DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/21/2024 and 11/15/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bu et al. (WO 2007/081182 A1; cited in Applicant’s IDS submitted 02/21/2024; “Bu”).
Regarding claim 1, Bu teaches a method comprising:
transmitting a first time domain signal that is based on a first frequency domain signal, the first frequency domain signal resulting from conversion of a sequence of modulation symbols to frequency domain and comprising a plurality of frequency domain components [Bu p. 12, ln. 25-p. 13, ln. 2, Fig. 7: modulation module outputs modulation symbols to Pre-FFT module, which performs FFT (i.e. conversion into frequency domain) on the modulated symbols; p. 13, ll. 20-32, Fig. 9: modulation symbols mapped to subcarriers (i.e. frequency domain components); p. 3, ll. 12-16, Fig. 2: shows IFFT stage after pre-FFT and subcarrier mapping (i.e. the IFFT stage transforms the frequency domain signal into a time domain signal for transmission)]; and
transmitting a second time domain signal that is based on a second frequency domain signal, the second frequency domain signal being consistent with a cyclic shift of the frequency domain components of the first frequency domain signal, wherein transmitting the first time domain signal and transmitting the second time domain signal comprise a transmission and a retransmission related to an input from which the sequence of modulation symbols is generated [Bu p. 13, ll. 20-32, Fig. 9: for HARQ retransmissions, the mapping relationship between modulation symbols and subcarriers of the initial transmission is gained by making a cyclic shift downward, e.g., of 20 sub-carriers (i.e. a second signal for retransmission is derived by cyclically shifting the initial frequency domain components/subcarriers)].
Regarding claim 2, Bu teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: generating the first time domain signal by applying a transform to the first frequency domain signal after resource mapping of the first frequency domain signal; generating the second time domain signal by applying the transform to the second frequency domain signal after resource mapping of the second frequency domain signal [Bu p. 3, ll. 12-16, Fig. 2: shows IFFT (i.e. first transform) stage after pre-FFT and subcarrier mapping (i.e. the IFFT stage transforms the frequency domain signal into a time domain signal for transmission); [Bu p. 13, ll. 20-32, Fig. 9: retransmission of a cyclically shifted frequency domain signal (i.e. IFFT would be performed after pre-FFT and subcarrier mapping from second time domain signal)].
Regarding claim 3, Bu teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: applying a transform to the sequence of modulation symbols to generate the first frequency domain signal [Bu p. 12, ln. 25-p. 13, ln. 2, Fig. 7: modulation module outputs modulation symbols to Pre-FFT module, which performs FFT (i.e. transform) on the modulated symbols to generate a frequency domain signal].
Regarding claim 4, Bu teaches the method of claim 3, further comprising: applying the transform to the sequence of modulation symbols to generate a third frequency domain signal; applying the cyclic shift to frequency domain components of the third frequency domain signal to generate the second frequency domain signal [Bu p. 13, ll. 20-32, Fig. 9: for HARQ retransmissions (i.e. the second transmission associated with second frequency domain signal), the mapping relationship between modulation symbols and subcarriers of the initial transmission is gained by making a cyclic shift downward, e.g., of 20 sub-carriers (here, a retransmission would re-perform the steps of modulation and pre-FFT, i.e., modulation symbols are transformed into a “third” frequency domain signal and then shifted to achieve the “second” frequency domain signal used to derive the second time domain signal/retransmission)].
Regarding claim 5, Bu teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: applying the cyclic shift to the frequency domain components of the first frequency domain signal to generate the second frequency domain signal [Bu p. 13, ll. 20-32, Fig. 9: for HARQ retransmissions, the mapping relationship between modulation symbols and subcarriers of the initial transmission is gained by making a cyclic shift downward, e.g., of 20 sub-carriers (i.e. a second signal for retransmission is derived by cyclically shifting the initial frequency domain components/subcarriers)].
