DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 11-13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bruin-Slot et al. (US20210025597).
Regarding claim 1, Bruin-Slot teaches an oven appliance (cooking appliance 10 with oven cavity connector 12; Figure 1) defining a vertical, a lateral, and a transverse direction ([0038] According to the various embodiments, the cooking appliance 10 can include a plurality of sidewalls 16 and a rear wall 18 that define a heating cavity 20), the oven appliance comprising:
a cooking chamber (heating cavity 20; Figure 1) positioned within a cabinet ([0038] cooking appliance 10 can include a plurality of sidewalls 16 and a rear wall 18 that define a heating cavity 20);
a door (appliance door 190; Figure 1) rotatably mounted to the cabinet for providing selective access to the cooking chamber ([0056] The at least one operable door 82 can be biased toward the idle state 84 by a biasing mechanism 200, such as a spring, living hinge, tensioned mechanism, or other biasing mechanism 200. The at least one operable door 82 is adapted to be biased inward into the connector interior 72 and toward an engaged state 86 when the connecting plug 32 of one of the powered accessory trays 14 is engaged with the oven cavity connector 12); and
a rotisserie assembly (rotisserie insert 148; Figure 16- 22) comprising:
a spit rod (linear member 482 of spit 160; Figure 16) rotatably mounted within the cooking chamber ([0096] the motor assembly 158 is placed in communication with an electrical system of the cooking appliance 10 and the motor assembly 158 operates to rotate the spit 160 and the food item 276 to be cooked over the base pan 130) and defining an axial direction (perpendicular to radial direction) and a radial direction (axis along which the spit rod is rotating); and
a rotisserie fork assembly (operable tines 480; Figure 16 and Figure 17) mounted on the spit rod ([0094] The securing mechanism 486 of the operable tines 480 can be biased in a downward direction through a spring mechanism 488 or other biasing member… the handle portion of the operable tines 480 can include a release 490 that allows the user to operate the release 490 for operating the securing mechanism 486 to disengage the handle assembly 484 from securing grooves 492 disposed within the linear member 482 of the spit 160) and being slidable along the axial direction ([0092] first end 458 of the rotisserie tool 450 is slidably engaged with a rotisserie tool notch 460 that slidably receives a first end 458 of the rotisserie tool 450 to position the first end 458 of the rotisserie tool 450 within a rotational portion 462 of the motor assembly 158; Figure 18 and Figure 19), the rotisserie fork assembly comprising a plurality of tines (operable tines 480; Figure 16 to Figure 19) that are adjustable along the radial direction ([0094] spit 160 can include operable tines 480 that are slidably operable along the linear member 482 of the spit 160 where the operable tines 480 are configured to engage and, typically, be inserted into a food item 276 to be cooked within the powered accessory tray 14 having the rotisserie insert 148).
Regarding claim 6, Bruin-Slot teaches the oven appliance of claim 1, wherein the plurality of tines are L-shaped (see annotated Figure 20 below).
Regarding claim 11, Bruin-Slot teaches the oven appliance of claim 1, wherein fork assembly is a first fork assembly and the rotisserie assembly further comprises:
a second fork assembly identical to the first fork assembly (see Figure 22).
Regarding claim 12, Bruin-Slot teaches the oven appliance of claim 1, further comprising:
a rotisserie rack (bottom plate 324 of the base pan 13; Figure 16) slidably mounted within the cooking chamber ([0043]); and
a first spit support (motor arm 452; Figure 16) and a second spit support (idler arm 464; Figure 16) mounted to the rotisserie rack (see Figure 16),
wherein the spit rod is rotatably mounted to the first spit support and the second spit support ([0092] When so engaged, the motor assembly 158 can be placed in rotational communication with various rotational mechanisms, including, but not limited to, a stirring mechanism, rollers, a rotisserie tool 450, combinations thereof and other similar rotational mechanisms. The rotisserie tool 450 can include a motor arm 452 that extends upward from a plug housing 454… idler arm 464 that includes a secondary notch 466 that receives the second end 468 of the rotisserie tool 450 and substantially secures the second end 468 of the rotisserie tool 450 in a similar fashion to that of the first end 458 of the rotisserie tool 450 within the rotisserie tool notch 460 of the motor assembly 158).
