DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to amendment filed on 3/18/2026, claims 1, 10, 15 and 17- 18 are amended and claims 1- 20 are pending for examinations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in the remarks on 3/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On page 7, third and fourth paragraph of the remarks, applicant argues, “…Han's UE does not transmit a random access preamble via an MeNB cell ("first cell"). Han's UE cannot perform the transitioning feature as recited in claim 1, as described below….”; further on page 8 second last paragraph applicant argues, “…Han fails to disclose that the wireless device performs, "in response to transmitting the random access preamble via the first cell, transitioning a second cell from a first power state to a second power state" as recited in claim 1….”.
Examiner disagrees and respectfully submits that as per claim 1’s recitations, “…t transmitting, by a wireless device, a random access preamble via a first cell; in response to transmitting the random access preamble via the first cell…”; Han states in [0017]… For Msg1, the UE transmits the random-access preamble using the PRACH to the SeNB 210. The preamble transmission indicates to the SeNB the presence of a UE performing a random access procedure and also allows the SeNB to estimate the transmission delay between the UE and SeNB for adjusting the uplink timing. This information is transmitted over a backhaul connection (e.g., X2 or Xn interface to the MeNB 220) (i.e. see to Fig. 1 and 3); further refer to [0018]…. In a dual-connectivity context, the same RA-RNTI as used for a single-connectivity random access procedure may be used by the MeNB to transmit Msg2. Alternatively, a separately derived RNTI, which may be referred to as RA-RNTI2, could be used to distinguish a Msg2 in response to a random access preamble transmitted to the SeNB from a Msg2 in response to a random access preamble transmitted to the MeNB. Such a feature would be useful in the situation where the UE performs random access procedures to access both the SeNB and the MeNB in parallel….
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1- 6, 10- 15 and 18- 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US Pub. No. 2015/0215967 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Han teaches a method comprising:
transmitting, by a wireless device, a random access preamble via a first cell; in response to transmitting the random access preamble via the first cell, transitioning a second cell from a first power state to a second power state (see [0015]… . Random access may be used by a UE (i.e. wireless device) for several purposes including: for initial access to establish a connection with an eNB, for transitioning from an idle state (i.e. first power state to a connected state (i.e. second power state), for establishing or re-establishing synchronization with the eNB including receiving a timing advance parameter to compensate for the time it takes for uplink transmissions to reach the eNB, and during a handover process to a new cell; further see [0016] The random access procedure begins when the mobile (i.e. wireless device) transmits a random access preamble on the physical random access channel (PRACH)..; further see [0017] regarding … where the UE 200 is connected (i.e. discussed above using random access process) to MeNB 220 (i.e. first cell)); and monitoring, in the second power state and via the second cell, for downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a random access response (RAR) corresponding to the random access preamble (see [0017] and Fig. 4… allows the SeNB (i.e second cell) to estimate the transmission delay between the UE and SeNB for adjusting the uplink timing. This information is transmitted over a backhaul connection (e.g., X.sub.2 or X.sub.n interface to the MeNB 220). For Msg2, the MeNB 220 transmits the random access response (i.e. RAR) which includes a timing advance command to the UE 200 to allow it to adjust the timing of its uplink transmissions to SeNB 210 based on the timing estimate obtained ….and also assigns uplink resources (i.e. uplink grant) to the terminal to be used in the next message (i.e. this way UE monitors in the connected state (i.e. second power state) and via the SenB for… scheduling a random access response (RAR) corresponding to the random access preamble.). But Han fails to clearly state about DCI; however Han in [0018] teaches about a modification in Fig. 4 about … with reference FIG. 4 may include several modifications as compared with a conventional single-connectivity random access procedure. For example, the random access response (Msg2) is transmitted over the PDCCH using an RA-RNTI derived from the time-frequency resources used by the UE to transmit the random access preamble…….. Also, according to the LTE specifications for a single-connectivity random access procedure, the UE monitors for PDCCH for Msg2 in an RAR window that starts 3 ms; also refer [0014, 0022] in above discussed context. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Han to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein monitoring for DCI; greater way a standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 2, Han teaches as per claim 1, wherein the first power state comprises a power saving state; already discussed above idle state.
Regarding claim 3, Han teaches as per claim 1, wherein the second power state comprises an active state; already discussed above connected state.
