DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited functions and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “valve actuation motion source”, “valve train component”, and “checking element” in claim 1; “auxiliary valve actuation motion source” and “main valve actuation motion source” in claim 5; and “checking element” in claim 11.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed functions, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
In Reference to Claim 5
This claim is intended to further limit the “at least one engine valve” of base claim 1 which is originally recited as an optional component. Thus, it is unclear if the limitations of claim 5 would even apply to the alternative case in which the motion imparting portion is not configured to convey the valve actuation motions to the at least one engine valve (i.e., when the motion imparting portion is configured to convey the valve actuation motions to the valve train component).
In Reference to Claim 12
This claim is intended to further limit the “at least one engine valve” of base claim 1 which is originally recited as an optional component. Moreover, this claim recites a scenario in which the valve actuation motions are conveyed to the valve train component. Thus, it is unclear if the limitations of claim 12 would even apply to the alternative case in which the motion imparting portion is not configured to convey the valve actuation motions to the valve train component (i.e., when the motion imparting portion is configured to convey the valve actuation motions directly to the at least one engine valve).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent No. 6,422,186 to Vanderpoel (Vanderpoel).
Vanderpoel teaches (see Vanderpoel and Fig. 3 as annotated by the Examiner below):
In Reference to Claim 1
A rocker arm (Fig. 3 – reference character 30) comprising:
A motion receiving portion (111) configured to receive valve actuation motions from a valve actuation motion source (2);
A motion imparting portion (MIP) configured to:
convey the valve actuation motions to at least one engine valve via a valve train component, or
convey the valve actuation motions directly to the at least one engine valve (1);
An actuator bore (2131);
A hydraulic actuator piston (213) slidably disposed in the actuator bore; and
An actuator spring (2132) configured to bias the hydraulic actuator piston out of the actuator bore and into contact with the valve train component or the at least one engine valve,
Wherein a pressing of the hydraulic actuator piston against the valve train component or the at least one engine valve biases the motion receiving portion into contact with the valve actuation motion source (as seen from Fig. 3), and
Wherein the hydraulic actuator piston is configured to be switched between (i) a motion absorbing state in which hydraulic fluid is enabled to flow out of the actuator bore (Vanderpoel col. 8; lines 46 – 67), and (ii) a motion conveying state in which the hydraulic fluid is locked in the actuator bore (col. 9; lines 7 – 16), and
Wherein a checking element (CE, 2134) is hydraulically indexed to switch the hydraulic from the unactuated state to the actuated state (col. 9; lines 7 – 16*).
* – It is to be noted that checking valve portion CE of the control valve 215 and check valve 2134 (which effectuates the autolash function of the lost motion piston assembly 213) of Vanderpoel are each hydraulically actuated when the system is switched to the braking mode (i.e., the actuated state). See also Vanderpoel col. 8; lines 36 – 45.
In Reference to Claim 2
In addition to all the limitations of claim 1 discussed above, wherein the actuator spring is further configured to absorb the valve actuation motions received from the valve actuation motion source during the motion absorbing state (Vanderpoel col. 8; lines 36 – 67).
In Reference to Claim 3
In addition to all the limitations of claim 1 discussed above, wherein the rocker arm is a center-pivot rocker arm (as seen from Fig. 3).
In Reference to Claim 4
In addition to all the limitations of claim 1 discussed above, wherein the actuator bore is formed in the motion imparting portion (as seen from Fig. 3).
In Reference to Claim 5
In addition to all the limitations of claim 1 discussed above, wherein the motion imparting portion is configured to convey the valve actuation motions directly to the at least one engine valve,
Wherein the at least one engine valve includes at least one exhaust valve, and
Wherein the valve actuation motion source is an auxiliary valve actuation motion source separate from a main valve actuation motion source (Vanderpoel col. 9; lines 7 – 29).
In Reference to Claim 6
In addition to all the limitations of claim 1 discussed above, further comprising:
A control valve bore;
A control valve (Fig. 3 – reference character 215) including a control valve piston (23) slidably disposed in the control valve bore;
A first hydraulic fluid passage (212) in fluid communication with the control valve bore and the actuator bore;
A second hydraulic passage (216) in fluid communication with the control valve bore, the second hydraulic passage configured to receive the hydraulic fluid from a constant hydraulic fluid supply (Vanderpoel col. 8; lines 6 – 35); and
A vent port (VP) in fluid communication with the first hydraulic passage and the control valve bore,
Wherein, in the motion absorbing state, the control valve piston is positioned within the control valve bore so as to (i) enable flow of the hydraulic fluid from the second hydraulic passage to the actuator bore via the first hydraulic passage, and (ii) enable flow of the hydraulic fluid from the first hydraulic passage to the control valve bore via the vent port (col. 8; lines 46 – 67), and
Wherein, in the motion conveying state, the control valve piston is positioned within the control valve bore so as to block the first hydraulic passage and the vent port thereby locking the hydraulic fluid in the first hydraulic passage and the actuator bore (col. 9; lines 7 – 16).
