DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites in part in lines 2-6, “a pivot plate, comprising a pivot part…the pivot part comprising a first inner arm…a second inner arm…wherein the pivot part, the first inner arm, and the second inner arm are arranged on a same straight line…” The claim is indefinite and unclear as initially the first and second inner arms are recited as being components of the pivot part, but then written as if separate when saying they are arranged on a same straight line. For examination purposes, the first and second inner arms are being treated as components making up the pivot part and pivot plate.
The same language is applied in claim 3.
Claim 2 is similarly rejected being dependent upon claim 1.
Claims 4-10 are similarly rejected being dependent upon claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Young (US PG Pub No. 20180118170).
In regards to claim 1, Young discloses
a middle blade structure (middle blade structure 30, fig. 6-7) of a wiper, the middle blade structure comprising:
a pivot plate (at least pivot connection portion 31 and leg 34, see fig. 6-7), comprising
a pivot part (at least legs 34 and connection portion 31; fig. 6-7) disposed thereon, the pivot part (at least legs 34 and pivot connection portion 31; fig. 6-7) comprising
a first inner arm (at least inner leg 34 and connection extension 36 adjacent to leg 34; fig. 6-7) extended from one end thereof, the first inner arm (at least inner leg 34 and connection extension 36 adjacent to leg 34; fig. 6-7) comprising a fixed hole (hole 37, fig. 6-7) defined thereon,
the pivot part (at least legs 34 and pivot connection portion 31; fig. 6-7) comprising
a second inner arm (pivot connection portion 31, fig. 6-7) extended from another end thereof, a length of the second inner arm (pivot connection portion 31, fig. 6-7) is shorter than a length of the first inner arm (at least inner leg 34 and connection extension 36 adjacent to leg 34; fig. 6-7), the second inner arm (pivot connection portion 31, fig. 6-7) comprising a bent part (See fig. 7 - ann. 1) disposed on one end thereof,
wherein the pivot part (at least legs 34 and pivot connection portion 31; fig. 6-7), the first inner arm (at least inner leg 34 and connection extension 36 adjacent to leg 34; fig. 6-7), and the second inner arm (pivot connection portion 31, fig. 6-7) are arranged on a same straight line (see fig. 6 - ann. 1); and
an outer arm (at least leg 33 and adjacent connection extension, see fig. 6-7), extended from the bent part (See fig. 7 - ann. 1), and comprising a connection part (connection extension 36, fig. 6-7) disposed on one end thereof,
the connection part (connection extension 36, fig. 6-7) comprising a connection hole (hole 37, fig. 6-7) defined thereon, wherein
an inner angle of the bent part (See fig. 7 - ann. 1) between the pivot plate (at least pivot connection portion 31 and leg 34, see fig. 6-7) and the outer arm (at least leg 33 and adjacent connection extension, see fig. 6-7) is between 120 degrees and 180 degrees (see fig. 6 – ann. 2).
In regards to claim 2, Young discloses
the middle blade structure of claim 1, further comprising:
a protruding part (strengthening bead 35, fig. 6-7), disposed on a surface of the outer arm (at least leg 33 and adjacent connection extension, see fig. 6-7), a surface of the second inner arm (pivot connection portion 31, fig. 6-7), and a surface of the first inner arm (at least inner leg 34 and connection extension 36 adjacent to leg 34; fig. 6-7).
In regards to claim 3, Young discloses
a wiper device (at least connection device 10, primary frame 20, and secondary frame 30; fig. 1-7), comprising:
a middle blade structure (middle blade structure 30, fig. 6-7), comprising:
a pivot plate (at least pivot connection portion 31 and leg 34, see fig. 6-7), comprising a pivot part (at least legs 34 and pivot connection portion 31; fig. 6-7) disposed thereon, the pivot part (at least legs 34 and pivot connection portion 31; fig. 6-7) comprising a first inner arm (at least inner leg 34 and connection extension 36 adjacent to leg 34; fig. 6-7) extended from one end thereof, the first inner arm (at least inner leg 34 and connection extension 36 adjacent to leg 34; fig. 6-7) comprising a fixed hole (hole 37, fig. 6-7) defined thereon, the pivot part (at least legs 34 and pivot connection portion 31; fig. 6-7) comprising a second inner arm (pivot connection portion 31, fig. 6-7) extended from another end thereof, a length of the second inner arm (pivot connection portion 31, fig. 6-7) is shorter than a length of the first inner arm (at least inner leg 34 and connection extension 36 adjacent to leg 34; fig. 6-7), the second inner arm (pivot connection portion 31, fig. 6-7) comprising a bent part (See fig. 7 - ann. 1) disposed on one end thereof, wherein the pivot part (at least legs 34 and pivot connection portion 31; fig. 6-7), the first inner arm (at least inner leg 34 and connection extension 36 adjacent to leg 34; fig. 6-7), and the second inner arm (pivot connection portion 31, fig. 6-7) are arranged on a same straight line (see fig. 6 - ann. 1); and an outer arm (at least leg 33 and adjacent connection extension, see fig. 6-7), extended from the bent part (See fig. 7 - ann. 1), and comprising a connection part (connection extension 36, fig. 6-7) disposed on one end thereof, the connection part (connection extension 36, fig. 6-7) comprising a connection hole (hole 37, fig. 6-7) defined thereon, wherein an inner angle of the bent part (See fig. 7 - ann. 1) between the pivot plate (at least pivot connection portion 31 and leg 34, see fig. 6-7) and the outer arm (at least leg 33 and adjacent connection extension, see fig. 6-7) is between 120 degrees and 180 degrees (see fig. 6 – ann. 2).
