DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
3. The amendment(s), filed on 04/20/2026, have been entered and made of record. Claims 1-13 and 15-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/20/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and was considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments filed on 04/20/2026 with respect to claims 1-13 and 15-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Double Patenting
7. Claims 1-13 and 15-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 and 14-22 of Co-pending Application No. 18/444,512.
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both claiming substantially the same features.
Note the following similarities between the application claims and Co-pending claims.
Instant Application No. 18/444,478
Co-pending Application No. 18/444,512
Claim 1
A system for controlling virtual appearances of people depicted in images provided by image-capturing devices, the system comprising:
one or more sensors;
one or more processors; and
computer-executable instructions that are stored on one or more memories of the system and that are executable by the one or more processors to cause the system to:
detect, via the one or more sensors, a condition under which virtual appearances of a subject person depicted in images that are provided by image- capturing devices are to be controlled,
the detected condition corresponding to at least one of: a presence of an image-capturing device controlled by a party other than the subject person, a date, a time, a physical location, a virtual location, or an event; and
responsive to the detection:
obtain a set of controlling requirements for the virtual appearances of the subject person, the set of controlling requirements specified at least in part by the subject person, and
automatically transmit, via a wireless transceiver and to the image-capturing device controlled by the party other than the subject person, an indication of the set of controlling requirements for the virtual appearances of the subject person so that a virtual appearance of the subject person depicted in one or more images that are provided by the image-capturing device is in accordance with the set of controlling requirements prior to the one or more images being output from the image-capturing device.
Claim 1
A first device, comprising: an image-capturing component including
at least one image sensor; a wireless transceiver; one or more processors; and one or more memories storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the ne or more processors, cause the first device to:
receive, via the wireless transceiver and from a second device, an indication of a set of controlling requirements for virtual appearances of a subject person in mages that are output by the first device,
the set of controlling requirements specified at least in part by the subject person and indicating different conditions under which different controlling requirements are to be applied…
Claim 21
The first device of claim 1, wherein the different conditions include two or more of: a presence of a specific image-capturing device, a presence of any image- capturing device, a date, a time, a specific physical location, a type of physical location, a specific virtual location, a type of virtual location, an event, an event type, a user instruction or command, or another type of condition detected by one or more sensors.
Cont. of claim 1
subsequent to the reception of the indication of the set of controlling requirements corresponding to the subject person, capture, via the image-capturing component, an initial image in which the subject person is depicted; alter the initial image in accordance with the set of controlling requirements corresponding to the subject person, thereby generating an altered image including a controlled virtual appearance of the subject person; and
provide the altered image via one or more outputs of the first device.
Claim 2
The system of claim 1, wherein the set of controlling requirements for the virtual appearances of the subject person transmitted to the image-capturing device prevent the image-capturing device from providing any virtual appearances of the subject person that are not in accordance with the set of controlling requirements.
Claim 4
The first device of claim 1, wherein the computer-executable instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the first device to prevent the initial image of the subject person from being provided to any display and/or any other device.
Claim 3
The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more images that are provided by the image-capturing device are a modification, by the image-capturing device, to an initial set of images that were initially captured via an image-capturing component of the image-capturing device, the initial set of images including one or more virtual appearances of the subject person.
Part of claim 1
“…capture, via the image-capturing component, an initial image in which the subject person is depicted; alter the initial image in accordance with the set of controlling requirements corresponding to the subject person, thereby generating an altered image including a controlled virtual appearance of the subject person…”
Claim 4
The system of claim 1, wherein at least one of: the transmission of the indication of the set of controlling requirements for the virtual appearances of the subject person via the wireless transceiver of the system to the image- capturing device is at least one of: encrypted, transmitted via broadcast, or transmitted via point-to-point; or the transmission of the indication of the set of controlling requirements for the virtual appearances of the subject person via the wireless transceiver of the system to the image- capturing device utilizes a peer-to-peer wireless protocol or a short-range wireless protocol.
