DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The amended claim set filed on 12 August 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 44-47, 49-51, 54-56, 59-62, 71-72, 78-79, 82-85, and 88-96 are currently pending. Of those, claims 44, 54-56, 59-60, 78, 82-84, and 88-93 are amended. Claims 94-96 are new, and claims 46-47, 50-51, 71-72, and 93 are withdrawn. Claims 1-43, 48, 52-53, 57-58, 63-70, 73-77, 80-81, and 86-87 are cancelled.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of tumor biopsy sample (claim 45) as the species of biological sample, pancreatic cancer (claims 44 and 49) as the species of cancer, and a dietary product devoid of serine and glycine (claim 62) as the species of dietary product in the reply filed on 12 August 2026 is acknowledged. The restriction between the one or more species of metabolic enzyme set forth in the Restriction Requirement mailed on 12 May 2026 is withdrawn in view of the amendments to claims 44 and 54-56. Claims 46-47, 50-51, 71-72, and 93 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12 August 2026. Claims 44-45, 49, 54-56, 59-62, 78-79, 82-85, 88-90, and 94-96 will be examined on the merits herein.
Priority
The instant application is a CON of application PCT/US2022/040588 (filed 17 August 2022) and claims priority to U.S. Provisional Applications 63/234,507 (filed 18 August 2021), 63/234,517 (filed 18 August 2021), and 63/280,792 (filed 18 November 2021). Therefore, the effective filing date for claims 44-45, 49, 54-56, 59-62, ,78, 82-85, 88-90, and 94-94 is 18 August 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 3 October 2024 and 12 August 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements is being considered by the examiner. In the 3 October 2024 IDS, Foreign Patent Document WO-0114387-A1 was not found in the application documents; nevertheless, a copy of the document has been attached with this Action and the reference has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 54 and 94 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 54 recites, “the one or more metabolic enzymes comprises PHGDH.” As written, it is unclear if the claim actually limits the scope of metabolic enzymes recited in claim 44 because the use of open claim language “comprises” indicates that the scope of metabolic enzymes recited in claim 54 encompasses PHDGH and other enzymes (i.e., the scope may include PHGDH, PSAT1, and PSPH, in which the scope of claim 54 would be identical to that of claim 44). However, in the interest of compact prosecution, the claim is interpreted to encompass only PHGDH.
Claim 94 recites, “the one or more metabolic enzymes comprises PSPH.” As written, it is unclear if the claim actually limits the scope of metabolic enzymes recited in claim 44 because the use of open claim language “comprises” indicates that the scope of metabolic enzymes recited in claim 54 encompasses PSPH and other enzymes (i.e., the scope may include PHGDH, PSAT1, and PSPH, in which the scope of claim 94 would be identical to that of claim 44). However, in the interest of compact prosecution, the claim is interpreted to encompass only PSPH.
Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 44-45, 49, 54-56, 59-60, 78, 82-85, 88-92, and 94-96 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 44 (upon which claims 45, 49, 54-56, 59-60, 78, 82-85, 88-92, and 94-96 depend) is drawn to a method “for identifying a subject for treatment of… pancreatic cancer… comprising: quantifying an amount of one or more metabolic enzymes from an isolated biological sample from the subject….” The broadest reasonable interpretation of the term “identifying” encompasses mental processes that can be performed in the human mind (see MPEP 2106.04(a)).
Claim 82 (upon which claim 83 depends) recites a step of “comparing” the amount of the one or more metabolic enzymes in the biological sample to a second amount of the one or more metabolic enzymes in a reference biological sample. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the term “comparing” encompasses mental processes that can be performed in the human mind (see MPEP 2106.04(a)).