Regarding claim 4, Han teaches as per claim 1, further comprising receiving, via a control resource set, the DCI scheduling the RAR, wherein the RAR indicates an uplink grant; already discussed above in claim 1’s citations uplink grant.
Regarding claim 5, Han teaches as per claim 4, further comprising transmitting uplink data via the second cell using the uplink grant; already discussed above see [0016- 0017] Msg 2 and 3.
Regarding claim 6, Han teaches as per claim 1, wherein the monitoring comprises monitoring, via a control resource set and for the DCI, downlink control channels based on the second cell being in the second power state; already discussed regarding in connected state as a second power state and monitoring happens in that state.
Regarding claim 10, Han teaches a wireless device comprising:
one or more processors; and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to:
transmit a random access preamble via a first cell; in response to transmitting the random access preamble via the first cell, transition a second cell from a first power state to a second power state (see [0015]… . Random access may be used by a UE (i.e. wireless device) for several purposes including: for initial access to establish a connection with an eNB, for transitioning from an idle state (i.e. first power state to a connected state (i.e. second power state), for establishing or re-establishing synchronization with the eNB including receiving a timing advance parameter to compensate for the time it takes for uplink transmissions to reach the eNB, and during a handover process to a new cell; further see [0016] The random access procedure begins when the mobile (i.e. wireless device) transmits a random access preamble on the physical random access channel (PRACH)..; further see [0017] regarding … where the UE 200 is connected (i.e. discussed above using random access process) to MeNB 220 (i.e. first cell)); and
monitor, in the second power state and via the second cell, for downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a random access response (RAR) corresponding to the random access preamble (see [0017] and Fig. 4… allows the SeNB (i.e second cell) to estimate the transmission delay between the UE and SeNB for adjusting the uplink timing. This information is transmitted over a backhaul connection (e.g., X.sub.2 or X.sub.n interface to the MeNB 220). For Msg2, the MeNB 220 transmits the random access response (i.e. RAR) which includes a timing advance command to the UE 200 to allow it to adjust the timing of its uplink transmissions to SeNB 210 based on the timing estimate obtained ….and also assigns uplink resources (i.e. uplink grant) to the terminal to be used in the next message (i.e. this way UE monitors in the connected state (i.e. second power state) and via the SenB for… scheduling a random access response (RAR) corresponding to the random access preamble.). But Han fails to clearly state about DCI; however Han in [0018] teaches about a modification in Fig. 4 about … with reference FIG. 4 may include several modifications as compared with a conventional single-connectivity random access procedure. For example, the random access response (Msg2) is transmitted over the PDCCH using an RA-RNTI derived from the time-frequency resources used by the UE to transmit the random access preamble…….. Also, according to the LTE specifications for a single-connectivity random access procedure, the UE monitors for PDCCH for Msg2 in an RAR window that starts 3 ms; also refer [0014, 0022] in above discussed context. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Han to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein monitoring for DCI; greater way a standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 11, Han teaches as per claim 10, wherein the first power state comprises a power saving state; already discussed above idle state.
Regarding claim 12, Han teaches as per claim 10, wherein the second power state comprises an active state; already discussed above connected state.
Regarding claim 13, Han teaches as per claim 10, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the wireless device to receive, via a control resource set, the DCI scheduling the RAR, wherein the RAR indicates an uplink grant; already discussed above in claim 10’s citations uplink grant.
Regarding claim 14, Han teaches as per claim 13, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the wireless device to transmit uplink data via the second cell using the uplink grant; already discussed above see [0016- 0017] Msg 2 and 3.
Regarding claim 15, Han teaches as per claim 10, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the wireless device to monitor, via a control resource set and for the DCI, downlink control channels based on the second cell being in the second power state; already discussed regarding in connected state as a second power state and monitoring happens in that state.