In Reference to Claim 7
In addition to all the limitations of claim 6 discussed above, wherein the control valve bore is formed in the motion imparting portion (as seen from Fig. 3).
In Reference to Claim 8
In addition to all the limitations of claim 6 discussed above, further comprising:
A selectable hydraulic fluid passage (Fig. 3 – reference character 2212) in fluid communication with the control valve bore, the selectable hydraulic fluid passage configured to receive the hydraulic fluid from a selectable hydraulic fluid supply (Vanderpoel col. 8; lines 6 – 35).
In Reference to Claim 9
In addition to all the limitations of claim 8 discussed above, wherein the control valve piston includes:
A piston bore (Fig. 3 – reference character PB) configured to receive the hydraulic fluid from the selectable hydraulic fluid passage via the control valve bore;
An annular channel (AC) formed on an outer surface of the control valve piston, and
A radial opening (RO) in fluid communication with the piston bore and the annular channel.
In Reference to Claim 10
In addition to all the limitations of claim 9 discussed above, wherein the annular channel is configured to provide fluid communication between the first and second hydraulic passages during the motion absorbing state (Vanderpoel col. 8; lines 46 – 67).
In Reference to Claim 11
In addition to all the limitations of claim 9 discussed above, further comprising:
A second checking element (Fig. 3 – reference character CE) disposed in the control valve piston between the piston bore and the radial opening, the checking element configured to enable one-way flow of the hydraulic fluid from the piston bore to the annular channel via the radial opening (Vanderpoel col. 9; lines 7 – 29).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vanderpoel in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0182536 to Yang (Yang).
In Reference to Claim 12
Vanderpoel teaches:
In addition to all the limitations of claim 1 discussed above, wherein the at least one engine valve includes at least one exhaust valve, and
Wherein the valve actuation motion source is an auxiliary valve actuation motion source separate from a main valve actuation motion source (Vanderpoel col. 9; lines 7 – 29).
Vanderpoel does not teach the following which is taught by Yang (see Yang and Fig. 9 as annotated by the Examiner below):
Wherein the motion imparting portion (Fig. 9 – reference character MIP) is configured to convey the valve actuation motions to the at least one engine valve (301) via the valve train component (400).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the teaching of Yang to convey the valve actuation motion from the motion imparting portion to the at least one engine valve via the valve train component within the valve train assembly of Vanderpoel since it would enable the rocker arm to open two exhaust valves simultaneously as taught by Yang (paragraph [0088]).
ANNOTATED BY EXAMINER
ANNOTATED BY EXAMINER
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2 May 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Receipt is acknowledged of applicant’s correction to the typographical error found during initial examination. The objection to the drawings is hereby withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, however, fails to clarify the indefiniteness that served as grounds for the rejection of claims 5 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as detailed above.
Further, applicant’s arguments and amendment fail to overcome the art-based rejections of the claims as they are fully articulated in the body of this office action. A response to applicant’s arguments has been addressed only where specific arguments have been presented.
Applicant argues with respect to amended independent claim 1 that the Vanderpoel reference does not teach “wherein a checking element is hydraulically indexed to switch the hydraulic actuator piston from the unactuated state to the actuated state” since Vanderpoel allegedly uses the rotational motion shaft 24 to move the piston from the locked/unlocked state. It is the Office’s position, however, that the rotational motion shaft 24 of Vanderpoel merely actuates the control valve 215, not the lost motion piston assembly (i.e., the hydraulic actuator piston) 213. Moreover, Vanderpoel teaches (at col. 9; lines 7 – 16) that the check valve portion CE of the control valve 215 and the check valve 2134 of the lost motion piston assembly 213 are each actuated hydraulically when the system is switched to the braking mode (i.e., the actuated state). Hence, the prior art of Vanderpoel anticipates the limitations of the amended claim.
Thus, the rejections of claims under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 103, stand.
Conclusion
/JORGE L LEON JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746