Claim 8
The first device of claim 1, wherein the first device receives the indication of the set of controlling requirements for the virtual appearances of the subject person via the wireless transceiver and a point-to-point transmission generated by the second device.
Claim 5
The system of claim 1, wherein the system generates the set of controlling requirements for the virtual appearances of the subject person based on an alteration, in accordance with one or more preferences indicated by the subject person, of a source image of the subject person.
Part of claim 1
“…alter the initial image in accordance with the set of controlling requirements corresponding to the subject person, thereby generating an altered image including a controlled virtual appearance of the subject person…”
Claim 6
The system of claim 1, wherein the set of controlling requirements for the virtual appearances of the subject person includes a respective definition or specification for a respective virtual appearance of at least one of: a gender, a body shape, a hair style, a height, a bodily form, a modification to a first feature, a substitution for a second feature, or another aspect of the virtual appearances of the subject person.
Claim 18
The first device of claim 1, wherein the set of controlling requirements for the virtual appearances of the subject person includes respective controlling requirements for depictions at least one of: an overall virtual appearance of the subject person as a whole, a gender, a body shape, a hair style, a height, a bodily form, a modification to a first specific feature, a substitution for a second specific feature, or another aspect of the virtual appearances of the subject person.
Claim 7
The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more images of the subject person provided by the image-capturing device includes a video image
Claim 6
The first device of claim 1, wherein: the initial image of the subject person is a video image of the subject person that changes in real-time; and the altered video image including the controlled virtual appearance of the subject person and provided via the one or more outputs of the first device changes in real-time in accordance with the set of controlling requirements for the virtual appearances of the subject person.
Claim 8
The system of claim 1, wherein the image-capturing device is a smart glass device, an augmented reality device, a virtual reality device, or a digital camera.
Claim 14
The first device of claim 1, wherein the first device is a smart glass device, an augmented reality device, a virtual reality device, a digital image-capturing component, or a personal electronic device operated by a user other than the subject person.
Claim 11
The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more images are provided by the image-capturing device for rendering on a display.
Part of claim 1
“…the altered image including the controlled virtual appearance of the subject person is rendered on the display…”
Claim 12
The system of claim 1, wherein the indication of the set of controlling requirements includes a code or a filter.
Claim 17
The first device of claim 1, wherein the set of controlling requirements for the virtual appearances of the subject person includes a filter, and the alteration of the initial image includes an application of the filter.
Claim 13
The system of claim 1, wherein: the set of controlling requirements is included in a plurality of different sets of controlling requirements for the virtual appearances of the subject person that are stored on the one or more memories; and the system selects, based on the detected condition, the set of controlling requirements from among the plurality of different sets of controlling requirements.
Part of claim 1
“…the set of controlling requirements specified at least in part by the subject person and indicating different conditions under which different controlling requirements are to be applied…”
Claim 20
The system of claim 1, wherein: the set of controlling requirements for the virtual appearances of the subject person is included in a plurality of sets of controlling requirements for respective virtual appearances of multiple people stored in the one or more memories of the system; and the system is further configured to obtain a respective set of controlling requirements for virtual appearances of at least one other person responsive to a corresponding detected condition, and transmit, via a respective wireless transceiver, an indication of the respective set of controlling requirements for the virtual appearances of the at least one other person to a respective image-capturing device.
Part of claim 1
“…the set of controlling requirements specified at least in part by the subject person and indicating different conditions under which different controlling requirements are to be applied…”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claims 1-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Joseph et al. (US-PGPUB 2023/0342487).
