DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/05/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1,
Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the prior art Babaei paragraph [0163] does not disclose babaei receiving the configuration index and therefore is not aware of the multiple configurations.
However, the examiner disagrees because Babaei teaches the wireless device receiving multiple parameters (e.g. CG transmission opportunities) for the multiple CG configurations. Hence, the wireless device would have to differentiate between the different CG configurations for example via the CG configuration index. Babaei states:
[0163] In example embodiments, a wireless device may receive one or more messages (e.g., one or more RRC messages) comprising configuration parameters (e.g., RRC configuration parameters). In an example, the configuration parameters may comprise configured grant configuration parameters of one or more configured grant configurations (e.g., for a cell or a BWP of a cell configured for the wireless device). A configured grant configuration, in the one or more configured grant configurations, may be associated with a configured grant configuration index. The configuration parameters may comprise first configuration parameters of one or more cells. The one or more cells may be provided by a single base station in a single connectivity scenario and may be provided by a plurality of base stations in a multi-connectivity scenario (e.g., by two base stations in case of dual connectivity). The wireless device may communicate with the one or more base station and the transmitted and/or received data may include data associated with one or more extended reality (XR) applications.
[0164] In example embodiments as shown in FIG. 16, a wireless device may be provided/configured with a plurality of PUSCH transmission occasions in a configured grant period. The plurality of PUSCH transmission occasions may be within a configured grant (CG) period. In some cases, the plurality of PUSCH transmission occasions may be spaced with equal separation between consecutive PUSCH transmission occasions. In some cases, the plurality of PUSCH transmission occasions may be spaced with different separations between consecutive PUSCH transmission occasions. The wireless device may determine the PUSCH transmission occasions within a CG period based on one or more configuration parameters (e.g., one or more RRC configuration parameters, e.g., configured grant configuration parameters) and/or based on a DCI (e.g., a configured grant activation DCI indicating activation of configured grant configuration). For example, the wireless device may receive one or more configuration parameters and/or may receive a DCI (e.g., a configured grant configuration activation DCI comprising a field with a value) indicating a bitmap. Each bit in the bitmap may correspond to a slot within the CG period. A value of zero of a bit in the bitmap may indicate no PUSCH transmission occasion in the corresponding slot in the CG period. A value of one of a bit in the bitmap may indicate a PUSCH transmission occasion in the corresponding slot in the CG period. In an example, the plurality of PUSCH transmission occasions may be within the CG period of a single CG configuration. In an example, the plurality of PUSCH transmission occasions may be associated with a plurality of configured grant configurations. For example, a first PUSCH transmission occasion within the CG period may be associated with a first configured grant configuration and a second PUSCH transmission occasion within the CG period may be associated with a second configured grant configuration. The plurality of configured grant configurations, to which the PUSCH transmission occasions are associated with, may be associated with/have the same periodicity.
[0174] In an example embodiment as shown in FIG. 26, a wireless device may receive one or more messages comprising configuration parameters. The one or more messages may comprise one or more RRC messages. The configuration parameters may comprise first configuration parameters of a configured grant (CG) configuration. In an example, the configuration parameters may further comprise a second configuration parameter indicating a first number of bits in an uplink control information (UCI) unused transmission occasion (UTO) bitmap. The UCI UTO bitmap may be used for indication of one or more unused CG PUSCH transmission occasions in a plurality of CG PUSCH transmission occasions that are associated with the CG configuration. The wireless device may multiplex UTO-UCI (e.g., the plurality of bits of/representing the UCI-UTO) in a CG PUSCH transmission for/associated with the CG configuration. The CG PUSCH transmission in which the UTO-UCI is multiplexed may be transmitted via CG radio resources of/associated with the CG configuration. The CG radio resource may be determined based on the first configuration parameters of the CG configuration (e.g., in case the CG configuration is a type 1 CG configuration) or may be determined based on the first configuration parameters of the CG configuration and based on an activation DCI indicating activation of the CG configuration. The wireless device may determine, based on the first configuration parameters of the CG configuration, a plurality of CG PUSCH transmission occasions. The plurality of the CG PUSCH transmission occasions may be after/subsequent to the timing of the transmission of the CG PUSCH transmission/UTO-UCI. Each bit in the plurality of bits of the UTO-UCI bitmap may be mapped to/associated with a corresponding CG PUSCH transmission occasion subsequent to the PUSCH transmission carrying the UTO-UCI. The first number bits of the UTO-UCI may have a one-to-one mapping/association to the first number subsequent CG PUSCH transmission occasions in ascending order of start times. A first bit in the plurality of bits of the UTO-UCI may be associated with/correspond to a first CG PUSCH transmission occasion, in the plurality of CG PUSCH transmission occasions, and may have a first value. The first value of the first bit (e.g., a value of one) may indicate that the wireless device will not transmit CG PUSCH in the corresponding first CG PUSCH transmission occasion (e.g., the first CG PUSCH transmission occasion corresponding to the first bit). A second bit in the plurality of bits of the UTO-UCI may be associated with/correspond to a second CG PUSCH transmission occasion, in the plurality of CG PUSCH transmission occasions, and may have a second value. The second value (e.g., a value of zero) of the second bit may indicate that the wireless device may transmit CG PUSCH in the corresponding second CG PUSCH transmission occasion (e.g., the second CG PUSCH transmission occasion corresponding to the second bit).