Claim 84 (upon which claim 84 depends) recites a step of “subjecting the amount of the one or more metabolic enzymes to an empirical scoring system, wherein the empirical scoring system has a threshold value, wherein the biological sample having a sample value below the threshold value indicates a likelihood of the subject displaying a positive response to a nutrient modulation therapy.” The broadest reasonable interpretation of the phrase “subjecting the amount of the one or more metabolic enzymes to an empirical scoring system” (i.e., comparing the amount to the values of an empirical scoring system) encompasses mental processes that can be done in the human mind in order to come to a conclusion about positive response to a treatment (see MPEP 2106.04(a)).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the application or use of the judicial exception does not go beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception (i.e., “identifying” a subject for treatment, “comparing” the amount of the one or more metabolic enzymes in the biological sample to a second amount of the one or more metabolic enzymes in a reference sample, and “subjecting the amount of the one or more metabolic enzymes to an empirical scoring system”) to a particular technological environment or field of use. In this case, the “quantifying” step recited in claim 44 (upon which both claims 82 and 84 depend) of quantifying an amount of one or more metabolic enzymes from an isolated biological sample from the subject is performed in order to gather data for the steps of “identifying,” “comparing,” and “subjecting” and is a necessary precursor for all uses of these steps. Thus, the step of “quantifying” is extra-solution activity and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2016.04(d)(2). An example of data gathering that the courts have found to be insignificant extra-solution activity include determining the level of a biomarker in blood, Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968, as well as performing clinical tests on individuals to obtain input for an equation (In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 839-40; 12 USPQ2d 1824, 1827-28 (Fed. Cir. 1989)). See MPEP 2106.05(g). An example of limitations that the courts have described as merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception include, for example, language informing doctors to apply a law of nature (linkage disequilibrium) for purposes of detecting a genetic polymorphism, because this language merely informs the relevant audience that the law of nature can be used in this manner (Genetic Techs. Ltd. v. Merial LLC, 818 F.3d 1369, 1379, 118 USPQ2d 1541, 1549 (Fed. Cir. 2016)). See MPEP 2016.05(h). Furthermore, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim does not recite additional elements that apply or use the judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition (i.e., “identifying a subject for treatment” and “indicat[ing] a likelihood of the subject displaying a positive response to a nutrient modulation therapy” do not actually require administration of the therapy to the subject and, thus, does not constitute a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition).
Claim 45 limits the scope of the biological sample recited in claim 44. Claim 49 limits the scope of cancer which the subject has. Claims 54-56, 59-60, 88-92, and 94-96 limit the species of metabolic enzyme being quantified. Claim 78 limits the type of testing done in the “quantifying” step. These claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because these claims only limit the “quantifying” step, which is an extra-solution data-gathering step (as is described above). Additionally, these claims do not effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis to the subject population identified by the steps of claim 44; thus, the claims do not integrate the mental analysis step into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.04(d)(2).
Claim 83 (which depends upon claim 82) recites, “wherein the amount of the one or more metabolic enzymes in the biological sample is lower than the second amount of the one or more metabolic enzymes in the reference sample.” Claim 85 (which depends upon claim 84) recites, “wherein the sample value is lower than the threshold value of the empirical scoring system.” These claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because these limitations only limit the value of the amount of the one or more metabolic enzymes, i.e., limiting the biological sample and subject population. See MPEP 2106.04(d)(2). Additionally, limitations that the courts have described as merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception include, for example, a step of administering a drug providing 6-thioguanine to patients with an immune-mediated gastrointestinal disorder, because limiting drug administration to this patient population did no more than simply refer to the relevant pre-existing audience of doctors who used thiopurine drugs to treat patients suffering from autoimmune disorders, Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 78, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1968 (2012). See MPEP 2106.05(h). Thus, the limitation does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because the application or use of the judicial exception does not go beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a field of use.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements only generally link the judicial exception to a particular field of use for the reasons described above. See MPEP 2103.05.
Therefore, claims 44-45, 49, 54-56, 59-60, 78, 82-85, 88-92, and 94-96 do not qualify as eligible subject matter (see MPEP 2106).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 44-45, 49, 54-56, 59-62, 79, 88-90, and 94-96 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maddocks and Vousden (WO 2017/144877 A1; cited in IDS; herein “Maddocks”).
