Status of the Claims
Claims 1-19 set forth in the amendment submitted 1/05/2026 form the basis of the present examination.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 7-11, filed 1/05/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-5, 10-13 and 15-19 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by PODOLSKI et al. (Hereinafter, “Podolski”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210311118 A1, the rejection of Claim(s) 6-9 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Wajcer et al. (Hereinafter, “Wajcer”) in the US Patent Number US 7245129 B2 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 8, of the remarks, filed on 1/05/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-5, 10-13 and 15-19 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by PODOLSKI et al. (Hereinafter, “Podolski”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210311118 A1, that “Applicant respectfully submits that Podolski does not teach or suggest, literally or inherently, "fault detection," let alone "detect a fault in the cable responsive to a received signal at a second pair of terminals responsive to the periodic signal," as recited by claim 1.
………………….
While Podolski differentiates between open and short terminations via minima locations (Podolski [0048]), there is no fault detection in Podolski-short/open are assumed setups for calibration (Podolski [0078]). In other words, the short/open circuits in Podolski are not faults; they are intentional features meant to affect the signal”.
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 8 (stated above), filed 1/05/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-5, 10-13 and 15-19 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by PODOLSKI et al. (Hereinafter, “Podolski”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210311118 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 10/01/2025 have been fully considered and is not persuasive. Podolski discloses, “[0048] FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C show exemplary time domain signals of timing diagrams generated during DUT testing according to embodiments of the present invention. If the period of the generated signal is significantly larger than 4 times the electrical length TD (4×TD), then there is a typical TDR waveform at the line and the settled peak detector shown its maximum (shown as FIG. 3a). If the period of the generated signal is exactly 4×TD (3/4×TD or 4/5×TD or 4/7×TD or etc.), then the reflection occurs exactly at the provided pulse yielding a DC signal at the node VR 20 when assuming a lossless transmission line (shown as FIG. 3b). This results in a minimum voltage at the monitored peak detector. In case the far end of the signal path 4 is shorted, e.g., the signal path is terminated at short circuit, and then there are minima when the reflections cancel the transmitted pulses. This occurs at periods of the generated signal 2×TD (or 2/3×TD or etc.) as shown in FIG. 3c.” Again, in Paragraph [59 and 60], “[0059] At step 620, the value of the electrical length (e.g., the time of delay) is calculated according to the signal characteristic value. [0060] At step 625, TDR calibration is performed for testing the DUT based on the electrical length to compensate for the delay/reflections caused by the transmission environment.” Podolski determines the value of the electrical length and then performs the calibration depends on the value of the length by comparing with the standard value and compensate if there is ant delay or any error. Therefore, Podolski determines the value to find if the values are correct or any fault is there and then compensating that value by calibration. Although Podolski directly does not mention to detect fault, however Podolski also determines the fault condition to apply calibration. From the definition of calibration, “Calibration is the process of adjusting and verifying the accuracy of a measuring instrument or system, such as an electronic device or sensor, to ensure that it provides the correct readings or outputs within the specified tolerance levels. The process involves comparing the results of the device under test to a reference standard and making necessary adjustments to align the device’s readings with the standard; https://www.electronicsforu.com/technology-trends/calibration-definition-types-process-challenges-applications_. Figure 3a-3c shows different electrical length which represents a lossless transmission line, short circuit. Therefore, applicant’s argument that, “there is no fault detection in Podolski-short/open are assumed setups for calibration” is not persuasive. Because Podolski determines different values to apply calibration and at first Podolski determines if the system is ok or if there is any fault and then applies the calibration. Podolski determines all the conditions for example normal condition and also fault condition and then applies calibration. Therefore, Podolski also determines fault. Claim does not recite any specific fault condition or any specific type of fault and any specific process to determine the fault which can differentiate the present application from prior art reference. Therefore, applicant argument is not persuasive and Podolski still can be applied to reject claim 1, as set forth below.
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 8-9, of the remarks, filed on 1/05/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-5, 10-13 and 15-19 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by PODOLSKI et al. (Hereinafter, “Podolski”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210311118 A1, that “The present application discusses detecting and locating actual faults (open-circuit or short-circuit) in operational cables, such as network cables. (See e.g., as-filed Spec. rr [0003], [0032] and [0033]). In illustrative examples, a fixed long-pulse periodic signal (e.g., clock signal) with pulses having a duration longer than 2x the travel time along a maximum allowed cable length is utilized, and timing/magnitude within a single pulse are analyzed to detect fault type and location (as-filed Spec., PP[0035]-[0036], [0045] - [0053]; FIG. 4 and FIG. 5). Podolski sweeps periods across multiple values and analyzes aggregate voltage changes to find delay (TD), not detect or locate a fault. (See Podolski, PP [0048]-[0049]).
The present Application describes "faults" as damaging failures of a cable that degrade performance. For example, the Background at paragraph [0003] states: "If the conductor or insulation of a cable is damaged, a cable fault may occur. Two typical faults that occur in a cable include an open-circuit fault and a short-circuit fault. An open-circuit fault occurs when there is a (Remarks-Page 8)………… Further, the present Application, in the detailed description, states at paragraph [0032]: "If a cable's wiring or insulation is damaged, a cable fault may occur. Two examples of faults that occur in a cable are an open-circuit fault and a short-circuit fault. An open-circuit fault typically occurs when there is a break in the conductor of the cable, or when there is a failure of a connection between a terminal and the cable. A short-circuit fault typically occurs when two conductors of the cable come into contact with each other (directly into contact, or indirectly into contact via an intermediate conductor), as a non-limiting example, due to a failure of the insulation of the cable. Because cables are used extensively in modern infrastructure, cable faults may create wide-spread problems for a multitude of infrastructures and industries. Moreover, cables are often laid underground or are routed through complex objects such as vehicles, making fault identification and repair costly and time-intensive. As such, it is desirable to identify a fault type and location swiftly and accurately to efficiently find, repair, or replace a faulted section of a cable"(Remarks-page 9).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 8-9 (stated above), filed 1/05/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-5, 10-13 and 15-19 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by PODOLSKI et al. (Hereinafter, “Podolski”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210311118 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 10/01/2025 have been fully considered and is not persuasive. Applicant argues that, “The present application discusses detecting and locating actual faults (open-circuit or short-circuit) in operational cables, such as network cables. (See e.g., as-filed Spec. rr [0003], [0032] and [0033])”. And again Applicant argues, “The present Application describes "faults" as damaging failures of a cable that degrade performance…..”. However, these limitations are not in the claim. Claim only recites, “detect a fault….”
In response to Applicant’s argument that does not include certain features of Applicant's invention, the limitations on which the Applicant relies (i.e., "faults" as damaging failures of a cable that degrade performance ….. If the conductor or insulation of a cable is damaged, a cable fault may occur. Two typical faults that occur in a cable include an open-circuit fault and a short-circuit fault) are not stated in the claims. It is the claims that define the claimed invention, and it is claims, not specifications that are anticipated or unpatentable. Constant v. Advanced Micro-Devices Inc., 7 USPQ2d 1064.
Therefore, to reject the limitation the limitation should be in the claim. Although the limitation is stated in the specification however the limitation is not in the claim. Claim is rejected in light of the specification however the limitation for the specification is not incorporated in the claim to reject. Fault can be any type of fault. Any type of damage or defect can be considered as the fault.