In the above cited portions, it is clear the UTO-UCI is multiplexed with a PUSCH which is an uplink transmission to the base station (see fig. 26). The wireless device transmits the UTO-UCI indicating which transmission occasions are used/unused. For example, a first bit of 1 can be used to indicate the first CG PUSCH transmission occasion is unused, and a second bit with a value of 0 can be used to indicate that the second CG transmission occasion is being used by the wireless device. Furthermore, the first transmission occasion can be associated with a first CG configuration, and the second transmission occasion can be associated with a second CG configuration. One of ordinary skill in the art would interpret the above to teach the limitations of claim 1 “sending uplink control information (UCI) comprising: an indicated CG configuration of the plurality of CG configurations; and at least one bit field indicating whether a CG TO, indicated in the indicated CG is to be used or unused for uplink transmission.”
All other arguments are fully addressed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Babaei (Pub No 20240147478)
Regarding claim 1,
Babaei teaches method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, at least one message indicating a plurality of configured grant (CG) configurations, wherein each CG configuration, of the plurality of CG configurations, indicates at least one CG transmission occasion (TO) of a plurality of CG TOs; and (interpreted as A configured grant configuration, in the one or more configured grant configurations, may be associated with a configured grant configuration index, see para [0163]. Also see the configuration parameters may comprise first configuration parameters of a configured grant (CG) configuration. In an example, the configuration parameters may further comprise a second configuration parameter indicating a first number of bits in an uplink control information (UCI) unused transmission occasion (UTO) bitmap. The UCI UTO bitmap may be used for indication of one or more unused CG PUSCH transmission occasions in a plurality of CG PUSCH transmission occasions that are associated with the CG configuration, see para [0174])
sending uplink control information (UCI) comprising:
an indicated CG configuration of the plurality of CG configurations; and at least one bit field indicating whether a CG TO, indicated in the indicated CG configuration, is to be used or unused for uplink transmission. (Interpreted as the UCI UTO bitmap may be used for indication of one or more unused CG PUSCH transmission occasions in a plurality of CG PUSCH transmission occasions that are associated with the CG configuration. The wireless device may multiplex UTO-UCI (e.g., the plurality of bits of/representing the UCI-UTO) in a CG PUSCH transmission for/associated with the CG configuration. The CG PUSCH transmission in which the UTO-UCI is multiplexed may be transmitted via CG radio resources of/associated with the CG configuration. The CG radio resource may be determined based on the first configuration parameters of the CG configuration (e.g., in case the CG configuration is a type 1 CG configuration) or may be determined based on the first configuration parameters of the CG configuration and based on an activation DCI indicating activation of the CG configuration. The wireless device may determine, based on the first configuration parameters of the CG configuration, a plurality of CG PUSCH transmission occasions, see para [0174])
Regarding claim 10,
Babaei teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, a first configured grant (CG) configuration associated with a first CG index and a second CG configuration associated with a second CG index; (interpreted as A configured grant configuration, in the one or more configured grant configurations, may be associated with a configured grant configuration index, see para [0163])
skipping a first uplink transmission via at least one first CG resource indicated by the first CG configuration, wherein the skipping is based on the at least one first CG resource being indicated as to be unused; and sending a second uplink transmission via at least one second CG resource indicated by the second CG configuration, wherein the sending is based on the at least one second CG resource being indicated as to be used. (Interpreted as the UCI UTO bitmap may be used for indication of one or more unused CG PUSCH transmission occasions in a plurality of CG PUSCH transmission occasions that are associated with the CG configuration. The wireless device may multiplex UTO-UCI (e.g., the plurality of bits of/representing the UCI-UTO) in a CG PUSCH transmission for/associated with the CG configuration. The CG PUSCH transmission in which the UTO-UCI is multiplexed may be transmitted via CG radio resources of/associated with the CG configuration. The CG radio resource may be determined based on the first configuration parameters of the CG configuration (e.g., in case the CG configuration is a type 1 CG configuration) or may be determined based on the first configuration parameters of the CG configuration and based on an activation DCI indicating activation of the CG configuration. The wireless device may determine, based on the first configuration parameters of the CG configuration, a plurality of CG PUSCH transmission occasions, see para [0174])
