DETAILED ACTION
It appears the inventor(s) filed the current application pro se (i.e., without the benefit of representation by a registered patent practitioner). While inventors named as applicants in a patent application may prosecute the application pro se, lack of familiarity with patent examination practice and procedure may result in missed opportunities in obtaining optimal protection for the invention disclosed. The inventor(s) may wish to secure the services of a registered patent practitioner to prosecute the application, because the value of a patent is largely dependent upon skilled preparation and prosecution. The Office cannot aid in selecting a patent practitioner.
A listing of registered patent practitioners is available at https://oedci.uspto.gov/OEDCI/. Applicants may also obtain a list of registered patent practitioners located in their area by writing to Mail Stop OED, Director of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, P.O. Box 1450, Alexandria, VA 22313-1450.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the drawings do not include sheet numbers. The drawings also use text labels rather than reference numerals or characters. See MPEP 608.02(V) for drawing standard guidelines. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-3 are rejected as failing to define the invention in the manner required by 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
The claim(s) are narrative in form and replete with indefinite language. The structure which goes to make up the device must be clearly and positively specified. The structure must be organized and correlated in such a manner as to present a complete operative device. The claim(s) must be in one sentence form only. Note the format of the claims in the patent(s) cited.
The claims are all presented in independent form, and each claim includes examples of improper or insufficient antecedent basis. Non-limiting examples include “The hidden insect screen”, “the window opening”, “its housing”, “the window assembly”, “the window frame”, and “the sliding window”. Each element or part must be introduced the first time it is recited in the claims. For example, the first time the window frame is introduced in claim 2, it should be recited as --a window frame-- instead of “the window frame”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bridges (U.S. Patent No. 2,595,508).
Regarding claim 1, Bridges discloses a hidden insect screen (11) works in conjunction with a sliding window (6) in such manner as, when the window is opened – the screen extends to cover the window opening [FIGS. 1, 3] and, when the window is closed - the screen retracts inside its housing (13), thus staying out of view, protected and with an extended lifespan (column 3, line 72-column 4, line 3 discloses the contracted position of the screen 11 within the housing 13; as shown in Figure 6, the screen is concealed from view and protected when it is wound on the roller 12).
Regarding claim 2, Bridges discloses the hidden retractable screen can be integrated with the window assembly during the manufacturing process or can be installed afterwards as a cut-to-fit application, case in which it will contain the necessary means to be installed securely on the window frame (column 4, lines 33-42 discloses installation of the screen to an existing window frame using screws 38; it is noted that the limitations “integrated with the window assembly during the manufacturing process” and “installed afterwards as a cut-to-fit application” are both product-by-process limitations; the screen disclosed by Bridges is capable of being installed in both of the recited processes and therefore meets the requirements of the limitation; see MPEP 2113).
Regarding claim 3, Bridges discloses the hidden retractable screen is connected to the sliding window (via the engagement between spring clips 28 and end strip 22) in such a manner as to allow it to be disconnected when needed (column 4, lines 9-22 discloses disconnection of the screen 11 from the sash 6).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Nos. 6,167,936; 6,470,947; 7,703,498; and 11,927,056 each disclose examples of hidden and/or retractable insect screens detachably connected to a sash. Applicant is advised that these references are examples of prior art that disclose several aspects of the disclosed invention. The references should be reviewed as examples of proper claim construction. Applicant is also invited to contact the Examiner to discuss the instant application and any questions regarding the above Office action.
/ABE MASSAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634