Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Martinek (US 2364085).
Regarding claim 12, Martinek discloses a nail cleaning tool (Refer to Figures 16 and 27), comprising: an elongated body (103,159) having a first end (one of the proximal or distal end portions of 103,159) and an opposite facing second end (other of the proximal or distal end portions of 103,159); wherein the first end has an integrally formed crevicing angled end protruding outward and curved (Refer to Figures 16 and 27) for cleaning a right side of a fingernail or toenail bed; wherein the second end has an integrally formed crevicing angled end protruding outward and curved (Refer to Figures 16 and 27) for cleaning a left side of a fingernail or toenail bed; wherein the ends curve in opposing directions (as shown in Figures 16 and 27, the first and second ends curve in opposite directions) and are configured to capture and remove debris from sides of fingernails and toenails; wherein the body is composed of a rigid material suitable for debris removal selected from the group consisting of plastic, wood, and metal (Refer to page 1 col. 2 lines 12-15 which discloses wood); and wherein the tool is hand-held and each end is repositionable to clean both right-side and left-side nail beds by repositioning the tool in hand.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinek and Strickland et al. (US 20060196519).
Regarding claim 13, Martinek discloses the nail cleaner of claim 12 above; however, Martinek does not disclose the crevicing angled ends are angled perpendicular to the elongated body. Martinek teaches different embodiments where the pointed tip of the crevicing angled ends extend at different angles. Strickland discloses a similar nail cleaning tool (Refer to Figure 1) having an elongated body (12) with opposing ends forming crevicing angled ends, where the angled ends are angled perpendicular to the body (pointed ends/tips 22, 32 extend perpendicularly relative to the body). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the nail cleaner of Martinek such that the crevicing angled ends be angled perpendicular to the elongated body as taught by Strickland et al. since Marinek contemplates different angles and Strickland et al. demonstrate the perpendicular configuration is well-known and conventional and provides for effective cleaning of the nails.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinek as evidenced by Alvizua (D154227).
Regarding claim 13, Martinek discloses the nail cleaner of claim 12 above; however, Martinek does not disclose the crevicing angled ends are angled perpendicular to the elongated body. Martinek teaches different embodiments where the pointed tip of the crevicing angled ends extend at different angles, where one embodiment (Figures 16 and 27) provides a curved configuration but the curvature does not result in the tip/end being perpendicular to the body. Alvizua demonstrates it is wlel-known and conventional for such nail cleaning tools with curved end portions to provide the crevicing angled end angled perpendicularly to the elongated body (Refer to Figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the nail cleaner of Martinek such that the crevicing angled ends be angled perpendicular to the elongated body as taught by Alvizua since Marinek contemplates different angles and Alvizua demonstrate the perpendicular configuration is well-known and conventional.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Argument: Martinek fails to teach or suggest the claimed side-specific functionality.
Response: In response to applicant's argument that the side-specific use is not disclosed, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The prior art teaches the recited structural elements and is able to be used as claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TATIANA L NOBREGA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799