DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This second non-final action is in response to applicant's argument on May 29, 2024. Claim 1 has been cancelled. Claims 2-25 are pending and have been considered as follows.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant’s amendments/arguments with respect to the objections to the drawings have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the objections to the Drawings have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments/arguments with respect to the Claim Interpretation Under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) have been fully considered and are partially persuasive. Specifically, Claim Interpretation Under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) for claims 9 and 10 have been withdrawn, but remaining Claim Interpretation are maintained.
Claim Objections
Claims 11-13, 16-17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“rates calculation module” and “attitude calculation module” should be “rates calculation circuitry” and “attitude calculation circuitry” respectively. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a rates calculation module” in claims 11-12, 16-17; “an attitude calculation module” in claims 11-13, 16-17; “a rate calculation module” and “an attitude calculation module” in claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-3 and 18-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gu (US 2019384288A1 A1 )
Regarding claim 2, Gu teaches a multirotor aircraft, comprising
a fuselage (Fig. 1A);
a plurality of rotors attached to the fuselage (Fig. 1A); and
a plurality of separately operating flight controller units, each flight controller unit comprising a respective inertial measurement unit (IMU) (Fig. 3 and corresponding paragraphs) ;
wherein each of the rotors is separately controlled by a respective flight control unit, based on measurements from the flight control unit's respective IMU(Fig. 3 and corresponding paragraphs including [0030]-[0041]).
Regarding claim 19, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Gu teaches , wherein each of the plurality of flight controller units receives measurements from the respective IMU of each other flight controller unit( Fig. 3 and corresponding paragraphs including [0030]-[0041] Each of the IMU may provide pitch, yaw and roll information for its corresponding motor, which again may be passed through a filter, such as a particle filter or a Kalman filter, and control mixer in order to calculate the attitude of the IMU. each ESC unit is “aware” of the attitude of its corresponding motor and can use this information when controlling the propulsion units).
Regarding claim 18, Gu teaches the multirotor aircraft comprises
a plurality of motor assemblies, each configured to generate thrust by movement
of air past the motor assembly along a respective axis of thrust of the motor assembly, wherein each motor assembly comprises a rotor of said plurality of rotors (Fig. 1); and
a wing (Fig. 1-1E);
wherein:
the orientations of the axes of thrust are each fixed, during operation of the aircraft, at a constant respective pitch angle oblique to a pitch orientation of the wing(Fig. 1 -1E and corresponding paragraphs);
the plurality of motor assemblies is operable together to both fully support the aircraft in a hovering mode, and to propel the aircraft forward in a forward flight mode (wing 102 may carry horizontal propulsion units 108); and each motor assembly is positioned where the wing does not intersect the flow of air before entering or after leaving the motor assembly in a direction along the respective axis of thrust, within a radius of the motor assembly (Fig. 1 and corresponding paragraphs).
Regarding claim 20, Gu teaches comprising operating a flight control unit of said plurality of separately operating flight controller units, wherein the operating comprises:
receiving flight measurement data from an IMU of the flight controller unit ([0040]);
performing rates calculation, based on said flight measurement data, by a rate calculation module([0040] Each of the IMU may provide pitch, yaw and roll information for its corresponding motor, which again may be passed through a filter, such as a particle filter or a Kalman filter, and control mixer in order to calculate the attitude of the IMU);
performing attitude calculation based on said flight measurement data, by an attitude calculation module ([0040] Each of the IMU may provide pitch, yaw and roll information for its corresponding motor, which again may be passed through a filter, such as a particle filter or a Kalman filter, and control mixer in order to calculate the attitude of the IMU.);
producing a power command based on said rates and attitude calculations, by a command calculating unit ([0017]mitigate potential dangerous situations caused by failures of a battery of a power system by allow the UAV to automatically reroute power to the propulsion controllers, thereby allowing the UAV to function more efficiently and safely, even where there is a battery failure. In addition, a distributed power system as described above may allow for greater redundancy);
providing the power command to a motor controller(the UAV may automatically reconfigure how power from the remaining batteries is supplied to the propulsion controllers).
Regarding claims 21, Gu teaches comprises outputting flight measurement data to other flight controllers (Fig. 3 and corresponding paragraphs).
