Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed system has no structural recitation and therefore amounts to software per se.
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of a mental concept without significantly more. The claims recite the abstract idea of reviewing and reformulating a question based upon domain knowledge before submitting the question to someone else. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional element of a user interface, general purpose AI, training, domain-specific AI and communication between AI models merely links the abstract idea to the technical field of machine learning. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements such as a user interface and music playlist amount to insignificant extra solution activity. MPEP 2016.05(g).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In claims 1, 8 and 15, Applicant claims “predicting next characters”. This is not described, but it’s also not how these models usually work. Usually, a next token is predicted. Delete this element from the claims.
This is same rejection applies to “limited purpose framework”. This is not a term of art and it’s not defined in the specification.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 1, 8 and 14, Applicant claims “limited purpose framework”. This is not a term of art and it’s not defined in the specification.
Claims 7, 14 and 20 recite, “general-purpose AI includes a propensity to respond to command sets that refer to the predetermined domain of subject matter with a predetermined class of output and revision of command set prompts by the domain-specific AI is configured to correct the propensity.” Propensity is indefinite. Likewise “configured to correct the propensity” is indefinite. “predetermined class of output” is not defined in the specification either.
Claim 20 recites, “the general-purpose AI includes a propensity to respond to command sets that requesting musical playlists with repeat songs within the output and revision of command set by the domain-specific AI is configured to replace repeats.” This is unclear, maybe a typo.
Claim 15 recites, “revision of the command set to includes incorporating additional parameters…” The “includes” seems like a typo.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6-9, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Language Models are Few-Shot Learners by Brown et al and Optimizing Prompts for Text-to-Image Generation by Hao et al.
Claims 3-5, 10-12 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Language Models are Few-Shot Learners by Brown et al, Optimizing Prompts for Text-to-Image Generation by Hao et al and US20110040707A1 to Theisen et al.
Brown teaches claims 1 and 8. A system for revision of generative artificial intelligence (AI) model operators using domain specific command set modification connected to independent AI models, comprising:
a user interface that is communicatively connected to a general-purpose AI, the user interface including a command set prompt, wherein the general-purpose AI includes a training regimen that causes the general-purpose AI to respond to command sets by predicting next characters that conform to a command set; and (Brown abs “GPT-3 is applied without any gradient updates or fine-tuning, with tasks and few-shot demonstrations specified purely via text interaction with the model.” GPT-3 was trained on next character prediction that conforms to a command set. The claim to “predicting next characters” is not described in the specification and usually a next token is predicted. Examiner interprets “next characters” to mean any number of characters, but usually more than one character representing a chunk of a work. GPT3 teaches this.)
Brown doesn’t teach a domain specific AI.
However, Hao teaches a domain-specific AI that receives data entered into the command set prompt and an output of the general-purpose AI, wherein the domain-specific AI includes a training regimen that causes the domain-specific AI to generate output within a limited purpose framework, the limited purpose framework including revision of the command set based on a predetermined domain of subject matter, (Hao fig. 1 below, “Figure 1: Overview of PROMPTIST training: (1) supervised fine-tuning (SFT) on manually engineered prompts; (2) reinforcement learning (RL) to increase the rewards of generated images after prompt optimization.”)
wherein the user interface is configured to transmit data from the command set prompt to the domain-specific AI and the domain-specific AI is configured to generate revised command set data that is executed on by the general-purpose AI. (Hao teaches this as an optimized prompt in fig. 1.)
Hao, Brown and the claims are all using AI to process prompts. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to optimize prompts for the domain because “the performant prompts are often model-specific and misaligned with user input. Instead of laborious human engineering, we propose prompt adaptation, a general framework that automatically adapts original user input to model-preferred prompts.” Hao abs.
Hao teaches claims 2 and 9. The system of claim 1, wherein the domain-specific AI is further configured to revise output of the general-purpose AI within the predetermined domain of subject matter. (Hao fig. 1 “results show that the optimized prompts outperform human-engineered ones and the original inputs. Human preference ratings also show consistent improvements across in-domain and out-of-domain prompts. Moreover, we find that reinforcement learning is more favorable than supervised fine-tuning, especially on out-of-domain user inputs. Overall, we show that language models can serve as a prompt interface that optimizes user input into model-preferred prompts.”)
