DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 12/26/2025 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-13 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chien (US 20160072804 A1).
Consider claim 1, Chien discloses a first device for sharing device capabilities (read as first device 102 for sharing resources/capabilities, figure 1, par [0022] and [0018]-[0019]), the first device comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (read as the first device 102 includes a processor 104 and a memory 106, with memory 106 storing instructions executable by processor 104 to perform operations, figure 1, par [0019]) and configured to:
output, for transmission to one or more second devices, an advertisement message indicating one or more capabilities of the first device available for sharing with the one or more second devices (read as the first device 102 transmitting resource advertisement message 140 to one or more devices, where the resource advertisement message 140 indicates the type of resource 116 and information associated with it, and where resource 116 includes sharable device functions and interfaces, figure 1, par [0022]-[0025]);
receive, from at least one second device of the one or more second devices, a response message requesting at least one capability of the one or more capabilities from the first device (read as based on the received resource advertisement message 140, the second device 120 sends a request (corresponding to a response message) to use the resource 116 and the first device 102receives that request, figures 1 and 2, par [0025]-[0026]); and
establish a connection with the at least one second device for sharing the at least one capability (read as after the first device 102 determines that the second device 120 is authenticated, the first device 102 connecting with the second device 120, at 214, to share the resource 116/capability using ad hoc connection, figures 1 and 2, par [0010], [0034] and [0041]).
Consider claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Chien discloses wherein the one or more capabilities comprise at least one of a computing capability, a connectivity capability, a sensing capability, an energy capability, a distributed computing capability, a power capability, a battery capability, a memory capability, a storage capability, or a hardware capability (rad as sharing resources/capabilities including processing capabilities (read as the resource 116 may include data associated with a camera, a microphone, a satellite interface, a wireless interface, a cellular interface, or a combination thereof; when the resource 116 is associated with an external device, the resource 116 may include data received by the first device 102 from a multimedia capture device, a sensor array, a drone aircraft, or a combination thereof, figures 1 and 2, par [0010], [0022]-[0023] and [0041]).
Consider claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, Chien discloses wherein the advertisement message further indicates an exchange system for sharing the one or more capabilities (read as the resource advertisement message 140 including an offer price for sharing resource 116, and a sharing arrangement implemented through payment, credits, bids and counteroffers; for example, the second device 120 would accept that price or submit a bid price, and the resource 116 is shared in exchange for payment at that offer price, par [0012], [0025] and [0031]).
Consider claim 4, as applied to claim 3 above, Chien discloses wherein the exchange system is one of a pre-grant exchange, a barter exchange, or a charge exchange (read as the message 140 includes an offer price, the second device 120 would accept that price or submit a bid price, and the resource 116 is shared in exchange for payment at that offer price, par [0012] and [0031]).
Consider claim 6, as applied to claim 1 above, Chien discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to form a respective device group association with each second device of the one or more second devices (read as processor 102 of first device 102 carries out sharing operations, including receiving response request 142 from second devices 120 and determining whether the second device 120 is known or authenticated, establishing an ad hoc connection and trust relationship for sharing, then sharing resource 116 with the second device 120, which corresponding to the processor 104 forming a respective device (sharing) group association with each of the second device 120 participating in the sharing operations, par [0010], [0011], [0019] and [0027]-[0028]).
Consider claim 7, as applied to claim 6 above, Chien discloses wherein the device group association is one of a permanent association or an ad hoc association (read as the first device 102 forming the ad hoc connection with other devices such as second device 120 after authentication, par [0010], [0011], [0019] and [0027]-[0028]).
Consider claim 8, as applied to claim 1 above, Chien discloses wherein the connection is established via one or more third devices (read as in one case which the first device 102 and second device 120 do not communicate directly, but instead communicate via arbitration server 420, which the arbitration server 420 forwarding data associated with resource between them, par [0014], [0053], [0056] and [0061]; alternative, fifth device 410 in figure 4 (par [0053]) would be read as the claimed “one or more third devices”).