Regarding claim 18, Han teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a wireless device, cause the wireless device to:
transmit a random access preamble via a first cell; in response to transmitting the random access preamble via the first cell, transition a second cell from a first power state to a second power state (see [0015]… . Random access may be used by a UE (i.e. wireless device) for several purposes including: for initial access to establish a connection with an eNB, for transitioning from an idle state (i.e. first power state to a connected state (i.e. second power state), for establishing or re-establishing synchronization with the eNB including receiving a timing advance parameter to compensate for the time it takes for uplink transmissions to reach the eNB, and during a handover process to a new cell; further see [0016] The random access procedure begins when the mobile (i.e. wireless device) transmits a random access preamble on the physical random access channel (PRACH)..; further see [0017] regarding … where the UE 200 is connected (i.e. discussed above using random access process) to MeNB 220 (i.e. first cell)); and
monitor, in the second power state and via the second cell, for downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a random access response (RAR) corresponding to the random access preamble (see [0017] and Fig. 4… allows the SeNB (i.e second cell) to estimate the transmission delay between the UE and SeNB for adjusting the uplink timing. This information is transmitted over a backhaul connection (e.g., X.sub.2 or X.sub.n interface to the MeNB 220). For Msg2, the MeNB 220 transmits the random access response (i.e. RAR) which includes a timing advance command to the UE 200 to allow it to adjust the timing of its uplink transmissions to SeNB 210 based on the timing estimate obtained ….and also assigns uplink resources (i.e. uplink grant) to the terminal to be used in the next message (i.e. this way UE monitors in the connected state (i.e. second power state) and via the SenB for… scheduling a random access response (RAR) corresponding to the random access preamble.). But Han fails to clearly state about DCI; however Han in [0018] teaches about a modification in Fig. 4 about … with reference FIG. 4 may include several modifications as compared with a conventional single-connectivity random access procedure. For example, the random access response (Msg2) is transmitted over the PDCCH using an RA-RNTI derived from the time-frequency resources used by the UE to transmit the random access preamble…….. Also, according to the LTE specifications for a single-connectivity random access procedure, the UE monitors for PDCCH for Msg2 in an RAR window that starts 3 ms; also refer [0014, 0022] in above discussed context. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Han to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein monitoring for DCI; greater way a standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 19, Han teaches as per claim 18, wherein the first power state comprises a power saving state; and wherein the second power state comprises an active state; already discussed above idle and connected state.
Claim(s) 7- 9, 16- 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US Pub. No. 2015/0215967 A1) in view of Amuru et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0296656 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Han teaches as per claim 1, but fails to state about , further comprising receiving one or more commands indicating transitioning from the second power state to the first power state for the second cell; however Amuru in context with [0012, 0047] states in [0117] about .. MAC-CE 1 activates Scell .. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Amuru with the teachings of Han to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein receiving one or more commands indicating transitioning from the second power state to the first power state for the second cell; greater way standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 8, Han in view of Amuru teaches as per claim 7, further comprising transitioning the second cell to the first power state based on the one or more commands; Amuru see [0117, 0233] activation/de-activation.
Regarding claim 9, Han in view of Amuru teaches as per claim 8, further comprising not monitoring, via a control resource set and for second DCI, downlink control channels based on the second cell being in the first power state; Han see [0015- 0017] wherein no -where it is discussed that it is monitored using second DCI.
Regarding claim 16, Han teaches as per claim 15, but fails to state about wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the wireless device to: receive one or more commands indicating transitioning from the second power state to the first power state for the second cell; and transition the second cell to the first power state based on the one or more commands; however Amuru in context with [0012, 0047] states in [0117] about .. MAC-CE 1 activates Scell .. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Amuru with the teachings of Han to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein receiving one or more commands indicating transitioning from the second power state to the first power state for the second cell; greater way standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 17, Han in view of Amuru teaches as per claim 16, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the wireless device not to monitor, via a control resource set for second DCI, the downlink control channels based on the second cell being in the first power state; Han see [0015- 0017] wherein no -where it is discussed that it is monitored using second DCI.
Regarding claim 20, Han in view of Amuru teaches as per claim 18, wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to:
receive one or more commands indicating transitioning from the second power state to the first power state for the second cell; transition the second cell to the first power state based on the one or more commands; and based on the second cell being in the first power state, not to monitor downlink control channels via a control resource set for second DCI; Han see [0015- 0017] wherein no -where it is discussed that it is monitored using second DCI. But Han is silent about receive one or more commands indicating transitioning from the second power state to the first power state for the second cell; transition the second cell to the first power state based on the one or more commands; however Amuru in context with [0012, 0047] states in [0117] about .. MAC-CE 1 activates Scell .. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Amuru with the teachings of Han to make system more standardized; further see [0117, 0233] activation/de-activation. Having a mechanism wherein receive one or more commands indicating transitioning from the second power state to the first power state for the second cell; transition the second cell to the first power state based on the one or more commands; greater way standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479