Hao teaches claims 3 and 10. The system of claim 2… the domain-specific AI revise the command set to include additional parameters within the command set. (Hao fig. 1 optimized prompt)
Hao doesn’t teach a playlist generator.
However, Theisen teaches wherein the predetermined domain of subject matter is music playlists, the system further comprising: (Theisen abs “intelligent music selection in a vehicle…”)
a media player communicatively connected to the user interface and configured to return a plurality of audio files found on a text-music playlist and execute on those audio files; and (Theisen fig. 2 para 16 “The system comprises a music artificial intelligence module for selecting music and a context aware music player (CAMP) configured to play the selected music.” Theisen para 17 “the context aware music player may be further configured to play music in accordance with user commands.”)
wherein the command set requests generation of a musical playlist (Theisen para 17 “the context aware music player may be further configured to play music in accordance with user commands.”)
Hao, Theisen and the claims all take user prompts. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to apply Hao to playlist prompts because “[l]istening to music on the radio while driving is common practice for drivers in the United States; however, this can become a safety concern when a driver's attention is diverted from the road to the radio controls.” Theisen para 5.
Hao teaches claims 4 and 11. The system of claim 1, wherein the training regimen of the domain-specific AI further includes user-specific data (Hao fig. 1 user prompts)
Hao doesn’t teach a play history of a user.
However, Theisen teaches user-specific data of a first user. (Theisen para 12 “The system identifies the features the user likes and refines its choices based on the history of responses from the user.”)
Hao, Theisen and the claims all take user prompts. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to apply Hao to playlist prompts because “[l]istening to music on the radio while driving is common practice for drivers in the United States; however, this can become a safety concern when a driver's attention is diverted from the road to the radio controls.” Theisen para 5.
Theisen teaches claims 5 and 12. The system of claim 4, wherein the user-specific data includes a play history of music associated with the first user. (Theisen para 12 “The system identifies the features the user likes and refines its choices based on the history of responses from the user.”)
Hao teaches claims 6 and 13. The system of claim 1, wherein the training regimen of the domain-specific AI further includes a user-informed feedback loop. (Hao sec. 1 “The aesthetic score indicates what degree the generated images are aesthetically pleasing.” The aesthetic score is the user-informed feedback. Hao sec. 2.2 “we employ the aesthetic predictor3 to quantify aesthetic preferences. The predictor builds a linear estimator on top of a frozen CLIP model, which is trained by human ratings in the Aesthetic Visual Analysis [MMP12] dataset.”)
Hao teaches claims 7 and 14. The system of claim 1, wherein the general-purpose AI includes a propensity to respond to command sets that refer to the predetermined domain of subject matter with a predetermined class of output and revision of command set prompts by the domain-specific AI is configured to correct the propensity. (Examiner interprets this to mean that the domain-specific AI optimized prompt is better in some way than the original prompt. Hao fig. 2, below, teaches this, “Figure 2: Reward comparison of optimized prompts with other baselines on in-domain and out-of domain data, which indicates that the text-to-image model benefits a lot from our method.”
Brown teaches claim 15. A method for revision of generative artificial intelligence (AI) model operators using domain specific command set modification connected to independent AI models, comprising:
receiving, by a user interface that is communicatively connected to a general-purpose AI, a command set that requests generation of a musical playlist, wherein the general-purpose AI includes a training regimen that causes the general-purpose AI to respond to command sets by predicting next characters that conform to the command set; (Brown abs “GPT-3 is applied without any gradient updates or fine-tuning, with tasks and few-shot demonstrations specified purely via text interaction with the model.” GPT-3 was trained on next character prediction that conforms to a command set. The claim to “predicting next characters” is not described in the specification and usually a next token is predicted. Examiner interprets “next characters” to mean any number of characters, but usually more than one character representing a chunk of a work. GPT3 teaches this.)
Brown doesn’t teach a domain specific AI.