In response to Applicant's argument that "faults" as damaging failures of a cable that degrade performance ….., applicant misinterprets the principle that claims are interpreted in the light of the specification. Although these elements ("faults" as damaging failures of a cable that degrade performance ….. If the conductor or insulation of a cable is damaged, a cable fault may occur. Two typical faults that occur in a cable include an open-circuit fault and a short-circuit fault) are found as examples or embodiments in the specification, they were not claimed explicitly. Nor were the words that are used in the claims defined in the specification to require these limitations. A reading of the specification provides no evidence to indicate that these limitations must be imported into the claims to give meaning to disputed terms. Constant v. Advanced Micro-Devices Inc., 7 USPQ2d 1064.
Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive, as PODOLSKI also discloses to determine fault but for different reason.
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 9-10, of the remarks, filed on 1/05/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-5, 10-13 and 15-19 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by PODOLSKI et al. (Hereinafter, “Podolski”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210311118 A1, that “Podolski teaches that open and short circuits (or terminations) are desirable and intended configurations, known to be present for the purpose of measurement and calibration, rather than as faults to be detected and/or located. In Podolski, these features are deliberate, configurable elements in the testing setup to generate predictable reflections, enabling accurate TDR (time domain reflectometry) calibration without additional hardware like receivers or comparators. (See e.g., Podolski, PP [0008], [0045]-[0049], [0078]). For example, Podolski states that the signal path's far end is intentionally left open: "The other end of the signal path 4 is not terminated, e.g., is left as an open circuit." (Podolski, P [0045]). Podolski does not use the term "fault" to describe open/short conditions. Instead, "faults" are mentioned broadly in early paragraphs (e.g., Podolski PP [0003]-[0004]) in the context of general DUT testing issues, but not linked to these terminations. The focus of Podolski is on calibration assuming known setups, not detecting unknown damages. Claims (e.g., 1, 12, 18) of Podolski emphasize varying signal periods to determine TD from reflections "caused by the signal path," implying controlled, intended reflections (Remarks-Page 9).
While acknowledging the imperative on Examiners to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification (MPEP § 2111.01), a person having ordinary skill in the art would not consider "fault" as claimed to include desirable, intentional features like the open or short circuits described in Podolski (Remarks-Page 10).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 9-10 (stated above), filed 1/05/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-5, 10-13 and 15-19 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by PODOLSKI et al. (Hereinafter, “Podolski”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210311118 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 10/01/2025 have been fully considered and is not persuasive. Applicant’s argument that Podolski does not use the term "fault" to describe open/short conditions. It is not needed that the exact word “fault” should be in the reference. Claim recites fault and any type of damage or failure can be considered as the fault unless claim recites any specific fault and any specific steps to determine the fault. Podolski determines fault for applying calibration. Podolski determines if the system is normal or any kind of fault and then apply calibration. It is not needed to have the same motivation as the applicant. If the reference teaches the fault detection but for different reason than the present application still the reference can be applied to reject the limitation.
The reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (motivation question arises in the context of the general problem confronting the inventor rather than the specific problem solved by the invention); Cross Med. Prods., Inc. v. Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc., 424 F.3d 1293, 1323, 76 USPQ2d 1662, 1685 (Fed. Cir. 2005) ("One of ordinary skill in the art need not see the identical problem addressed in a prior art reference to be motivated to apply its teachings."); In re Lintner, 458 F.2d 1013, 173 USPQ 560 (CCPA 1972) (discussed below); In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 500 U.S. 904 (1991) (discussed below). Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 10, of the remarks, filed on 1/05/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-5, 10-13 and 15-19 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by PODOLSKI et al. (Hereinafter, “Podolski”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210311118 A1, that, “Further, Applicant respectfully submits that Podolski does not teach or suggest, literally or inherently, "provide a periodic signal including pulses to a first pair of terminals, a duration of each of the pulses greater than at least double a time of travel of the pulses along a predetermined allowed length of a cable," as recited by claim 1 (emphasis added).
………..
Podolski's disclosure of periods >4XTD is part of a sweeping process to identify minima/maxima for determining electrical length (TD) in a calibration context, not a fixed periodic signal used for ongoing fault detection as claimed (Podolski [0048]-[0049]; [0075] describing the period being "swept" to obtain information about TD). Even if a >4XTD period is used at some point in the sweep, Podolski does not require or necessarily use such a period for all pulses in the signal-periods vary across the process, including shorter ones that would not meet >4XTD (Podolski [0048] discussing minima at 4XTD, 4/3XTD, etc.): and so does not teach or suggest, literally or inherently "a duration of each of the pulses greater than at least double a time of travel of the pulses along a predetermined allowed length of a cable," as recited by claim 1.
Since Podolski neither teaches nor suggests, literally or inherently, each and every recitation of claim 1, Podolski fails to anticipate independent claim 1 under 35 USC 102. Claims 2-5, 10, and 15-16 are allowable at least because they depend from allowable claim 1. Independent claims 11 and 17 are allowable for at least the same reasons as claim 1, discussed above. Dependent claims 12-13, 18-19 are also allowable since they depend from the respective allowable independent claims 11 and 17. Withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1-5, 10-13, and 15-19 is respectfully requested.”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 10 (stated above), filed 1/05/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-5, 10-13 and 15-19 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by PODOLSKI et al. (Hereinafter, “Podolski”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210311118 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 10/01/2025 have been fully considered and is not persuasive. Claim recites, “a duration of each of the pulses greater than at least double a time of travel of the pulses along a predetermined allowed length of a cable.” Podolski discloses, “According to some embodiments, said generating the signal includes generating the signal periodically according to at least one of a sine wave pulses including a constant pulse width, and pulses including widths equal to half of a period; Paragraph [0024] Line 1-5; The method includes generating a signal along a signal path including an electrical length (TD), said signal path including reflections caused by the signal, varying a period of the signal, determining a signal characteristic value of the signal along the signal path during the period, determining the electrical length based on the signal characteristic, and performing time-domain reflectometry (TDR) calibration for testing the DUT using the electrical length; Paragraph [0028] Line 6-14; FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C show exemplary time domain signals of timing diagrams generated during DUT testing according to embodiments of the present invention. If the period of the generated signal is significantly larger than 4 times the electrical length TD (4×TD), then there is a typical TDR waveform at the line and the settled peak detector shown its maximum (shown as FIG. 3a). If the period of the generated signal is exactly 4×TD (3/4×TD or 4/5×TD or 4/7×TD or etc.)”. Podolski discloses period of the signal is four times larger than the length and Figure 3 also shows that the pulse width is 4 times larger than the half period. The limitation requires at least double and therefore four times can be applied for the broadest reasonable interpretation. Again, the limitation a duration of each of the pulses greater than at least double a time of travel of the pulses along a predetermined allowed length of a cable is not clear enough to differentiate the present application from the prior art reference. Therefore, the limitation needs to be explained more to differentiate the present application from the prior art reference. Applicant’s argument is therefore not persuasive. Podolski still can be applied to reject the claim limitation for independent claim 1, as set forth below. Therefore, the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-5, 10-13 and 15-19 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by PODOLSKI et al. (Hereinafter, “Podolski”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210311118 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 10/01/2025 is maintained below. See the rejection set forth below.
Applicant argument, see remarks page 11 regarding the rejection of Claim(s) 6-9 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Wajcer et al. (Hereinafter, “Wajcer”) in the US Patent Number US 7245129 B2, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 10/01/2025 have been fully considered and is not persuasive because of the same reason as stated above for independent claim 1. Therefore, the rejection of Claim(s) 6-9 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Wajcer et al. (Hereinafter, “Wajcer”) in the US Patent Number US 7245129 B2, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 10/01/2025 is maintained below. See the rejection set forth below.
