DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
This Office Action is in response to the amended application filed on December 11, 2025. The Remarks of December 11, 2025 have been fully considered and are addressed as follows.
The Remarks regarding the objections to the Drawings are considered and the replacement sheets to Figs. 14, 15A-B, and 16A-B are accepted. There are no further objections to the Drawings.
The Remarks regarding the objections to the Specification are considered and the respective amendments are accepted. There are no further objections to the Specification.
The Remarks regarding the objections to the Claims are considered and the respective amendments to claim 8 are accepted. There are no further objections to the Claims.
The Remarks regarding the 103 rejections of the claims are considered. The examiner finds the applicant arguments persuasive. Further, the examiner agrees that the cited prior art references do not teach or suggest the first antenna element and the second antenna element have edge portions, corner portions, or both removed. Therefore, the amendments to claims 1, 8, and 15 overcome the original 103 rejections to these claims and their respective dependent claims.
The applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 8, and 15 necessitate new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-10, 12, 15-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanchez et al. (US 20230187848 A1, hereinafter Sanchez) in view of Sudo et al. (US 20220328971 A1, hereinafter Sudo), McCarrick et al. (US 20090051598 A1, hereinafter McCarrick), and Balanis (“Antenna Theory, Analysis and Design”, 2nd Edition, 1997).
Regarding claim 1, Sanchez teaches (Figs. 1A, 1B; [0056]; [0058], lines 28-34; [0064]; [0067], lines 1-3; [0069], lines 1-3) an apparatus (102) comprising:
a first substrate including a first antenna element (104a) configured to support a first frequency band and a second frequency band higher than the first frequency band ([0058], lines 1-3 and 28-38), the first substrate including a first dielectric material having a first dielectric constant (regarding the first substrate, see annotated Fig. 1B in Sanchez below; a “dielectric constant” is inherent);
a second substrate including a second antenna element (104b) configured to support the first frequency band and the second frequency band ([0058], lines 1-3 and 28-38), the second substrate including the first dielectric material (regarding the second substrate, see annotated Fig. 1B in Sanchez below); and
a third substrate disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate, and including a third antenna element (106a) configured to support the second frequency band (regarding the third antenna element supporting the second frequency band, see [0067], lines 1-3 and [0069], lines 1-3; regarding the third substrate, see annotated Fig. 1B in Sanchez below).
Sanchez does not explicitly teach the limitations wherein the first antenna element and the second antenna element are configured to form a first beam in the first frequency band, and wherein the first antenna element, the second antenna element, and the third antenna element are configured to form a second beam in the second frequency band.
However, Sanchez teaches ([0044]) that some embodiments relate to antenna arrays. Further, Sanchez teaches ([0063], lines 14) that the apparatus (102) is an antenna array. Further, Sanchez teaches (Fig. 16, [0260]) beams formed by an antenna array. Furthermore, it is well-known in the art that two or more elements of an antenna arrays can form beams in the frequency band(s) supported by these elements; the third substrate includes a second dielectric material having a second dielectric constant lower than the first dielectric constant; and the first antenna element and the second antenna element have edge portions, corner portions, or both removed.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sanchez, so that the first antenna element and the second antenna element are configured to form a first beam in the first frequency band, and the first antenna element, the second antenna element, and the third antenna element are configured to form a second beam in the second frequency band. This modification would provide an apparatus (antenna array) with scanning performance for the respective band (see [0260]).
The modified Sanchez does not teach the limitation wherein the third substrate includes a second dielectric material having a second dielectric constant lower than the first dielectric constant and the first antenna element and the second antenna element have edge portions, corner portions, or both removed.
Sudo teaches (Figs. 16-17; [0138]) a substrate (1402) including an antenna element (132C), wherein the substrate includes a dielectric material with a first dielectric constant e2, and a second substrate (1401) including an antenna element (131C), wherein the substrate includes a dielectric material with a second dielectric constant e1, lower than the first dielectric constant.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sanchez so that the third substrate includes a second dielectric material having a second dielectric constant lower than the first dielectric constant as taught by Sudo. This modification would result in an apparatus with a greater bandwidth in the frequency band supported by the three antenna elements (see Sudo, [0139]).
