DETAILED ACTION
1. Formal Matters
A. Applicant’s election of Group II, drawn to the species of CD20, in the reply filed on 10/7/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Therefore, this restriction is deemed proper and is made FINAL. However, upon further consideration, all species have been examined.
B. Claims 1-3, 5, 8, 10, 11, 14, 17-19, 21, 23-25, 29, 32-37, 48, 53-55 and 67-69 are pending. Claims 1-3, 5, 8, 10, 11, 14, 17-19, 21, 23-25, 29, 53-55 and 67 are withdrawn as being drawn to a non-elected invention. Claims 32-37, 48, 68 and 69 are the subject of this Office Action.
2. Specification
The use of at least the terms BiacoreTM (paragraphs [0302], [0303]) and Alexa (believed to be Alexa Fluor®; page 105, line 5), which are trade names or marks used in commerce, have been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the terms should be capitalized wherever they appear or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the terms.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks. The Examiner performed a cursory review, but Applicants are urged to perform a more thorough review of the specification.
3. Claim Objections
A. Claims 32-37, 48, 68 and 69 are objected to since they depend from withdrawn claims 2, 8 and 14.
B. Though not incorrect, it is suggested that Claim33(B) be amended to “or to a fragment thereof” to make clear that the “fragment thereof” is not referring to the multi-specific antigen-binding molecule or to the CD3 binding domain.
C. Claim 34 is objected to since, in part (A), “antigen binding” should be hyphenated.
D. Claims 35 and 37 are objected to since, in parts (A) and (B) (claim 35), “antigen binding” should be hyphenated.
4. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) – written description
Claims 32-37, 48, 68 and 69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as containing subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
These are genus claims. Other than an “antigen-binding molecule”, the specification and claims do not indicate what distinguishing attributes are shared by the members of the genus. Thus, the scope of the claims includes numerous structural variants, and the genus is highly variant because a significant number of structural differences between/among genus members is permitted. The specification and claims do not provide any guidance as to what changes should be made. Structural features that could distinguish compounds in the genus from others in the small molecule, nucleic acid or protein class are missing from the disclosure. No common structural attributes identify the members of the genus.
The general knowledge and level of skill in the art do not supplement the omitted description because specific, not general, guidance is what is needed. Since the disclosure fails to describe the common attributes or characteristics that identify members of the genus, and because the genus is highly variant, the CD20xCD3 antibody, alone (Table 17 – page 99 of the specification)), or, based on Applicants’ arguments, at most “antibodies” is insufficient to describe the genus. One of skill in the art would reasonably conclude that the disclosure fails to provide a representative number of species to describe the genus. Thus, Applicant was not in possession of the claimed genus at the time the invention was made.
5. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A. Claims 32-35, 48 and 68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. in view of Basar et al. The claims are essentially drawn to a method of treating cancer by administering (1) an NK cell comprising a CAR and (2) a multi-specific antigen-binding molecule that binds to the CAR.
Choi teaches a CAR-expressing T cell (against EGFR) and a BiTE which targets EGFR in order to redirect the CAR-transduced T cells to a target cell (Abstract; Figure 1B; page 1053 under “Simultaneous redirection through CARs and BiTEs results in favorable T-cell differentiation and phenotype”). Therefore, it was well-known in the prior art at the time of the instant invention that CAR T cells and BiTEs work in conjunction for more efficacious targeting of T cells to cancer cell surface antigens. These BiTEs also comprise a CD3-binding domain as recited in claims 33 and 35 (Figure 2A, C and D) and also bind to CD19 as recited in claims 48 and 68. It is noted that the targeting of any well-known tumor surface antigen (e.g. CD20) would have been obvious.
Choi does not teach NK cells. However, Basar teaches (Abstract) –
Despite this progress, there are limitations to CAR-T cell therapy in both the autologous and allogeneic settings, including practical, logistical, and toxicity issues. Given these concerns, there isarapidly growinginterest innaturalkiller cells as alternative vehicles for CAR engineering, given their unique biological features and their established safety profile in the allogeneic setting.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have used NK cells instead of T cell for CAR-based therapy.
B. Claims 36, 37 and 69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. in view of Basar et al. further in view of Rataj et al.
The teachings of Choi and Basar are seen in paragraph A of this Section. Neither teaches an antigen-binding molecule that comprises an Fc domain to which a CAR ECD binds. However, Rataj teaches (Background) –
CD16-chimeric antigen receptors (CAR) T cells recognise the Fc-portion of therapeutic antibodies, which can enable the selective targeting of different antigens…We have hypothesised that the use of high-affinity CD16 variants, with increased Fc-terminus antibody affinity, combined with Fc-engineered antibodies, would provide superior CD16-CAR T cell efficacy.
Given this, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have produced a CAR with an extracellular domain which targets an Fc domain.
6. Prior Art Not Relied Upon
Yin, which does not provide more than the above-cited references, teaches the association of CAR T cells and BiTEs and states (second paragraph of the Introduction; emphasis added below) –
BiTEs combine antigen specificity with the ability to induce cytotoxicity via bystander T cells by linking two single chain variable fragments (scFvs), one recognizing a tumor antigen and the other recognizing the CD3 molecule on T cells
7. Conclusion
No claim is allowable.
Advisory information
/ROBERT S LANDSMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1647