DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 02/16/202024. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 9/19/2024 and 4/12/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2,6,10-16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ruppert (DE 102021111773).
As to claim 1, Ruppert discloses an inverter system (Fig. 1-2 [0035],[0039] circuit arrangement 5 as a three-phase pulse inverter) for connecting to a DC power source (Fig. 1 energy storage device 3), the inverter system comprising:
a plurality of transistors (Fig. 1 S1-S6) that are controllable to convert a DC voltage to an AC voltage ([0035] The circuit arrangement 5 allows a direct current taken from the traction energy storage 3 to be converted into a three-phase alternating current for the operation of the electric traction motor 4);
a DC link capacitor (Fig. 2 [0036] energy storage device 6); and
a discharge controller (control device 7) configured to cause a discharge of energy from the DC link capacitor when the DC power source is disconnected from the inverter system ( [0036]-[0037] To discharge the energy storage device 6, the traction energy storage device 3 can be decoupled, for example, via a switching device 10, so that when the energy storage device 6 is discharged, the traction energy storage device 3 is not also discharged.. the control unit 7 can control the electrical circuit arrangement 5 for discharging the energy storage device 6),
wherein the discharge controller is configured to cause the discharge of energy from the DC link capacitor by turning on at least a first transistor and a second transistor of the plurality of transistors (Fig. 1 S1-S6) so as to cause a controlled shoot-through ([0041] By setting the control voltage UG,I of at least two of the switching elements… the energy storage device 6 can be discharged), and
wherein at least one of the first transistor and the second transistor are controlled by the discharge controller to operate in a linear region of operation (Fig. 3 [0040]-[0042] control terminals of the switching elements of at least one of the halfbridges 11, 12, 13 are supplied with a control voltage UG,I wherein the level of the control voltages UG,I each lies between a threshold voltage and a maximum permissible turn-on voltage of the respective switching element.. The control voltage UG,I of the respective switching elements allows the respective electrical resistance of the switchable section of the switching element to be set.)
As to claim 2, Ruppert discloses the inverter system of claim 1, wherein the discharge controller further comprises a first servo loop circuit for controlling the first transistor ([0048] the levels of the control voltages UG,i to be set at the beginning of the discharge and/or during the discharge as a function of at least one measured variable of the electrical circuit arrangement 5 that is measured or derived. The measured variable of the electrical circuit arrangement 5 can be, for example, a voltage of the energy store 6, a current flow through at least one of the switching elements Si and/or a temperature of at least one of the switching elements Si …[0017]-[0018] During the discharging process, the level of the control voltage can be changed as a function of a detected or derived measured variable, so that the control voltage and thus the electrical resistance of the switchable sections of the switching elements of the half-bridge can also be adjusted during the discharging process. As such Rupperts Inverter system has a first servo loop circuit for controlling the first transistor).
As to claim 6, Ruppert discloses the inverter system of claim 2, further comprising: a second servo loop circuit for controlling the second transistor ([0048] the levels of the control voltages UG,i to be set at the beginning of the discharge and/or during the discharge as a function of at least one measured variable of the electrical circuit arrangement 5 that is measured or derived. The measured variable of the electrical circuit arrangement 5 can be, for example, a voltage of the energy store 6, a current flow through at least one of the switching elements Si and/or a temperature of at least one of the switching elements Si …[0017]-[0018] During the discharging process, the level of the control voltage can be changed as a function of a detected or derived measured variable, so that the control voltage and thus the electrical resistance of the switchable sections of the switching elements of the half-bridge can also be adjusted during the discharging process. As such Rupperts Inverter system has a second servo loop circuit for controlling the second transistor).
As to claim 10, Ruppert discloses the inverter system of claim 2, wherein the first servo loop circuit further comprises: a first current measurement circuit configured to measure a first shoot through current through the first transistor ([0047] The measured variable of the electrical circuit arrangement 5 can be, for example, a voltage of the energy storage device 6, a current flow through at least one of the switching elements) , and wherein the first servo loop circuit is configured to set a first control signal for the first transistor based on the measured first shoot through current and a first reference trajectory current such that the first shoot through current through the first transistor follows the first reference trajectory current ([0021]-[0022] [0047][0048]..levels of the control voltages during the discharge are regulated depending on the measured variable of the electrical circuit arrangement. .. a regulation of the control voltages to a fixed current value, a maximum temperature, a desired discharge time and/or a maximum voltage change at the energy storage device… This advantageously reduces the current intensity of the currents flowing in the paths or switching elements).
