DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 10-12, 14-15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by He (2024/0188089).
Regarding claim 1, He discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on stored information that is stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination (See fig. 2), is configured to: receive a configuration for synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) associated with a secondary cell (SCell) for a transition period associated with a transition from a deactivated state of the SCell to an activated state of the SCell for the UE (See fig. 4, step 405 and par [0046-0048, 0051-0053); and measure, during the transition period associated with an activation of the SCell for the UE, a first set of SSBs from the SCell based on the configuration (See figs. 4-5 and par [0054, 0058-0061]).
Regarding claim 2, He discloses as cited in claim 1. He further discloses the first set of SSBs comprises a plurality of SSB bursts and the configuration indicates a frequency associated with the plurality of SSB bursts (See fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10, He discloses as cited in claim 1. He further discloses the first set of SSBs are used as reference for identifying a quasi-co-location (QCL) of a tracking reference signal associated with the SCell (See par [0060-0061, 0069]).
Regarding claim 11, He discloses as cited in claim 1. He further discloses the configuration is received from one of a primary cell (PCell), a primary SCell (PSCell), or an additional SCell (See fig. 4 and par [0046-0048]).
Regarding claim 12, He discloses as cited in claim 1. He further discloses a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, the transceiver being configured to receive the configuration via one or more of a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (MAC-CE) or downlink control information (DCI) (See fig. 4, step 425 and par [0053]).
Regarding claim 14, He discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network device, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on stored information that is stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination (See fig. 3), is configured to: output a configuration for synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) from a secondary cell (SCell) associated with a transition period from a deactivated state of the SCell to an activated state of the SCell for a user equipment (UE) (See fig. 4, step 405 and par [0046-0048, 0051-0053); and output, during the transition period associated with an activation of the SCell for the UE, a first set of SSBs from the SCell based on the configuration (See figs. 4-5 and par [0054, 0058-0061]).
Regarding claim 15, He discloses as cited in claim 14. He further discloses the first set of SSBs comprises a plurality of SSB bursts and the configuration indicates a frequency associated with the plurality of SSB bursts (See fig. 5).
Regarding claim 19, He discloses as cited in claim 14. He further discloses a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, the transceiver being configured to output the configuration via a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (MAC-CE) (See fig. 4, step 425 and par [0053]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9, 13, 16-18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 3-5, He discloses as cited in claim 1. However, He does not disclose that the configuration is a first configuration, and wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: receive a second configuration for SSBs associated with the SCell for an activated time period associated with the activated state of the SCell for the UE; and measure, during the activated time period, a second set of SSBs from the SCell based on the second configuration.
Regarding claim 6, He discloses as cited in claim 1. However, He does not disclose that the configuration further configures at least one of: a second set of SSBs for an activated time period associated with the activated state of the SCell, a third set of SSBs for a deactivated time period associated with the deactivated state of the SCell, or an absence of SSBs for the deactivated time period associated with the deactivated state of the SCell.
Regarding claim 7, He discloses as cited in claim 1. However, He does not disclose that the first set of SSBs from the SCell comprise a first set of SSB bursts associated with a first periodicity, wherein at least one SSB burst in the first set of SSB bursts is identified as a first SSB burst in a second set of SSBs associated with the SCell for an activated time period associated with the activated state of the SCell for the UE, wherein the second set of SSBs is associated with a second periodicity.
Regarding claim 8, He discloses as cited in claim 1. However, He does not disclose that the first set of SSBs is measured during a measurement window, and the configuration for the SSBs comprises an indication of a timing offset from an end of the measurement window for a first SSB in a second set of SSBs associated with the SCell for an activated time period associated with the activated state of the SCell for the UE.
Regarding claim 9, He discloses as cited in claim 1. However, He does not disclose that the configuration for the SSBs comprises an indication of a timing offset from an activation time to a first SSB in a second set of SSBs associated with the SCell for an activated time period associated with the activated state of the SCell for the UE.
Regarding claim 13, He discloses as cited in claim 1. However, He does not disclose that when cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) is configured, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: measure aperiodic SSB transmissions and periodic SSB transmissions during a non-active period of the cell DTX, skip measurement of the aperiodic SSB transmissions and the periodic SSB transmissions during the non-active period of the cell DTX, or skip measurement of the periodic SSB transmissions and measure the aperiodic SSB transmissions during the non-active period of the cell DTX.
Regarding claim 16, He discloses as cited in claim 14. However, He does not disclose that the first set of SSBs from the SCell comprise a first set of SSB bursts associated with a first periodicity, wherein at least one SSB burst in the first set of SSB bursts is identified as a first SSB burst in a second set of SSBs associated with the SCell for an activated time period associated with the activated state of the SCell for the UE, wherein the second set of SSBs is associated with a second periodicity.
Regarding claim 17, He discloses as cited in claim 14. However, He does not disclose that the first set of SSBs is measured during a measurement window, and the configuration for the SSBs comprises an indication of a timing offset from an end of the measurement window for a first SSB in a second set of SSBs associated with the SCell for an activated time period associated with the activated state of the SCell for the UE.
Regarding claim 18, He discloses as cited in claim 14. However, He does not disclose that the configuration for the SSBs comprises an indication of a timing offset from an activation time to a first SSB in a second set of SSBs associated with the SCell for an activated time period associated with the activated state of the SCell for the UE.
Regarding claim 20, He discloses as cited in claim 14. However, He does not disclose that when cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) is configured, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: transmit aperiodic SSB transmissions and periodic SSB transmissions during a non-active period of the cell DTX, skip transmission of the aperiodic SSB transmissions and the periodic SSB transmissions during the non-active period of the cell DTX, or skip transmission of the periodic SSB transmissions and transmit the aperiodic SSB transmissions during the non-active period of the cell DTX.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See PTO-892 for a listing of cited prior arts of record.
Conclusion
/TUAN A TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648