trigger receive antennas R1-R8 to sample a received waveform. For example, signal TR1 triggers when receive antenna R1 samples a received waveform. Signal TR9 triggers when receive antenna R8 samples a received waveform” col. 5 lines 25-40).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the radar receiving function of Troxler using the antenna array architecture thought by Johansson to improve robustness and reliability of reflected RF signal acquisition.
Regarding claims 5, 15, Troxler as modified further teaches wherein the plurality of frequency increments (δ.sub.f) are contiguous (ground penetrating radar system employing a frequency modulated continues wave FMCW architecture in which voltage controlled oscillator is driven by sawtooth or triangular waveform to produce continues frequency sweep [0053]. A continues FMCW sweep inherently comprises contiguous frequency increments across sweep bandwidth).
Regarding claims 6, 16, Troxler further teaches wherein the plurality of second antennas comprises at least three equidistantly spaced antennas.
Troxler teaches receiving reflected signals using radar receiver structures in monostatic and bistatic configurations but does not explicitly teach plurality of received antennas.
Johansson in a relevant art teaching ground penetrating radar antennae array comprising a plurality of receive antennas configured to receive reflected RF signals from subsurface structures (fig. 13 R1-R8).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the radar receiving function of Troxler using the antenna array architecture thought by Johansson to improve robustness and reliability of reflected RF signal acquisition.
Regarding claims 7, 17, Troxler as modified further teaches wherein the estimated moisture content of each layer is estimated using a Topp equation [0038].
Regarding claim 8, Troxler as modified further teaches wherein the controller comprises an RF generator to generate the RF signals (controller generating RF signals [0006-7]).
Regarding claim 9, Troxler as modified further teaches wherein the RF generator is a software defined radio (SDR) (generating and controlling RF signals digitally as part of radar system “Sweeping frequency generators and electronic receiving circuitry are interconnected to the microwave system to generate a microwave input to the circuit for generating the electromagnetic field, and for conditioning and analyzing the response relative to the generated field” [0010,33] as can be evident by Jason (GB2595726) page 2 lines 14-15).
One of the ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to make this modification such as implementing the RF generator as a software defined ration to provide improved programmable frequency synthesis and waveform generation based on the design choice (Please see MPEP 2144 .04 VI.C.)
Regarding claim 10, Troxler as modified further teaches wherein the controller comprises a communications interface to communicate with a remote computing device (radar system including a controller and processing components that may communicate measurement data for analysis and display [0006-7, 0031]).
Regarding claim 11, the method recited is intrinsic to the apparatus recited in claim 1, as disclosed by Troxler (U.S. Publication 20150268218) in view of Johansson (U.S. Patent 6496137) as the recited method steps will be performed during the normal operation of the apparatus, as discussed above with regard to claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, the structure recited is intrinsic to the method recited in claim 11, as disclosed by Troxler (U.S. Publication 20150268218) in view of Johansson (U.S. Patent 6496137) as the recited structure will be used during the normal operation of the method, as discussed above with regard to claim 11. Troxler as modified further teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by a computing device, cause the computing device (“software and project management program in [0067])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Krumhansl (U.S. Publication 20070235250) discloses Seismic Source/receiver Probe For Shallow Seismic Surveying.
/TAQI R NASIR/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858