DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/24/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (WO 2024/172474, using EP 4668607 as translation, both attached to this Office Action)
Referring to Claim 1, Kim et al. disclose a method performed by a user equipment (UE) (par 109, UE configured), the method comprising: receiving, from a base station (BS) (pars 108 and 109, from base station), a first configuration of a cell-discontinuous transmission (cell-DTX) mechanism (pars 108 and 109, cell DTX configuration/parameters for UE); receiving, from the BS (par 109, from base station), a second configuration of a cell-discontinuous reception (cell-DRX) mechanism (par 109, cell DRX configuration/parameters for UE); monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) of the BS based on the first configuration (par 109, receive PDCCH); and performing an uplink transmission to the BS based on the second configuration (par 109, transmit SR/CG).
Referring to Claim 2 as applied to Claim 1 above, Kim et al. disclose the method, wherein the first configuration comprises a first discontinuous pattern and a second discontinuous pattern (par 109, two cell DTX/DRX patterns), and the method further comprises: receiving, from the BS, an indication (par 109, two cell DTX/DRX patterns/activation); selecting, based on the indication, one of the first discontinuous pattern and the second discontinuous pattern (par 109, DTX/DRX activated); and monitoring the PDCCH using the selected one of the first discontinuous pattern and the second discontinuous pattern (par 109, PDCCH).
Referring to Claim 3 as applied to Claim 1 above, Kim et al. disclose the method, wherein the second configuration comprises a first discontinuous pattern and a second discontinuous pattern (par 109, two cell DTX/DRX patterns), and the method further comprises: receiving, from the BS, an indication (par 109, two cell DTX/DRX patterns/activation); selecting, based on the indication, one of the first discontinuous pattern and the second discontinuous pattern (par 109, DTX/DRX activated); and performing the uplink transmission using the selected one of the first discontinuous pattern and the second discontinuous pattern (par 109, transmit).
Referring to Claim 4 as applied to Claim 1 above, Kim et al. disclose the method, further comprising: receiving, from the BS, information related to whether the BS is configured with at least one of the cell-DTX mechanism and the cell-DRX mechanism (par 109, DTX/DRX, activation).
Referring to Claim 5 as applied to Claim 4 above, Kim et al. disclose the method, wherein the information is carried in a radio resource control (RRC) parameter (par 109, RRC).
Referring to Claim 6 as applied to Claim 1 above, Kim et al. disclose the method, further comprising: sending a scheduling request (SR) to the BS in an active time of the cell-DRX mechanism according to the second configuration (par 109, SR)
Referring to Claim 7, Kim et al. disclose a user equipment (UE) (par 109, UE), comprising: one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing one or more computer-executable instructions (par 109 and par 47, UE, memory); and at least one processor coupled to the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media (par 109 and par 47, UE, processor), the at least one processor configured to execute the one or more computer-executable instructions to cause the UE to: receive, from a base station (BS) (pars 108 and 109, from base station), a first configuration of a cell-discontinuous transmission (cell-DTX) mechanism (par 109, cell DTX configuration/parameters for UE); receive, from the BS (pars 108 and 109, from base station), a second configuration of a cell-discontinuous reception (cell-DRX) mechanism (par 109, cell DRX configuration/parameters for UE); monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) of the BS based on the first configuration (par 109, receive PDCCH); and perform an uplink transmission to the BS based on the second configuration (par 109, transmit SR/CG).
Referring to Claim 8 as applied to Claim 7 above, Kim et al. disclose the UE, wherein the first configuration comprises a first discontinuous pattern and a second discontinuous pattern (par 109, two cell DTX/DRX patterns), and the at least one processor is configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to further cause the UE to: receive, from the BS, an indication (par 109, two cell DTX/DRX patterns/activation); select, based on the indication, one of the first discontinuous pattern and the second discontinuous pattern (par 109, DTX/DRX activated); and monitor the PDCCH using the selected one of the first discontinuous pattern and the second discontinuous pattern (par 109, PDCCH).