For expedite prosecution Applicant is invited to call to discuss the present rejection also if any further clarification needed and to discuss any possible amendment to overcome the references to make the claims allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-13 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by PODOLSKI et al. (Hereinafter, “Podolski”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210311118 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Podolski teaches an apparatus (an apparatus for testing a device under test (DUT) is disclosed. The apparatus includes a signal provider operable to generate a signal along a signal path, said signal path including an electrical length (TD) and operable to be coupled to said DUT; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-5), comprising:
a processing circuitry (The system includes a processor, and a memory in communication with the processor for storing data and instructions, the processor executes instructions to perform a method of testing the DUT based on a signal characteristic value; Paragraph [0028] Line 2-6) to:
provide a periodic signal (Figure 3a-3c) including pulses to a first pair of terminals (Figure 2 shows two terminals VR), a duration of each of the pulses greater than at least double a time of travel of the pulses (a period of the signal is significantly greater than 4×TD; Paragraph [0025] Line 1-2) along a predetermined allowed length [TD] (an electrical length (TD)) of a cable [4] (According to some embodiments, said generating the signal includes generating the signal periodically according to at least one of a sine wave pulses including a constant pulse width, and pulses including widths equal to half of a period; Paragraph [0024] Line 1-5; The method includes generating a signal along a signal path including an electrical length (TD), said signal path including reflections caused by the signal, varying a period of the signal, determining a signal characteristic value of the signal along the signal path during the period, determining the electrical length based on the signal characteristic, and performing time-domain reflectometry (TDR) calibration for testing the DUT using the electrical length; Paragraph [0028] Line 6-14; FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C show exemplary time domain signals of timing diagrams generated during DUT testing according to embodiments of the present invention. If the period of the generated signal is significantly larger than 4 times the electrical length TD (4×TD), then there is a typical TDR waveform at the line and the settled peak detector shown its maximum (shown as FIG. 3a). If the period of the generated signal is exactly 4×TD (3/4×TD or 4/5×TD or 4/7×TD or etc.), then the reflection occurs exactly at the provided pulse yielding a DC signal at the node VR 20 when assuming a lossless transmission line (shown as FIG. 3b). This results in a minimum voltage at the monitored peak detector. In case the far end of the signal path 4 is shorted, e.g., the signal path is terminated at short circuit, and then there are minima when the reflections cancel the transmitted pulses. This occurs at periods of the generated signal 2×TD (or 2/3×TD or etc.) as shown in FIG. 3c; Paragraph [0048] Line 1-17); and
detect a fault in the cable responsive to a received signal at a second pair of terminals (Reflected pulse along the two terminal VR) responsive to the periodic signal (If the period of the generated signal is exactly 4×TD (3/4×TD or 4/5×TD or 4/7×TD or etc.), then the reflection occurs exactly at the provided pulse yielding a DC signal at the node VR 20 when assuming a lossless transmission line (shown as FIG. 3b). This results in a minimum voltage at the monitored peak detector. In case the far end of the signal path 4 is shorted, e.g., the signal path is terminated at short circuit, and then there are minima when the reflections cancel the transmitted pulses. This occurs at periods of the generated signal 2×TD (or 2/3×TD or etc.) as shown in FIG. 3c; Paragraph [0048] Line 1-17; short circuit detection as the fault detection based on the periodic signal).
Regarding claim 2, Podolski teaches an apparatus,
wherein the cable is a network cable (FIG. 1A shows a conventional driver circuit with a conventional comparator circuit for performing TDR calibration. TDR measures the reflections that result from a signal travelling through a transmission environment (e.g., a circuit board trace, a cable, a connector); Paragraph [0008] Line 5-8; With regard to FIG. 6, an exemplary sequence of computer implemented steps of a process 600 for automatically performing TDR calibration for testing a DUT using a transmission environment (e.g., a circuit board trace, a cable, a connector, etc.) having an electrical length (TD); Paragraph [0055] Line 1-5; 80 cm real coaxial cable, TD˜4.4 ns; Paragraph [0052] Line 1).
Regarding claim 3, Podolski teaches an apparatus,
wherein the network cable is a shared transmission medium of a wired local area network (FIG. 1A shows a conventional driver circuit with a conventional comparator circuit for performing TDR calibration. TDR measures the reflections that result from a signal travelling through a transmission environment (e.g., a circuit board trace, a cable, a connector); Paragraph [0008] Line 5-8; With regard to FIG. 6, an exemplary sequence of computer implemented steps of a process 600 for automatically performing TDR calibration for testing a DUT using a transmission environment (e.g., a circuit board trace, a cable, a connector, etc.) having an electrical length (TD); Paragraph [0055] Line 1-5; 80 cm real coaxial cable, TD˜4.4 ns; Paragraph [0052] Line 1; The inventive data stream can be stored on a digital storage medium or can be transmitted on a transmission environment such as a wireless transmission environment or a wired transmission environment such as the Internet; Paragraph [0061] Line 13-16).
Regarding claim 4, Podolski teaches an apparatus,
wherein the processing circuitry is to detect an open circuit in the cable to detect the fault in the cable (According to another embodiment of the present invention, one end of the signal path may be connected to the signal provider and the other end of the signal path may be terminated by an impedance having a different value to a characteristic impedance of the signal path, or terminated in an open circuit, i.e., having an open end, or terminated in a short circuit. The signal provider may have a source impedance which has an equivalent value, i.e., the difference is for example +/−5% to a characteristic impedance of the signal path or different value from the characteristic impedance; Paragraph [0078] Line 1-10), responsive to:
a high magnitude pulse in the received signal for substantially an entirety of a duration of time for which a pulse of the periodic signal would transit the maximum allowed length of the cable, the high magnitude pulse having a higher magnitude than a magnitude of an echo pulse responsive to the periodic signal; or
a low magnitude pulse in the received signal following a leading edge of the one of the pulses of the periodic signal followed by a high magnitude pulse in the received signal within the entirety of the duration of time for which the pulse of the periodic signal would transit the maximum allowed length of the cable following the leading edge (FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C show exemplary time domain signals of timing diagrams generated during DUT testing according to embodiments of the present invention. If the period of the generated signal is significantly larger than 4 times the electrical length TD (4×TD), then there is a typical TDR waveform at the line and the settled peak detector shown its maximum (shown as FIG. 3a). If the period of the generated signal is exactly 4×TD (3/4×TD or 4/5×TD or 4/7×TD or etc.), then the reflection occurs exactly at the provided pulse yielding a DC signal at the node VR 20 when assuming a lossless transmission line (shown as FIG. 3b). This results in a minimum voltage at the monitored peak detector. In case the far end of the signal path 4 is shorted, e.g., the signal path is terminated at short circuit, and then there are minima when the reflections cancel the transmitted pulses. This occurs at periods of the generated signal 2×TD (or 2/3×TD or etc.) as shown in FIG. 3c; Paragraph [0048] Line 1-17; From Figure 3a-c and Figure 4 shows that a high magnitude pulse in the received signal for substantially an entirety of a duration of time for which a pulse of the periodic signal would transit the maximum allowed length of the cable, the high magnitude pulse having a higher magnitude than a magnitude of an echo pulse responsive to the periodic signal; or a low magnitude pulse in the received signal following a leading edge of the one of the pulses of the periodic signal followed by a high magnitude pulse in the received signal within the entirety of the duration of time for which the pulse of the periodic signal would transit the maximum allowed length of the cable following the leading edge is used to calculate the open circuit in the cable).
