DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 16-17 and 22-39 are pending upon entry of amendment filed on 2/16/24.
Claims 16, 17 and 22-39 are under consideration in the instant application.
3. Applicant’s IDS filed on 5/1/24 (two entries) and 6/2/26 have been acknowledged.
Copies of non-patent literatures are found in U.S.S.N. 16/715,580. The supplemental IDS filed on 5/1/24 has been considered and treated as PTO-1449.
4. The oath filed on 2/16/24 has been acknowledged.
5. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
8. Claim(s) 16-17 and 22-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. 2016/0340420 (IDS reference).
The ‘420 publication teaches treatment of ocular disease mediated by VEGF antibody in aqueous pharmaceutical compositions for VEGF antibody at least 50mg/ml, about 6.75% sucrose, 0.01% sodium citrate, 0.05% polysorbate at pH about 6.8-7.3 (claims 1, 19-24) including delivery device for the antibody composition. The prior art SEQ ID NO:1-4 are identical to the claimed SEQ ID NO:1-4. The ocular disease includes neovascular diseases and the particulate matters of greater than 10microns are not increased after 3 days of shaking stress (Table 10)/
The ’420 publication further teaches treatment dosage of 3mg or 6 mg antibody for ocular administration ([0052]), 10mM citrate buffer, sucrose concentrations of 5.8% and 6.5% and the polysorbate ranges from 0.001-0.01% in Tables 7-11 at various pH including 7.2, claims 32-36 are included in this rejection. Therefore, the reference teachings anticipate the claimed invention.
10. Claims 16 and 36-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. 2016/0340420 (IDS reference) in view of WO2009/155724.
The teachings of the ‘420 publication have been discussed, supra.
The disclosure of the ‘420 publication differs from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach treatment of ocular disorders set forth in 36-39 of the instant application.
The ‘724 publication teaches the use of VEGF antibody in treatment of nAMD, DME or PDR (note claim 59, p.43-38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to expand VEGF antibody in treatment of AMD, DME or PDR as taught by the ‘724 publication in treatment of vascular/ocular disorder treatment taught by the ‘420 publication.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of known stable VEGF antibody formulation adds stability in VEGF antibody and expand therapeutic applicability to other species of VEGF antibody treatable ocular disorders.
From the teachings of references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to combine the teachings of the references and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary in the art at the time of invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
12. Claims 16-17 and 22-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13-18 of U.S. Pat. 10,689,438.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘438 patent recite treatment of vascular disorder comprising a pharmaceutical composition comprising VEGF antibody set forth in SEQ ID NO:1-4 at 60-120mg/ml, citric acid 0.01%, 5-10% of sucrose and 0.001-0.1% polysorbate 80 at pH about 6.8.
13. Claims 16 and 36-39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13-18 of U.S. Pat. 10,689,438 in view of WO2009/155724.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘438 patent recite treatment of vascular disorder comprising a pharmaceutical composition comprising VEGF antibody set forth in SEQ ID NO:1-4 at 60-120mg/ml, citric acid 0.01%, 5-10% of sucrose and 0.001-0.1% polysorbate 80 at pH about 6.8.
The claims of the ‘438 patent differ from the instant claimed invention in that it does not recite treatment of ocular disorders set forth in 36-39 of the instant application.
The ‘724 publication teaches the use of VEGF antibody in treatment of nAMD, DME or PDR (note claim 59, p.43-38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to expand VEGF antibody in treatment of AMD, DME or PDR as taught by the ‘724 publication in treatment of vascular/ocular disorder treatment taught by the ‘438 patent.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of known stable VEGF antibody formulation adds stability in VEGF antibody and expand therapeutic applicability to other species of VEGF antibody treatable ocular disorders.
14. No claims are allowable.
Yunsoo Kim
Patent Examiner
Technology Center 1600
September 3, 2026
/YUNSOO KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641