Referring to Claim 9 as applied to Claim 7 above, Kim et al. disclose the UE, wherein the second configuration comprises a first discontinuous pattern and a second discontinuous pattern (par 109, two cell DTX/DRX patterns), and the at least one processor is configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to further cause the UE to: receive, from the BS, an indication (par 109, two cell DTX/DRX patterns/activation); select, based on the indication, one of the first discontinuous pattern and the second discontinuous pattern (par 109, DTX/DRX activated); and perform the uplink transmission using the selected one of the first discontinuous pattern and the second discontinuous pattern (par 109, transmit).
Referring to Claim 10 as applied to Claim 7 above, Kim et al. disclose the UE, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to further cause the UE to: receive, from the BS, information related to whether the BS is configured with at least one of the cell-DTX mechanism and the cell-DRX mechanism (par 109, DTX/DRX, activation).
Referring to Claim 11 as applied to Claim 10 above, Kim et al. disclose the UE, wherein the information is carried in a radio resource control (RRC) parameter (par 109, RRC).
Referring to Claim 12 as applied to Claim 7 above, Kim et al. disclose the UE, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to further cause the UE to: send a scheduling request (SR) to the BS in an active time of the cell-DRX mechanism according to the second configuration (par 109, SR).
Referring to Claim 13, Kim et al. disclose a base station (BS) (par 109, base station), comprising: one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing one or more computer-executable instructions (par 109 and par 47, base station, memory); and at least one processor coupled to the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media (par 109 and par 47, cell/base station, processor), the at least one processor configured to execute the one or more computer-executable instructions to cause the BS to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE) (pars 108 and 109, from base station to UE), a first configuration of a cell-discontinuous transmission (cell-DTX) mechanism (par 109, cell DTX configuration/parameters for UE); transmit, to the UE (pars 108 and 109, from base station to UE), a second configuration of a cell-discontinuous reception (cell-DRX) mechanism (par 109, cell DRX configuration/parameters for UE); transmit a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), to the UE (par 109, PDCCH), based on the first configuration; and receive an uplink transmission, from the UE, based on the second configuration (par 109, SR/CG).
Referring to Claim 14 as applied to Claim 13 above, Kim et al. disclose the BS, wherein the first configuration comprises a first discontinuous pattern and a second discontinuous pattern (par 109, two cell DTX/DRX patterns), and the at least one processor is configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to further cause the BS to: transmit, to the UE, an indication (par 109, two cell DTX/DRX patterns/activation), wherein the indication indicates one of the first discontinuous pattern and the second discontinuous pattern for the UE to monitor the PDCCH (par 109, PDCCH).
Referring to Claim 15 as applied to Claim 13 above, Kim et al. disclose the BS, wherein the second configuration comprises a first discontinuous pattern and a second discontinuous pattern (par 109, two cell DTX/DRX patterns), and the at least one processor is configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to further cause the BS to: transmit, to the UE, an indication (par 109, two cell DTX/DRX patterns/activation), wherein the indication indicates one of the first discontinuous pattern and the second discontinuous pattern for the UE to perform the uplink transmission (par 109, transmit).
Referring to Claim 16 as applied to Claim 13 above, Kim et al. disclose the BS, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to further cause the BS to: transmit, to the UE, information related to whether the BS is configured with at least one of the cell-DTX mechanism and the cell-DRX mechanism (par 109, DTX/DRX, activation).
Referring to Claim 17 as applied to Claim 13 above, Kim et al. disclose the BS, wherein the information is carried in a radio resource control (RRC) parameter (par 109, RRC).
Referring to Claim 18 as applied to Claim 13 above, Kim et al. disclose the BS, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to further cause the BS to: receive, from the UE, a scheduling request (SR) in an active time of the cell-DRX mechanism according to the second configuration (par 109, SR).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SUHAIL KHAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7187. The examiner can normally be reached on M-TH 8:30am-6:30pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Rafael Perez-Gutierrez can be reached on 5712727915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Suhail Khan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642