Regarding claim 13, Bruin-Slot teaches a rotisserie assembly (rotisserie insert 148; Figure 16- 22) for an oven appliance (cooking appliance 10 with oven cavity connector 12; Figure 1), the oven appliance comprising a cooking chamber positioned within a cabinet ([0038] cooking appliance 10 can include a plurality of sidewalls 16 and a rear wall 18 that define a heating cavity 20), the rotisserie assembly comprising:
a spit rod (linear member 482 of spit 160; Figure 16) rotatably mounted within the cooking chamber ([0096] the motor assembly 158 is placed in communication with an electrical system of the cooking appliance 10 and the motor assembly 158 operates to rotate the spit 160 and the food item 276 to be cooked over the base pan 130) and defining an axial direction (perpendicular to radial direction) and a radial direction (axis along which the spit rod is rotating); and
a rotisserie fork assembly (operable tines 480; Figure 16 and Figure 17) mounted on the spit rod ([0094] The securing mechanism 486 of the operable tines 480 can be biased in a downward direction through a spring mechanism 488 or other biasing member… the handle portion of the operable tines 480 can include a release 490 that allows the user to operate the release 490 for operating the securing mechanism 486 to disengage the handle assembly 484 from securing grooves 492 disposed within the linear member 482 of the spit 160) and being slidable along the axial direction ([0092] first end 458 of the rotisserie tool 450 is slidably engaged with a rotisserie tool notch 460 that slidably receives a first end 458 of the rotisserie tool 450 to position the first end 458 of the rotisserie tool 450 within a rotational portion 462 of the motor assembly 158; Figure 18 and Figure 19), the rotisserie fork assembly comprising a plurality of tines (operable tines 480; Figure 16 to Figure 19) that are adjustable along the radial direction ([0094] spit 160 can include operable tines 480 that are slidably operable along the linear member 482 of the spit 160 where the operable tines 480 are configured to engage and, typically, be inserted into a food item 276 to be cooked within the powered accessory tray 14 having the rotisserie insert 148).
Regarding claim 20, Bruin-Slot teaches the rotisserie assembly of claim 13, wherein fork assembly is a first fork assembly and the rotisserie assembly further comprises: a second fork assembly identical to the first fork assembly (see Figure 22).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 7-10, and 14-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The closest prior art is Bruin-Slot et al. (US20210025597), Halstead (US1952433), and Backus et al. (US20030019368).
Regarding claim 2 and claim 14, Bruin-Slot teaches the oven appliance of claim 1 and the rotisserie assembly of claim 13.
Further, Bruin-Slot teaches wherein the rotisserie fork assembly comprises: a disk and a cylinder for engaging the tines (see Figure 20). However, Bruin-Slot fails to teach an inner disk and an outer disk that define a plurality of annular grooves, each of the annular grooves defining a different diameter measured along the radial direction.
Halstead teaches circular rims forming annular grooves defining a different diameter measured along the radial direction (See Figure 3). However, Halstead fails to teach an inner disk and an outer disk that define a plurality of annular grooves.
Backus teaches an inner disk and an outer disk (spit plate 172 and spit support base 194 in Figure 11). However, the inner disk and outer disk of Backus do not have annular grooves (where grooves are interpreted as a long narrow channel or depression) defining a different diameter measured along the radial direction.
Therefore, Bruin-Slot, Halstead, and Backus fail to teach to or suggest all the limitations of claim 2 and claim 14.
Claims 3-5 and claims 7-10 depend from claim 2 and are, therefore, allowed.
Claims 15-19 depend from claim 14 and are, therefore, allowed.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/444,370 in view of Bruin--Slot et al. (US20210025597).
Regarding claim 1, copending Application teaches an oven appliance defining a vertical, a lateral, and a transverse direction (see line 1-2 of copending Application), the oven appliance comprising:
a cooking chamber positioned within a cabinet (See line 3 of copending Application);
a door rotatably mounted to the cabinet for providing selective access to the cooking chamber (see line 4-5 of copending Application); and
a rotisserie assembly (see line 6 of copending Application) comprising:
a spit rod rotatably mounted within the cooking chamber and defining an axial direction and a radial direction (see line 9-12 of copending Application).
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to rotisserie assemblies, Bruin-Slot teaches a rotisserie fork assembly mounted on the spit rod and being slidable along the axial direction, the rotisserie fork assembly comprising a plurality of tines that are adjustable along the radial direction (see rejection of claim 1 and claim 14 above). Tines allow for the mounted product to be secured ([0093] Referring again to FIGS. 16-26, the rotisserie insert 148 can include various rotisserie tools 450 that can include, but are not limited to, a spit 160, a rotisserie cage 162, securing tines).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the rotisserie assembly of copending Application to comprise a rotisserie fork assembly mounted on the spit rod and being slidable along the axial direction, the rotisserie fork assembly comprising a plurality of tines that are adjustable along the radial direction, as taught by Bruin-Slot for the benefit of securing the mounted product.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/ARIELLA MACHNESS/Examiner, Art Unit 1743