However, Hao teaches providing, the command set to a domain-specific AI, wherein the domain-specific AI includes a training regimen that causes the domain-specific AI to generate output within a limited purpose framework, the limited purpose framework including revision of command sets based on a predetermined domain of subject matter (Hao fig. 1 below, “Figure 1: Overview of PROMPTIST training: (1) supervised fine-tuning (SFT) on manually engineered prompts; (2) reinforcement learning (RL) to increase the rewards of generated images after prompt optimization.”)
revising, by the domain-specific AI, the command set based on the predetermined domain of subject matter wherein revision of the command set to includes incorporating additional parameters within the command set; and (Hao teaches this as an optimized prompt in fig. 1.)
providing the revised command set to the general-purpose AI for execution. (Hao fig. 1 shows giving the optimized prompt to a image generator AI, above.)
Hao, Brown and the claims are all using AI to process prompts. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to optimize prompts for the domain because “the performant prompts are often model-specific and misaligned with user input. Instead of laborious human engineering, we propose prompt adaptation, a general framework that automatically adapts original user input to model-preferred prompts.” Hao abs.
Hao doesn’t teach a playlist generator.
However, Theisen teaches connected to musical playlist requests; (Theisen para 17 “the context aware music player may be further configured to play music in accordance with user commands.”)
Hao, Theisen and the claims all take user prompts. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to apply Hao to playlist prompts because “[l]istening to music on the radio while driving is common practice for drivers in the United States; however, this can become a safety concern when a driver's attention is diverted from the road to the radio controls.” Theisen para 5.
Hao teaches claim 16. The method of claim 15, further comprising: receiving, by the domain-specific AI, output of the general-purpose AI; and
revising, by the domain-specific AI, the output within the predetermined domain of subject matter. (Hao fig. 1 “results show that the optimized prompts outperform human-engineered ones and the original inputs. Human preference ratings also show consistent improvements across in-domain and out-of-domain prompts. Moreover, we find that reinforcement learning is more favorable than supervised fine-tuning, especially on out-of-domain user inputs. Overall, we show that language models can serve as a prompt interface that optimizes user input into model-preferred prompts.” The output from the prompts are rewards in fig. 1.)
Theisen teaches claim 17. The method of claim 15, further comprising:
requesting, from a media player, a plurality of audio files corresponding to songs included on a text-music playlist output by either of the general-purpose AI or the domain-specific AI; and (Theisen fig. 8 and para 150 “block 166 depicts selecting music based on the predicted next music selection.”)
executing, by the media player, the plurality of audio files found on a text-music playlist. (Theisen fig. 8 play the music 168.)
Hao teaches claim 18. The method of claim 15, wherein the training regimen of the domain-specific AI (Hao fig. 1 “results show that the optimized prompts outperform human-engineered ones and the original inputs. Human preference ratings also show consistent improvements across in-domain and out-of-domain prompts. Moreover, we find that reinforcement learning is more favorable than supervised fine-tuning…”)
Hao doesn’t teach music.
However, Theisen teaches the data further includes user specific data of a first user including a play history of music associated with the first user. (Theisen para 12 “The system identifies the features the user likes and refines its choices based on the history of responses from the user.”)
Hao teaches claim 19. The method of claim 15, further comprising:
training the domain-specific AI via a user-informed feedback loop. (Hao sec. 1 “The aesthetic score indicates what degree the generated images are aesthetically pleasing.” The aesthetic score is the user-informed feedback. Hao sec. 2.2 “we employ the aesthetic predictor3 to quantify aesthetic preferences. The predictor builds a linear estimator on top of a frozen CLIP model, which is trained by human ratings in the Aesthetic Visual Analysis [MMP12] dataset.”)
Theisen teaches claim 20. The method of claim 15, wherein the general-purpose AI includes a propensity to respond to command sets that requesting musical playlists with repeat songs within the output and revision of command set by the domain-specific AI is configured to replace repeats. (Examiner interprets this to mean getting rid of repeats somehow. Theisen para 52 “For instance they can say “Next” neutrally indicating they might like the song but just do not want to listen to it right now, or they could say “Next” angrily indicating they do not like the song and don't want to hear it again. This can aid in building up the user's preferences quickly.”)
Conclusion
/AUSTIN HICKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2142