Regarding claim 1, Joseph discloses a system for controlling virtual appearances of people depicted in images provided by image-capturing devices (System 200A; see figs. 2A, 11), the system comprising:
one or more sensors (Sensors 230; see fig. 2A and paragraph 0063);
one or more processors (Processor 1210; see fig. 12 and paragraph 0085); and
computer-executable instructions that are stored on one or more memories of the system and that are executable by the one or more processors (A set of instructions corresponding to a program, that is run on processor 1210 with memories 1215, 1220, 1225; see fig. 12 and paragraphs 0085, 0150) to cause the system to:
detect, via the one or more sensors, a condition under which virtual appearances of a subject person depicted in images that are provided by image- capturing devices are to be controlled, the detected condition corresponding to at least one of: a presence of an image-capturing device controlled by a party other than the subject person, a date, a time, a physical location, a virtual location, or an event (The imaging system is configured to identify, from the profile data, a privacy setting that indicates that output of the face of the person is to be avoided while the predetermined condition is active. The predetermined condition is associated with a location of the person in the environment, an identity of a viewer of the environment, a time of day, any combination thereof, or other condition; see paragraphs 0139, 0191); and
responsive to the detection (In response to identifying profile data including the privacy setting; see step 1115, fig. 11 and paragraph 0132):
obtain a set of controlling requirements for the virtual appearances of the subject person, the set of controlling requirements specified at least in part by the subject person (Retrieve, based on the profile data, a synthesized face; see step 1120, fig. 11 and paragraph 0133), and
automatically transmit (Transmit modified image 265 to user device 220 while the predetermined privacy condition is active; see paragraphs 0139, 0062, 0134), via a wireless transceiver and to the image-capturing device controlled by the party other than the subject person (The output device(s) 270A-270B include one or more wireless transceivers; see paragraph 0079. User device 220 includes component(s) illustrated and/or described herein as included in the user device 210. User device 220 include component(s) illustrated and/or described herein as included in the server(s) 205; see paragraph 0062 and fig. 2A. Thus, device 220 includes sensor 230 and can generate modified image 265 in accordance with the transmitted privacy settings), an indication of the set of controlling requirements for the virtual appearances of the subject person so that a virtual appearance of the subject person depicted in one or more images that are provided by the image-capturing device is in accordance with the set of controlling requirements prior to the one or more images being output from the image-capturing device (The imaging system is configured to generate a modified image of the environment at least in part by modifying the image to use the synthesized face for the person in place of the face of the person. The imaging system is then configured to output the modified image of the environment; see paragraphs 0134-0141 and figs. 2A, 11, 5).
Regarding claim 2, Joseph discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Joseph discloses the set of controlling requirements for the virtual appearances of the subject person transmitted to the image-capturing device prevent the image-capturing device from providing any virtual appearances of the subject person that are not in accordance with the set of controlling requirements (Only the modified image 265 is outputted while it is determined that the privacy setting is active; see paragraphs 0139, 0134-0141 and figs. 2A, 11, 5).
Regarding claim 3, Joseph discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Joseph discloses the one or more images that are provided by the image-capturing device are a modification (Modified image 265; see figs. 2A, 5 and paragraphs 0073), by the image-capturing device (User device 220 includes component(s) illustrated and/or described herein as included in the user device 210. User device 220 include component(s) illustrated and/or described herein as included in the server(s) 205; see paragraph 0062 and fig. 2A. Thus, device 220 includes sensor 230 and can generate modified image 265 in accordance with the transmitted privacy settings), to an initial set of images that were initially captured via an image-capturing component of the image-capturing device, the initial set of images including one or more virtual appearances of the subject person (Image 235 including detected profile face; see fig. 2A and paragraphs 0067-0068).
Regarding claim 4, Joseph discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Joseph discloses wherein at least one of: the transmission of the indication of the set of controlling requirements for the virtual appearances of the subject person via the wireless transceiver of the system to the image- capturing device is at least one of: encrypted, transmitted via broadcast, or transmitted via point-to-point; or the transmission of the indication of the set of controlling requirements for the virtual appearances of the subject person via the wireless transceiver of the system to the image- capturing device utilizes a peer-to-peer wireless protocol or a short-range wireless protocol (The output device(s) 270A-270B include one or more wireless transceivers; see paragraph 0079. The communication interface can perform or facilitate receipt and/or transmission r wireless communications using a BLUETOOTH® wireless signal transfer, a BLUETOOTH® low energy (BLE) wireless signal transfer, an IBEACON® wireless signal transfer, a radio-frequency identification (RFID) wireless signal transfer, near-field communications (NFC) wireless signal transfer, dedicated short range communication (DSRC) wireless signal transfer; see paragraph 0152).