Regarding claim 11, Bu teaches the method comprising:
receiving a first time domain signal [Bu p. 3, ll. 12-16, Fig. 2: shows input of received signal into FFT stage (i.e. received signal is time domain signal) prior to inverse mapping and pre-IFFT] that is based on a first frequency domain signal, the first frequency domain signal resulting from conversion of a sequence of modulation symbols to frequency domain and comprising a plurality of frequency domain components [Bu p. 12, ll. 8-24, Fig. 6: at transmitter side, modulation module outputs modulation symbols to Pre-FFT module, which performs FFT (i.e. conversion into frequency domain) on the modulated symbols; p. 13, ll. 20-32, Fig. 9: modulation symbols mapped to subcarriers (i.e. frequency domain components)]; and
receiving a second time domain signal that is based on a second frequency domain signal, the second frequency domain signal being consistent with a cyclic shift of the frequency domain components of the first frequency domain signal, wherein the first time domain signal and the second time domain signal are transmitted as a transmission and a retransmission related to an input from which the sequence of modulation symbols was generated [Bu p. 13, ll. 20-32, Fig. 9: for HARQ retransmissions, the mapping relationship between modulation symbols and subcarriers of the initial transmission is gained by making a cyclic shift downward, e.g., of 20 sub-carriers (i.e. a second signal for retransmission is derived by cyclically shifting the initial frequency domain components/subcarriers)].
Regarding claim 12, Bu teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the first time domain signal was generated by applying a transform to the first frequency domain signal after resource mapping of the first frequency domain signal, wherein the second time domain signal was generated by applying the transform to the second frequency domain signal after resource mapping of the second frequency domain signal [Bu p. 3, ll. 12-16, Fig. 2: shows IFFT (i.e. first transform) stage after pre-FFT and subcarrier mapping (i.e. the IFFT stage transforms the frequency domain signal into a time domain signal for transmission); [Bu p. 13, ll. 20-32, Fig. 9: retransmission of a cyclically shifted frequency domain signal (i.e. IFFT would be performed after pre-FFT and subcarrier mapping from second time domain signal)].
Regarding claim 13, Bu teaches the method of claim 11, wherein a transform was applied to the sequence of modulation symbols to generate the first frequency domain signal [Bu p. 12, ln. 25-p. 13, ln. 2, Fig. 7: modulation module outputs modulation symbols to Pre-FFT module, which performs FFT (i.e. transform) on the modulated symbols to generate a frequency domain signal].
Regarding claim 14, Bu teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the transform was applied to the sequence of modulation symbols to generate a third frequency domain signal; wherein the cyclic shift was applied to frequency domain components of the third frequency domain signal to generate the second frequency domain signal [Bu p. 13, ll. 20-32, Fig. 9: for HARQ retransmissions (i.e. the second transmission associated with second frequency domain signal), the mapping relationship between modulation symbols and subcarriers of the initial transmission is gained by making a cyclic shift downward, e.g., of 20 sub-carriers (here, a retransmission would re-perform the steps of modulation and pre-FFT, i.e., modulation symbols are transformed into a “third” frequency domain signal and then shifted to achieve the “second” frequency domain signal used to derive the second time domain signal/retransmission)]
Regarding claim 15, Bu teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the cyclic shift was applied to the frequency domain components of the first frequency domain signal to generate the second frequency domain signal [Bu p. 13, ll. 20-32, Fig. 9: for HARQ retransmissions, the mapping relationship between modulation symbols and subcarriers of the initial transmission is gained by making a cyclic shift downward, e.g., of 20 sub-carriers (i.e. a second signal for retransmission is derived by cyclically shifting the initial frequency domain components/subcarriers)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-10 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bu in view of Gao (US 2019/0173703 A1; “Gao”).
Regarding claim 6, Bu teaches an apparatus comprising:
components to transmit a first time domain signal that is based on a first frequency domain signal, the first frequency domain signal resulting from conversion of a sequence of modulation symbols to frequency domain and comprising a plurality of frequency domain components [Bu p. 12, ln. 25-p. 13, ln. 2, Fig. 7: modulation module outputs modulation symbols to Pre-FFT module, which performs FFT (i.e. conversion into frequency domain) on the modulated symbols; p. 13, ll. 20-32, Fig. 9: modulation symbols mapped to subcarriers (i.e. frequency domain components); p. 3, ll. 12-16, Fig. 2: shows IFFT stage after pre-FFT and subcarrier mapping (i.e. the IFFT stage transforms the frequency domain signal into a time domain signal for transmission)]; and
transmit a second time domain signal that is based on a second frequency domain signal, the second frequency domain signal being consistent with a cyclic shift of the frequency domain components of the first frequency domain signal, wherein transmitting the first time domain signal and transmitting the second time domain signal comprise a transmission and a retransmission related to an input from which the sequence of modulation symbols is generated [Bu p. 13, ll. 20-32, Fig. 9: for HARQ retransmissions, the mapping relationship between modulation symbols and subcarriers of the initial transmission is gained by making a cyclic shift downward, e.g., of 20 sub-carriers (i.e. a second signal for retransmission is derived by cyclically shifting the initial frequency domain components/subcarriers)].