The modified Sanchez does not teach the limitation wherein the first antenna element and the second antenna element have edge portions, corner portions, or both removed.
McCarrick (Fig. 4) teaches an antenna element having edge portions removed.
Balanis (Fig. 14.34a) teaches an antenna element having corner portions removed.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sanchez so that the first antenna element and the second antenna element have edge portions, corner portions, or both removed as taught by McCarrick and Balanis. The modification in which the first antenna element and the second antenna element have edge portions removed would result in an apparatus having antenna elements with smaller size (see McCarrick, Abstract). The modification in which the first antenna element and the second antenna element have corner portions removed would result in an apparatus having antenna elements with circular polarization (see Balanis, p. 771, last paragraph and p. 772, Fig. 14.34 caption) which, as is well-known in the art, would be beneficial in preserving the polarization of the signals transmitted by the antennas, particularly in strongly scattering environments.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Sanchez teaches the apparatus of claim 1 as addressed above.
The modified Sanchez does not explicitly teach the limitation wherein the first frequency band is between 7 GHz and 24 GHz, and the second frequency band is higher than 24 GHz.
However, Sanchez teaches ([0045], lines 1-6), antenna elements operating in a 20-300 GHz frequency band and in a 30-300 GHz frequency band. Furthermore, it is well-known in the art that, by changing the dimensions of an antenna element and the properties of the dielectric medium surrounding it, the antenna element can support different frequency bands.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sanchez, so that the first frequency band is between 7 GHz and 24 GHz, and the second frequency band is higher than 24 GHz. This modification would provide an apparatus which operates in the desired frequency bands (see Sanchez, [0046]). Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 3, the modified Sanchez teaches the apparatus of claim 1 as addressed above.
The modified Sanchez further teaches (Figs. 1A, 1B) a fourth substrate (126) disposed under the first substrate, the second substrate, and the third substrate such that the first substrate, the second substrate, and the third substrate are disposed on a first side of the fourth substrate (regarding the first side of the fourth substrate, see annotated Fig. 1B in Sanchez above).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Sanchez teaches the apparatus of claim 1 as addressed above.
The modified Sanchez further teaches ([0060], lines 15-20; [0063], lines 6-11) each of the first antenna element, the second antenna element, and the third antenna element is configured to support a horizontal polarization and a vertical polarization.
Regarding claim 8, Sanchez teaches (Figs. 1A, 1B, 19; [0056]; [0058], lines 28-34; [0064]; [0067], lines 1-3; [0069], lines 1-3; [0280]) an electronic device (Fig. 19 – 1930) comprising:
a multiple input multiple output (MIMO) antenna (Fig. 19 – 1946a, 1946b) including:
a first substrate including a first antenna element (Figs. 1A, 1B – 104a) configured to support a first frequency band and a second frequency band higher than the first frequency band ([0058], lines 1-3 and 28-38), the first substrate including a first dielectric material having a first dielectric constant (regarding the first substrate, see annotated Fig. 1B in Sanchez above; a “dielectric constant” is inherent);
a second substrate including a second antenna element (Figs. 1A, 1B – 104b) configured to support the first frequency band and the second frequency band higher than the first frequency band ([0058], lines 1-3 and 28-38), the second substrate including the first dielectric material (regarding the second substrate, see annotated Fig. 1B in Sanchez above); and
a third substrate disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate, and including a third antenna element (Figs. 1A, 1B – 106a) configured to support the second frequency band (regarding the third antenna element supporting the second frequency band, see [0067], lines 1-3 and [0069], lines 1-3; regarding the third substrate, see annotated Fig. 1B in Sanchez above),
transmit (TX) processing circuitry (Fig. 19 – 1940) configured to provide signals to the first antenna element, the second antenna elements, and the third antenna elements, and
receive (RX) processing circuitry (Fig. 19 – 1942) configured to receive signals from the first antenna element, the second antenna element, and the third antenna element.
