DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/22/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Independent Claim 12:
The applicant argues “Based on these portions cited by the Office Action, it is
shown that Chang describes changing a DTX of a base station and only describes DRX in relation to a UE (e.g., "a DRX of the UE," "DRX active time of the UE," etc.) (emphasis added). Thus, there is no discussion related to "a current cell discontinuous reception (DRX) operation at a first cell" as recited in independent claim 12 (emphasis added).” See page 10 of applicant’s remarks. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Chang teaches coverage range of small cell base stations for serving UEs using DRX located in the small cell using DTX. See paragraphs [0003] and [0005]. The DRX active time is determined based on DTX active time of the base station . Any changes/extensions of the DTX is learned by the UE so the UE can determine/apply the change to the DRX. Chang clearly teaches a direct relation between the DTX of a base station of the small cell to the DRX of a UE of the small cell. See paragraphs [0174], [0175] and [0371]. Therefore, there is discussion in Chang related to "a current cell discontinuous reception (DRX) operation at a first cell" as recited in independent claim 12.
The applicant argues “Additionally, the discussion of "extension information of a DTX active time of a base station" and/or "a base station chang[ing] original DTX of the base station" from the portions of Chang cited by the Office Action are not the same as "a change in activation or deactivation of a current cell discontinuous reception (DRX) operation at a first cell" as recited in independent claim 12 (emphasis added). For example, as provided in the Application-as-filed, a "network entity… may activate and/or deactivate the cell DRX or cell DTX (e.g., indicate a change in activation or deactivation of a cell DRX or cell DTX operation) based on transmitting a message to the UE." Application-as-filed, 1 [0116].” See page 10 of applicant’s remarks. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Chang teaches when a base station changes original DTX of the base station, extension information of a DTX active time of the base station is sent (i.e., the network entity/base station transmitting a message to the UE regarding the change/extension reflecting the DTX and DRX), so that UE can learn a latest DTX condition according to a change of DTX on a base station side and therefore can determine a correct active time of the UE with reference to DRX of the UE (in other words, a change in activation of a current cell serving the base station and UE such as the small cell DRX operation discussed in paragraphs [0003] and [0005]), thereby ultimately ensuring QoS of the UE. See paragraph [0371]. Just as discussed in the Application filed, Chang likewise teach a "network entity… may activate and/or deactivate the cell DRX or cell DTX (e.g., indicate a change in activation or deactivation of a cell DRX or cell DTX operation) based on transmitting a message to the UE."
The applicant argues “…the Office Action cites to additional portions of Chang that describe "if [a] specified trigger condition is satisfied, sending a wake-up message to the base station to request the base station to extend the DTX active time," where "the specified trigger condition [preferably] includes: an uplink buffer status report UL BSR exceeds a specified threshold." Id. at " [0034]-[0036]. However, an uplink BSR is not the same as "one or more uplink synchronization reference points," "an indication transmission slot," or "a preconfigured delay" as recited in independent claim 12.” See pages 10-11 of applicant’s remarks. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Chang teaches the UE determines, based on a current uplink buffer state, whether to request an eNB to temporarily enter a DTX active time within a DTX sleep time of the eNB, or actively request an eNB to extend a DTX active time to provide a service to the UE. For example, when the UE detects that a BSR (a buffer state) of the UE already exceeds a threshold… the UE may actively request to wake up the eNB or request the eNB to extend a DTX active time. Based on a particular preset trigger condition, the UE is triggered to send a wake-up signal or a wake-up request message to the eNB. The wake-up signal may be an SR signal sent on a PUCCH, or a preamble signal sent on a PRACH, or the like. See paragraph [0214]. Chang teaches the UE detects that a BSR (a buffer state) of the UE already exceeds a threshold and sends a wake-up signal or a wake-up request message to the eNB on a PUCCH (in other words, the uplink buffer status and the wake-up signal or wake-up request sent on a PUCCH are considered as uplink synchronization reference points referencing for the eNB to apply changes to the DTX which applies changes to the DRX as described above). Therefore, Chang discloses “uplink synchronization reference points” as required in the claims.
