Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-30 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. US 18/444,670. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application
US 18/444,670
Claim 1. An apparatus configured for wireless communications, comprising: one or more memories comprising processor-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to:
determine a target time for performing a change in activation or deactivation of a current cell discontinuous reception (DRX) operation at a first cell, the target time determined based on a scheduling time offset associated with the first cell, an indication transmission slot, and a preconfigured delay;
send, to one or more user equipments (UEs) served in the indication transmission slot by the first cell, the target time for performing the change in activation or deactivation of the current cell DRX operation at the first cell; and
perform the change in activation or deactivation of the current cell DRX operation at the first cell at the target time.
Claim 1. An apparatus configured for wireless communications, comprising: one or more memories comprising processor-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to: determine a target time for performing a change in activation or deactivation of a current cell discontinuous reception (DRX) operation at a first cell, the target time determined based on one or more uplink synchronization reference points, an indication transmission slot, and a preconfigured delay; send, to one or more user equipments (UEs) served in the indication transmission slot by the first cell, the target time for performing the change in activation or deactivation of the current cell DRX operation at the first cell; and perform the change in activation or deactivation of the current cell DRX operation at the first cell at the target time.
Note that the table above only compared the conflicting claim 1. However, the Applicant is advised that the other independent and dependent claims in instant application also have their conflicting claims in US 18444670 and thus are rejected on a similar fashion as that in the table above, resulting in a double patenting rejection to all claims in instant application.
Thus, this double patenting rejection is necessary to prevent unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 18-22, 24 and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cirik (US 20250106848).
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 1/19/20/30, Cirik teaches An apparatus ([Fig.15A], base station 1504) configured for wireless communications, comprising: one or more memories comprising processor-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to:
determine a target time for performing a change in activation or deactivation of a current cell discontinuous reception (DRX) operation at a first cell ([0255], “The Cell DTX/DRX may be activated/deactivated by RRC signaling.” And [0279], “The one or more messages (e.g., the RRC message(s)) may control the cell DRX (or the cell DRX operation) by configuring/indicating/comprising the following parameters in the one or more cell DRX configuration parameters.” And [0249]), the target time determined based on a scheduling time offset associated with the first cell ([0281], “celldrx-StartOffset: defines the subframe where the cycle of the cell DRX (or the cell DRX cycle) starts.”), an indication transmission slot ([0294], “receiving a cell DRX activation indication (e.g., by DCI format 2_9 or by RRC signaling) for the cell DRX of the cell.”), and a preconfigured delay ([0282], “celldrx-SlotOffset: the delay before starting the on-duration timer of the cell DRX (e.g., celldrx-onDurationTimer).”);
send, to one or more user equipments (UEs) served in the indication transmission slot by the first cell ([0294], “receiving a cell DRX activation indication (e.g., by DCI format 2_9 or by RRC signaling) for the cell DRX of the cell.”), the target time for performing the change in activation or deactivation of the current cell DRX operation at the first cell ([0255], “the base station and/or the wireless device may activate/deactivate the Cell DTX/DRX based on the L1 group common signaling. The wireless device may activate the Cell DTX/DRX based on receiving DCI (e.g., DCI format 2_9).”); and
perform the change in activation or deactivation of the current cell DRX operation at the first cell at the target time ([0255], “the base station and/or the wireless device may activate/deactivate the Cell DTX/DRX based on the L1 group common signaling.”).
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 2/21, Cirik teaches wherein the target time for performing the change in activation or deactivation of the current cell DRX operation at the first cell is a beginning of a target slot ([0255], “The Cell DTX/DRX may be activated/deactivated.”), and wherein the target slot is a first slot that is not earlier (DRX operation is activated after the received RRC indication and slot offset and start offset.) than the indication transmission slot ([0294], “receiving a cell DRX activation indication (e.g., by DCI format 2_9 or by RRC signaling) for the cell DRX of the cell.”) plus the preconfigured delay ([0277], “0277] celldtx-SlotOffset: the delay before starting the on-duration timer of the cell DTX (e.g., celldtx-onDurationTimer).”) plus the scheduling time offset associated with the first cell ([0276], “celldtx-StartOffset: defines the subframe where the cycle of the cell DTX (or the cell DTX cycle) starts;.”).
Regarding claim(s) 3/22, Cirik teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to send, to the one or more UEs served by the first cell, the scheduling time offset ([0274], “The one or more messages (e.g., the RRC message(s)) may control the cell DTX (or the cell DTX operation) by configuring/indicating/comprising the following parameters in the one or more cell DTX configuration parameters (e.g., CellDTX-Config): ... [0276] celldtx-StartOffset: defines the subframe where the cycle of the cell DTX (or the cell DTX cycle) starts.”).
Regarding claim(s) 5/24, Cirik teaches wherein the indication transmission slot is a downlink slot containing a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) resource for downlink control information (DCI) in format 2_9 ([0294], “receiving a cell DRX activation indication (e.g., by DCI format 2_9 or by RRC signaling) for the cell DRX of the cell.”).
Regarding claim(s) 18/29, Cirik teaches wherein the apparatus comprises a base station ([Fig.15A], base station 1504).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik in view of Ye (US 20240031983).
Regarding claim(s) 4/23, Ye teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to send, to the one or more UEs served by the first cell, the scheduling time offset in a system information block (SIB) ([0009], “the base station may broadcast the scheduling offset in SIB as part of the paging configuration.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Cirik to specify SIB as taught by Ye. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to transmit offset information as part of paging configuration.
Claim(s) 6 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik in view of Kang (US 20230389124).
Regarding claim(s) 6/25, Kang teaches wherein the preconfigured delay is an integer number of slots, and wherein the integer number depends on a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of a downlink active bandwidth part of the first cell ([0166], “An offset may be in units of slots. A slot length for an ‘offset’ may be determined based on SCS of an active DL BWP.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Cirik to specify SCS as taught by Kang. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to determine offset length.
Claim(s) 7 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik in view of Kim (US 20180279204).
Regarding claim(s) 7/26, Cirik teaches wherein: the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to send, using a second cell and to the one or more UEs served in the indication transmission slot by the first cell, the target time for performing the change in activation or deactivation of the current cell DRX operation at the first cell ([0255], “The Cell DTX/DRX may be activated/deactivated by RRC signaling.” And [0279], “The one or more messages (e.g., the RRC message(s)) may control the cell DRX (or the cell DRX operation) by configuring/indicating/comprising the following parameters in the one or more cell DRX configuration parameters.” And [0249]), and the target time for performing the change in activation or deactivation of the current cell DRX operation at the first cell is indicated as an absolute time ([0255], “the base station and/or the wireless device may activate/deactivate the Cell DTX/DRX based on the L1 group common signaling. The wireless device may activate the Cell DTX/DRX based on receiving DCI (e.g., DCI format 2_9).”).
However, Cirik does not teach using a second cell.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches wherein: the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to send, using a second cell and to the one or more UEs ([0082], “the first cell transmits DRX configuration information for the first and second cells to the terminal at step 1f-35. Then the terminal triggers a DRX operation at step 1f-40.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Cirik to specify secondary cell as taught by Kim. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to transmit DRX configuration to both cells.
Claim(s) 8 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik in view of Kim, and further in view of Jeon (US 20240237133).
Regarding claim(s) 8/27, Jeon teaches wherein the absolute time is indicated by a system frame number, subframe number, slot number, and symbol index of the first cell ([Abs], “determining a start of the cell DTX or DRX on-duration timer based on a system frame number (SFN).”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Cirik to specify SFN as taught by Jeon. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to determine start of DRX on duration.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-17 and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ZHIREN QIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2411