However, Bu does not explicitly disclose an SC-FDMA transmitter comprising a processor; and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, coupled to the processor, storing programming for execution by the processor, the programming including instructions to cause the apparatus to transmit and receive time domain signals.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Gao teaches an SC-FDMA transmitter comprising a processor; and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, coupled to the processor, storing programming for execution by the processor, the programming including instructions to cause the apparatus to transmit and receive time domain signals [Gao claim 43: a processor, a memory and a transceiver, wherein the processor is configured to read programs stored in the memory for transmission of cyclically shifted ACK/NACK data].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of using cyclically shifted resources for HARQ retransmission as taught by Bu, with the method of implementing sPUCCH HARQ transmissions through an SC-FDMA transceiver as taught by Gao. The motivation to combine these references would be to utilize SC-FDMA hardware to time delay in mobile communications [Gao ¶¶ 0003 & 0011].
Regarding claim 7, Bu in view of Gao teaches the apparatus of claim 6, the programming further including instructions to cause the apparatus to: generate the first time domain signal by applying a transform to the first frequency domain signal after resource mapping of the first frequency domain signal; generate the second time domain signal by applying the transform to the second frequency domain signal after resource mapping of the second frequency domain signal [Bu p. 3, ll. 12-16, Fig. 2: shows IFFT (i.e. first transform) stage after pre-FFT and subcarrier mapping (i.e. the IFFT stage transforms the frequency domain signal into a time domain signal for transmission); [Bu p. 13, ll. 20-32, Fig. 9: retransmission of a cyclically shifted frequency domain signal (i.e. IFFT would be performed after pre-FFT and subcarrier mapping from second time domain signal)].
Regarding claim 8, Bu in view of Gao teaches the apparatus of claim 6, the programming further including instructions to cause the apparatus to: apply a transform to the sequence of modulation symbols to generate the first frequency domain signal [Bu p. 12, ln. 25-p. 13, ln. 2, Fig. 7: modulation module outputs modulation symbols to Pre-FFT module, which performs FFT (i.e. transform) on the modulated symbols to generate a frequency domain signal].
Regarding claim 9, Bu in view of Gao teaches the apparatus of claim 8, the programming further including instructions to cause the apparatus to: apply the transform to the sequence of modulation symbols to generate a third frequency domain signal; apply the cyclic shift to frequency domain components of the third frequency domain signal to generate the second frequency domain signal [Bu p. 13, ll. 20-32, Fig. 9: for HARQ retransmissions (i.e. the second transmission associated with second frequency domain signal), the mapping relationship between modulation symbols and subcarriers of the initial transmission is gained by making a cyclic shift downward, e.g., of 20 sub-carriers (here, a retransmission would re-perform the steps of modulation and pre-FFT, i.e., modulation symbols are transformed into a “third” frequency domain signal and then shifted to achieve the “second” frequency domain signal used to derive the second time domain signal/retransmission)].
Regarding claim 10, Bu in view of Gao in view of Seki teaches the apparatus of claim 6, the programming further including instructions to cause the apparatus to: apply the cyclic shift to the frequency domain components of the first frequency domain signal to generate the second frequency domain signal [Bu p. 13, ll. 20-32, Fig. 9: for HARQ retransmissions, the mapping relationship between modulation symbols and subcarriers of the initial transmission is gained by making a cyclic shift downward, e.g., of 20 sub-carriers (i.e. a second signal for retransmission is derived by cyclically shifting the initial frequency domain components/subcarriers)].