As to claim 11, Ruppert discloses the inverter system of claim 10, further comprising: a second servo loop circuit for controlling the second transistor ([0047] ([0048] 0017]-[0018] Rupperts Inverter system has a second servo loop circuit for controlling the second transistor), and wherein the second servo loop circuit comprises: a second current measurement circuit configured to measure a second shoot through current through the second transistor ([0047] The measured variable of the electrical circuit arrangement 5 can be, for example, a voltage of the energy storage device 6, a current flow through at least one of the switching elements), and wherein the second servo loop circuit is configured to set a second control signal for the second transistor based on the measured second shoot through current and a second reference trajectory current such that the second shoot through current through the second transistor follows the second reference trajectory current ([0021]-[0022] [0047][0048]).
As to claim 12, Ruppert discloses the inverter system of any one of claims 1 to 5 and 10, wherein the discharge controller is configured to set a second control signal for the second transistor to turn the second transistor fully on (control voltages UG,I, Fig. 3 maximum permissible switch-on voltage [0009]).
As to claim 13, Ruppert discloses the inverter system of claim 1, wherein the discharge controller is further configured to cause the discharge of energy from the DC link capacitor by turning on at least a third transistor and a fourth transistor of the plurality of switches (Fig. 3 S1-S6) so as to cause a controlled shoot-through of a first inverter leg formed by the first transistor and the second transistor, and a second inverter leg formed by the third transistor and the fourth transistor, wherein at least one of the third transistor and the fourth transistor are controlled by the discharge controller to operate in a linear region of operation ([0040] control terminals of the switching elements of at least one of the halfbridges 11, 12, 13 are supplied with a control voltage UG,I wherein the level of the control voltages UG,I each lies between a threshold voltage and a maximum permissible turn-on voltage of the respective switching element… [0041] By setting the control voltage UG,I of at least two of the switching elements… the energy storage device 6 can be discharged…allows the respective electrical resistance of the switchable section of the switching element).
As to claim 14, Ruppert discloses the inverter system of claim 1, wherein the discharge controller is configured to discharge energy from the DC link capacitor to a predetermined capacitor voltage within a predetermined time period([0045] The adjustment of the resistance RDS of the switching elements of one or more of the half-backs 11, 12, 13 is carried out in particular such that a discharge of the intermediate circuit capacitor to a voltage of less than 60 V occurs within a time period of one second or less).
As to claim 15, Ruppert discloses an Electric Vehicle (Fig. 1) comprising an inverter system (Fig. 1-2 [0035],[0039] circuit arrangement 5 as a three-phase pulse inverter), wherein the inverter system comprises:
a plurality of transistors (Fig. 1 S1-S6) that are controllable to convert a DC voltage to an AC voltage ([0035] The circuit arrangement 5 allows a direct current taken from the traction energy storage 3 to be converted into a three-phase alternating current for the operation of the electric traction motor 4);;
a DC link capacitor (Fig. 2 [0036] energy storage device 6); and
a discharge controller (control device 7) configured to cause a discharge of energy from the DC link capacitor when the DC power source is disconnected from the inverter system ([0036]-[0037] To discharge the energy storage device 6, the traction energy storage device 3 can be decoupled, for example, via a switching device 10, so that when the energy storage device 6 is discharged, the traction energy storage device 3 is not also discharged.. the control unit 7 can control the electrical circuit arrangement 5 for discharging the energy storage device 6),
wherein the discharge controller is configured to cause the discharge of energy from the DC link capacitor by turning on at least a first transistor and a second transistor of the plurality of transistors (Fig. 1 S1-S6) so as to cause a controlled shoot-through ( [0041] By setting the control voltage UG,I of at least two of the switching elements… the energy storage device 6 can be discharged), and
wherein at least one of the first transistor and the second transistor are controlled by the discharge controller to operate in a linear region of operation (Fig. 3 [0040]-[0042] control terminals of the switching elements of at least one of the halfbridges 11, 12, 13 are supplied with a control voltage UG,I wherein the level of the control voltages UG,I each lies between a threshold voltage and a maximum permissible turn-on voltage of the respective switching element.. The control voltage UG,I of the respective switching elements allows the respective electrical resistance of the switchable section of the switching element to be set…. allows the respective electrical resistance of the switchable section of the switching element).