Regarding claims 44, 49, 54-56, 59-60, 88-90, and 94-96, Maddocks teaches a method comprising quantifying an amount of PHGDH, PSAT1, and PSPH enzymes (pg. 68, lines 20-35 and pg. 69, lines 1-11) from cells isolated from mice with pancreatic cancer (pg. 32, line 10, pg. 67, and pg. 70, lines 25-28). Maddocks teaches that the quantification is analysis by western blot (pg. 68) and quantitative RT-PCR (pg. 69). Maddocks teaches that serine synthesis pathway enzyme expression is a determinant of sensitivity to serine starvation (i.e., a nutrient modulation therapy) and that tumors with elevated expression or enhanced activity of serine synthesis pathway enzymes (i.e., PHGDH, PSAT1, and PSPH) are less sensitive to serine starvation (pg. 12, lines 20-23), i.e., tumor samples with low expression of these enzymes (i.e., a low amount) are more likely to display a positive response to serine starvation (i.e., nutrient modulation therapy).
Regarding claim 45, Maddocks teaches that the sample is a tumor biopsy sample (pg. 53, lines 13-23).
Regarding claims 61-62, Maddocks teaches that after quantification of the one or more enzymes that indicate a likelihood of the subject displaying a positive response to nutrient modulation therapy, the mice were administered an experimental diet formulated to lack the specific amino acids, serine and glycine (pg. 23-24 and pg. 77, lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 79, Maddocks teaches that after quantification of the one or more enzymes that indicate a likelihood of the subject displaying a positive response to nutrient modulation therapy, the mice were administered different chemotherapeutic agents in addition to the glycine and serine starvation diet (pg. 75, lines 3-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 44-45, 49, 54-56, 59-62, 78-79, 82-85, 88-90, and 94-93 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maddocks (WO 2017/144877 A1; cited in IDS).
The teachings of Maddocks with respect to claims 44-45, 49, 54-56, 59-62, 79, 88-90, and 94-96 are set forth in para. 23-26 above.
However, the method of Maddocks does not comprise quantification by analysis by immunohistochemistry in a single embodiment, as in claim 44, or comparing the amount of one or more of PHGDH, PSAT1, and PSPH in the biological sample to a second amount of the one or more enzymes in a reference biological sample, wherein the reference biological sample does not comprise a cancer cell, as in claim 82, wherein the amount of one or more metabolic enzymes in the biological sample is lower than the second amount of the one or more metabolic enzymes in the reference sample, as in claim 83, the method further comprising, after the quantifying, subjecting the amount of the one or more PHGDH, PSAT1, and PSPH to an empirical scoring system, wherein the empirical scoring system has a threshold value, wherein the biological sample having a sample value below the threshold value indicates a likelihood of the subject displaying a positive response to a nutrient modulation therapy, as in claim 84, and wherein the sample value is lower than the threshold value of the empirical scoring system, as in claim 85.
Regarding claims 44 and 78, Maddocks teaches that methods for measuring other biomarkers that identify a subject as sensitive to nutrient modulation therapy (i.e., KRAS and/or MTAP) (pg. 5, lines 18-20) include immunohistochemistry (pg. 55, lines 28-35).