Regarding claim 16, Bu teaches an apparatus comprising:
components to receive a first time domain signal [Bu p. 3, ll. 12-16, Fig. 2: shows input of received signal into FFT stage (i.e. received signal is time domain signal) prior to inverse mapping and pre-IFFT] that is based on a first frequency domain signal, the first frequency domain signal resulting from conversion of a sequence of modulation symbols to frequency domain and comprising a plurality of frequency domain components [Bu p. 12, ln. 25-p. 13, ln. 2, Fig. 7: modulation module outputs modulation symbols to Pre-FFT module, which performs FFT (i.e. conversion into frequency domain) on the modulated symbols; p. 13, ll. 20-32, Fig. 9: modulation symbols mapped to subcarriers (i.e. frequency domain components);; and
receive a second time domain signal that is based on a second frequency domain signal, the second frequency domain signal being consistent with a cyclic shift of the frequency domain components of the first frequency domain signal, wherein the first time domain signal and the second time domain signal are transmitted as a transmission and a retransmission related to an input from which the sequence of modulation symbols was generated [Bu p. 13, ll. 20-32, Fig. 9: for HARQ retransmissions, the mapping relationship between modulation symbols and subcarriers of the initial transmission is gained by making a cyclic shift downward, e.g., of 20 sub-carriers (i.e. a second signal for retransmission is derived by cyclically shifting the initial frequency domain components/subcarriers)].
However, Bu does not explicitly disclose an SC-FDMA transmitter comprising a processor; and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, coupled to the processor, storing programming for execution by the processor, the programming including instructions to cause the apparatus to transmit and receive time domain signals.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Gao teaches an SC-FDMA transmitter comprising a processor; and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, coupled to the processor, storing programming for execution by the processor, the programming including instructions to cause the apparatus to transmit and receive time domain signals [Gao claim 43: a processor, a memory and a transceiver, wherein the processor is configured to read programs stored in the memory for transmission of cyclically shifted ACK/NACK data].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of using cyclically shifted resources for HARQ retransmission as taught by Bu, with the method of implementing sPUCCH HARQ transmissions through an SC-FDMA transceiver as taught by Gao. The motivation to combine these references would be to utilize SC-FDMA hardware to time delay in mobile communications [Gao ¶¶ 0003 & 0011].
Regarding claim 17, Bu in view of Gao teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the first time domain signal was generated by applying a transform to the first frequency domain signal after resource mapping of the first frequency domain signal, wherein the second time domain signal was generated by applying the transform to the second frequency domain signal after resource mapping of the second frequency domain signal [Bu p. 3, ll. 12-16, Fig. 2: shows IFFT (i.e. first transform) stage after pre-FFT and subcarrier mapping (i.e. the IFFT stage transforms the frequency domain signal into a time domain signal for transmission); [Bu p. 13, ll. 20-32, Fig. 9: retransmission of a cyclically shifted frequency domain signal (i.e. IFFT would be performed after pre-FFT and subcarrier mapping from second time domain signal)].
Regarding claim 18, Bu in view of Gao teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein a transform was applied to the sequence of modulation symbols to generate the first frequency domain signal [Bu p. 12, ln. 25-p. 13, ln. 2, Fig. 7: modulation module outputs modulation symbols to Pre-FFT module, which performs FFT (i.e. transform) on the modulated symbols to generate a frequency domain signal].
Regarding claim 19, Bu in view of Gao teaches the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the transform was applied to the sequence of modulation symbols to generate a third frequency domain signal, wherein the cyclic shift was applied to frequency domain components of the third frequency domain signal to generate the second frequency domain signal [Bu p. 13, ll. 20-32, Fig. 9: for HARQ retransmissions (i.e. the second transmission associated with second frequency domain signal), the mapping relationship between modulation symbols and subcarriers of the initial transmission is gained by making a cyclic shift downward, e.g., of 20 sub-carriers (here, a retransmission would re-perform the steps of modulation and pre-FFT, i.e., modulation symbols are transformed into a “third” frequency domain signal and then shifted to achieve the “second” frequency domain signal used to derive the second time domain signal/retransmission)].
Regarding claim 20, Bu in view of Gao teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the cyclic shift was applied to the frequency domain components of the first frequency domain signal to generate the second frequency domain signal [Bu p. 13, ll. 20-32, Fig. 9: for HARQ retransmissions, the mapping relationship between modulation symbols and subcarriers of the initial transmission is gained by making a cyclic shift downward, e.g., of 20 sub-carriers (i.e. a second signal for retransmission is derived by cyclically shifting the initial frequency domain components/subcarriers)].
Conclusion
/BRIAN P COX/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474