Sanchez does not explicitly teach the limitations wherein the first antenna element and the second antenna element are configured to form a first beam in the first frequency band, and wherein the first antenna element, the second antenna element, and the third antenna element are configured to form a second beam in the second frequency band; the third substrate includes a second dielectric material having a second dielectric constant lower than the first dielectric constant; and wherein the first antenna element and the second antenna element have edge portions, corner portions, or both removed.
However, Sanchez teaches ([0044]) that some embodiments relate to antenna arrays. Further, Sanchez teaches ([0063], lines 14) that the antenna (102) is an antenna array. Further, Sanchez teaches (Fig. 16, [0260]) beams formed by an antenna array. Furthermore, it is well-known in the art that two or more elements of an antenna arrays can form beams in the frequency band(s) supported by these elements.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sanchez so that the first antenna element and the second antenna element are configured to form a first beam in the first frequency band, and the first antenna element, the second antenna element, and the third antenna element are configured to form a second beam in the second frequency band. This modification would provide an antenna with scanning performance for the respective bands (see abstract and [0260]).
The modified Sanchez does not teach the limitation wherein the third substrate includes a second dielectric material having a second dielectric constant lower than the first dielectric constant and wherein the first antenna element and the second antenna element have edge portions, corner portions, or both removed.
Sudo teaches (Figs. 16-17; [0138]) a substrate (1402) including an antenna element (132C), wherein the substrate includes a dielectric material with a first dielectric constant e2, and a second substrate (1401) including an antenna element (131C), wherein the substrate includes a dielectric material with a second dielectric constant e1, lower than the first dielectric constant.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Sudo to modify Sanchez so that the third substrate includes a second dielectric material having a second dielectric constant lower than the first dielectric constant. This modification would result in a MIMO antenna with a greater bandwidth in the frequency band supported by the three antenna elements (see Sudo, [0139]).
The modified Sanchez does not teach the limitation wherein the first antenna element and the second antenna element have edge portions, corner portions, or both removed.
McCarrick (Fig. 4) teaches an antenna element having edge portions removed.
Balanis (Fig. 14.34a) teaches an antenna element having corner portions removed.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sanchez so that the first antenna element and the second antenna element have edge portions, corner portions, or both removed as taught by McCarrick and Balanis. The modification in which the first antenna element and the second antenna element have edge portions removed would result in a MIMO antenna having antenna elements with smaller size (see McCarrick, Abstract). The modification in which the first antenna element and the second antenna element have corner portions removed would result in a MIMO antenna having antenna elements with circular polarization (see Balanis, p. 771, last paragraph and p. 772, Fig. 14.34 caption) which, as is well-known in the art, would be beneficial in preserving the polarization of the signals transmitted by the antennas, particularly in strongly scattering environments.
Regarding claim 9, the modified Sanchez teaches the electronic device of claim 8 as addressed above.
The modified Sanchez does not explicitly teach the limitation wherein the first frequency band is between 7 GHz and 24 GHz, and the second frequency band is higher than 24 GHz.
However, Sanchez teaches ([0045], lines 1-6), antenna elements operating in a 20-300 GHz frequency band and in a 30-300 GHz frequency band. Furthermore, it is well-known in the art that, by changing the dimensions of an antenna element and the properties of the dielectric medium surrounding it, the antenna element can support different frequency bands.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sanchez, so that the first frequency band is between 7 GHz and 24 GHz, and the second frequency band is higher than 24 GHz. This modification would provide a MIMO antenna which operates in the desired frequency bands (see Sanchez, [0046]). Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 10, the modified Sanchez teaches the electronic device of claim 8 as addressed above.
The modified Sanchez further teaches (Figs. 1A, 1B) a fourth substrate (126) disposed under the first substrate, the second substrate, and the third substrate such that the first substrate, the second substrate, and the third substrate are disposed on a first side of the fourth substrate (regarding the first side of the fourth substrate, see annotated Fig. 1B in Sanchez above).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Sanchez teaches the electronic device of claim 8 as addressed above.