Regarding claim 5, Podolski teaches an apparatus,
wherein the processing circuitry is to detect a short circuit in the cable to detect the fault in the cable (According to another embodiment of the present invention, one end of the signal path may be connected to the signal provider and the other end of the signal path may be terminated by an impedance having a different value to a characteristic impedance of the signal path, or terminated in an open circuit, i.e., having an open end, or terminated in a short circuit. The signal provider may have a source impedance which has an equivalent value, i.e., the difference is for example +/−5% to a characteristic impedance of the signal path or different value from the characteristic impedance; Paragraph [0078] Line 1-10), responsive to:
a low magnitude pulse in the received signal for substantially an entirety of a duration of time for which the pulse of the periodic signal would transit the maximum allowed length of the cable; or
a high magnitude pulse in the received signal following a leading edge of the periodic signal followed by a low magnitude pulse in the received signal within the entirety of the duration of time for which the pulse of the periodic signal would transit the maximum allowed length of the cable following the leading edge, the high magnitude pulse having a higher magnitude than a magnitude of an echo pulse responsive to the periodic signal (FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C show exemplary time domain signals of timing diagrams generated during DUT testing according to embodiments of the present invention. If the period of the generated signal is significantly larger than 4 times the electrical length TD (4×TD), then there is a typical TDR waveform at the line and the settled peak detector shown its maximum (shown as FIG. 3a). If the period of the generated signal is exactly 4×TD (3/4×TD or 4/5×TD or 4/7×TD or etc.), then the reflection occurs exactly at the provided pulse yielding a DC signal at the node VR 20 when assuming a lossless transmission line (shown as FIG. 3b). This results in a minimum voltage at the monitored peak detector. In case the far end of the signal path 4 is shorted, e.g., the signal path is terminated at short circuit, and then there are minima when the reflections cancel the transmitted pulses. This occurs at periods of the generated signal 2×TD (or 2/3×TD or etc.) as shown in FIG. 3c; Paragraph [0048] Line 1-17; From Figure 3a-c and Figure 4 shows that a low magnitude pulse in the received signal for substantially an entirety of a duration of time for which the pulse of the periodic signal would transit the maximum allowed length of the cable; or a high magnitude pulse in the received signal following a leading edge of the periodic signal followed by a low magnitude pulse in the received signal within the entirety of the duration of time for which the pulse of the periodic signal would transit the maximum allowed length of the cable following the leading edge, the high magnitude pulse having a higher magnitude than a magnitude of an echo pulse responsive to the periodic signal is used to calculate the short circuit in the cable).
Regarding claim 10, Podolski teaches an apparatus of claim 1,
wherein a duty cycle of the periodic signal is substantially 50% (The term "Duty Cycle" refers to the proportion of time that a periodic signal or waveform spends in the active or high state compared to the total time of one complete cycle; https://www.geeksforgeeks.org/electrical-engineering/duty-cycle/; Figure 3b: Modified Figure 3b of PODOLSKI below shows a duty cycle of the periodic signal is substantially 50%).
Figure 3b: Modified Figure 3b of PODOLSKI
Regarding claim 11, Podolski teaches a method for cable fault detection (an apparatus for testing a device under test (DUT) is disclosed. The apparatus includes a signal provider operable to generate a signal along a signal path, said signal path including an electrical length (TD) and operable to be coupled to said DUT; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-5), the method comprising:
providing a periodic signal (Figure 3a-3c) including pulses to a cable [4] (Signal path 40 in Figure 2), a duration of respective pulses, at least double a time of travel of the pulses (a period of the signal is significantly greater than 4×TD; Paragraph [0025] Line 1-2) along a predetermined allowed length [TD] (an electrical length (TD)) of the cable [4] (According to some embodiments, said generating the signal includes generating the signal periodically according to at least one of a sine wave pulses including a constant pulse width, and pulses including widths equal to half of a period; Paragraph [0024] Line 1-5; The method includes generating a signal along a signal path including an electrical length (TD), said signal path including reflections caused by the signal, varying a period of the signal, determining a signal characteristic value of the signal along the signal path during the period, determining the electrical length based on the signal characteristic, and performing time-domain reflectometry (TDR) calibration for testing the DUT using the electrical length; Paragraph [0028] Line 6-14; FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C show exemplary time domain signals of timing diagrams generated during DUT testing according to embodiments of the present invention. If the period of the generated signal is significantly larger than 4 times the electrical length TD (4×TD), then there is a typical TDR waveform at the line and the settled peak detector shown its maximum (shown as FIG. 3a). If the period of the generated signal is exactly 4×TD (3/4×TD or 4/5×TD or 4/7×TD or etc.), then the reflection occurs exactly at the provided pulse yielding a DC signal at the node VR 20 when assuming a lossless transmission line (shown as FIG. 3b). This results in a minimum voltage at the monitored peak detector. In case the far end of the signal path 4 is shorted, e.g., the signal path is terminated at short circuit, and then there are minima when the reflections cancel the transmitted pulses. This occurs at periods of the generated signal 2×TD (or 2/3×TD or etc.) as shown in FIG. 3c; Paragraph [0048] Line 1-17); and
detecting a fault in the cable responsive to a received signal, the received signal responsive to the periodic signal (If the period of the generated signal is exactly 4×TD (3/4×TD or 4/5×TD or 4/7×TD or etc.), then the reflection occurs exactly at the provided pulse yielding a DC signal at the node VR 20 when assuming a lossless transmission line (shown as FIG. 3b). This results in a minimum voltage at the monitored peak detector. In case the far end of the signal path 4 is shorted, e.g., the signal path is terminated at short circuit, and then there are minima when the reflections cancel the transmitted pulses. This occurs at periods of the generated signal 2×TD (or 2/3×TD or etc.) as shown in FIG. 3c; Paragraph [0048] Line 1-17; short circuit detection as the fault detection based on the periodic signal).
Regarding claim 12, Podolski teaches a method, comprising detecting an open circuit in the cable (According to another embodiment of the present invention, one end of the signal path may be connected to the signal provider and the other end of the signal path may be terminated by an impedance having a different value to a characteristic impedance of the signal path, or terminated in an open circuit, i.e., having an open end, or terminated in a short circuit. The signal provider may have a source impedance which has an equivalent value, i.e., the difference is for example +/−5% to a characteristic impedance of the signal path or different value from the characteristic impedance; Paragraph [0078] Line 1-10), responsive to:
detecting a high magnitude pulse in the received signal for substantially an entirety of a duration of time for which the periodic signal would transit the maximum allowed length of the cable, the high magnitude pulse having a higher magnitude than a magnitude of an echo pulse responsive to the periodic signal; or detecting a low magnitude pulse in one or more reflections following a leading edge of the pulse in the periodic signal then a high magnitude pulse in the received signal within the duration of time for which the pulse of the periodic signal would transit the maximum allowed length of the cable following the leading edge (FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C show exemplary time domain signals of timing diagrams generated during DUT testing according to embodiments of the present invention. If the period of the generated signal is significantly larger than 4 times the electrical length TD (4×TD), then there is a typical TDR waveform at the line and the settled peak detector shown its maximum (shown as FIG. 3a). If the period of the generated signal is exactly 4×TD (3/4×TD or 4/5×TD or 4/7×TD or etc.), then the reflection occurs exactly at the provided pulse yielding a DC signal at the node VR 20 when assuming a lossless transmission line (shown as FIG. 3b). This results in a minimum voltage at the monitored peak detector. In case the far end of the signal path 4 is shorted, e.g., the signal path is terminated at short circuit, and then there are minima when the reflections cancel the transmitted pulses. This occurs at periods of the generated signal 2×TD (or 2/3×TD or etc.) as shown in FIG. 3c; Paragraph [0048] Line 1-17; From Figure 3a-c and Figure 4 shows that a high magnitude pulse in the received signal for substantially an entirety of a duration of time for which the periodic signal would transit the maximum allowed length of the cable, the high magnitude pulse having a higher magnitude than a magnitude of an echo pulse responsive to the periodic signal; or detecting a low magnitude pulse in one or more reflections following a leading edge of the pulse in the periodic signal then a high magnitude pulse in the received signal within the duration of time for which the pulse of the periodic signal would transit the maximum allowed length of the cable following the leading edge).
