DETAILED ACTION
Claims status
In response to the application filed on 05/06/2026, claims 1-20 are currently pending for the examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 11-13, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kung et al. (US 2023/0362853 A1) in view of Hwang et al. (US 2021/0083730 A1).
Regarding claim 1; Kung teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
at least one memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on stored information that is stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to:
receive a configuration for synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) associated with a secondary cell (SCell) (See Fig. 15: At step 1002, the UE for receiving, from a first cell, a first signaling (i.e., first configuration) indicative of Cell configuration of a second cell, wherein Cell configuration indicates a mapping between time alignment information (i.e., SSB) and TRP(s) of the second cell. ¶ [0522]) for a transition period associated with a transition from a deactivated state of the SCell to an activated state of the SCell for the UE (See Fig. 15: if the SCell is configured with sCellState set to be activated upon SCell configuration (i.e., transition from deactivated state to an active state)…> activate the SCell according to the timing (i.e., transition period) defined in TS 38.213 [6] for MAC CE activation and according to the timing. ¶ [0316]), wherein the configuration is different from an additional configuration for SSBs associated with the activated state of the SCell (See Fig. 15: wherein the second signaling (i.e., second configuration) comprises at least one of a PDCCH signaling or a MAC CE (step 1004), switching the SpCell of the UE to the second cell or adding the second cell as a serving cell (step 1006), ¶ [0522]);
receive an indication that indicates a transmission switching the SCell as a serving cell (See Fig. 15: receiving a second signaling indicative of switching a SpCell of the UE to the second cell or adding the second cell as a serving cell, wherein the second signaling comprises at least one of a PDCCH signaling or a MAC CE (step 1004), ¶ [0522]) based on the configuration associated with the transition period (See Fig. 15: if the SCell is configured with sCellState set to activated upon SCell configuration (i.e., transition from deactivated state to an active state)…> activate the SCell according to the timing (i.e., transition period) defined in TS 38.213 [6] for MAC CE activation and according to the timing. ¶ [0316]).
Even though, Kung teaches receiving an indication for indicating the transmission of switching a SpCell of the UE to the second cell or adding the second cell as a serving cell, during the transmission period, based on the configuration and the indication (Kung: ¶ [0316] and ¶ [0522]), Kung doesn’t explicitly describe receiving the first set of SSBs and measuring the first set of SSBs.
However, Hwang discloses receiving the first set of SSBs (See Fig. 2: a UE detects a neighbor cell based on Synchronization Signal (SS) which is transmitted from the neighbor cell. The SS may include a Primary Synchronization Signal (PSS) and a Secondary Synchronization Signal (SSS). ¶ [0051]), and measuring the first set of SSBs (Hwang: See Fig. 2, The UE may perform RRM measurement (SSB based RRM measurement) based on an SSB transmitted by the serving cell and an SSB transmitted by the neighbor cell. In addition, the UE may perform RRM measurement (CSI-RS based RRM measurement) based on a CSI-RS transmitted by the serving cell and a CSI-RS transmitted by the neighbor cell. ¶ [0142] and Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide receiving the first set of SSBs and measuring the first set of SSBs as taught by Hwang to have incorporated in the system of Kung, so that it would provide a method by which a UE effectively receives downlink data or effectively transmits uplink data in a period in which the UE performs SSB based measurement is required. Hwang: ¶ [0148].
Regarding claim 3; Kung teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the indication further indicates an additional transmission of at least one additional set of SSBs from at least one additional SCell (Kung: RRC signalling triggered Reconfiguration with Synch for change of PCell and PSCell, as well as release add for SCells when applicable. ¶ [0051]).
Regarding claim 4; Kung teaches the apparatus wherein to receive the indication, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to receive the indication via one or more of a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (MAC-CE) (Kung: 1> if an SCell is configured with sCellState set to activated upon SCell configuration, or an SCell Activation/Deactivation MAC CE is received activating the SCell. ¶ [0316]).
Regarding claim 5; Kung teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the indication is a first indication, wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: receive a second indication activating the SCell for the UE (Kung: 4> activate the SCell according to the timing defined in TS 38.213 [6] for MAC CE activation and according to the timing defined in TS 38.133 [11] for direct SCell activation. ¶ [0316]).