Regarding claim 5, Joseph discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Joseph discloses the system generates the set of controlling requirements for the virtual appearances of the subject person based on an alteration, in accordance with one or more preferences indicated by the subject person, of a source image of the subject person (The image modifier 260 generates a modified image 265 at least in part by modifying the image 235 to use the synthesized face (e.g., generated by the synthesized face generator 255 and identified by the profile synthesized face identifier 250) for the person in place of the face of the person in the image 235; see figs. 2A, 5 and paragraph 0073).
Regarding claim 6, Joseph discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Joseph discloses the set of controlling requirements for the virtual appearances of the subject person includes a respective definition or specification for a respective virtual appearance of at least one of: a gender, a body shape, a hair style, a height, a bodily form, a modification to a first feature, a substitution for a second feature, or another aspect of the virtual appearances of the subject person (The synthesized face includes a synthesized head, and the image modifier 260 generates the modified image 265 at least in part by modifying the image 235 to use at least a portion of the synthesized head (e.g., generated by the synthesized face generator 255 and identified by the profile synthesized face identifier 250) for the person in place of the head of the person in the image 235; see figs. 2A, 5 and paragraph 0073).
Regarding claim 7, Joseph discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Joseph discloses the one or more images of the subject person provided by the image-capturing device includes a video image (The image sensors 230 capture image data that can include one or more videos; see paragraphs 0064, 0062).
Regarding claim 8, Joseph discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Joseph discloses the image-capturing device is a smart glass device, an augmented reality device, a virtual reality device, or a digital camera (FIG. 3A is a perspective diagram 300 illustrating a head-mounted display (HMD) 310 that is used as part of an imaging system 200A. The HMD 310 can be an augmented reality (AR) headset, a virtual reality (VR) headset; see paragraphs 0088, 0035, 0009).
Regarding claim 9, Joseph discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Joseph discloses the wireless transceiver is included in a personal electronic device of the subject person (First device 210 can include personal computer, personal digital assistants; see paragraphs 0009, 0160).
Regarding claim 10, Joseph discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Joseph discloses the personal electronic device of the subject person is a wearable electronic device (First device can include a wearable device, head-mounted display; see paragraphs 0009, 0062, 0088-0089).
Regarding claim 11, Joseph discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Joseph discloses the one or more images are provided by the image-capturing device for rendering on a display (The user device 220 causes the display(s) of the output device 270A-270B to display the modified image 265; see fig. 2A and paragraph 0078).
Regarding claim 12, Joseph discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Joseph discloses the indication of the set of controlling requirements includes a code or a filter (A profile for a person includes one or more images of the person, one or more identifiers for the person including a code, one or more synthesized faces for the person, one or more privacy settings for the person or a combination thereof; see paragraph 0070).
Regarding claim 13, Joseph discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Joseph discloses the set of controlling requirements is included in a plurality of different sets of controlling requirements for the virtual appearances of the subject person that are stored on the one or more memories (A first set can include privacy settings 835 of the second user 805 and a relationship indicator 840 indicating a familial relationship between the first user 805 and the second user 820 and A second set can include privacy settings 835 of the second user 820 and a relationship indicator 860 indicating lack of a familial relationship between the first user 805 and the second user 820; see figs. 8A, 8B and paragraphs 0115-0116); and the system selects, based on the detected condition, the set of controlling requirements from among the plurality of different sets of controlling requirements (Selecting different output images in accordance to the detected privacy settings and detected relationship indicators; see figs. 8A, 8B. The imaging system is configured to modify the image to use the synthesized face for the person in place of the face of the person in response to identifying the at least one privacy setting that indicates that output of the face of the person is to be avoided. The imaging system is configured to determine that a predetermined condition is active. The privacy setting indicates that output of the face of the person is to be avoided while the predetermined condition is active. The predetermined condition is associated with a location of the person in the environment, an identity of a viewer of the environment, a time of day, any combination thereof, or other condition; see paragraphs 0139, 0115-0116).
