DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13 and 14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 16, 2025.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 5-8 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3, line 5, the recitation “ate least one supply line” should read –[[ate]]at least one supply line--.
In claim 5, line 3, the recitation “a pressure sensor” should read –[[a]]the pressure sensor--.
In claim 6, lines 6 and 9, both recitations of “the electrodes” should read –the at least two electrodes--.
In claim 7, line 2, the recitation “a valve” should read –[[a]]the valve--.
In claim 8, line 2, the recitation “a valve” should read –[[a]]the valve--.
In claim 12, line 2, the recitation “a valve” should read –[[a]]the valve--.
In claim 12, lines 2-3, the recitation “the elastic element” should read –the additional elastic element--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 lacks a transitional phrase, and the claim is unclear as to where the scope of the claim begins. Although the use of a transitional phrase is not required, the use of a transitional phrase more definitively defines what element(s) is/are included in or excluded from the scope of the claim. In the present case, the claim is unclear as what elements of the claim are being claimed as part of the fluid component and what elements are merely accessory thereto.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the ate least one supply line” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, it is assumed that the recitation “the ate least one supply line” in claim 3, line 5, should read –at least one supply line--.
Claims 4-10 and 15 are rejected because they depend on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US10315548 (“Kerler”).
Regarding claim 1, Kerler discloses (see figs. 1-3) a fluid component (1) with the function of a pressure sensor and/or valve (see figs. 1-3), at least one actuator (“4”) accommodated in a fluid-tight or non-fluid-tight housing (mainly defined by 9 and/or 10) of the fluid component,
wherein the fluid component is arranged on a circuit board (5),
wherein each of the at least one actuator has at least two electrodes (“on the two sides of which there is arranged in each case one electrically conductive layer, for example a graphite layer”; see specification col. 2, lines 13-19, and see also specification col. 4, lines 27-33) and at least one section having an electroactive polymer (see specification col. 2, lines 13-19, and col. 4, lines 27-33) arranged between the at least two electrodes, or a plurality of sections each having an electroactive polymer, with the plurality of sections layered on top of one another.
With regards to the recitation "for a fluid-conducting system (1) of a vehicle comfort system", a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. Since the prior art comprises the structure required by the claim to perform the intended use, it is capable of performing the intended use and meets the claim.
Regarding claim 2, Kerler discloses a vehicle seat comfort system (comprised at least partially by valve 1, compressed-air supply 2 and cushion 3) having a fluid-conducting system, the fluid-conducting system comprising:
at least one fluid component (1) arranged on a circuit board (5), wherein the at least one fluid component functions as a pressure sensor and/or valve for the fluid-conducting system; and
at least one actuator (4) accommodated in a fluid-tight or non-fluid-tight housing (mainly defined by 9 and/or 10) of the at least one fluid component, wherein each of the at least one actuator has at least two electrodes (“on the two sides of which there is arranged in each case one electrically conductive layer, for example a graphite layer”; see specification col. 2, lines 13-19, and see also specification col. 4, lines 27-33) and at least one section having an electroactive polymer (see specification col. 2, lines 13-19, and col. 4, lines 27-33) arranged between the at least two electrodes, or a plurality of sections each having an electroactive polymer, with the plurality of sections layered on top of one another.
Regarding claim 3, Kerler discloses the fluid-conducting system (see figs. 1-3) comprises a fluid pump (compressor of compressed-air supply 2; see specification col. 3, lines 58-61) which feeds a fluid line (line connecting compressed-air supply 2 to inlet 901 in fig. 1, inlet 13 in fig. 2, or to inlet 6 in fig. 3) with fluid, wherein the fluid line is fluidically connected to one or a plurality of fluid actuator(s) (cushion 3) via the ate least one supply line (line connecting cushion 3 to port 6 according to fig. 1, port 11 according to fig. 2, or port 6’ according to fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Kerler discloses, wherein, in at least one supply line (line connecting cushion 3 to port 6 according to fig. 1, port 11 according to in fig. 2, or port 6’ according to fig. 3), the at least one fluid component (1) or a further fluid component comprises the function of the valve (see figs. 1-3) for opening and closing a flow path (flow path between compressed-air supply 2 to cushion 3) through the at least one supply line, wherein the vehicle comfort system has a voltage supply (voltage supply which supplies voltage to conductive top and bottom sides of dielectric elastomer 4; see specification col. 4, lines 34-39) which can apply a predetermined or predeterminable voltage (voltage sufficient to cause actuator 4 to deflect away from and/or return to contacting seat 7) between the electrodes (“on the two sides of which there is arranged in each case one electrically conductive layer, for example a graphite layer”; see specification col. 2, lines 13-19, and see also specification col. 4, lines 27-33) of the at least one actuator (4), wherein the at least one actuator is arranged such that the valve (1) closes below a threshold voltage or when there is no voltage between the electrodes (see specification col. 4, lines 64, through col. 5, line 15).
Regarding claim 7, Kerler discloses the at least one fluid component (1) comprising the function of a valve (see figs. 1-3) comprises an inlet (inlet 901 according to fig. 1, inlet 13 according to fig. 2, or inlet 6 according to fig. 3) connected to a first of the at least one supply line (line connecting cushion 3 to port 6 according to fig. 1, port 11 according to in fig. 2, or port 6’ according to fig. 3) and at least one outlet (outlet 6 according to fig. 1, outlet 11 according to fig. 2, or outlet 6’ according to fig. 3) connected directly or indirectly to a fluid actuator (3) via a second of the at least one supply line (corresponding supply line for another one of the one or more cushions 3; see specification col. 3, line 46, through col. 4, line 9).