In regards to claim 4, Young discloses
the wiper device of claim 3, wherein the pivot part (at least legs 34 and pivot connection portion 31; fig. 6-7) comprises a plurality of assembling grooves (recesses 32, see fig. 6-7) symmetrically disposed on two sides thereof.
In regards to claim 5, Young discloses
the wiper device of claim 4, wherein the assembling grooves (recesses 32, see fig. 6-7) are connected with a pivot component (turn buckle holder 51, fig. 9-16), the pivot component comprises two bases (holder halves 52, fig. 6-7), each of the two bases comprises a clamping channel (channel 54, fig. 9, 10 and 13-15), the clamping channel clamps the assembling groove of the pivot part (at least legs 34 and pivot connection portion 31; fig. 6-7); and the two bases (holder halves 52, fig. 6-7) respectively comprise a pivot hole (rivet passage 53, fig. 9, 13 and 15) communicating with each other, the middle blade structure is pivotally connected with a large blade structure (primary frame 20, fig. 1-5) through the pivot hole (rivet passage 53, fig. 9, 13 and 15).
In regards to claim 6, Young discloses
the wiper device of claim 5, wherein the large blade structure (primary frame 20, fig. 1-5) comprises a connecting through hole (see fig. 4/5 - ann. 1) connected to a connection device (connection device 10, fig. 1-5), the connection device (connection device 10, fig. 1-5) is connected with a wiper handle of a vehicle ([0091]: connection device to which a connector can be used to connect the wiper blade to a wiper arm); and
two connection arms (walls 21, fig. 4) are symmetrically extended from two ends of the connecting through hole (see fig. 4/5 - ann. 1), each of the connection arms comprises a perforation (holes 24, fig. 4) defined thereon, and
a pivot axle (rivet 50, fig. 8) passes through the perforation to be pivotally connected to the pivot hole (rivet passage 53, fig. 9, 13 and 15) of the pivot component (turn buckle holder 51, fig. 9-16) to make the large blade structure (primary frame 20, fig. 1-5) be pivotally connected to the middle blade structure (middle blade structure 30, fig. 6-7).
In regards to claim 7, Young discloses
the wiper device of claim 6, wherein a wiper cover (cover 60, fig. 1) is disposed on the large blade structure (primary frame 20, fig. 1-5), the wiper cover comprises a through hole (see fig. 1/30 – ann. 1) defined thereon to expose the connection device (connection device 10, fig. 1-5), and two cover plates (cover side sections 64, see fig. 1) are extended from two ends of the through hole.
In regards to claim 8, Young discloses
the wiper device of claim 3, wherein the middle blade structure (middle blade structure 30, fig. 6-7) comprises
a protruding part (strengthening bead 35, fig. 6-7), respectively disposed on a surface of the outer arm (at least leg 33 and adjacent connection extension, see fig. 6-7), the second inner arm (pivot connection portion 31, fig. 6-7), and the first inner arm (at least inner leg 34 and connection extension 36 adjacent to leg 34; fig. 6-7).
In regards to claim 9, Young discloses
the wiper device of claim 3, wherein
a fastener (see fig. 2 – ann. 1) passes through the fixed hole (hole 37, fig. 6-7) and the
connection hole (hole 37, fig. 6-7) to be fixed on a plurality of wing feet (tertiary frames 40, 41; see fig. 17-20), each of the wing feet comprises a beam arm in an arc shape (see fig. 17-20 – ann. 1), the beam arm comprises two claw parts (claws 43, fig. 17-19) disposed on two ends thereof, the claw parts are assembled on a wiper blade (wiper strip 15, fig. 1).
In regards to claim 10, Young discloses
the wiper device of claim 9, wherein the wiper blade (wiper strip 15, fig. 1) comprises a main body (see fig. 2– ann. 2), the main body is in a long strip shape and comprises an assembly part (fluting 16) and a scraping strip (wiper strip 15, fig. 2), the assembly part comprises two grooves respectively disposed on two side faces thereof, the grooves are connected with the claw parts ([0109]: the tertiary frames are provided with claws 43 which support the wiper strip 15. The wiper blade described herein can use any of the traditional wiper strips known in the art, which generally have a base portion having grooves into which metal vertebrae are inserted to provide lateral support for the wiper strip 15).
Conclusion
/JASON KHALIL HAWKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3723