Regarding claim 13, Podolski teaches a method,
comprising detecting a short circuit in the cable responsive to: (According to another embodiment of the present invention, one end of the signal path may be connected to the signal provider and the other end of the signal path may be terminated by an impedance having a different value to a characteristic impedance of the signal path, or terminated in an open circuit, i.e., having an open end, or terminated in a short circuit. The signal provider may have a source impedance which has an equivalent value, i.e., the difference is for example +/−5% to a characteristic impedance of the signal path or different value from the characteristic impedance; Paragraph [0078] Line 1-10), responsive to:
detecting a high magnitude pulse in the received signal for substantially an entirety of a duration of time for which the periodic signal would transit the maximum allowed length of the cable, the high magnitude pulse having a higher magnitude than a magnitude of an echo pulse responsive to the periodic signal; or detecting a low magnitude pulse in one or more reflections following a leading edge of the pulse in the periodic signal then a high magnitude pulse in the received signal within the duration of time for which the pulse of the periodic signal would transit the maximum allowed length of the cable following the leading edge (FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C show exemplary time domain signals of timing diagrams generated during DUT testing according to embodiments of the present invention. If the period of the generated signal is significantly larger than 4 times the electrical length TD (4×TD), then there is a typical TDR waveform at the line and the settled peak detector shown its maximum (shown as FIG. 3a). If the period of the generated signal is exactly 4×TD (3/4×TD or 4/5×TD or 4/7×TD or etc.), then the reflection occurs exactly at the provided pulse yielding a DC signal at the node VR 20 when assuming a lossless transmission line (shown as FIG. 3b). This results in a minimum voltage at the monitored peak detector. In case the far end of the signal path 4 is shorted, e.g., the signal path is terminated at short circuit, and then there are minima when the reflections cancel the transmitted pulses. This occurs at periods of the generated signal 2×TD (or 2/3×TD or etc.) as shown in FIG. 3c; Paragraph [0048] Line 1-17; From Figure 3a-c and Figure 4 shows that a high magnitude pulse in the received signal for substantially an entirety of a duration of time for which the periodic signal would transit the maximum allowed length of the cable, the high magnitude pulse having a higher magnitude than a magnitude of an echo pulse responsive to the periodic signal; or detecting a low magnitude pulse in one or more reflections following a leading edge of the pulse in the periodic signal then a high magnitude pulse in the received signal within the duration of time for which the pulse of the periodic signal would transit the maximum allowed length of the cable following the leading edge).
Regarding claim 15, Podolski teaches a method,
wherein the pulses corresponds to a first logic level of a clock signal (The term "Duty Cycle" refers to the proportion of time that a periodic signal or waveform spends in the active or high state compared to the total time of one complete cycle; https://www.geeksforgeeks.org/electrical-engineering/duty-cycle/; A clock signal is a periodic waveform with a set frequency that acts as a timing reference for electronic components, ensuring they operate in harmony. The duty cycle describes the percentage of time within one complete period that this clock signal spends in the high (or "on") state, rather than the low (or "off") state; FIG. 5b is an enlargement of FIG. 5a. The non-ideal behavior comes from the fact that the cable has a frequency-dependent loss and therefore the reflected signal is not able to fully “fill” the gaps in the transmitted pulses; Paragraph [0054] Line 2-5).
Regarding claim 16, Podolski teaches a method of claim 15,
wherein a duty cycle of the clock signal is substantially 50% (The term "Duty Cycle" refers to the proportion of time that a periodic signal or waveform spends in the active or high state compared to the total time of one complete cycle; https://www.geeksforgeeks.org/electrical-engineering/duty-cycle/; A clock signal is a periodic waveform with a set frequency that acts as a timing reference for electronic components, ensuring they operate in harmony. The duty cycle describes the percentage of time within one complete period that this clock signal spends in the high (or "on") state, rather than the low (or "off") state; Figure 3b (1): Modified Figure 3b of PODOLSKI below shows a duty cycle of the clock signal is substantially 50%).
Figure 3b (1): Modified Figure 3b of PODOLSKI
Regarding claim 17, Podolski teaches an apparatus (an apparatus for testing a device under test (DUT) is disclosed. The apparatus includes a signal provider operable to generate a signal along a signal path, said signal path including an electrical length (TD) and operable to be coupled to said DUT; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-5), comprising:
a signal generator to provide ([0013] According to some embodiments, the signal generator varies a period of the signal, and the period of the signal is significantly greater than 4×TD; [0014] According to some embodiments, the signal generator varies a period of the signal, and the period of the signal is equal to at least one of: 3/4×TD; 4/5×TD; and 4/7×TD) to a cable, a clock signal, a duration of a single clock cycle of the clock signal greater than quadruple a time of travel of a pulse of the clock signal (a period of the signal is significantly greater than 4×TD; Paragraph [0025] Line 1-2) (Claim 3. The apparatus as described in claim 1, wherein the signal generator varies a period of the signal, and wherein the period of the signal is significantly greater than 4×TD; Claim 4. The apparatus as described in claim 1, wherein the signal generator varies a period of the signal, and wherein the period of the signal is equal to at least one of: 3/4×TD; 4/5×TD; and 4/7×TD) along a maximum allowed length [TD] (an electrical length (TD)) of a cable [4] (According to some embodiments, said generating the signal includes generating the signal periodically according to at least one of a sine wave pulses including a constant pulse width, and pulses including widths equal to half of a period; Paragraph [0024] Line 1-5; The method includes generating a signal along a signal path including an electrical length (TD), said signal path including reflections caused by the signal, varying a period of the signal, determining a signal characteristic value of the signal along the signal path during the period, determining the electrical length based on the signal characteristic, and performing time-domain reflectometry (TDR) calibration for testing the DUT using the electrical length; Paragraph [0028] Line 6-14; FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C show exemplary time domain signals of timing diagrams generated during DUT testing according to embodiments of the present invention. If the period of the generated signal is significantly larger than 4 times the electrical length TD (4×TD), then there is a typical TDR waveform at the line and the settled peak detector shown its maximum (shown as FIG. 3a). If the period of the generated signal is exactly 4×TD (3/4×TD or 4/5×TD or 4/7×TD or etc.), then the reflection occurs exactly at the provided pulse yielding a DC signal at the node VR 20 when assuming a lossless transmission line (shown as FIG. 3b). This results in a minimum voltage at the monitored peak detector. In case the far end of the signal path 4 is shorted, e.g., the signal path is terminated at short circuit, and then there are minima when the reflections cancel the transmitted pulses. This occurs at periods of the generated signal 2×TD (or 2/3×TD or etc.) as shown in FIG. 3c; Paragraph [0048] Line 1-17); and
a processing circuitry (The system includes a processor, and a memory in communication with the processor for storing data and instructions, the processor executes instructions to perform a method of testing the DUT based on a signal characteristic value; Paragraph [0028] Line 2-6) to:
detect a fault in the cable responsive to a received signal (Reflected pulse along the two terminal VR) the received signal received from the cable responsive to the clock signal (If the period of the generated signal is exactly 4×TD (3/4×TD or 4/5×TD or 4/7×TD or etc.), then the reflection occurs exactly at the provided pulse yielding a DC signal at the node VR 20 when assuming a lossless transmission line (shown as FIG. 3b). This results in a minimum voltage at the monitored peak detector. In case the far end of the signal path 4 is shorted, e.g., the signal path is terminated at short circuit, and then there are minima when the reflections cancel the transmitted pulses. This occurs at periods of the generated signal 2×TD (or 2/3×TD or etc.) as shown in FIG. 3c; Paragraph [0048] Line 1-17; short circuit detection as the fault detection based on the periodic signal).