The modified Sanchez further teaches ([0060], lines 15-20; [0063], lines 6-11) each of the first antenna element, the second antenna element, and the third antenna element is configured to support a horizontal polarization and a vertical polarization.
Regarding claim 15, Sanchez teaches a method of using a multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) antenna (Figs. 1A, 1B and 18) comprising:
supporting a first frequency band and a second frequency band higher than the first frequency band ([0058], lines 1-3 and 28-38) using a first antenna element (104a) included in a first substrate (see annotated Fig. 1B in Sanchez above) including a first dielectric material having a first dielectric constant (a “dielectric constant” is inherent);
supporting the first frequency band and the second frequency band ([0058], lines 1-3 and 28-38) using a second antenna element (104b) included in a second substrate (see Fig. 1B in Sanchez above) including the first dielectric material;
supporting the second frequency band using a third antenna element (106a) included in a third substrate disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate (see Fig. 1B in Sanchez above).
Sanchez does not explicitly teach forming a first beam in the first frequency band using the first antenna element and the second antenna element; and forming a second beam in the second frequency band using the first antenna element, the second antenna element, and the third antenna element the third substrate including a second dielectric material having a second dielectric constant lower than the first dielectric constant and wherein the first antenna element and the second antenna element have edge portions, corner portions, or both removed.
However, Sanchez teaches ([0044]) that some embodiments relate to antenna arrays. Further, Sanchez teaches ([0063], lines 14) that the apparatus (102) is an antenna array. Further, Sanchez teaches (Fig. 16, [0260]) beams formed by an antenna array. Furthermore, it is well-known in the art that two or more elements of an antenna array can form beams in the frequency band(s) supported by these elements.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sanchez’s method to form a first beam in the first frequency band using the first antenna element and the second antenna element; and form a second beam in the second frequency band using the first antenna element, the second antenna element, and the third antenna element. This modification would provide a method for beam scanning in the respective bands (see abstract and [0260]).
Sanchez does not teach the third substrate including a second dielectric material having a second dielectric constant lower than the first dielectric constant.
Sudo teaches a substrate (1402, Figs. 16-17) including an antenna element (132C), wherein the substrate includes a dielectric material with a first dielectric constant e2, and a second substrate (1401) including an antenna element (131C), wherein the substrate includes a dielectric material with a second dielectric constant e1, lower than the first dielectric constant [0138].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Sudo to modify Sanchez so that the third substrate includes a second dielectric material having a second dielectric constant lower than the first dielectric constant. This modification would result in an apparatus with a greater bandwidth in the frequency band supported by the three antenna elements (see Sudo, [0139]).
The modified Sanchez does not teach the limitation wherein the first antenna element and the second antenna element have edge portions, corner portions, or both removed.
McCarrick (Fig. 4) teaches an antenna element having edge portions removed.
Balanis (Fig. 14.34a) teaches an antenna element having corner portions removed.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sanchez so that the first antenna element and the second antenna element have edge portions, corner portions, or both removed as taught by McCarrick and Balanis. The modification in which the first antenna element and the second antenna element have edge portions removed would result in a MIMO antenna having antenna elements with smaller size (see McCarrick, Abstract). The modification in which the first antenna element and the second antenna element have corner portions removed would result in a MIMO antenna having antenna elements with circular polarization (see Balanis, p. 771, last paragraph and p. 772, Fig. 14.34 caption) which, as is well-known in the art, would be beneficial in preserving the polarization of the signals transmitted by the antennas, particularly in strongly scattering environments.
Regarding claim 16, the modified Sanchez teaches the method of claim 15 as addressed above.
The modified Sanchez does not explicitly teach the limitation wherein the first frequency band is between 7 GHz and 24 GHz, and the second frequency band is higher than 24 GHz.
However, Sanchez teaches ([0045], lines 1-6), antenna elements operating in a 20-300 GHz frequency band and in a 30-300 GHz frequency band. Furthermore, it is well-known in the art that, by changing the dimensions of an antenna element and the properties of the dielectric medium surrounding it, the antenna element can support different frequency bands.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sanchez, so that the first frequency band is between 7 GHz and 24 GHz, and the second frequency band is higher than 24 GHz. This modification would provide a method of using MIMO antennas supporting the desired frequency bands (see Sanchez, [0046]). Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 17, the modified Sanchez teaches the method of claim 15 as addressed above.