The applicant argues “Further, even if the uplink BSR could be equated to one of "one or more uplink synchronization reference points," "an indication transmission slot," or "a preconfigured delay" (which Applicant does not concede as indicated), the Office Action has failed to show that Chang describes all three of "one or more uplink synchronization reference points, an indication transmission slot, and a preconfigured delay" as recited in independent claim 12 (emphasis added).” See pages 10-11 of applicant’s remarks. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The examiner would like to point out that the claim is written such as not to require all three of "one or more uplink synchronization reference points, an indication transmission slot, and a preconfigured delay". However, it is written and considered as one or more: 1. uplink synchronization reference points, 2. an indication transmission slot or 3. a preconfigured delay. In other words, only requiring one. If the applicant’s invention calls for all three to be applied and considered, the examiner would like to suggest the applicant amend the claims for clarification.
Regarding Independent Claims 1 and 10:
The applicant argues “…Thus, there is no discussion related to "a current cell discontinuous reception (DRX) operation at a first cell' as recited in independent claims 1 and 10 (emphasis added). Additionally, the discussion of "extension information of a DTX active time of a base station" and/or "a base station chang[ing] original DTX of the base station" from the portions of Chang cited by the Office Action are not the same as "a change in activation or deactivation of a current cell discontinuous reception (DRX) operation at a first cell" as recited in independent claims 1 and 10 (emphasis added). Similarly, the uplink BSR described from the portions of Chang cited by the Office Action is not the same as "one or more uplink synchronization reference points," "an indication transmission slot," or "a preconfigured delay" as recited in independent claims 1 and 10, nor does the Office Action show how Chang describes all three of "one or more uplink synchronization reference points, an indication transmission slot, and a preconfigured delay" as recited in independent claims 1 and 10 (emphasis added).” See page 12 of applicant’s remarks. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The applicant argues the same points as mentioned above regarding independent claim 12. As such, the examiner disagrees for the same reasons as already presented above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 7, 10, 12, 15, 18 and 22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-6, 19-20, 24-25 and 32 of copending Application No. 18/444,667 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the current application (670’) are the same subject of the copending application (667’) claims as further shown below.
Current Application (670’):
Copending Application (667’):
Rationale:
1. A network entity, comprising: one or more antennas; and a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code for the processor circuitry, the processing system configured to cause the network entity to: determine a target time for performing a change in activation or deactivation of a current cell discontinuous reception (DRX) operation at a first cell, the target time determined based on one or more uplink synchronization reference points, an indication transmission slot, and a preconfigured delay; send, to one or more user equipments (UEs) served in the indication transmission slot by the first cell, the target time for performing the change in activation or deactivation of the current cell DRX operation at the first cell; and perform the change in activation or deactivation of the current cell DRX operation at the first cell at the target time.
1. A network entity, comprising: one or more antennas; and a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code for the processor circuitry, the processing system configured to cause the network entity to: determine a target time for performing a change in activation or deactivation of a current cell discontinuous reception (DRX) operation at a first cell, the target time determined based on a scheduling time offset associated with the first cell, an indication transmission slot, and a preconfigured delay; send, to one or more user equipments (UEs) served in the indication transmission slot by the first cell, the target time for performing the change in activation or deactivation of the current cell DRX operation at the first cell; and perform the change in activation or deactivation of the current cell DRX operation at the first cell at the target time.
The current application states “based on one of more” only requiring at the very least one (uplink synchronization reference points, an indication transmission slot, and a preconfigured delay) to apply which is broader than the copending application requiring all (a scheduling time offset associated with the first cell, an indication transmission slot, and a preconfigured delay) to apply.
Therefore, it is understood that the information discussed in the current application is the same as discussed in the copending application.
10. A method for wireless communications, comprising: determining a target time for performing a change in activation or deactivation of a current cell discontinuous reception (DRX) operation at a first cell, the target time determined based on one or more uplink synchronization reference points, an indication transmission slot, and a preconfigured delay; sending, to one or more user equipments (UEs) served in the indication transmission slot by the first cell, the target time for performing the change in activation or deactivation of the current cell DRX operation at the first cell; and performing the change in activation or deactivation of the current cell DRX operation at the first cell at the target time.
19. A method for wireless communications at a network entity, comprising: determining a target time for performing a change in activation or deactivation of a current cell discontinuous reception (DRX) operation at a first cell, the target time determined based on a scheduling time offset associated with the first cell, an indication transmission slot, and a preconfigured delay; sending, to one or more user equipments (UEs) served in the indication transmission slot by the first cell, the target time for performing the change in activation or deactivation of the current cell DRX operation at the first cell; and performing the change in activation or deactivation of the current cell DRX operation at the first cell at the target time.