Regarding claim 17,
Babaei teaches a method comprising:
sending, by a base station, at least one message indicating a plurality of configured grant (CG) configurations, wherein each CG configuration, of the plurality of CG configurations, indicates at least one CG transmission occasion (TO) of a plurality of CG TOs; and (interpreted as A configured grant configuration, in the one or more configured grant configurations, may be associated with a configured grant configuration index, see para [0163]. Also see the configuration parameters may comprise first configuration parameters of a configured grant (CG) configuration. In an example, the configuration parameters may further comprise a second configuration parameter indicating a first number of bits in an uplink control information (UCI) unused transmission occasion (UTO) bitmap. The UCI UTO bitmap may be used for indication of one or more unused CG PUSCH transmission occasions in a plurality of CG PUSCH transmission occasions that are associated with the CG configuration, see para [0174])
receiving uplink control information (UCI) comprising: an indicated CG configuration of the plurality of CG configurations; and at least one bit field indicating whether a CG TO indicated in the indicated CG configuration, is to be used or unused for uplink transmission. (Interpreted as the UCI UTO bitmap may be used for indication of one or more unused CG PUSCH transmission occasions in a plurality of CG PUSCH transmission occasions that are associated with the CG configuration. The wireless device may multiplex UTO-UCI (e.g., the plurality of bits of/representing the UCI-UTO) in a CG PUSCH transmission for/associated with the CG configuration. The CG PUSCH transmission in which the UTO-UCI is multiplexed may be transmitted via CG radio resources of/associated with the CG configuration. The CG radio resource may be determined based on the first configuration parameters of the CG configuration (e.g., in case the CG configuration is a type 1 CG configuration) or may be determined based on the first configuration parameters of the CG configuration and based on an activation DCI indicating activation of the CG configuration. The wireless device may determine, based on the first configuration parameters of the CG configuration, a plurality of CG PUSCH transmission occasions, see para [0174])
Regarding claim 2,
Babaei teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the UCI comprises a first index to indicate a first CG configuration as the indicated CG configuration. and (interpreted as A configured grant configuration, in the one or more configured grant configurations, may be associated with a configured grant configuration index, see para [0163]. Also see the configuration parameters may comprise first configuration parameters of a configured grant (CG) configuration. In an example, the configuration parameters may further comprise a second configuration parameter indicating a first number of bits in an uplink control information (UCI) unused transmission occasion (UTO) bitmap. The UCI UTO bitmap may be used for indication of one or more unused CG PUSCH transmission occasions in a plurality of CG PUSCH transmission occasions that are associated with the CG configuration, see para [0174])
Regarding claim 3,
Babaei teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: skipping, based on the sending the UCI, the uplink transmission via the CG TO indicated in the indicated CG configuration. (interpreted as the first value of the first bit (e.g., a value of one) may indicate that the wireless device will not transmit CG PUSCH in the corresponding first CG PUSCH transmission occasion (e.g., the first CG PUSCH transmission occasion corresponding to the first bit). A second bit in the plurality of bits of the UTO-UCI may be associated with/correspond to a second CG PUSCH transmission occasion, in the plurality of CG PUSCH transmission occasions, and may have a second value. The second value (e.g., a value of zero) of the second bit may indicate that the wireless device may transmit CG PUSCH in the corresponding second CG PUSCH transmission occasion (e.g., the second CG PUSCH transmission occasion corresponding to the second bit), see para [0174])
Regarding claim 5,
Babaei teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the at least one bit field comprises a first bit and a second bit; a first bit comprising a first value is associated with a first CG configuration; the first value indicates at least one CG TO is to be unused; a second bit comprising a second value is associated with a second CG configuration; and the second value indicates at least one CG TO is to be used. (interpreted as the first value of the first bit (e.g., a value of one) may indicate that the wireless device will not transmit CG PUSCH in the corresponding first CG PUSCH transmission occasion (e.g., the first CG PUSCH transmission occasion corresponding to the first bit). A second bit in the plurality of bits of the UTO-UCI may be associated with/correspond to a second CG PUSCH transmission occasion, in the plurality of CG PUSCH transmission occasions, and may have a second value. The second value (e.g., a value of zero) of the second bit may indicate that the wireless device may transmit CG PUSCH in the corresponding second CG PUSCH transmission occasion (e.g., the second CG PUSCH transmission occasion corresponding to the second bit), see para [0174])
