DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 2/18/2024. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hashimoto et al. (US 2014/0093773 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Hashimoto teaches an electrode comprising a noncovalent (physical bonds and absorption are listed as alternatives to chemical bonding) hybrid comprising carbon nanotubes and anthraquinone [0054, 0062, 0064].
With regard to claim 2, Hashimoto teaches an active material [0086].
With regard to claim 3, Hashimoto teaches dihydroxy anthraquinone (1,2-dihydroxyanthraquinone) [0064].
With regard to claim 4, Hashimoto teaches the electrode may be a cathode (positive electrode) and the active material is a cathode active material comprising a lithium based material [0086].
With regard to claim 5, Hashimoto teaches lithium cobalt oxide [0086].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto as applied to claims 1-5 above, and further in view of Jang (US 2022/0255129 A1, hereafter Jang).
With regard to claim 6, Hashimoto teaches lithium metal oxides but does not explicitly teach lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide. However, in the same field of endeavor, Jang teaches the use of lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide [0180]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide of Jang as the lithium metal oxide of Hashimoto since it is taught to be a desirable cathode active material [Jang 0179-0180].
Claim(s) 7-8, and 10-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto as applied to claims 1-5 above, and further in view of Harutyunyan et al. (US 2020/0083560 A1, hereafter Harutyunyan).
With regard to claims 7-8, Hashimoto teaches an anode (negative electrode) [0086] but does not explicitly teach one of the claimed active materials. However, in the same field of endeavor, Harutyunyan teaches the use of graphite (claim 8) as an anode active material [0027]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the graphite anode active material of Harutyunyan with the electrode of Hashimoto for the benefit of a flexible material capable of matching a lithium metal oxide cathode voltage [Harutyunyan 0004, 0027].
With regard to claim 10, Hashimoto does not teach the claimed thickness. However, in the same field of endeavor, Harutyunyan teaches an electrode with a thickness of 50 micrometers (which falls within the claimed range) [0031]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the electrode thickness of Harutyunyan with the electrode of Hashimoto for the benefit of needing less electrolyte to wet the electrode and allowing for increased energy storage density [Harutyunyan 0031, 0033].
With regard to claim 11, Hashimoto teaches a lithium-ion cell comprising an anode, a cathode and wherein at least one of the anode or the cathode comprises a noncovalent (physical bonds and absorption are listed as alternatives to chemical bonding) hybrid comprising carbon nanotubes and anthraquinone [0054, 0062, 0064, 0086]. Hashimoto does not explicitly teach a separator or electrolyte, however these are well known components in lithium-ion batteries as evidenced by Harutyunyan [0004, 0031] and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use with the battery of Hashimoto since they are known to be effective in a flexible battery with electrodes that are prevented from shorting [Harutyunyan 0031, 0044].
With regard to claims 12-13, Hashimoto teaches the anode and cathode comprise the noncovalent hybrid and teaches the cathode comprises an active material [0054, 0062, 0064, 0086] but does not explicitly teach the claimed anode active materials. However, in the same field of endeavor, Harutyunyan teaches the use of graphite (claim 13) as an anode active material [0027]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the graphite anode active material of Harutyunyan with the electrode of Hashimoto for the benefit of a flexible material capable of matching a lithium metal oxide cathode voltage [Harutyunyan 0004, 0027].
With regard to claims 14-15, Hashimoto teaches the cathode comprises a cathode active material comprising lithium cobalt oxide (claim 15) [0086].
With regard to claims 16-17, Hashimoto teaches the anode comprises the noncovalent hybrid and the cathode comprises a cathode active material and conductive material (conductive fibers) [0052, 0062, 0064, 0086]. Hashimoto does not explicitly teach the claimed anode active materials. However, in the same field of endeavor, Harutyunyan teaches the use of graphite (claim 17) as an anode active material [0027]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the graphite anode active material of Harutyunyan with the electrode of Hashimoto for the benefit of a flexible material capable of matching a lithium metal oxide cathode voltage [Harutyunyan 0004, 0027].
With regard to claim 18, Hashimoto teaches the active material is a cathode active material comprising a lithium based material [0086].
With regard to claim 19, Hashimoto teaches lithium cobalt oxide [0086].
With regard to claims 20-21, Hashimoto teaches the cathode comprises the noncovalent hybrid and a cathode active material, and the anode comprises a conductive material (conductive fibers in hybrid material) [0052, 0062, 0064, 0086]. Hashimoto does not explicitly teach the claimed anode active materials. However, in the same field of endeavor, Harutyunyan teaches the use of graphite (claim 21) as an anode active material [0027]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the graphite anode active material of Harutyunyan with the electrode of Hashimoto for the benefit of a flexible material capable of matching a lithium metal oxide cathode voltage [Harutyunyan 0004, 0027].
With regard to claim 22, Hashimoto teaches the active material is a cathode active material comprising a lithium based material [0086].
With regard to claim 23, Hashimoto teaches lithium cobalt oxide [0086].
Claim(s) 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto as applied to claims 1-5 above, further in view of Yoon et al. (US 2013/0187084 A1, hereafter Yoon), and further in view of Anada et al. (US 2009/0325069 A1, hereafter Anada).
With regard to claims 24-26 Hashimoto teaches a process of preparing an electrode according to claim 2 (as detailed in the rejection of claim 2 above) comprising:
providing a solution to contact conductive fibers (nanotubes) with an anthraquinone group containing compound in a first solvent [0054, 0062, 0064, 0068-0069, 0086]. Hashimoto does not explicitly teach sonicating the solution. However, in a field of endeavor relevant to the problem solved (nanotube preparation), Yoon teaches sonicating a solution of nanotubes and anthraquinone [0097]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the sonication of Yoon with the method of Hashimoto for the benefit of dispersing the nanotubes [Yoon 0097].
Hashimoto teaches that the electrode may be used in a secondary battery but does not teach typical methods of making the secondary battery. However, in the same field of endeavor, Anada teaches a method of making a secondary battery including adding conductive material (analogous to the conductive fibers of Hashimoto), active material, and a binder containing solvents to a dispersion and sonicating (ultrasonic dispersion treatment) the resulting mixture [0094, 0107]. Anada further teaches pressure filtering [0151] and using a roll press to apply (which would require separation from the roll press) the mixture (slurry) onto a current collector which may be aluminum or copper foil (claim 25-26) [0094, 0103]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the production method of Anada with the electrode materials of Hashimoto since it is known to produce batteries with excellent cycle properties and free from performance degradation [Anada 0037-0038].
Conclusion
/BRENT C THOMAS/Examiner, Art Unit 1724 /BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724