Regarding claim 6; Kung teaches the apparatus wherein to receive the first indication and the second indication, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to receive the first indication and the second indication in a same medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (MAC-CE) or a same physical download shared channel (PDSCH) transmission (Kung: 5.18.4 Activation/Deactivation of UE-Specific PDSCH TCI State…The network may activate and deactivate the configured TCI states for PDSCH of a Serving Cell or a set of Serving Cells configured in simultaneousTCI-UpdateList1 or simultaneousTCI-UpdateList2 by sending the TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC CE described in clause 6.1.3.14. ¶ [0360]).
Regarding claim 7; Kung teaches the apparatus wherein to receive the first indication and the second indication, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to receive the first indication is received in a different medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (MAC-CE) or a different physical download shared channel (PDSCH) transmission than the second indication (Kung: The MAC entity shall: 1> if the MAC entity receives a TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC CE on a Serving Cell:
2> indicate to lower layers the information regarding the TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC CE. ¶ [0361]).
Regarding claim 11; Kung teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: transmit a capability indication indicating support for the indication of the transmission of the first set of SSBs from the SCell based on the configuration associated with the transition period (Kung: If the MAC entity is configured with one or more SCells, the network may activate and deactivate the configured SCells. Upon configuration of an SCell, the SCell is deactivated unless the parameter sCellState is set to activated for the SCell by upper layers. The configured SCell(s) is activated and deactivated by: receiving the SCell Activation/Deactivation MAC CE described in clause 6.1.3.10…¶ [0310-0312]).
Regarding claim 12; Kung in view of Hwang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first set of SSBs comprises a plurality of SSB bursts and the configuration indicates at least one of: a number of SSB bursts associated with the plurality of SSB bursts (Hwang: multiple SS blocks in an SS burst set are transmitted to support UEs existing in different directions. In FIG. 7, the SS burst set includes one to six SS blocks, and each SS burst includes two SS block. ¶ [0129]).
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “at least one of…or”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 13; Kung teaches the apparatus wherein to receive the indication, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to receive the indication from one of a primary cell (PCell), a primary SCell (PSCell), or an additional SCell (See Fig. 15: UE receiving, from a first cell, a first signaling indicative of Cell configuration of a second cell, receiving, from the first cell, a second signaling indicative of switching a SpCell of the UE to the second cell or adding the second cell as a serving cell, switching the SpCell of the UE to the second cell or adding the second cell as a serving cell, and applying a first time alignment information on a first TRP of the second cell based on the mapping in the first signaling, in accordance with embodiments of the present invention. ¶ [0024]).
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “at least one of”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 15; Kung teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network device, comprising:
at least one memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on stored information that is stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to:
transmit a configuration for synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) associated with a secondary cell (SCell) (See Fig. 15: At step 1002, the UE for receiving, from a first cell, a first signaling (i.e., first configuration) indicative of Cell configuration of a second cell, wherein Cell configuration indicates a mapping between time alignment information (i.e., SSB) and TRP(s) of the second cell. ¶ [0522]) for a transition period associated with a transition from a deactivated state of the SCell to an activated state of the SCell for a UE (See Fig. 15: if the SCell is configured with sCellState set to be activated upon SCell configuration (i.e., transition from deactivated state to an active state)…> activate the SCell according to the timing (i.e., transition period) defined in TS 38.213 [6] for MAC CE activation and according to the timing. ¶ [0316]), wherein the configuration is different from an additional configuration for SSBs associated with the activated state of the SCell (See Fig. 15: wherein the second signaling (i.e., second configuration) comprises at least one of a PDCCH signaling or a MAC CE (step 1004), switching the SpCell of the UE to the second cell or adding the second cell as a serving cell (step 1006), ¶ [0522]);
output an indication that indicates a transmission switching the SCell as a serving cell (See Fig. 15: receiving a second signaling indicative of switching a SpCell of the UE to the second cell or adding the second cell as a serving cell, wherein the second signaling comprises at least one of a PDCCH signaling or a MAC CE (step 1004), ¶ [0522]) based on the configuration associated with the transition period (See Fig. 15: if the SCell is configured with sCellState set to activated upon SCell configuration (i.e., transition from deactivated state to an active state)…> activate the SCell according to the timing (i.e., transition period) defined in TS 38.213 [6] for MAC CE activation and according to the timing. ¶ [0316]).