The current application states “based on one of more” only requiring at the very least one (uplink synchronization reference points, an indication transmission slot, and a preconfigured delay) to apply which is broader than the copending application requiring all (a scheduling time offset associated with the first cell, an indication transmission slot, and a preconfigured delay) to apply.
Therefore, it is understood that the information discussed in the current application is the same as discussed in the copending application.
12. A user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more antennas: and a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code for the processor circuitry, the processing system configured to cause the UE to: receive, from a network entity and in an indication transmission slot, a target time for applying a change in activation or deactivation of a current cell discontinuous reception (DRX) operation at a first cell; and apply the change in activation or deactivation of the current cell DRX operation at the first cell at the target time, wherein the target time for applying the change in activation or deactivation of the current cell DRX operation at the first cell is based on one or more uplink synchronization reference points, an indication transmission slot, and a preconfigured delay.
20. A user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more antennas: and a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code for the processor circuitry, the processing system configured to cause the UE to: receive, from a network entity and in an indication transmission slot, a target time for applying a change in activation or deactivation of a current cell discontinuous reception (DRX) operation at a first cell; and apply the change in activation or deactivation of the current cell DRX operation at the first cell at the target time, wherein the target time for applying the change in activation or deactivation of the current cell DRX operation at the first cell is based on a scheduling time offset associated with the first cell, an indication transmission slot, and a preconfigured delay.
The current application states “based on one of more” only requiring at the very least one (uplink synchronization reference points, an indication transmission slot, and a preconfigured delay) to apply which is broader than the copending application requiring all (a scheduling time offset associated with the first cell, an indication transmission slot, and a preconfigured delay) to apply.
Therefore, it is understood that the information discussed in the current application is the same as discussed in the copending application.
Dependent claims 4, 7, 15, 18 and 22
Dependent claims 5-6, 24-25 and 32
The information discussed in the dependent claims of the current application are the same as the dependent claims of the copending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang et al. (Chang), U.S. Publication No. 2016/0088681.
Regarding Claim 12, Chang discloses a user equipment (UE) (i.e., schematic
diagram illustrating UE shown in figure 11), comprising: one or more antennas (at least radio frequency module shown in figure 11): and a processing system that includes processor circuitry (i.e., processor shown in figure 11) and memory circuitry (i.e., memory shown in figure 11) that stores code for the processor circuitry (as described in paragraph [0361]), the processing system configured to cause the UE to:
receive, from a network entity and in an indication transmission slot, a target time for applying a change in activation or deactivation of a current cell (i.e., cells described in paragraphs [0003] and [0005]) discontinuous reception (DRX) operation at a first cell (i.e., acquire extension information of a DTX active time of a base station, where the extension information is used to indicate extension performed by the base station on the DTX active time of the base station…overlapped time of the DTX active time and the DRX active time should be acquired and used as the active time of the UE therefore, considered as the target time for applying a change in activation or deactivation of a DRX operation; see paragraphs [0174] and [0175]. Chang further describes when a base station changes original DTX of the base station, extension information of a DTX active time of the base station is sent, so that UE can learn a latest DTX condition according to a change of DTX on a base station side and therefore can determine a correct active time of the UE with reference to DRX of the UE; see paragraph [0371]); and
apply the change in activation or deactivation of the current cell DRX operation at the first cell at the target time (in other words, adjust a DTX active time of the UE according to the extension information, and use an overlapped time between the DTX active time of the UE and a discontinuous reception DRX active time of the UE as an active time of the UE for listening on a physical downlink control channel PDCCH channel; see paragraph [0175]),
wherein the target time for applying the change in activation or deactivation of the current cell DRX operation at the first cell is based on one or more uplink synchronization reference points (for example, if the specified trigger condition is satisfied, sending a wake-up message to the base station to request the base station to extend the DTX active time…Preferably, the specified trigger condition includes: an uplink buffer status report UL BSR exceeds a specified threshold; see paragraphs [0034]-[0036]), an indication transmission slot, and a preconfigured delay.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Xing et al. (Xing), U.S. Patent No. 8,996,044.