Regarding claim 6,
Babaei teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining that the CG TO indicated in the indicated CG configuration is to be unused; selecting, based on the determining, a second CG TO indicated in the indicated CG configuration; and wherein the sending the UCI comprises sending the UCI via the second CG TO. (interpreted as an example, UCI can be reported on the PUSCH, see para [0149]). The first value of the first bit (e.g., a value of one) may indicate that the wireless device will not transmit CG PUSCH in the corresponding first CG PUSCH transmission occasion (e.g., the first CG PUSCH transmission occasion corresponding to the first bit). A second bit in the plurality of bits of the UTO-UCI may be associated with/correspond to a second CG PUSCH transmission occasion, in the plurality of CG PUSCH transmission occasions, and may have a second value. The second value (e.g., a value of zero) of the second bit may indicate that the wireless device may transmit CG PUSCH in the corresponding second CG PUSCH transmission occasion (e.g., the second CG PUSCH transmission occasion corresponding to the second bit), see para [0174])
Regarding claim 7,
Babaei teaches the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the at least one message comprises receiving a first CG configuration and a second CG configuration; and wherein the method further comprises: activating the first CG configuration and the second CG configuration. (Interpreted as multi-PUSCH transmission per packet may be used to support XR and CG services. In an example, the CG configuration may support multiple PUSCH transmission occasions in each period. In an example, a UE may have multiple CG configurations, one or more of which may be fast activated, see para [0157])
Regarding claim 8,
Babaei teaches the method of claim 1, wherein sending the UCI comprises sending the UCI via an uplink source, and wherein the uplink source is at least one of: a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resource; or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource. (interpreted as an example, UCI can be reported on the PUSCH, see para [0149]). The first value of the first bit (e.g., a value of one) may indicate that the wireless device will not transmit CG PUSCH in the corresponding first CG PUSCH transmission occasion (e.g., the first CG PUSCH transmission occasion corresponding to the first bit). A second bit in the plurality of bits of the UTO-UCI may be associated with/correspond to a second CG PUSCH transmission occasion, in the plurality of CG PUSCH transmission occasions, and may have a second value. The second value (e.g., a value of zero) of the second bit may indicate that the wireless device may transmit CG PUSCH in the corresponding second CG PUSCH transmission occasion (e.g., the second CG PUSCH transmission occasion corresponding to the second bit), see para [0174])
Regarding claim 9,
Babaei teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: starting, based on sending the UCI, a timer; and skipping, based on the timer, the CG TO indicated by the CG configuration. (interpreted as For example, a timer may be used by the wireless device and/or base station to determine a time window [t1, t2], wherein the timer is started at time t1 and expires at time t2 and the wireless device and/or the base station may be interested in and/or monitor the time window [t1, t2], for example to receive a specific signaling. Other examples of implementation of a timer may be provided, see para [0118]. Also see the first value of the first bit (e.g., a value of one) may indicate that the wireless device will not transmit CG PUSCH in the corresponding first CG PUSCH transmission occasion (e.g., the first CG PUSCH transmission occasion corresponding to the first bit). A second bit in the plurality of bits of the UTO-UCI may be associated with/correspond to a second CG PUSCH transmission occasion, in the plurality of CG PUSCH transmission occasions, and may have a second value. The second value (e.g., a value of zero) of the second bit may indicate that the wireless device may transmit CG PUSCH in the corresponding second CG PUSCH transmission occasion (e.g., the second CG PUSCH transmission occasion corresponding to the second bit), see para [0174])
Regarding claim 11,
