DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 2014/0061563 to Weisbeck et al. (herein Weisbeck) in view of U.S. Pre-grant Publication 2023/0383109 to Cavalieri et al. (herein Cavalieri).
Regarding claims 1-7¸Weisbeck teaches a play yard including a plurality of side panels coupled to one another and a gate panel coupled to two of the side panels to create an enclosed space (abstract). Weisbeck teaches that the play yard is made of a plastic material (paragraph 0036).
Weisbeck teaches no details of the plastic material.
Cavalieri teaches a propylene composition containing (a) recycled polypropylene, (b) a polyolefin elastomer, (c) a polypropylene-containing composition, and (d) a filler (abstract). Cavalieri teaches that the propylene composition is used to make articles via injection molding (paragraph 0090). Cavalieri teaches that the polypropylene composition has a melt flow rate of 10 to 50 g/10 min (paragraph 0081), a flexural modulus of 800 to 1400 MPa, or 116 to 203 kpsi (paragraph 0082), a tensile strength at yield of equal to or higher than 15 MPa, or 2,180 psi (paragraph 0084), and an elongation at break of 10% or higher (paragraph 0084). Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably consider an elongation at break of 10% or higher to overlap with the claimed range of approximately 6%. Cavalieri is silent as to a desired specific gravity of the propylene composition; however, Cavalieri teaches that component (b) has a density of 0.85 to 0.89 g/cm3 (paragraph 0040), additives (d) can be polyethylenes such as high-density polyethylene or low-density polyethylene (paragraph 0062), and the inventive examples of Cavalieri use a component (a) having a density of 0.915 g/cm3 (0117). Cavalieri teaches that the components are present in the propylene composition in the following amounts: (a) 55-85 wt%, (b) 10-30 wt%, (c) 3-12 wt%, and (d) 0.5-7 wt% (paragraphs 0071-0080). Combining the teachings of component density and amounts yields a range of density of the composition that overlaps the claimed amount. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. MPEP 2144.05 (I).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the play yard of Weisbeck to be made from the resin of Cavalieri because it would improve the sustainability of the play yard (paragraph 0003).
Claim(s) 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weisbeck and Cavalieri as applied above and in further view of U.S. Pre-grant Publication 2011/0190447 to Li et al. (herein Li).
Regarding claim 8, Weisbeck and Cavalieri teach all the limitations of claim 3 as discussed above.
Cavalieri is silent as to the notched Izod impact strength of the propylene composition.
Li teaches an injection molded article made from a composition comprising one or more propylene copolymers (abstract). Li teaches that the polymeric blend has a notched Izod impact strength of at least 0.7 ft-lb/in (paragraph 0098). It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. MPEP 2144.05 (I).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the propylene composition to have the notched Izod impact strength taught by Li because it is obvious to apply a known technique to a known device. See MPEP 2143(I)(D).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Weisbeck, Cavalieri, and Li teach all the limitations of claim 8 as discussed above.
As discussed above, Weisbeck teaches that the play yard can be made from plastic (paragraph 0036). One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably consider this to teach that the entirety of the play yard is made from plastic, and as such, a portion (and other portions as well) are made from plastic.
Regarding claim 11, Weisbeck, Cavalieri, and Li teach all the limitations of claim 8 as discussed above.
Fig 1 of Weisbeck shows the plurality of side panels as well as the gate panel include a mesh or lattice (paragraph 0031).
Regarding claim 12, Weisbeck, Cavalieri, and Li teach all the limitations of claim 8 as discussed above.
As discussed above, Weisbeck teaches that the play yard includes a gate (abstract).
Claim(s) 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weisbeck in view of Cavalieri and Practical Injection Molding by Olmsted et al. (herein Olmsted).
Regarding claims 13-19, Weisbeck teaches a play yard including a plurality of side panels coupled to one another and a gate panel coupled to two of the side panels to create an enclosed space (abstract). Weisbeck teaches that the play yard is made of a plastic material (paragraph 0036).
Weisbeck teaches no details of the plastic material nor the process by which the play yard is produced.
Regarding the plastic material, Cavalieri teaches a propylene composition containing (a) recycled polypropylene, (b) a polyolefin elastomer, (c) a polypropylene-containing composition, and (d) a filler (abstract). Cavalieri teaches that the propylene composition is used to make articles via injection molding (paragraph 0090). Cavalieri teaches that the polypropylene composition has a melt flow rate of 10 to 50 g/10 min (paragraph 0081), a flexural modulus of 800 to 1400 MPa, or 116 to 203 kpsi (paragraph 0082), a tensile strength at yield of equal to or higher than 15 MPa, or 2,180 psi (paragraph 0084), and an elongation at break of 10% or higher (paragraph 0084). Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably consider an elongation at break of 10% or higher to overlap with the claimed range of approximately 6%. Cavalieri is silent as to a desired specific gravity of the propylene composition; however, Cavalieri teaches that component (b) has a density of 0.85 to 0.89 g/cm3 (paragraph 0040), additives (d) can be polyethylenes such as high-density polyethylene or low-density polyethylene (paragraph 0062), and the inventive examples of Cavalieri use a component (a) having a density of 0.915 g/cm3 (0117). Cavalieri teaches that the components are present in the propylene composition in the following amounts: (a) 55-85 wt%, (b) 10-30 wt%, (c) 3-12 wt%, and (d) 0.5-7 wt% (paragraphs 0071-0080). Combining the teachings of component density and amounts yields a range of density of the composition that overlaps the claimed amount. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. MPEP 2144.05 (I).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the play yard of Weisbeck to be made from the resin of Cavalieri because it would improve the sustainability of the play yard (paragraph 0003).
Regarding the process by which the play yard is produced, Olmsted teaches an injection molding process (page 1) wherein the process comprises the steps of heating, melting, and injecting the plastic into a closed mold (page 3), allowing the molten plastic to cool and removing the resulting plastic part (page 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manufacture the play yard of Weisbeck using the process taught by Olmstead because it is obvious to apply a known technique to a known device. See MPEP 2143(I)(D).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weisbeck, Cavalieri, and Olmsted as applied above and in further view of Li.
Regarding claim 20, Weisbeck, Cavalieri, and Olmsted teach all the limitations of claim 15 as discussed above.
Cavalieri is silent as to the notched Izod impact strength of the propylene composition.
Li teaches an injection molded article made from a composition comprising one or more propylene copolymers (abstract). Li teaches that the polymeric blend has a notched Izod impact strength of at least 0.7 ft-lb/in (paragraph 0098). It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. MPEP 2144.05 (I).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the propylene composition to have the notched Izod impact strength taught by Li because it is obvious to apply a known technique to a known device. See MPEP 2143(I)(D).
Contact Information
/ZACHARY M DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783