Regarding Claim 13, Chang discloses the UE as described above.
Chang fails to disclose wherein the processing system is configured to cause the UE to apply the change in activation or deactivation of the current cell DRX operation at the first cell based on a first timeline for an uplink synchronization reference point associated with the first cell and a second timeline for an uplink synchronization reference point associated with the second cell. Xing discloses wherein the processing system are configured to cause the UE to apply the change in activation or deactivation of the current cell DRX operation at the first cell based on a first timeline for an uplink synchronization reference point associated with the first cell and a second timeline for an uplink synchronization reference point associated with the second cell (see col. 9, line 44-col. 10, line 17 and col. 10, line 63-col. 11, line 5). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Xing’s invention with Chang’s invention for energy efficiency such as operating in reduced power state as described throughout Xing.
Regarding Claim 17, Chang discloses the UE as described above.
Chang fails to disclose wherein the processing system is configured to cause the UE to receive the target time for applying the change in activation or deactivation of the current cell DRX operation at the first cell from the network entity via a second cell. Xing discloses wherein the processing system are configured to cause the UE to receive the target time for applying the change in activation or deactivation of the current cell DRX operation at the first cell from the network entity via a second cell (see col. 9, line 44-col. 10, line 17 and col. 10, line 63-col. 11, line 5). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Xing’s invention with Chang’s invention for energy efficiency such as operating in reduced power state as described throughout Xing.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang and Xing in view of Kim et al. (Kim), U.S. Publication No. 2023/0119379.
Regarding Claim 15, Chang and Xing disclose the UE wherein the indication transmission slot is a downlink slot on the second timeline as described above. Chang and Xing fail to disclose containing a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) resource for downlink control information (DCI) in format 2_9. Kim discloses containing a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) resource for downlink control information (DCI) in format 2_9 (see paragraphs [0343]-[0344]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Kim’s invention with Chang’s and Xing’s invention for reducing the power consumption of a UE in a wireless communication system as described throughout Kim.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang and Xing in view of Moon et al. (Moon), U.S. Publication No. 2024/0267985.
Regarding Claim 16, Chang and Xing disclose the UE as described above. Chang and Xing fail to disclose wherein: the first timeline comprises a plurality of uplink slots and a plurality of downlink slots that are aligned in time for the uplink synchronization reference point associated with the first cell; and the second timeline comprises a plurality of uplink slots and a plurality of downlink slots that are aligned in time for the uplink synchronization reference point associated with the second cell. Moon discloses wherein: the first timeline comprises a plurality of uplink slots and a plurality of downlink slots that are aligned in time for the uplink synchronization reference point associated with the first cell; and the second timeline comprises a plurality of uplink slots and a plurality of downlink slots that are aligned in time for the uplink synchronization reference point associated with the second cell (see figure 9). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Moon’s invention with Chang’s and Xing’s invention for increasing power efficiency of a network as described throughout Moon.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Moon.
Regarding Claim 18, Chang discloses the UE as described above.
Chang fails to disclose wherein: the preconfigured delay is an integer number of slots; and the integer number depends on a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of a downlink active bandwidth part of the first cell. Moon discloses wherein: the preconfigured delay is an integer number of slots (see figure 9); and the integer number depends on a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of a downlink active bandwidth part of the first cell (see Table 1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Moon’s invention with Chang’s invention for increasing power efficiency of a network as described throughout Moon.
Regarding Claim 19, Chang discloses the UE as described above.
Chang fails to disclose wherein the one or more uplink synchronization reference points comprise network entities or virtual points between network entities. Moon discloses wherein the one or more uplink synchronization reference points comprise network entities (see figures 1 & 12) or virtual points between network entities. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Moon’s invention with Chang’s invention for increasing power efficiency of a network as described throughout Moon.
Claim(s) 1, 10 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang.
