Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 13-16, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bruin-Slot et al (US 2021/0025597).
Regarding claim 1, Bruin-Slot discloses, an oven appliance defining a vertical, a lateral, and a transverse direction, (Fig 1 shows an oven having vertical, lateral and transverse directions) the oven appliance comprising:
a cooking chamber positioned within a cabinet (figs 1 and 2 show a cooking chamber within a cabinet);
a door rotatably mounted to the cabinet for providing selective access to the cooking chamber (door 82 is capable of being opened and closed, See Paragraph [0045]); and
a rotisserie assembly comprising (rotisserie assembly, See Paragraph [0093]):
a first spit support and a second spit support mounted in the cooking chamber and being spaced apart along the lateral direction (Fig 16 shows a first spit support 452 and a second spit support 464, which can be mounted in the chamber, See Paragraph [0092]);
a spit rod rotatably supported by the first spit support and the second spit support (spit rod 450 is supported by the first and second spit support); and
a motor assembly for engaging and selectively rotating the spit rod when the spit rod is in an installed position. (Motor assembly 158, See Paragraph [0092])
Regarding claim 2, Figs 16 and 17 show the first and second supports 452, 464, each having a notch 460, 466, See Paragraph [0092]) Regarding claim 3, Fig 18 shows a front vertical arm, as part of the spit support, and a rear arm and cross arm. Regarding claim 4, the rotisserie assembly has a base pan 130 which is slidably mounted in the cavity via tray sliding structures 34. Regarding claim 5, the oven chamber has first and second sidewalls spaced apart with ribs 34 for slidably receiving the rack 130.
Regarding claim 13, Bruin-Slot discloses, an oven appliance defining a vertical, a lateral, and a transverse direction, (Fig 1 shows an oven having vertical, lateral and transverse directions) the oven appliance comprising: a cooking chamber positioned within a cabinet (figs 1 and 2 show a cooking chamber within a cabinet); a rotisserie assembly comprising (rotisserie assembly, See Paragraph [0093]): a first spit support and a second spit support mounted in the cooking chamber and being spaced apart along the lateral direction (Fig 16 shows a first spit support 452 and a second spit support 464, which can be mounted in the chamber, See Paragraph [0092]); a spit rod rotatably supported by the first spit support and the second spit support (spit rod 450 is supported by the first and second spit support); and a motor assembly for engaging and selectively rotating the spit rod when the spit rod is in an installed position. (Motor assembly 158, See Paragraph [0092]) Regarding claim 14, Figs 16 and 17 show the first and second supports 452, 464, each having a notch 460, 466, See Paragraph [0092]) Regarding claim 15, Fig 18 shows a front vertical arm, as part of the spit support, and a rear arm and cross arm. Regarding claim 16, the oven chamber has first and second sidewalls spaced apart with ribs 34 for slidably receiving the rack 130.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruin-Slot et al (US 2021/0025597) in view of Jovanovic (US 4,810,856).
The teachings of Bruin-Slot have been discussed above. Bruin-Slot discloses a drip tray positioned below the spit, but fails to disclose the drip tray within a central aperture.
Jovanovic discloses a rotisserie assembly (See Fig 4) having a central aperture with a drip tray 23 located within the aperture and below the spit rod 25. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to adapt Bruin-Slot in view of Jovanovic to provide the drip tray positioned within the central aperture for collection of cooking juices for basting or making gravy.
Claim(s) 7, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruin-Slot et al (US 2021/0025597) in view of Kaliveh et al (US 7,587,973).
The teachings of Bruin-Slot have been discussed above. Bruin-Slot fails to disclose the rack having standoff feet.
However, Kaliveh discloses a rack for cooking, having standoff feet 30. (See Column 3, Lines 45-65) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to adapt Bruin-Slot in view of Kaliveh to provide the standoff feet for increased rigidity and airflow.
Claim(s) 8-11, 20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruin-Slot et al (US 2021/0025597) in view of Waltman (US 6,499,393).
The teachings of Bruin-Slot have been discussed above. Bruin-Slot fails to disclose a spit support bracket attached to a bottom end of each of the first spit support and the second spit support.
Waltman discloses a first and second spit support attached to a spit support bracket comprising open ends 20 of columns 18. (See Fig 2, Column 2, Lines 15-39).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to adapt Bruin-Slot in view of Waltman to provide a spit support bracket attached to a bottom end of each of the first spit support and the second spit support for allowing the spit supports and rod for being attached and removed from the rack.
Regarding claims 11 and 20, Bruin-Slot fails to disclose two necked regions. However Waltman discloses the spit rod defining two necked regions 62 and 66. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to adapt Bruin-Slot in view of Waltman to provide two necked regions on the spit rod for positioning the spit rod within the center portion of the frame.
Claim(s) 12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruin-Slot et al (US 2021/0025597) in view of Lee (US 6,998,593).
The teachings of Bruin-Slot have been discussed above. Bruin-Slot fails to disclose the motor assembly is mounted on one of a first sidewall or a second sidewall outside of the cooking chamber. Lee discloses a rotisserie assembly where the motor 130 is located outside the cooking chamber 110 as shown in Fig 1. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to adapt Bruin-Slot in view of Lee to provide the motor assembly is mounted on one of a first sidewall or a second sidewall outside of the cooking chamber since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
/BRIAN W JENNISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 8/17/2026