The modified Sanchez further (Figs. 1A, 1B) teaches a fourth substrate (126) disposed under the first substrate, the second substrate, and the third substrate such that the first substrate, the second substrate, and the third substrate are disposed on a first side of the fourth substrate (regarding the first side of the fourth substrate, see annotated Fig. 1B in Sanchez above).
Regarding claim 19, the modified Sanchez teaches the method of claim 15 as addressed above.
The modified Sanchez further teaches ([0060], lines 15-20; [0063], lines 6-11) each of the first antenna element, the second antenna element, and the third antenna element is supporting a horizontal polarization and a vertical polarization.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Sanchez as applied to claim 3 in view of Sudo et al. (US 20210151874 A1, hereinafter Sudo-2).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Sanchez teaches the apparatus of claim 3 as addressed above.
The modified Sanchez does not explicitly teach a communication circuit electrically connected with the first antenna element, the second antenna element, and the third antenna element, and disposed on a second side opposite to the first side of the fourth substrate.
Sudo-2 teaches (Fig. 2; [0035, 0037]) a communication circuit (110) electrically connected with plurality of antenna elements (121), and disposed on a side of a substrate (130), opposite to the side of the substrate where the antenna elements are disposed.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Sudo to modify Sanchez to add a communication circuit electrically connected with the first antenna element, the second antenna element, and the third antenna element, and disposed on a second side opposite to the first side of the fourth substrate. This modification would allow to control the directivity of the apparatus of claim 1 (see Sudo-2, [0037], lines 9-10).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Sanchez as applied to claim 10 in view of Sudo-2 (cited above).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Sanchez teaches the electronic device of claim 10 as addressed above.
The modified Sanchez does not explicitly teach a communication circuit electrically connected with the first antenna element, the second antenna element, and the third antenna element, and disposed on a second side opposite to the first side of the fourth substrate.
Sudo-2 teaches (Fig. 2; [0035, 0037]) a communication circuit (110) electrically connected with plurality of antenna elements (121), and disposed on a side of a substrate (130), opposite to the side of the substrate where the antenna elements are disposed.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Sudo to modify Sanchez to add a communication circuit electrically connected with the first antenna element, the second antenna element, and the third antenna element, and disposed on a second side opposite to the first side of the fourth substrate. This modification would allow to control the directivity of the MIMO antenna (see Sudo-2, [0037], lines 9-10).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Sanchez as applied to claim 17 in view of Sudo-2 (cited above).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Sanchez teaches the method of claim 17 as addressed above.
The modified Sanchez does not explicitly teach a communication circuit electrically connected with the first antenna element, the second antenna element, and the third antenna element, and disposed on a second side opposite to the first side of the fourth substrate.
Sudo-2 teaches (Fig. 2; [0035, 0037]) a communication circuit (110) electrically connected with plurality of antenna elements (121), and disposed on a side of a substrate (130), opposite to the side of the substrate where the antenna elements are disposed.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Sudo to modify Sanchez to add a communication circuit electrically connected with the first antenna element, the second antenna element, and the third antenna element, and disposed on a second side opposite to the first side of the fourth substrate. This modification would allow to control the directivity of the MIMO antenna (see Sudo-2, [0037], lines 9-10).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Sanchez as applied to claim 1 in view of Martinis et al. (US 10153554 B2, hereinafter Martinis).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Sanchez teaches the apparatus of claim 1 as addressed above.
The modified Sanchez does not explicitly teach the limitation wherein each of the first antenna element and the second antenna element has a harmonic resonance of the first frequency band configured to support the second frequency band.