Regarding Claims 1 and 10, Chang discloses a network entity (i.e., schematic
diagram illustrating a base station shown in figure 12), comprising: one or more antennas (at least radio frequency module shown in figure 12); and a processing system that includes processor circuitry (i.e., processor shown in figure 12) and memory circuitry (as described in paragraph [0373]) that stores code for the processor circuitry (as described in paragraph [0372]), the processing system configured to cause the network entity to:
determine a target time for performing a change in activation or deactivation of a current cell (i.e., cells described in paragraphs [0003] and [0005]) discontinuous reception (DRX) operation at a first cell (i.e., acquire extension information of a DTX active time of a base station, where the extension information is used to indicate extension performed by the base station on the DTX active time of the base station…overlapped time of the DTX active time and the DRX active time should be acquired and used as the active time of the UE therefore, considered as the base station determining a target time for performing a change in activation or deactivation of a DRX operation; see paragraphs [0174] and [0175]), the target time determined based on one or more uplink synchronization reference points (for example, if the specified trigger condition is satisfied, sending a wake-up message to the base station to request the base station to extend the DTX active time…Preferably, the specified trigger condition includes: an uplink buffer status report UL BSR exceeds a specified threshold; see paragraphs [0034]-[0036]), an indication transmission slot, and a preconfigured delay;
send, to one or more user equipments (UEs) served in the indication transmission slot by the first cell, the target time for performing the change in activation or deactivation of the current cell DRX operation at the first cell (i.e., acquire extension information of a DTX active time of a base station, where the extension information is used to indicate extension performed by the base station on the DTX active time of the base station…overlapped time of the DTX active time and the DRX active time should be acquired and used as the active time of the UE therefore, considered as the target time for applying a change in activation or deactivation of a DRX operation; see paragraphs [0174] and [0175]. Chang further describes when a base station changes original DTX of the base station, extension information of a DTX active time of the base station is sent, so that UE can learn a latest DTX condition according to a change of DTX on a base station side and therefore can determine a correct active time of the UE with reference to DRX of the UE; see paragraph [0371]).
Although, Chang does not specifically disclose perform the change in activation or deactivation of the current cell DRX operation at the first cell at the target time, Chang does teach the base station sending information on the PDCCH channel to the UE during the DTX active time of base station and the DRX active time of the UE as described in the paragraphs above and paragraphs [0198]-[0201]. Therefore, the base station performs the change in activation or deactivation of the current cell DRX operation at the first cell at the target time where the sending of the information on the PDCCH channel is based on the performed change in activation or deactivation of the DRX operation at the target time. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Chang’s invention for ensuring QoS of the UE as described throughout Chang.
Regarding Claim 22, Chang discloses wherein to cause the network entity to send the target time, the processing system is configured to cause the network entity to send an indication that comprises the target time (see paragraphs [0056]-[0058]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Xing.
Regarding Claim 6, Chang discloses the network entity as described above.
Chang fails to disclose wherein the processing system is configured to cause the network entity to send the target time for performing the change in activation or deactivation of the current cell DRX operation at the first cell using a second cell. Xing discloses wherein the processing system is configured to cause the network entity to send the target time for performing the change in activation or deactivation of the current cell DRX operation at the first cell using a second cell (see col. 9, line 44-col. 10, line 17 and col. 10, line 63-col. 11, line 5). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Xing’s invention with Chang’s invention for energy efficiency such as operating in reduced power state as described throughout Xing.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Moon.
Regarding Claim 7, Chang discloses the network entity as described above. Chang fails to disclose wherein: the preconfigured delay is an integer number of slots; and the integer number depends on a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of a downlink active bandwidth part of the first cell. Moon discloses wherein: the preconfigured delay is an integer number of slots (see figure 9); and the integer number depends on a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of a downlink active bandwidth part of the first cell (see Table 1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Moon’s invention with Chang’s invention for increasing power efficiency of a network as described throughout Moon.
Regarding Claim 8, Chang discloses the network entity as described above. Chang fails to disclose wherein the one or more uplink synchronization reference points comprise network entities or virtual points between network entities. Moon discloses wherein the one or more uplink synchronization reference points comprise network entities (see figures 1 & 12) or virtual points between network entities. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Moon’s invention with Chang’s invention for increasing power efficiency of a network as described throughout Moon.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of OH, U.S. Publication No. 2018/0132284.
Regarding Claim 21, Chang discloses the network entity as described above.
Chang fails to disclose wherein the one or more uplink synchronization reference points comprise one or more uplink time synchronization reference points. OH discloses wherein the one or more uplink synchronization reference points comprise one or more uplink time synchronization reference points (see paragraph [0051]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider OH’s invention with Chang’s invention to improve resource efficiency as described throughout OH.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 11 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHANTELL L HEIBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645
September 11, 2026