Regarding claim 18, Podolski teaches an apparatus, wherein the processing circuitry to detect an open circuit in the cable (According to another embodiment of the present invention, one end of the signal path may be connected to the signal provider and the other end of the signal path may be terminated by an impedance having a different value to a characteristic impedance of the signal path, or terminated in an open circuit, i.e., having an open end, or terminated in a short circuit. The signal provider may have a source impedance which has an equivalent value, i.e., the difference is for example +/−5% to a characteristic impedance of the signal path or different value from the characteristic impedance; Paragraph [0078] Line 1-10), responsive to:
a high magnitude pulse in the received signal for substantially an entirety of a duration of time for which the clock signal would transit the maximum allowed length of the cable; or a low magnitude pulse following a leading edge of the clock signal in the received signal followed by a high magnitude pulse in one or more reflections within the entirety of the duration of time for which the pulse of the clock signal would transit the maximum allowed length of the cable following the leading edge, the high magnitude pulse having a higher magnitude than a magnitude of an echo pulse responsive to the clock signal. (FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C show exemplary time domain signals of timing diagrams generated during DUT testing according to embodiments of the present invention. If the period of the generated signal is significantly larger than 4 times the electrical length TD (4×TD), then there is a typical TDR waveform at the line and the settled peak detector shown its maximum (shown as FIG. 3a). If the period of the generated signal is exactly 4×TD (3/4×TD or 4/5×TD or 4/7×TD or etc.), then the reflection occurs exactly at the provided pulse yielding a DC signal at the node VR 20 when assuming a lossless transmission line (shown as FIG. 3b). This results in a minimum voltage at the monitored peak detector. In case the far end of the signal path 4 is shorted, e.g., the signal path is terminated at short circuit, and then there are minima when the reflections cancel the transmitted pulses. This occurs at periods of the generated signal 2×TD (or 2/3×TD or etc.) as shown in FIG. 3c; Paragraph [0048] Line 1-17; From Figure 3a-c and Figure 4 shows that a high magnitude pulse in the received signal for substantially an entirety of a duration of time for which the clock signal would transit the maximum allowed length of the cable; or a low magnitude pulse following a leading edge of the clock signal in the received signal followed by a high magnitude pulse in one or more reflections within the entirety of the duration of time for which the pulse of the clock signal would transit the maximum allowed length of the cable following the leading edge, the high magnitude pulse having a higher magnitude than a magnitude of an echo pulse responsive to the clock signal.).
Regarding claim 19, Podolski teaches an apparatus,
wherein the processing circuitry is to detect a short circuit in the cable to detect the fault in the cable (According to another embodiment of the present invention, one end of the signal path may be connected to the signal provider and the other end of the signal path may be terminated by an impedance having a different value to a characteristic impedance of the signal path, or terminated in an open circuit, i.e., having an open end, or terminated in a short circuit. The signal provider may have a source impedance which has an equivalent value, i.e., the difference is for example +/−5% to a characteristic impedance of the signal path or different value from the characteristic impedance; Paragraph [0078] Line 1-10), responsive to:
a low magnitude pulse in the received signal for substantially an entirety of a duration of time for which the clock signal would transit the maximum allowed length of the cable; or
a high magnitude pulse in the received signal following a leading edge of the pulse followed by a low magnitude pulse in the received signal within the entirety of the duration of time for which the pulse of the clock signal would transit the maximum allowed length of the cable following the leading edge, the high magnitude pulse having a higher magnitude than a magnitude of an echo pulse responsive to the clock signal (FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C show exemplary time domain signals of timing diagrams generated during DUT testing according to embodiments of the present invention. If the period of the generated signal is significantly larger than 4 times the electrical length TD (4×TD), then there is a typical TDR waveform at the line and the settled peak detector shown its maximum (shown as FIG. 3a). If the period of the generated signal is exactly 4×TD (3/4×TD or 4/5×TD or 4/7×TD or etc.), then the reflection occurs exactly at the provided pulse yielding a DC signal at the node VR 20 when assuming a lossless transmission line (shown as FIG. 3b). This results in a minimum voltage at the monitored peak detector. In case the far end of the signal path 4 is shorted, e.g., the signal path is terminated at short circuit, and then there are minima when the reflections cancel the transmitted pulses. This occurs at periods of the generated signal 2×TD (or 2/3×TD or etc.) as shown in FIG. 3c; Paragraph [0048] Line 1-17; From Figure 3a-c and Figure 4 shows that a low magnitude pulse in the received signal for substantially an entirety of a duration of time for which the clock signal would transit the maximum allowed length of the cable; or a high magnitude pulse in the received signal following a leading edge of the pulse followed by a low magnitude pulse in the received signal within the entirety of the duration of time for which the pulse of the clock signal would transit the maximum allowed length of the cable following the leading edge, the high magnitude pulse having a higher magnitude than a magnitude of an echo pulse responsive to the clock signal).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Wajcer et al. (Hereinafter, “Wajcer”) in the US patent Number US 7245129 B2.
Regarding claim 6, Podolski fails to teach an apparatus, wherein the processing circuitry is to detect a location of the fault responsive to the received signal.
Wajcer teaches an apparatus for and method of performing high accuracy cable diagnostics, including, for example, detection of cable faults, cable length, utilizing time domain reflectometry (Column 1 Line 15-18),
wherein the processing circuitry is to detect a location of the fault responsive to the received signal (Using time domain reflectometry, the transceiver generates and transmits a pulse out onto the cable. When the pulse reaches a fault along the cable or end of the cable (i.e. open cable, shorted cable or a mismatched load), a portion of the transmitted pulse energy is reflected back. Using knowledge of the propagation speed along the cable the invention estimates the location of the fault; Column 6 Line 58-64). The purpose of doing so is to obtain information about the communications channel, i.e. to perform cable diagnostics on the channel, to have include (1) identifying cable faults such as an open cable, shorted cable, unmatched load, irregularities of the impedance along the cable, to determine the length of the cable, etc., to enable the detection and identification of cables faults, estimation of cable length, identification of cable topology and identification of load and irregular impedance on metallic paired cable, such as twisted pair and coaxial cables.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, modify Podolski in view of Wajcer, because Wajcer teaches to detect a location of the fault responsive to the received signal obtains information about the communications channel, i.e. to perform cable diagnostics on the channel, to have include (1) identifying cable faults such as an open cable, shorted cable, unmatched load, irregularities of the impedance along the cable, determines the length of the cable, etc.(Column 1 Line 42-48), enables the detection and identification of cables faults, estimation of cable length, identification of cable topology and identification of load and irregular impedance on metallic paired cable, such as twisted pair and coaxial cables (Column 2 Line 26-29).
