CTNF 18/444,727 CTNF 90020 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. DETAILED ACTION This communication is in response to Application No. 18/444,727 filed on 18 February 2024. The provisional 63/446,673 filed on 17 February 2023. The response filed 13 May 2026 amends claims 1, 3, 4, 6-9, 11, and 14-16, withdraws claims 17-20, and presents arguments is hereby acknowledged. Claims 1-16 are presented for examination. Election/Restrictions In response to Election/Restriction filed on 13 March 2026, Applicant has elected Group I, Claims 1-16 without traverse. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-4 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PGPUB 2025/0374130 A1 to Zhou et al and in view of GB 2626373 A to Caroline et al . Regarding Claim 1 , Zhou discloses a method for event triggered measurement reporting performed by a user equipment (UE) (FIG. 13C) , the method comprising: determining whether a specific scheduling request (SR) configuration is configured to the UE (FIG. 13C and 0206 provides for UE using configuration 1330 to determine a specific SR configuration) ; in a case that the specific SR configuration is configured to the UE, transmitting, to a base station (BS), an SR, according to the specific SR configuration (FIG. 13C and 0206-0209 provides for in a case that configuration 1330 is configured to UE, transmitting, to BS, transport block 1342 comprising SR, according to the specific configuration) ; receiving, from the BS, downlink control information (DCI) indicating a first uplink (UL) resource for transmitting a measurement report (0331-0336 and 0368 provides for UE receiving, from the base station, DCI indicating uplink resources) ; and transmitting, to the BS, the measurement report on the first UL resource (0403- 0407 provides for UE transmitting to Source Cell a Later ½ measurement report to the list of PCells) . Zhou doesn’t explicitly disclose transmitting, to a base station (BS), an SR, according to the specific SR configuration, in response to a fulfillment of a condition. Caroline, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses transmitting, to a base station (BS), an SR, according to the specific SR configuration, in response to a fulfillment of a condition (FIG. 9 and page 40 lines 15 – page 41 line 4 provides for UE transmits 920/927 in response to trigger SR procedure S923) . One of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filed data of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Caroline for transmitting resource allocations. The changing configurations of Caroline, when implemented with the resource configurations of the Zhou system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to allocate resources in order to respond in real-time to triggers. Therefore, the examiner concludes it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to utilize the changing configurations of Caroline with the resource configurations of the Zhou system for the desirable purpose of transmitting uplink resources. Regarding Claim 2 , the Zhou/Caroline system discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the specific SR configuration is associated with a Layer 1/Layer 2 (L1/L2) Triggered Mobility (LTM) mechanism (Zhou, 0424 provides for an L1/2 triggered mobility (LTM) procedure) . Regarding Claim 3 , the Zhou/Caroline system discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the specific SR configuration comprises an SR configuration for the event triggered measurement reporting (Caroline, page 26 lines 19-25 provides for event triggered reporting the configuration information) . Same motivation as claim 1. Regarding Claim 4 , the Zhou/Caroline system discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining whether the first UL resource overlaps with a second UL resource that is configured to the UE for transmitting a content (Zhou, 0074 and 0554 provides for overlapping coverage areas of base stations) ; and in a case that the first UL resource overlaps with the second UL resource, transmitting, to the BS, the measurement report (Zhou, 0554-0555 provides for triggering an early report) , the content, or a multiplexing of the measurement report and the content on the first UL resource or the second UL resource. Regarding Claim 9 , similar rejection where the method of claim 1 teaches the user equipment of claim 9. Regarding Claim 10 , similar rejection where the method of claim 2 teaches the user equipment of claim 10. Regarding Claim 11 , similar rejection where the method of claim 3 teaches the user equipment of claim 11. Regarding Claim 12 , similar rejection where the method of claim 4 teaches the user equipment of claim 12 . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 5-8 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Zhou/Caroline system as applied to claim s 1 and 9 above, and further in view of US PGPUB 2023/0217280 A1 to Wallentin et al . Regarding Claim 5 , the Zhou/Caroline system discloses the method of claim 1. The Zhou/Caroline system doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the condition is associated with a non-filtered Layer 1 measurement result with respect to a serving cell. Wallentin, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses wherein the condition is associated with a non-filtered Layer 1 measurement result with respect to a serving cell (0234-0237 provides for the condition is non-filtered date to calculate the time to trigger) . One of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filed data of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Wallentin for calculating a time to trigger. The non-filtered data of Wallentin, when implemented with the resource configurations of the Zhou/Caroline system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to calculate a time to trigger in order to configure a UE to determine measurement conditions. Therefore, the examiner concludes it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to utilize the non-filtered data of Wallentin with the resource configurations of the Zhou/Caroline system for the desirable purpose of transmitting uplink resources based on a specified time trigger. Regarding Claim 6 , the Zhou/Caroline/Wallentin system discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the condition is fulfilled in a case that the non-filtered Layer 1 measurement result indicates that a signal quality of at least one candidate cell is better than a signal quality of the serving cell (Wallentin, 0256 provides for quality is above a second measurement threshold) . Same motivation as claim 5. Regarding Claim 7 , the Zhou/Caroline system discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the condition is fulfilled in a case that the non-filtered Layer 1 measurement result indicates that a signal quality of at least one candidate cell exceeds a signal quality of the serving cell by more than a predetermined threshold (Wallentin, 0256 provides for quality is above a second measurement threshold) . Same motivation as claim 5. Regarding Claim 8 , the Zhou/Caroline system discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the condition is fulfilled in a case that the non-filtered Layer 1 measurement result indicates that a signal quality of the serving cell is worse than a predetermined threshold (Wallentin, 0257 provides for quality is between a first and second measurement threshold) . Same motivation as claim 5. Regarding Claim 13 , similar rejection where the method of claim 5 teaches the user equipment of claim 13. Regarding Claim 14 , similar rejection where the method of claim 6 teaches the user equipment of claim 14. Regarding Claim 15 , similar rejection where the method of claim 7 teaches the user equipment of claim 15. Regarding Claim 16 , similar rejection where the method of claim 8 teaches the user equipment of claim 16 . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US PGPUB 2024/0155399 A1 to Farag et al discloses inter-cell beam reporting. US PGPUB 2025/0175309 A1 to Mendo Mateo et al discloses measurement reports pass through report filters. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SCHQUITA GOODWIN whose telephone number is (571)272-5477. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9am - 5pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tonia Dollinger can be reached on (571) 272-4170. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SCHQUITA D GOODWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2459 Application/Control Number: 18/444,727 Page 2 Art Unit: 2459 Application/Control Number: 18/444,727 Page 3 Art Unit: 2459 Application/Control Number: 18/444,727 Page 4 Art Unit: 2459 Application/Control Number: 18/444,727 Page 5 Art Unit: 2459 Application/Control Number: 18/444,727 Page 7 Art Unit: 2459 Application/Control Number: 18/444,727 Page 8 Art Unit: 2459