Regarding claim 15, Joseph discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Joseph discloses the one or more memories of the system include one or more remote memories, and at least a portion of the set of controlling requirements for the virtual appearances of the subject person are stored on the one or more remote memories (Server 205 having data store 290 storing multiple profiles with synthesized faces. Sever 205 and devices 210, 220 communicating wirelessly; see fig. 2A and paragraphs 0062, 0069-0071, 0079, 0037, 0148).
Regarding claim 16, Joseph discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Joseph discloses the one or more memories of the system include one or more memories of a personal electronic device of the subject person (First device 210 can include personal computer, personal digital assistants; see paragraphs 0009, 0160), and at least a portion of the set of controlling requirements for the virtual appearances of the subject person are stored on the one or more memories of the personal electronic device (The user device 210 can perform operation(s) illustrated and/or described herein as performed by the server(s) 205; see paragraph 0062. Thus, device 210 can include a data store 290 to store user profiles and synthesize faces; see paragraph 0069-0071).
Regarding claim 17, Joseph discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Joseph discloses comprising a user interface via which a user at least one of: at least one of defines, specifies, modifies, deletes, updates, or selects one or more sets of controlling requirements for the virtual appearances of the subject person depicted in images; at least one of adds, modifies, deletes, specifies, or updates respective indications of one or more conditions to which respective transmissions of the one or more sets of controlling requirements are responsive; or indicates one or more image-capturing devices to which the one or more sets of controlling requirements and updates to the one or more sets of controlling requirements are to be provided (The feedback engine(s) 275A-275B can detect feedback received from a user interface of the user device 210, the user device 220, and/or the server(s) 205. The feedback may include feedback on the modified image 265 as displayed according to interactivity client applications 280A-280B and/or interactivity server application 285. The feedback may include feedback on the synthesized face(s) generated by the synthesized face generator 255 and incorporated into the modified image 265; see paragraphs 0083, 0139).
Regarding claim 18, Joseph discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 17). In addition, Joseph discloses the computer-executable instructions are further executable to cause the system to provide, via the user interface, a suggestion of at least one controlling requirement for the virtual appearances of the subject person (The feedback may include feedback on the synthesized face(s) generated by the synthesized face generator 255 and incorporated into the modified image 265; see paragraphs 0083, 0139).
Regarding claim 19, Joseph discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Joseph discloses the computer-executable instructions include one or more machine-learning algorithms that are executed by the one or more processors to generate the suggestion of the at least one controlling requirement for the virtual appearances of the subject person (One or more machine learning models can be trained (resulting in one or more trained machine learning models), using training data with numerous input images of human faces, to generate realistic synthesized faces. Implementing trained machine learning models; see paragraphs 0040, 0068 and figs. 2A, 7, 9-10).
Regarding claim 20, Joseph discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Joseph discloses the set of controlling requirements for the virtual appearances of the subject person is included in a plurality of sets of controlling requirements for respective virtual appearances of multiple people stored in the one or more memories of the system (The data store 290 may store profiles for persons, such as profiles for users (e.g., user 215, user 225) and/or other persons detected in image(s) (e.g., image 235) captured by sensor(s) (e.g., sensor(s) 230) of user devices; see paragraph 0070); and the system is further configured to obtain a respective set of controlling requirements for virtual appearances of at least one other person responsive to a corresponding detected condition, and transmit, via a respective wireless transceiver, an indication of the respective set of controlling requirements for the virtual appearances of the at least one other person to a respective image-capturing device (The imaging system is configured to identify, from the profile data, a privacy setting that indicates that output of the face of the person is to be avoided while the predetermined condition is active; see paragraphs 0139, 0191. The imaging system is configured to generate a modified image of the environment at least in part by modifying the image to use the synthesized face for the person in place of the face of the person. The imaging system is then configured to output the modified image of the environment; see paragraphs 0134-0141 and figs. 2A, 11, 5).
Contact Information
/CYNTHIA CALDERON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639 04/28/2026