Regarding claim 8, Kerler discloses the at least one fluid component (1) comprising the function of a valve (see fig. 2) further has a vent outlet (see “air discharge duct” 12 in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Kerler discloses a further actuator (Kerler discloses multiple cushions 3 having corresponding valves 1; see specification col. 3, line 46, through col. 4, line 9).
Regarding claim 10, Kerler discloses the voltage supply (voltage supply which supplies voltage to conductive top and bottom sides of dielectric elastomer 4; see specification col. 4, lines 34-39) or a further voltage supply can apply a predetermined or predeterminable voltage (voltage sufficient to cause actuator 4 to deflect away from and/or return to contacting seat 7) between electrodes (“on the two sides of which there is arranged in each case one electrically conductive layer, for example a graphite layer”; see specification col. 2, lines 13-19, and see also specification col. 4, lines 27-33) of the further actuator (actuator 4 of another valve 1; see specification col. 3, line 46, through col. 4, line 9), and the further actuator is arranged such that the vent outlet (“air discharge duct” 12 in fig. 2) is closed below a threshold voltage or when there is no voltage between its electrodes (see specification col. 4, lines 64, through col. 5, line 15).
Regarding claim 15, Kerler discloses the one or a plurality of fluid actuator(s) (cushion 3) is/are fluid fillable bladder(s) (see specification col. 3, lines 44-53).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kerler, as applied to claims 2 and 3, above, in view of US7537197 (“Heim”).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Kerler discloses the at least one fluid component (1) comprises the function of the valve and has an inlet (901 according to fig. 1, 13 according to fig. 2, or 6 according to fig. 3) via which the at least one fluid component is connected to the fluid line (line connecting compressed-air supply 2 to inlet 901 in fig. 1, inlet 13 in fig. 2, or to inlet 6 in fig. 3) and/or the at least one supply line (line connecting cushion 3 to port 6 according to fig. 1, port 11 according to in fig. 2, or port 6’ according to fig. 3) in such a way that the at least one actuator (4) is deformed under fluid pressure (via voltage applied thereto).
Kerler does not disclose the at least one fluid component comprising the function of the pressure sensor, wherein the vehicle comfort system has a detection device which detects a voltage and/or capacitance between the at least two electrodes of the at least one actuator, and wherein the fluid component determines an associated pressure value from the voltage and/or capacitance detected by the detection device.
However, Heim teaches (see specification col. 5, lines 1-17, and col. 15, lines 20-46) a fluid component (315) comprising a function of both a valve and a pressure sensor (see specification col. 5, lines 1-17, and col. 15, lines 20-46), wherein a detection device (a microcontroller or a microprocessor) detects a voltage and/or capacitance (see specification col. 5, lines 1-17) between two electrodes of an actuator (315) of the fluid component, and wherein the fluid component determines an associated pressure value (see specification col. 5, lines 1-17, and col. 15, lines 20-46) from the voltage and/or capacitance detected by the detection device.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Kerler by configuring the fluid component to function as a valve and a pressure sensor, wherein the vehicle comfort system is configured with a detection device which detects a voltage and/or capacitance between the at least two electrodes of the at least one actuator, and wherein the fluid component determines an associated pressure value from the voltage and/or capacitance detected by the detection device, as taught by Heim, to have a capability to control flow through the fluid component in response to the detected pressure(s) and to be able to monitor or log operating pressures of the fluid component.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Kerler discloses the at least one fluid component (1) comprising the function of a valve (see figs. 1-3), which presses against a corresponding valve seat (7).
Kerler does not disclose the at least one actuator being supported by an additional elastic element, wherein, the elastic element (64; 64') is arranged and designed in such a way that it presses the at least one actuator in a direction of a corresponding valve seat.
However, Heim teaches (see fig. 3A) a fluid component (see fig. 3A) comprising an actuator (361) supported by an additional elastic element (364), wherein, the fluid component comprises the function of a valve (see closure 361 and seat 363), and the elastic element is arranged and designed in such a way that it presses the actuator in a direction of a corresponding valve seat (363).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Kerler by employing an additional elastic element to bias the at least one actuator in a direction of the corresponding valve seat, as taught by Heim, to ensure better contact between the actuator and the corresponding valve seat.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed December 4, 2025, have been fully considered:
With regards to the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation of “a detection device” in claim 4, Applicant’s argument is persuasive, and this limitation is no longer interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation. With regards to the currently deleted limitation “an evaluation device”, in light of amended claim 5, the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation is no longer applicable to the claim.
With regards to the prior claim objection(s) and rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), set forth in the Office action dated September 10, 2025, Applicant’s current amendments have overcome these objection(s) and/or rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b); however, the amended claims have motivated new claim objection(s) and/or rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), see Office action, above.
With regards to Applicant’s arguments concerning the prior art rejection of claim(s) 1-12 over Heim ‘197, Applicant’s amendment has overcome the rejection of record. However, the amended claims have necessitated new ground(s) of rejection rendering Applicant's arguments regarding Heim ‘197, as applied to the prior Office action, are moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAILEY K. DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753