As to claim 16, Ruppert discloses a discharge controller ( Fig. 1-2 control device 7) for controlling discharge of energy from a DC link capacitor in an inverter system that comprises a plurality of transistors that are controllable to convert a DC voltage to an AC voltage ( [0036]-[0037] To discharge the energy storage device 6, the traction energy storage device 3 can be decoupled, for example, via a switching device 10, so that when the energy storage device 6 is discharged, the traction energy storage device 3 is not also discharged.. the control unit 7 can control the electrical circuit arrangement 5 for discharging the energy storage device 6. [0035] The circuit arrangement 5 allows a direct current taken from the traction energy storage 3 to be converted into a three-phase alternating current for the operation of the electric traction motor 4), the discharge controller being configured: turn on at least a first transistor and a second transistor of the plurality of switches to induce a controlled shoot-through so as to cause energy discharge from the DC link capacitor, at least one of the first transistor and the second transistor are controlled to operate in a linear region of operation (Fig. 3 [0040]-[0042] control terminals of the switching elements of at least one of the halfbridges 11, 12, 13 are supplied with a control voltage UG,I wherein the level of the control voltages UG,I each lies between a threshold voltage and a maximum permissible turn-on voltage of the respective switching element.. The control voltage UG,I of the respective switching elements allows the respective electrical resistance of the switchable section of the switching element to be set… allows the respective electrical resistance of the switchable section of the switching element).
As to claim 20, Ruppert discloses the discharge controller of claim 16, further configured to: discharge energy from the DC link capacitor by turning on at least a third transistor and a fourth transistor of the plurality of switches (Fig. 3 S1-S6) so as to cause a controlled shoot-through of a first inverter leg formed by the first transistor and the second transistor, and a second inverter leg formed by the third transistor and the fourth transistor, wherein at least one of the third transistor and the fourth transistor are controlled by the discharge controller to operate in a linear region of operation ([0040] control terminals of the switching elements of at least one of the halfbridges 11, 12, 13 are supplied with a control voltage UG,I wherein the level of the control voltages UG,I each lies between a threshold voltage and a maximum permissible turn-on voltage of the respective switching element… [0041] By setting the control voltage UG,I of at least two of the switching elements… the energy storage device 6 can be discharged.. allows the respective electrical resistance of the switchable section of the switching element).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5,7-9, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruppert (DE 102021111773).
As to claims 3 and 17, Ruppert discloses the inverter system of claim 2 and the discharge controller of claim 16
Ruppert does not disclose/teach wherein the first servo loop circuit further comprises: a first voltage measurement circuit configured to measure a first voltage across the first transistor , and wherein the first servo loop circuit is configured to set a first control signal for the first transistor based on the measured first voltage and a first reference trajectory voltage such that the first voltage across the first transistor follows the reference trajectory voltage
Ruppert teaches a current measurement circuit configured to measure a first current across through the first transistor, and wherein the first servo loop circuit is configured to set a first control signal for the first transistor based on the measured first current and a first reference trajectory current such that the first current across the first transistor follows the reference trajectory current ([0021]-[0022] [0047][0048].. it is possible to adjust the levels of the control voltages at the beginning of the discharge and/or during the discharge depending on at least one measured or derived parameter of the electrical circuit arrangement 5. The measured variable of the electrical circuit arrangement 5 can be, for example, a voltage of the energy storage device 6, a current flow through at least one of the switching elements and/or a temperature of at least one of the switching elements… This advantageously reduces the current intensity of the currents flowing in the paths or switching elements. See Also [0052] … it is possible that the resistances of the switchable sections of the switching elements … are set depending on … a temperature of the switching elements recorded as a measured variable (which depends of the current through the switching element [0049]), in such a way as to the voltage UE of the energy storage device 6, so that a predetermined discharge time, for example until a voltage level of less than 60 V is reached, is achieved).