Babaei teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising: sending an indication comprising a bitmap, wherein: the bitmap indicates at least a first bit comprising a first value and a second bit comprising a second value; and the first bit is associated with the first CG configuration, and the second bit is associated with the second CG configuration. (Interpreted as the plurality of the CG PUSCH transmission occasions may be after/subsequent to the timing of the transmission of the CG PUSCH transmission/UTO-UCI. Each bit in the plurality of bits of the UTO-UCI bitmap may be mapped to/associated with a corresponding CG PUSCH transmission occasion subsequent to the PUSCH transmission carrying the UTO-UCI. The first number bits of the UTO-UCI may have a one-to-one mapping/association to the first number subsequent CG PUSCH transmission occasions in ascending order of start times. A first bit in the plurality of bits of the UTO-UCI may be associated with/correspond to a first CG PUSCH transmission occasion, in the plurality of CG PUSCH transmission occasions, and may have a first value. The first value of the first bit (e.g., a value of one) may indicate that the wireless device will not transmit CG PUSCH in the corresponding first CG PUSCH transmission occasion (e.g., the first CG PUSCH transmission occasion corresponding to the first bit). A second bit in the plurality of bits of the UTO-UCI may be associated with/correspond to a second CG PUSCH transmission occasion, in the plurality of CG PUSCH transmission occasions, and may have a second value. The second value (e.g., a value of zero) of the second bit may indicate that the wireless device may transmit CG PUSCH in the corresponding second CG PUSCH transmission occasion (e.g., the second CG PUSCH transmission occasion corresponding to the second bit), see para [0174])
Regarding claim 12,
Babaei teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising: sending an indication, comprising the first CG index associated with the first CG configuration, to indicate that the at least one first CG resource is to be unused. (Interpreted as A configured grant configuration, in the one or more configured grant configurations, may be associated with a configured grant configuration index, see para [0163]. Also see the configuration parameters may comprise first configuration parameters of a configured grant (CG) configuration. In an example, the configuration parameters may further comprise a second configuration parameter indicating the first number of bits in an uplink control information (UCI) unused transmission occasion (UTO) bitmap. The UCI UTO bitmap may be used for indication of one or more unused CG PUSCH transmission occasions in a plurality of CG PUSCH transmission occasions that are associated with the CG configuration, see para [0174])
Regarding claim 13,
Babaei teaches the method of claim 10, wherein each of the first CG configuration and the second CG configuration indicates periodic CG resources. (Interpreted as multiple PUSCH transmission occasions may be included within a period. In an example, multiple PUSCH transmission occasions within a period may be based on configuring multiple CG configurations with same periodicity and different starting times, each of which may correspond to a single PUSCH transmission occasion within a period. In an example, multiple PUSCH transmission occasions within a period may be based on configuring one CG configuration enhanced with multiple PUSCH transmission occasions within a period. In an example, resources for CG in a period may be excessively allocated, see para [0151])
Regarding claim 14,
Babaei teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising: receiving by the wireless device: a first set of CG configurations comprising a configuration parameter of an indication; and a second set of CG configurations not comprising the configuration parameter of the indication. (Interpreted as multiple PUSCH transmission occasions may be included within a period. In an example, multiple PUSCH transmission occasions within a period may be based on configuring multiple CG configurations with same periodicity and different starting times, each of which may correspond to a single PUSCH transmission occasion within a period. In an example, multiple PUSCH transmission occasions within a period may be based on configuring one CG configuration enhanced with multiple PUSCH transmission occasions within a period. In an example, resources for CG in a period may be excessively allocated, see para [0151])
Regarding claim 15,
Babaei teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising: receiving a configuration for an unused CGO indication, wherein the configuration indicates an association between the unused CGO indication and the at least one first CG resource indicated by the first CG configuration; and sending, based on the configuration for the unused CGO indication, the unused CGO indication. (Interpreted as A configured grant configuration, in the one or more configured grant configurations, may be associated with a configured grant configuration index, see para [0163]. Also see the configuration parameters may comprise first configuration parameters of a configured grant (CG) configuration. In an example, the configuration parameters may further comprise a second configuration parameter indicating a first number of bits in an uplink control information (UCI) unused transmission occasion (UTO) bitmap. The UCI UTO bitmap may be used for indication of one or more unused CG PUSCH transmission occasions in a plurality of CG PUSCH transmission occasions that are associated with the CG configuration, see para [0174])
Regarding claim 18,
Babaei teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the receiving the UCI comprises receiving, from a first wireless device, the UCI; and wherein the method further comprises: reallocating the first CG TO for a second wireless device. (interpreted as the UE may indicate to the gNB the unused PUSCH occasions within one CG period, so that gNB may re-allocate the unused PUSCH occasions to other UEs to avoid resource waste, see para [0150])