Consider claim 9, as applied to claim 8 above, Chien discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to form a respective device group association with each third device of the one or more third devices (read as the processor of first device 402 (102 in figure 1) controls the operations of first device 402/102 and brings the first device 402/102 into a sharing relationship with second device 404 (120 in figure 1) by communicating with arbitration server 420, authenticating through arbitration server 420, and using arbitration server 420 for resource sharing operations, which corresponding to the processor being configured to form a respective (sharing) device group association each third device participating in the sharing operations, par [0014], [0053], [0055] and [0061]; alternatively, the processor of first device is forming respective (sharing) device group association with each fifth device 410, par [0053]).
Consider claim 10, Chien discloses a method for sharing device capabilities (read as method of first device 102 for sharing resources/capabilities, figure 1, par [0022] and [0018]-[0019]), the method comprising:
transmitting, by a first device to one or more second devices, an advertisement message indicating one or more capabilities of the first device available for sharing with the one or more second devices (read as the first device 102 transmitting resource advertisement message 140 to one or more devices, where the resource advertisement message 140 indicates the type of resource 116 and information associated with it, and where resource 116 includes sharable device functions and interfaces, figure 1, par [0022]-[0025]);
receiving, by the first device from at least one second device of the one or more second devices, a response message requesting at least one capability of the one or more capabilities from the first device (corresponding to a response message) to use the resource 116 and the first device 102receives that request, figures 1 and 2, par [0025]-[0026]); and
establishing, by the first device, a connection with the at least one second device for sharing the at least one capability (read as after the first device 102 determines that the second device 120 is authenticated, the first device 102 connecting with the second device 120, at 214, to share the resource 116/capability using ad hoc connection, figures 1 and 2, par [0010], [0034] and [0041]).
Consider claim 11, as applied to claim 10 above, Chien discloses wherein the one or more capabilities comprise at least one of a computing capability, a connectivity capability, a sensing capability, an energy capability, a distributed computing capability, a power capability, a battery capability, a memory capability, a storage capability, or a hardware capability (read as the resource 116 may include data associated with a camera, a microphone, a satellite interface, a wireless interface, a cellular interface, or a combination thereof; when the resource 116 is associated with an external device, the resource 116 may include data received by the first device 102 from a multimedia capture device, a sensor array, a drone aircraft, or a combination thereof, figures 1 and 2, par [0010], [0022]-[0023] and [0041]).
Consider claim 12, as applied to claim 10 above, Chien discloses wherein the advertisement message further indicates an exchange system for sharing the one or more capabilities (read as the resource advertisement message 140 including an offer price for sharing resource 116, and a sharing arrangement implemented through payment, credits, bids and counteroffers; for example, the second device 120 would accept that price or submit a bid price, and the resource 116 is shared in exchange for payment at that offer price, par [0012], [0025] and [0031]).
Consider claim 13, as applied to claim 12 above, Chien discloses wherein the exchange system is one of a pre-grant exchange, a barter exchange, or a charge exchange (read as the message 140 includes an offer price, the second device 120 would accept that price or submit a bid price, and the resource 116 is shared in exchange for payment at that offer price, par [0012] and [0031]).
Consider claim 15, as applied to claim 10 above, Chien discloses forming, by the first device, a respective device group association with each second device of the one or more second devices (read as processor 102 of first device 102 carries out sharing operations, including receiving response request 142 from second devices 120 and determining whether the second device 120 is known or authenticated, establishing an ad hoc connection and trust relationship for sharing, then sharing resource 116 with the second device 120, which corresponding to the processor 104 forming a respective device (sharing) group association with each of the second device 120 participating in the sharing operations, par [0010], [0011], [0019] and [0027]-[0028]).
Consider claim 16, as applied to claim 15 above, Chien discloses wherein the device group association is one of a permanent association or an ad hoc association Consider claim 7, as applied to claim 6 above, Chien discloses wherein the device group association is one of a permanent association or an ad hoc association (read as the first device 102 forming the ad hoc connection with other devices such as second device 120 after authentication, par [0010], [0011], [0019] and [0027]-[0028]).
Consider claim 17, as applied to claim 10 above, Chien discloses wherein the connection is established via one or more third devices (read as in one case which the first device 102 and second device 120 do not communicate directly, but instead communicate via arbitration server 420, which the arbitration server 420 forwarding data associated with resource between them, par [0014], [0053], [0056] and [0061]; alternative, fifth device 410 in figure 4 (par [0053]) would be read as the claimed “one or more third devices”).
