DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-14, 17-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HWANG et al. (US 2018/0309328) (“HWANG”) in view of Lim et al. (US 2023/0059601) (“Lim”).
With respect to claim 1, HWANG discloses an electronic device (PRU 2b, figure 4) comprising: a wireless power transfer coil configured to receive digital pings from a wireless power transmitting device (resonator 20 receives signals from a transmitter); a rectifier coupled to the wireless power transfer coil (rectifier 20); measurement circuitry coupled to the wireless power transfer coil and configured to measure a frequency of the digital pings (frequency detector 430, figure 4); and control circuitry (selector 434) configured to: in response to determining that the measured frequency of the digital pings matches a frequency value or is within a frequency range, convey a first wireless charging standard version number to the wireless power transmitting device (paragraph 0043 discloses that if the frequency detected is high it selects the A4WP protocol); and in response to determining that the measured frequency of the digital pings is mismatched from the frequency value or is outside the frequency range, convey a second wireless charging standard version number, different than the first wireless charging standard version number, to the wireless power transmitting device (paragraphs 0045-0049 discloses that if the frequency is mismatch/low frequency the Qi protocol is selected).
HWANG; however, does not expressly disclose conveying a first wireless charging standard version number and convey a second wireless charging standard version number.
Lim discloses a wireless power transmission device and transmitting a control signal with information of wireless charging standard version during authentication, paragraphs 0331-0034.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to have modify HWANG and include a charging standard version when selecting a respective charging protocol, for example.
With respect to claims 2, 11, HWANG in view of Lim disclose the electronic device of one of the claims, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to convey the first wireless charging standard version number or the second wireless charging standard version number to the wireless power transmitting device by transmitting a protocol identification packet that includes the first wireless charging standard version number or the second wireless charging standard version number to the wireless power transmitting device via the wireless power transfer coil. HWANG and Lim disclose communicating the charging standard version/selection protocols using the wireless power transfer coil (in-band communication).
With respect to claim 3, HWANG in view of Lim disclose the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the wireless power transfer coil is configured to start receiving wireless power from the wireless power transmitting device after transmitting the protocol identification packet to the wireless power transmitting device in accordance with the transmitted wireless charging standard version number. Abstract discloses selecting a wireless power transfer standard method to receive wireless power based on the selected standard, figure 1.
With respect to claim 9, HWANG in view of Lim discloses the apparatus necessary to complete the recited method steps, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 1.
With respect to claims 10, 20, HWANG in view of Lim disclose the method of one of the claims, further comprising: in response to determining that the measured frequency of the digital pings is not in the frequency range, conveying a second wireless charging protocol identification number, different than the first wireless charging protocol identification number, to the wireless power transmitting device. Paragraphs 0045-0049 discloses that if the frequency is mismatched/low frequency the Qi protocol is selected.
With respect to claim 12, HWANG in view of Lim disclose the method of claim 11, wherein transmitting the protocol identification packet comprises transmitting the protocol identification packet using amplitude-shift keying (ASK) modulation. Lim discloses communicating using an amplitude shift keying (ASK), paragraph 0103.
With respect to claim 13, HWANG in view of Lim disclose the method of claim 11, further comprising: after transmitting the protocol identification packet, beginning to receive wireless power from the wireless power transmitting device for charging a battery in the electronic device. HWANG and Lim disclose a charging system for charging batteries of electronic devices, once the protocol is selected.
With respect to claim 14, HWANG in view of Lim disclose the method of claim 10, wherein the first and second wireless charging protocol identification numbers comprise different versions of a wireless charging standard. Lim discloses a wireless power transmission device and transmitting a control signal with information of wireless charging standard version during authentication, paragraphs 0331-0034.
With respect to claim 17, HWANG in view of Lim disclose the method of claim 10, wherein the frequency range comprises a single frequency value selected from 128 kHz, 326 kHz, 360 kHz, 1.78 MHz, and 13.56 MHz. Lim discloses that the frequency may be defined as 87 to 205 kHz or 87 to 145 kHz.
With respect to claim 18, HWANG in view of Lim disclose the method of claim 10, wherein the frequency range comprises multiple discrete frequency values selected from 128 kHz, 326 kHz, 360 kHz, 1.78 MHz, and 13.56 MHz. Lim discloses that the frequency may be defined as 87 to 205 kHz or 87 to 145 kHz, paragraph 0103 discloses using a specific frequency.
With respect to claim 19, HWANG in view of Lim discloses the apparatus necessary to complete the recited method steps, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 1.
With respect to claim 21, HWANG in view of Lim disclose the method of claim 20, further comprising: in response to determining that the measured frequency of the ping signals is outside the first and second frequency ranges, conveying a third wireless charging standard version number, different than the first and second wireless charging standard version numbers, to the wireless power transmitting device. HWANG discloses in paragraphs 0008-0011 selecting based on the detected frequencies different wireless charging standard versions.
With respect to claim 22, HWANG in view of Lim disclose the method of claim 21, further comprising: conveying the first wireless charging standard version number, the second wireless charging standard version number, or the third wireless charging standard version number to the wireless power transmitting device by transmitting a protocol identification packet via the coil. HWANG and Lim disclose communicating the charging standard version/selection protocols using the wireless power transfer coil (in-band communication).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8, 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 4 is allowable over the prior art of record, because the prior art of record does not disclose wherein the frequency value and the frequency range comprises 128 kHz, wherein the first wireless charging standard version number comprises version 2.x of Qi, and wherein the second wireless charging standard version number comprises version 1.x of Qi.
Claim 7 is allowable over the prior art of record, because the prior art of record does not disclose wherein the frequency value and the frequency range comprises 145 kHz, wherein the first wireless charging standard version number comprises version 1.x of Qi, and wherein the second wireless charging standard version number comprises version 2.x of Qi.
Claim 15 is allowable over the prior art of record, because the prior art of record does not disclose wherein the frequency range is between 118 kHz to 138 kHz, and wherein the first wireless charging protocol identification number comprises version 2.x of Qi.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WON et al. (US 2016/0065005) discloses a wireless power transmission apparatus using different power transceiving standards.
/CARLOS AMAYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836