Even though, Kung teaches receiving an indication for indicating the transmission of switching a SpCell of the UE to the second cell or adding the second cell as a serving cell, during the transmission period, based on the configuration and the indication (Kung: ¶ [0316] and ¶ [0522]), Kung doesn’t explicitly describe outputting the first set of SSBs and measuring the first set of SSBs.
However, Hwang discloses receiving the first set of SSBs (See Fig. 2: a UE detects a neighbor cell based on Synchronization Signal (SS) which is transmitted from the neighbor cell. The SS may include a Primary Synchronization Signal (PSS) and a Secondary Synchronization Signal (SSS). ¶ [0051]), and measuring the first set of SSBs (Hwang: See Fig. 2, The UE may perform RRM measurement (SSB based RRM measurement) based on an SSB transmitted by the serving cell and an SSB transmitted by the neighbor cell. In addition, the UE may perform RRM measurement (CSI-RS based RRM measurement) based on a CSI-RS transmitted by the serving cell and a CSI-RS transmitted by the neighbor cell. ¶ [0142] and Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide receiving the first set of SSBs and measuring the first set of SSBs as taught by Hwang to have incorporated in the system of Kung, so that it would provide a method by which a UE effectively receives downlink data or effectively transmits uplink data in a period in which the UE performs SSB based measurement is required. Hwang: ¶ [0148].
Regarding claim 17; Kung teaches the apparatus wherein the indication further indicates an additional transmission of at least one additional set of SSBs from at least one additional SCell (Kung: RRC signalling triggered Reconfiguration with Synch for change of PCell and PSCell, as well as release add for SCells when applicable. ¶ [0051]).
Regarding claim 18; Kung teaches the apparatus wherein to output the indication, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to receive the indication via one or more of a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (MAC-CE) (Kung: 1> if an SCell is configured with sCellState set to activated upon SCell configuration, or an SCell Activation/Deactivation MAC CE is received activating the SCell. ¶ [0316]).
Regarding claim 20; Kung teaches a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving a configuration for synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) associated with a secondary cell (SCell) (See Fig. 15: At step 1002, the UE for receiving, from a first cell, a first signaling (i.e., first configuration) indicative of Cell configuration of a second cell, wherein Cell configuration indicates a mapping between time alignment information (i.e., SSB) and TRP(s) of the second cell. ¶ [0522]) for a transition period associated with a transition from a deactivated state of the SCell to an activated state of the SCell for the UE (See Fig. 15: if the SCell is configured with sCellState set to be activated upon SCell configuration (i.e., transition from deactivated state to an active state)…> activate the SCell according to the timing (i.e., transition period) defined in TS 38.213 [6] for MAC CE activation and according to the timing. ¶ [0316]), wherein the configuration is different from an additional configuration for SSBs associated with the activated state of the SCell (See Fig. 15: wherein the second signaling (i.e., second configuration) comprises at least one of a PDCCH signaling or a MAC CE (step 1004), switching the SpCell of the UE to the second cell or adding the second cell as a serving cell (step 1006), ¶ [0522]);
receiving an indication that indicates a transmission switching the SCell as a serving cell (See Fig. 15: receiving a second signaling indicative of switching a SpCell of the UE to the second cell or adding the second cell as a serving cell, wherein the second signaling comprises at least one of a PDCCH signaling or a MAC CE (step 1004), ¶ [0522]) based on the configuration associated with the transition period (See Fig. 15: if the SCell is configured with sCellState set to activated upon SCell configuration (i.e., transition from deactivated state to an active state)…> activate the SCell according to the timing (i.e., transition period) defined in TS 38.213 [6] for MAC CE activation and according to the timing. ¶ [0316]).