As such, the gate voltages are set and adjusted based on a measured current and temperature through the switches and turns off the switches based temperature ([0054]). The current through the switches will change based on when the capacitor is done discharging and when the switches are turned off. Therefore the current through the transistors will following a reference trajectory current.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to measure the current in the first transistor switch by measuring the first voltage across the first transistor as it reduces the need to break the circuit to apply a current source.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inverter system of Ruppert to wherein the first servo loop circuit further comprises: a first voltage measurement circuit configured to measure a first voltage across the first transistor , and wherein the first servo loop circuit is configured to set a first control signal for the first transistor based on the measured first voltage and a first reference trajectory voltage such that the first voltage across the first transistor follows the reference trajectory voltage so that the discharge process of the energy storage device can take place in a controlled and safe manner ([0021]).
As to claims 4, 8, and 18 Ruppert teaches the inverter system of claim 3, the inverter system of claim 7, and the discharge controller of claim 17 wherein the first reference trajectory voltage is set based on a target discharge profile of the DC link capacitor and wherein the second reference trajectory voltage is set based on the target discharge profile of the DC link capacitor [0052] … it is possible that the resistances of the switchable sections of the switching elements … are set depending on … a temperature of the switching elements recorded as a measured variable (which depends of the current through the switching element [0049]), in such a way as to the voltage UE of the energy storage device 6, so that a predetermined discharge time, for example until a voltage level of less than 60 V is reached, is achieved).
As to claims 5 and 9, Ruppert teaches the inverter system of claim 4, and the inverter system of claim 8, wherein the first reference trajectory voltage is further based on a first temperature measurement associated with the first transistor and wherein the second reference trajectory voltage is further based on the second temperature measurement associated with the second transistor ( [0052] … it is possible that the resistances of the switchable sections of the switching elements … are set depending on … a temperature of the switching elements recorded as a measured variable (which depends of the current through the switching element [0049]).
As to claims 7 and 19, Ruppert discloses the inverter system of claim 6 and the discharge controller of claim 16.
Ruppert does not disclose/teach wherein the second servo loop circuit further comprises: a second voltage measurement circuit configured to measure a second voltage across the second transistor, and wherein the second servo loop circuit is configured to set a second control signal for the second transistor based on the measured second voltage and a second reference trajectory voltage such that the second voltage across the second transistor follows the reference trajectory voltage
Ruppert teaches a current measurement circuit configured to measure a first current across through the first transistor, and wherein the first servo loop circuit is configured to set a first control signal for the first transistor based on the measured first current and a first reference trajectory current such that the first current across the first transistor follows the reference trajectory current ([0021]-[0022] [0047][0048].. it is possible to adjust the levels of the control voltages at the beginning of the discharge and/or during the discharge depending on at least one measured or derived parameter of the electrical circuit arrangement 5. The measured variable of the electrical circuit arrangement 5 can be, for example, a voltage of the energy storage device 6, a current flow through at least one of the switching elements and/or a temperature of at least one of the switching elements… This advantageously reduces the current intensity of the currents flowing in the paths or switching elements. See Also [0052] … it is possible that the resistances of the switchable sections of the switching elements … are set depending on … a temperature of the switching elements recorded as a measured variable (which depends of the current through the switching element [0049]), in such a way as to the voltage UE of the energy storage device 6, so that a predetermined discharge time, for example until a voltage level of less than 60 V is reached, is achieved).
As such, the gate voltages are set and adjusted based on a measured current and temperature through the switches and turns off the switches based temperature ([0054]). The current through the switches will change based on when the capacitor is done discharging and when the switches are turned off. Therefore the current through the transistors will following a reference trajectory current.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to measure the current in the second transistor switch by measuring the second voltage across the second transistor as it reduces the need to break the circuit to apply a current source.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inverter system of Ruppert to wherein the second servo loop circuit further comprises: a second voltage measurement circuit configured to measure a second voltage across the second transistor, and wherein the second servo loop circuit is configured to set a second control signal for the second transistor based on the measured second voltage and a second reference trajectory voltage such that the second voltage across the second transistor follows the reference trajectory voltage so that the discharge process of the energy storage device can take place in a controlled and safe manner ([0021]).
Conclusion and Related Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Curuvija et al (US 11046189) is cited for having a controller also opens the pair to electrically disconnect the battery and inverter, and closes a switch configured to complete a circuit such that charge acquired by a capacitor of the inverter is dissipated via the pre-charge resistor.
Sakai et al (US 20220385206) is cited for having discharges based on the capacitor voltage.
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859