Regarding claims 82-85, Maddocks teaches a method for identifying a subject having an increased likelihood of responsiveness or sensitivity to a cancer treatment comprising a diet substantially devoid of serine and/or with a restricted level of cysteine comprising: a) determining the level of MTAP (another metabolic enzyme that identifies a subject as sensitive to nutrient modulation therapy) expression or activity in a biological sample isolated from the subject; b) comparing the level of MTAP expression or activity in the biological sample to a control sample or reference value, wherein the level of MTAP expression or activity is decreased compared to that of the reference sample or reference value (pg. 100, claim 48), and wherein the control sample is a normal cell or tissue sample (i.e., not cancerous) (pg. 101, claim 51). Maddocks teaches that a “reference value” is comprised of a biomarker expression level from a reference database, i.e., an empirical scoring system, which may be used to generate a pre-determined cutoff value (threshold value), i.e., a diagnostic score that is statistically predictive of a symptom or disease or lack thereof (pg. 58, lines 22-27).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the method of quantifying the amount of PHGDH, PSAT1, and PSPH taught by Maddocks by quantifying by immunohistochemistry, thereby arriving at the invention of claims 44-45, 49, 54-56, 59-62, 78-79, 88-90, and 94-96. Maddocks teaches that quantification by immunohistochemistry can be used to quantify other metabolic enzymes, so the person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use immunohistochemistry to quantify PHGDH, PSAT1, and PSPH enzymes as well. Therefore, the combination is also desirable (see MPEP 2144(II)). The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Maddocks teaches that quantification by immunohistochemistry can be used to quantify other metabolic enzymes that are indicative of a likelihood of displaying a positive response to nutrient modulation therapy, so one would predict that immunohistochemistry could successfully by used to quantify similar enzymes. Therefore, the combination leads to expected results because each element performs the same function as is does individually.
Additionally, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007), discloses that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, is obvious unless its application is beyond that person's skill. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007) also discloses that the combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. In the instant case, all elements (i.e., a method for identifying a subjects for treatment of pancreatic cancer comprising quantifying an amount of one or more of PHGDH, PSAT1, and PSPH from an isolated biological sample from the subject, wherein the amount of the one or more metabolic enzymes predicts a likelihood of the subject displaying a positive response to a nutrient modulation therapy to treat the cancer and wherein the quantifying comprises analysis by immunohistochemistry) were known in the art. In addition, combining these elements yields a method wherein each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; thus, the results of the combination would be recognized as predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, the claimed invention is prima facie obvious in view of the teachings of the prior art, absent any convincing evidence to the contrary.
Additionally or alternatively, it would have been prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the steps of comparing the expression or activity of MTAP in an isolated biological sample to the expression or activity of MTAP in a control sample of compare it to a reference value (i.e., threshold value) by using the same technique with the amount of PHGDH, PSAT1, and PSPH in the isolated biological sample, thereby arriving at the invention of claims 44-45, 49, 54-56, 59-62, 79, 82-85, 88-90, and 94-96. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification because Maddocks teaches that levels of PHGDH, PSAT1, and PSPH are indicative of sensitivity to serine starvation (i.e., nutrient modulation therapy), like MTAP. Therefore, the combination is also desirable (see MPEP 2144(II)). The person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because MTAP and PHGDH, PSAT1, and PSPH are all metabolic enzymes that are indicative of a likelihood of displaying a positive response to nutrient modulation therapy, so one would predict that the methods used to predict the effectiveness of a treatment using one enzyme could be used with similar enzymes. Therefore, the combination leads to expected results because each element performs the same function as is does individually.
Additionally, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007), discloses that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, is obvious unless its application is beyond that person's skill. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007) also discloses that the combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. In the instant case, all elements (i.e., a method for identifying a subjects for treatment of pancreatic cancer comprising quantifying an amount of one or more of PHGDH, PSAT1, and PSPH from an isolated biological sample from the subject, wherein the amount of the one or more metabolic enzymes predicts a likelihood of the subject displaying a positive response to a nutrient modulation therapy to treat the cancer, comparing the amount of the one or more metabolic enzymes to a second amount of the one or more metabolic enzymes in a reference sample, wherein the reference sample does not comprise a cancer cell, and subjecting the amount of the one or more metabolic enzymes to an empirical scoring system, which has a threshold value, etc.) were known in the art. In addition, combining these elements yields a method wherein each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; thus, the results of the combination would be recognized as predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, the claimed invention is prima facie obvious in view of the teachings of the prior art, absent any convincing evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/BAILEY M MORGAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1645
/SAMIRA J JEAN-LOUIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1642