Even though, Kung teaches receiving an indication for indicating the transmission of switching a SpCell of the UE to the second cell or adding the second cell as a serving cell, during the transmission period, based on the configuration and the indication (Kung: ¶ [0316] and ¶ [0522]), Kung doesn’t explicitly describe receiving the first set of SSBs and measuring the first set of SSBs.
However, Hwang discloses receiving the first set of SSBs (See Fig. 2: a UE detects a neighbor cell based on Synchronization Signal (SS) which is transmitted from the neighbor cell. The SS may include a Primary Synchronization Signal (PSS) and a Secondary Synchronization Signal (SSS). ¶ [0051]), and measuring the first set of SSBs (Hwang: See Fig. 2, The UE may perform RRM measurement (SSB based RRM measurement) based on an SSB transmitted by the serving cell and an SSB transmitted by the neighbor cell. In addition, the UE may perform RRM measurement (CSI-RS based RRM measurement) based on a CSI-RS transmitted by the serving cell and a CSI-RS transmitted by the neighbor cell. ¶ [0142] and Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide receiving the first set of SSBs and measuring the first set of SSBs as taught by Hwang to have incorporated in the system of Kung, so that it would provide a method by which a UE effectively receives downlink data or effectively transmits uplink data in a period in which the UE performs SSB based measurement is required. Hwang: ¶ [0148].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 8-10, 14, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon the rejected base claims but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Arguments:
Applicant argues that the cited references fail to teach "wherein the configuration is different from an additional configuration for SSBs associated with the activated state of the SCell." Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner’s response:
Examiner respectfully disagrees. At the outset, Applicant does not define the scope of the claimed term "different" with respect to the recited configuration and the additional configuration. The claims merely require that the configuration be "different" from the additional configuration, without specifying the manner or degree in which the two configurations must differ (e.g., different SSB resources, periodicities, measurement occasions, transmission parameters, or other configuration parameters). Accordingly, under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) consistent with the claim language, the term "different" broadly encompasses any distinction between the configuration used during the transition period and the configuration used after the SCell has entered the activated state. The claims do not require any particular type or magnitude of difference.
As set forth in the rejection, Kung et al. (US 2023/0362853 A1) teaches receiving a configuration for synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) associated with a secondary cell (SCell) for a transition period from a deactivated state to an activated state of the SCell (see Fig. 15; ¶¶ [0316], [0522]). Specifically, Kung discloses that the UE receives first signaling indicative of a cell configuration for the second cell, wherein the cell configuration indicates a mapping between time alignment information and transmission reception points (TRPs), and subsequently receives second signaling for switching the SCell to a serving cell or adding the SCell as a serving cell.
Kung further teaches that the SCell is activated according to the activation timing defined in TS 38.213 following receipt of the activation signaling (¶ [0316]). Thus, Kung distinguishes between the configuration applicable during the transition period and the configuration applicable after the SCell enters the activated state. One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the transition-period configuration is temporary and facilitates SCell activation, whereas the activated-state configuration governs subsequent normal operation after activation. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, these constitute different configurations as recited.
While Kung teaches separate configurations associated with the transition period and the activated state, Kung does not explicitly disclose receiving and measuring a first set of SSBs according to the transition-period configuration.
However, Hwang et al. (US 2021/0083730 A1) teaches receiving synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) and performing SSB-based radio resource management (RRM) measurements. Specifically, Hwang discloses that a UE detects synchronization signals transmitted by neighboring cells (¶ [0051]) and performs SSB-based RRM measurements using SSBs transmitted by both serving and neighboring cells (¶ [0142]; Abstract).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Hwang's teachings of receiving and measuring SSBs into Kung's transition-period SCell activation procedure so that the UE can perform SSB measurements using the transition-period configuration before applying the activated-state configuration. Doing so would improve the UE's ability to effectively receive downlink data and transmit uplink data during SSB-based measurements, as expressly taught by Hwang (¶ [0148]).
Therefore, the combination of Kung and Hwang teaches or at least renders obvious a configuration for SSBs associated with the transition period that is different from an additional configuration for SSBs associated with the activated state of the SCell, as broadly but reasonably interpreted. Accordingly, Applicant's argument is not persuasive, and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAI AUNG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416