Consider claim 18, as applied to claim 17 above, Chien discloses forming, by the first device, a respective device group association with each third device of the one or more third devices (read as the processor of first device 402 (102 in figure 1) controls the operations of first device 402/102 and brings the first device 402/102 into a sharing relationship with second device 404 (120 in figure 1) by communicating with arbitration server 420, authenticating through arbitration server 420, and using arbitration server 420 for resource sharing operations, which corresponding to the processor being configured to form a respective (sharing) device group association each third device participating in the sharing operations, par [0014], [0053], [0055] and [0061]; alternatively, the processor of first device is forming respective (sharing) device group association with each fifth device 410, par [0053]).
Consider claim 19, Chien discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium of a first device having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (read as the first device 102 includes a processor 104 and a memory 106, with memory 106 storing instructions executable by processor 104 to perform operations, figure 1, par [0019]), cause the one or more processors to:
output, for transmission to one or more second devices, an advertisement message indicating one or more capabilities of the first device available for sharing with the one or more second devices (read as the first device 102 transmitting resource advertisement message 140 to one or more devices, where the resource advertisement message 140 indicates the type of resource 116 and information associated with it, and where resource 116 includes sharable device functions and interfaces, figure 1, par [0022]-[0025]);
receive, from at least one second device of the one or more second devices, a response message requesting at least one capability of the one or more capabilities from the first device (read as based on the received resource advertisement message 140, the second device 120 sends a request (corresponding to a response message) to use the resource 116 and the first device 102receives that request, figures 1 and 2, par [0025]-[0026]); and
establish a connection with the at least one second device for sharing the at least one capability (read as after the first device 102 determines that the second device 120 is authenticated, the first device 102 connecting with the second device 120, at 214, to share the resource 116/capability using ad hoc connection, figures 1 and 2, par [0010], [0034] and [0041]).
Consider claim 20, as applied to claim 19 above, Chien discloses wherein the one or more capabilities comprise at least one of a computing capability, a connectivity capability, a sensing capability, an energy capability, a distributed computing capability, a power capability, a battery capability, a memory capability, a storage capability, or a hardware capability (read as the resource 116 may include data associated with a camera, a microphone, a satellite interface, a wireless interface, a cellular interface, or a combination thereof; when the resource 116 is associated with an external device, the resource 116 may include data received by the first device 102 from a multimedia capture device, a sensor array, a drone aircraft, or a combination thereof, figures 1 and 2, par [0010], [0022]-[0023] and [0041]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien (US 20160072804 A1) in view of Zacks (US 20230084085 A1).
Consider claim 5, as applied to claim 1 above, Chien discloses the claimed invention above with advertisement message 140 (par [0024]) and a trust relationship maybe established for sharing the resource using of level of trust (par [0011] and [0022]) but does not specifically disclose wherein the advertisement message further indicates a reputation score indicating a level of trustworthiness for the first device.
Nonetheless, Zacks discloses transmitting advertised message as beacon which including trust metric of the transmitting device, wherein trust level is self-advertised to other devices and trust level indicates trustworthiness, par [0017], [0047], [0057]-[0058] and [0066].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Zacks into the teachings of Chien to modify Chien’s resource advertisement message 140 using Zack’s advertised message technique that carries and advertises a trust metric for the transmitting device, in order to improve security and allow the second device 120 to evaluate whether if first device 102 is sufficiently trustworthy before any further communications.
Consider claim 14, as applied to claim 10 above, Chien discloses the claimed invention above with advertisement message 140 (par [0024]) and a trust relationship maybe established for sharing the resource using of level of trust (par [0011] and [0022]) but does not specifically disclose wherein the advertisement message further indicates a reputation score indicating a level of trustworthiness for the first device.
Nonetheless, Zacks discloses transmitting advertised message as beacon which including trust metric of the transmitting device, wherein trust level is self-advertised to other devices and trust level indicates trustworthiness, par [0017], [0047], [0057]-[0058] and [0066].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Zacks into the teachings of Chien to modify Chien’s resource advertisement message 140 using Zack’s advertised message technique that carries and advertises a trust metric for the transmitting device, in order to improve security and allow the second device 120 to evaluate whether if first device 102 is sufficiently trustworthy before any further communications.
Conclusion
/Junpeng Chen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645