Regarding claim 7, Podolski teaches an apparatus,
a high magnitude pulse in the received signal for substantially the entirety of the duration of time for which the pulse of the periodic signal would transit the maximum allowed length of the cable, the high magnitude pulse having a higher magnitude than a magnitude of an echo pulse responsive to the periodic signal; or
a low magnitude pulse in the received signal for substantially an entirety of a duration of time for which the pulse of the periodic signal would transit the maximum allowed length of the cable following a leading edge of the pulse of the periodic signal (FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C show exemplary time domain signals of timing diagrams generated during DUT testing according to embodiments of the present invention. If the period of the generated signal is significantly larger than 4 times the electrical length TD (4×TD), then there is a typical TDR waveform at the line and the settled peak detector shown its maximum (shown as FIG. 3a). If the period of the generated signal is exactly 4×TD (3/4×TD or 4/5×TD or 4/7×TD or etc.), then the reflection occurs exactly at the provided pulse yielding a DC signal at the node VR 20 when assuming a lossless transmission line (shown as FIG. 3b). This results in a minimum voltage at the monitored peak detector. In case the far end of the signal path 4 is shorted, e.g., the signal path is terminated at short circuit, and then there are minima when the reflections cancel the transmitted pulses. This occurs at periods of the generated signal 2×TD (or 2/3×TD or etc.) as shown in FIG. 3c; Paragraph [0048] Line 1-17; From Figure 3a-c and Figure 4 shows a high magnitude pulse in the received signal for substantially the entirety of the duration of time for which the pulse of the periodic signal would transit the maximum allowed length of the cable, the high magnitude pulse having a higher magnitude than a magnitude of an echo pulse responsive to the periodic signal; or a low magnitude pulse in the received signal for substantially an entirety of a duration of time for which the pulse of the periodic signal would transit the maximum allowed length of the cable following a leading edge of the pulse of the periodic signal).
However, Podolski fails to teach wherein the processing circuitry is to detect a fault in
the cable at a point of connection between the first pair of terminals and the cable.
Wajcer teaches an apparatus for and method of performing high accuracy cable diagnostics, including, for example, detection of cable faults, cable length, utilizing time domain reflectometry (Column 1 Line 15-18),
wherein the processing circuitry is to detect a fault in the cable at a point of connection between the first pair of terminals and the cable (Using time domain reflectometry, the transceiver generates and transmits a pulse out onto the cable. When the pulse reaches a fault along the cable or end of the cable (i.e. open cable, shorted cable or a mismatched load), a portion of the transmitted pulse energy is reflected back. Using knowledge of the propagation speed along the cable the invention estimates the location of the fault; Column 6 Line 58-64). The purpose of doing so is to obtain information about the communications channel, i.e. to perform cable diagnostics on the channel, to have include (1) identifying cable faults such as an open cable, shorted cable, unmatched load, irregularities of the impedance along the cable, to determine the length of the cable, etc., to enable the detection and identification of cables faults, estimation of cable length, identification of cable topology and identification of load and irregular impedance on metallic paired cable, such as twisted pair and coaxial cables.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, modify Podolski in view of Wajcer, because Wajcer teaches t to detect a fault in the cable at a point of connection between the first pair of terminals and the cable obtains information about the communications channel, i.e. to perform cable diagnostics on the channel, to have include (1) identifying cable faults such as an open cable, shorted cable, unmatched load, irregularities of the impedance along the cable, determines the length of the cable, etc.(Column 1 Line 42-48), enables the detection and identification of cables faults, estimation of cable length, identification of cable topology and identification of load and irregular impedance on metallic paired cable, such as twisted pair and coaxial cables (Column 2 Line 26-29).
Regarding claim 8, Podolski teaches an apparatus,
a low magnitude pulse in the received signal following a leading edge of a pulse of the periodic signal followed by a high magnitude pulse in the received signal within an entirety of a duration of time for which the pulse of the periodic signal would transit the maximum allowed length of the cable following the leading edge; or
a high magnitude pulse in the received signal following the leading edge of the pulse of the periodic signal followed by a low magnitude pulse in the received signal within the entirety of the duration of time for which the pulse of the periodic signal would transit the maximum allowed length of the cable following the leading edge, the high magnitude pulse having a higher magnitude than a magnitude of an echo pulse responsive to the periodic signal (FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C show exemplary time domain signals of timing diagrams generated during DUT testing according to embodiments of the present invention. If the period of the generated signal is significantly larger than 4 times the electrical length TD (4×TD), then there is a typical TDR waveform at the line and the settled peak detector shown its maximum (shown as FIG. 3a). If the period of the generated signal is exactly 4×TD (3/4×TD or 4/5×TD or 4/7×TD or etc.), then the reflection occurs exactly at the provided pulse yielding a DC signal at the node VR 20 when assuming a lossless transmission line (shown as FIG. 3b). This results in a minimum voltage at the monitored peak detector. In case the far end of the signal path 4 is shorted, e.g., the signal path is terminated at short circuit, and then there are minima when the reflections cancel the transmitted pulses. This occurs at periods of the generated signal 2×TD (or 2/3×TD or etc.) as shown in FIG. 3c; Paragraph [0048] Line 1-17; From Figure 3a-c and Figure 4 shows a low magnitude pulse in the received signal following a leading edge of a pulse of the periodic signal followed by a high magnitude pulse in the received signal within an entirety of a duration of time for which the pulse of the periodic signal would transit the maximum allowed length of the cable following the leading edge; or a high magnitude pulse in the received signal following the leading edge of the pulse of the periodic signal followed by a low magnitude pulse in the received signal within the entirety of the duration of time for which the pulse of the periodic signal would transit the maximum allowed length of the cable following the leading edge, the high magnitude pulse having a higher magnitude than a magnitude of an echo pulse responsive to the periodic signal).
However, Podolski fails to teach wherein the processing circuitry is to detect a fault in the cable at a distance greater than substantially zero meters from a point of connection between the cable and the first pair of terminals.
Wajcer teaches an apparatus for and method of performing high accuracy cable diagnostics, including, for example, detection of cable faults, cable length, utilizing time domain reflectometry (Column 1 Line 15-18),
wherein the processing circuitry is to detect a fault in the cable at a distance greater than substantially zero meters from a point of connection between the cable and the first pair of terminals (Using time domain reflectometry, the transceiver generates and transmits a pulse out onto the cable. When the pulse reaches a fault along the cable or end of the cable (i.e. open cable, shorted cable or a mismatched load), a portion of the transmitted pulse energy is reflected back. Using knowledge of the propagation speed along the cable the invention estimates the location of the fault; Column 6 Line 58-64). The purpose of doing so is to obtain information about the communications channel, i.e. to perform cable diagnostics on the channel, to have include (1) identifying cable faults such as an open cable, shorted cable, unmatched load, irregularities of the impedance along the cable, to determine the length of the cable, etc.(Column 1 Line 42-48; Figure 1 shows the cable fault location at a distance greater than substantially zero meters from a point of connection between the cable and the first pair of terminals). The purpose of doing so is to obtain information about the communications channel, i.e. to perform cable diagnostics on the channel, to have include (1) identifying cable faults such as an open cable, shorted cable, unmatched load, irregularities of the impedance along the cable, to determine the length of the cable, etc., to enable the detection and identification of cables faults, estimation of cable length, identification of cable topology and identification of load and irregular impedance on metallic paired cable, such as twisted pair and coaxial cables.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, modify Podolski in view of Wajcer, because Wajcer teaches to detect a fault in the cable at a distance greater than substantially zero meters obtains information about the communications channel, i.e. to perform cable diagnostics on the channel, to have include (1) identifying cable faults such as an open cable, shorted cable, unmatched load, irregularities of the impedance along the cable, determines the length of the cable, etc.(Column 1 Line 42-48), enables the detection and identification of cables faults, estimation of cable length, identification of cable topology and identification of load and irregular impedance on metallic paired cable, such as twisted pair and coaxial cables (Column 2 Line 26-29).