Martinis teaches (Figs. 7-9; col. 6, lines 38-42) an antenna element (40) having a single radiator (126), the antenna element having a harmonic resonance (third order resonance and fifth order resonance) of a first frequency band (first order resonance) configured to support a second frequency band.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Martinis to modify Sanchez so that each of the first antenna element and the second antenna element has a harmonic resonance of the first frequency band configured to support the second frequency band. This modification would simplify the design and manufacturing of the first antenna element and the second antenna element in Sanchez by replacing the two radiators in each of the first antenna element and the second antenna element with the single radiator of Martinis, while still supporting a first and a second frequency bands.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Sanchez as applied to claim 8 in view of Martinis (cited above).
Regarding claim 13, the modified Sanchez teaches the electronic device of claim 8 as addressed above.
The modified Sanchez does not explicitly teach the limitation wherein each of the first antenna element and the second antenna element has a harmonic resonance of the first frequency band configured to support the second frequency band.
Martinis teaches (Figs. 7-9; col. 6, lines 38-42) an antenna element (40) having a single radiator (126), the antenna element having a harmonic resonance (third order resonance and fifth order resonance) of a first frequency band (first order resonance) configured to support a second frequency band.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Martinis to modify Sanchez so that each of the first antenna element and the second antenna element has a harmonic resonance of the first frequency band configured to support the second frequency band. This modification would simplify the design and manufacturing of the first antenna element and the second antenna element in Sanchez by replacing the two radiators in each of the first antenna element and the second antenna element with the single radiator of Martinis, while still supporting a first and a second frequency bands.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Sanchez as applied to claim 15 in view of Martinis (cited above).
Regarding claim 20, the modified Sanchez teaches the method of claim 15 as addressed above.
The modified Sanchez does not explicitly teach supporting the second frequency band using a harmonic resonance of the first frequency band for each of the first antenna element and the second antenna element.
Martinis teaches (Figs. 7-9; col. 6, lines 38-42) an antenna element (40) having a single radiator (126), the antenna element having a harmonic resonance (third order resonance and fifth order resonance) of a first frequency band (first order resonance).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Martinis to modify Sanchez so that the method comprises supporting the second frequency band using a harmonic resonance of the first frequency band for each of the first antenna element and the second antenna element. This modification would provide a method using antenna elements with simpler design and manufacturing process by replacing the two radiators in each of the first antenna element and the second antenna element in Sanchez with the single radiator of Martinis, while still supporting a first and a second frequency bands.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Sanchez as applied to claim 1 in view of Maci et al. (“Dual-Frequency Patch Antennas”, IEEE Antennas and Propagation Magazine, Vol. 39, No. 6, December 1997, hereinafter Maci).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Sanchez teaches the apparatus of claim 1 as addressed above.
The modified Sanchez does not teach the limitation wherein each of the first antenna element and the second antenna element has a slit configured to support the second frequency band.
Maci teaches (Fig. 3; pp. 16-17) an antenna element having a slit configured to support a second frequency band (regarding the antenna element and the slit, see annotated Fig. 3 in Maci below).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Maci to modify Sanchez so that each of the first antenna element and the second antenna element has a slit configured to support the second frequency band. This modification would simplify the design and manufacturing of the first antenna element and the second antenna element in Sanchez by replacing the two radiators in each of the first antenna element and the second antenna element with the single radiator of Maci, while still supporting a first and a second frequency bands.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Sanchez as applied to claim 8 in view of Maci (cited above).
Regarding claim 14, the modified Sanchez teaches the electronic device of claim 8 as addressed above.
The modified Sanchez does not teach the limitation wherein each of the first antenna element and the second antenna element has a slit configured to support the second frequency band.
Maci teaches (Fig. 3; pp. 16-17) an antenna element having a slit configured to support a second frequency band (regarding the antenna element and the slit, see annotated Fig. 3 in Maci above).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Maci to modify Sanchez so that each of the first antenna element and the second antenna element has a slit configured to support the second frequency band. This modification would simplify the design and manufacturing of the first antenna element and the second antenna element in Sanchez by replacing the two radiators in each of the first antenna element and the second antenna element with the single radiator of Maci, while still supporting a first and a second frequency bands.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIN STOYTCHEV STOYTCHEV/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845