Regarding claim 19,
Babaei teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the sending the plurality of CG configurations comprises sending a first CG configuration and a second CG configuration; and wherein the receiving the UCI comprises: receiving, based on the at least one CG TO determined to be unused for the uplink transmission, the UCI. (interpreted as an example, UCI can be reported on the PUSCH, see para [0149]). The first value of the first bit (e.g., a value of one) may indicate that the wireless device will not transmit CG PUSCH in the corresponding first CG PUSCH transmission occasion (e.g., the first CG PUSCH transmission occasion corresponding to the first bit). A second bit in the plurality of bits of the UTO-UCI may be associated with/correspond to a second CG PUSCH transmission occasion, in the plurality of CG PUSCH transmission occasions, and may have a second value. The second value (e.g., a value of zero) of the second bit may indicate that the wireless device may transmit CG PUSCH in the corresponding second CG PUSCH transmission occasion (e.g., the second CG PUSCH transmission occasion corresponding to the second bit), see para [0174])
Regarding claim 20,
Babaei teaches the method of claim 17, further comprising: receiving second UCI comprising: an indication indicating a second CG configuration of the plurality of CG configurations; and at least one bit field indicating whether a second CG TO, indicated by the second CG configuration, is to be used or unused for transmission. (interpreted as UCI can be reported on the PUSCH, see para [0149]). The first value of the first bit (e.g., a value of one) may indicate that the wireless device will not transmit CG PUSCH in the corresponding first CG PUSCH transmission occasion (e.g., the first CG PUSCH transmission occasion corresponding to the first bit). A second bit in the plurality of bits of the UTO-UCI may be associated with/correspond to a second CG PUSCH transmission occasion, in the plurality of CG PUSCH transmission occasions, and may have a second value. The second value (e.g., a value of zero) of the second bit may indicate that the wireless device may transmit CG PUSCH in the corresponding second CG PUSCH transmission occasion (e.g., the second CG PUSCH transmission occasion corresponding to the second bit), see para [0174])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei (Pub No 20240147478) further in view of Babaei (Pat No 10965434)
Regarding claim 4,
Babaei teaches the method of claim 1, however does not teach wherein: the plurality of CG configurations are grouped into one or more CG groups; and the indicated CG configuration is indicated by a group identifier of a first CG group of the one or more CG groups, wherein the group identifier is associated with a first CG configuration.
Babaei’34 teaches wherein: the plurality of CG configurations are grouped into one or more CG groups; and the indicated CG configuration is indicated by a group identifier of a first CG group of the one or more CG groups, wherein the group identifier is associated with a first CG configuration. (Interpreted as the one or more third bits may be used to identify one or more configured grant configurations. The one or more third bits may indicate a single configured grant configuration index or an identifier of a group of one or more configured grant configurations. In an example, the group of one or more configured grant configurations may be for one cell (or a BWP of one cell), see col 35 line 3-10)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the CG configuration index taught by Babaei with the CG configuration group identifier as taught by Babaei’34 with the motivation being to indicate the multiple configurations at once instead of using multiple indices.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei (Pub No 20240147478) further in view of Xu (Pub No 20240276497)
Regarding claim 16,
Babaei teaches the method of claim 10, however does not teach further comprising determining that the at least one first CG resource is to be unused by determining whether: there is no uplink data for transmission; or a first size of uplink data is smaller than a second size of the at least one first CG resource.
Xu teaches further comprising determining that the at least one first CG resource is to be unused by determining whether: there is no uplink data for transmission; or a first size of uplink data is smaller than a second size of the at least one first CG resource. (Interpreted as in other words, the UE 115 may skip a CG-PUSCH occasion if the UE 115 does not have any uplink data to transmit within a message buffer. In some aspects, a parameter skipUplinkTxDynamic (which may be configured via RRC) may be used to indicate whether a UE 115 supports skipping an uplink transmission for an uplink grant indicated on PDCCH if no data is available for transmission, see para [0118])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the unused transmission opportunity taught by Babaei with the no uplink data for unused transmission opportunity as taught by Xu with the motivation being not waste resources when there is no data available.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461