Regarding claim 9, Podolski teaches an apparatus, wherein the processing circuitry is to detect a fault in the cable responsive to:
a period of time beginning at the leading edge of the pulse of the periodic signal during which a low magnitude pulse is detected in the received signal; or
a period of time beginning at the leading edge of the pulse of the periodic signal during which the high magnitude pulse is detected in the received signal (FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C show exemplary time domain signals of timing diagrams generated during DUT testing according to embodiments of the present invention. If the period of the generated signal is significantly larger than 4 times the electrical length TD (4×TD), then there is a typical TDR waveform at the line and the settled peak detector shown its maximum (shown as FIG. 3a). If the period of the generated signal is exactly 4×TD (3/4×TD or 4/5×TD or 4/7×TD or etc.), then the reflection occurs exactly at the provided pulse yielding a DC signal at the node VR 20 when assuming a lossless transmission line (shown as FIG. 3b). This results in a minimum voltage at the monitored peak detector. In case the far end of the signal path 4 is shorted, e.g., the signal path is terminated at short circuit, and then there are minima when the reflections cancel the transmitted pulses. This occurs at periods of the generated signal 2×TD (or 2/3×TD or etc.) as shown in FIG. 3c; Paragraph [0048] Line 1-17; FIG. 4 depicts a DC (peaked) value at node PD vs. the signal period with very sharp minima at the distinctive periods according to embodiments of the present invention. As shown in FIG. 4, the reflection occurs at the period 4/5×TD, 4/3×TD and 4×TD (corresponding to the exemplary time domain signals in FIG. 3b). As explained above, it is possible to implement the TDR-calibration with the uni-drive channel, e.g., without having a comparator circuit or a receiver circuit to avoid negative effect of bandwidth with minimum cost. Furthermore, by reducing the circuits on the printed board, the accuracy of the test result is also improved; Paragraph [0049] Line 1-12).
Podolski fails to teach wherein the processing circuitry is to detect a location of the fault in the cable.
Wajcer teaches an apparatus for and method of performing high accuracy cable diagnostics, including, for example, detection of cable faults, cable length, utilizing time domain reflectometry (Column 1 Line 15-18),
wherein the processing circuitry is to detect a location of the fault in the cable (Using time domain reflectometry, the transceiver generates and transmits a pulse out onto the cable. When the pulse reaches a fault along the cable or end of the cable (i.e. open cable, shorted cable or a mismatched load), a portion of the transmitted pulse energy is reflected back. Using knowledge of the propagation speed along the cable the invention estimates the location of the fault; Column 6 Line 58-64). The purpose of doing so is to obtain information about the communications channel, i.e. to perform cable diagnostics on the channel, to have include (1) identifying cable faults such as an open cable, shorted cable, unmatched load, irregularities of the impedance along the cable, to determine the length of the cable, etc., to enable the detection and identification of cables faults, estimation of cable length, identification of cable topology and identification of load and irregular impedance on metallic paired cable, such as twisted pair and coaxial cables.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, modify Podolski in view of Wajcer, because Wajcer teaches to detect a location of the fault in the cable obtains information about the communications channel, i.e. to perform cable diagnostics on the channel, to have include (1) identifying cable faults such as an open cable, shorted cable, unmatched load, irregularities of the impedance along the cable, determines the length of the cable, etc.(Column 1 Line 42-48), enables the detection and identification of cables faults, estimation of cable length, identification of cable topology and identification of load and irregular impedance on metallic paired cable, such as twisted pair and coaxial cables (Column 2 Line 26-29).
Regarding claim 14, Podolski fails to teach a method, further comprising detecting a location of the fault responsive to one or more reflections.
Wajcer teaches an apparatus for and method of performing high accuracy cable diagnostics, including, for example, detection of cable faults, cable length, utilizing time domain reflectometry (Column 1 Line 15-18),
wherein further comprising detecting a location of the fault responsive to one or more reflections (Using time domain reflectometry, the transceiver generates and transmits a pulse out onto the cable. When the pulse reaches a fault along the cable or end of the cable (i.e. open cable, shorted cable or a mismatched load), a portion of the transmitted pulse energy is reflected back. Using knowledge of the propagation speed along the cable the invention estimates the location of the fault; Column 6 Line 58-64). The purpose of doing so is to obtain information about the communications channel, i.e. to perform cable diagnostics on the channel, to have include (1) identifying cable faults such as an open cable, shorted cable, unmatched load, irregularities of the impedance along the cable, to determine the length of the cable, etc., to enable the detection and identification of cables faults, estimation of cable length, identification of cable topology and identification of load and irregular impedance on metallic paired cable, such as twisted pair and coaxial cables.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, modify Podolski in view of Wajcer, because Wajcer teaches to detect a location of the fault responsive to one or more reflections obtains information about the communications channel, i.e. to perform cable diagnostics on the channel, to have include (1) identifying cable faults such as an open cable, shorted cable, unmatched load, irregularities of the impedance along the cable, determines the length of the cable, etc.(Column 1 Line 42-48), enables the detection and identification of cables faults, estimation of cable length, identification of cable topology and identification of load and irregular impedance on metallic paired cable, such as twisted pair and coaxial cables (Column 2 Line 26-29).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
SCHEUSCHNER et al. (US 20130204555 A1) discloses, “Method And Apparatus For Electrically Locating A Fault In A Cable-[0002] The invention relates to a method and an apparatus for electrically testing a cable with a testing apparatus for locating a cable fault in the cable under test. The testing apparatus and the test cable together form an electrical system. [0067] In the schematic diagram of FIG. 1, a test cable 1, i.e. a cable that is to be tested for locating a cable fault 2 therein, is represented physically extending from the physical location or length z=0 at a first cable end 1A of the test cable 1, to the physical location or length z=l at a second cable end 1B of the test cable 1. This second cable end 1B is not a second free end of the total length of the cable, but rather corresponds to a cable fault location of the cable fault 2, because at this cable fault 2 the cable is effectively electrically terminated by a short circuit due to breakdown of the cable insulation by an electrical arc that is ignited during the testing. The purpose of the testing is ultimately to determine the physical length of the cable 1 from the first cable end 1A to the second cable end 1B, i.e. the location of the cable fault 2 along the length of the cable. With that information, it is a simple matter to trace back along the cable from the first cable end 1A to the determined length, which then gives the location of the cable fault 2. [0068] Also shown in FIG. 1 is a schematic representation of an infinitesimally small length portion dz of the test cable 1, as well as the electrical representation of the electrical parameters of such an infinitesimally small portion of the test cable 1 in the equivalent circuit shown at the right side of FIG. 1-However SCHEUSCHNER does not disclose provide a periodic signal including pulses to a first pair of terminals, a duration of each of the pulses greater than at least double a time of travel of the pulses along a predetermined allowed length.”
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858