Regarding claims 22, Gu teaches wherein the controlling comprises controlling each rotor by its own respective flight control unit (Fig. 3 and corresponding paragraphs).
Regarding claims 23, Gu teaches wherein each rotor is under the control of its own respective flight controller (Fig. 3 and corresponding paragraphs).
Regarding claims 24, Gu teaches wherein failure of a single flight controller affects control of only one rotor (Fig. 3 and corresponding paragraphs).
Regarding claims 25, Gu teaches wherein each rotor is under the control of a flight controller having a respective IMU that measures local variations affecting the respective rotor (Fig. 3 and corresponding paragraphs).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Gu (US 2019384288A1)
Regarding claim 9, Gu does not explicitly teach teaches a rates calculation circuitry,
wherein each flight controller comprises a rates calculation circuitry for performing rates calculation based on a flight measurement data received from the respective IMU ([0040]) Each of the IMU may provide pitch, yaw and roll information for its corresponding motor, which again may be passed through a filter, such as a particle filter or a Kalman filter, and control mixer in order to calculate the attitude of the IMU. This information may then be provided to the corresponding ESC unit). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified the teaching of Gu with a rates calculation circuitry to performing rates calculation.
Regarding claim 10, Gu teaches wherein each flight controller comprises an attitude calculation circuitry for performing attitude calculation based on a flight measurement data received from the respective IMU ([0052] Turning to block 502 , during operation of a UAV, each ESC unit receives signals from the corresponding IMU for that ESC unit identifying attitude information for the corresponding motor of the corresponding propulsion unit).
The same motivation to combine as the parent claim applies here.
Regarding claim 11, Gu teaches wherein the rates calculation module and the attitude calculation module are configured to give preference to data of the respective IMU, but use comparisons with other available data from IMU of other flight controller units to validate said data of the respective IMU([0054] At block 506 , each ESC unit determines whether a failure has occurred. For instance, the one or more processors of ESC unit 310 - 1 may compare the instructions from any received signals and/or circumstances of a lack of received signals for a period of time to the information in the failure table to determine whether the instructions or circumstances match or correspond to the information in the failure table).
The same motivation to combine as the parent claim applies here.
Regarding claim 12, Gu teaches wherein the rates calculation module and the attitude calculation module are configured to give preference to data of the respective IMU during more dynamic flight periods ([0054] At block 506 , each ESC unit determines whether a failure has occurred. For instance, the one or more processors of ESC unit 310 - 1 may compare the instructions from any received signals and/or circumstances of a lack of received signals for a period of time to the information in the failure table to determine whether the instructions or circumstances match or correspond to the information in the failure table).
The same motivation to combine as the parent claim applies here.
Regarding claim 13, Gu teaches wherein the attitude calculation module is configured to ignore input from the respective IMU or input from another IMU, wherein said data is found to give unreasonable differences from a consensus of data from other IMUs ([0056] if a failure is identified, the ESC units automatically attempt to stabilize the UAV by generating commands using the attitude information in order to cause the UAV to reach a predetermined position, orientation or attitude as shown in block 512)
The same motivation to combine as the parent claim applies here.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Gu (US 2019384288A1) in view of Ruymgaart (US9828107B1)
Regarding claim 4, while Gu taches signals from the control unit are passed via a bus, such as a CAN bus, to one or more propulsion controllers which together output a control signal to control operation of the UAV's does not explicitly teach but Ruymgaart teaches flight controller units share IMU data, such that each flight controller unit has access to an estimated overall current aircraft flight state (Fig. 1, ESC 1 and ESC2 share all information including IMU data, Master Control 121 and Standby control 122 share all information including IMU data ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the present invention to modify, VTOL flight control, as taught by Gu, flight controller units share IMU data, as taught by Ruymgaart, as Gu and Ruymgaart are directed to VTOL control (same field of endeavor), and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility using flight controller units share IMU data to improve control reliability.
Regarding claim 5, Gu teaches flight controller unit issues commands targeted to bring about a same overall aircraft flight state, based on said estimated overall current aircraft flight state ( [0056] if a failure is identified, the ESC units automatically attempt to stabilize the UAV by generating commands using the attitude information in order to cause the UAV to reach a predetermined position, orientation or attitude as shown in block 512).
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Gu (US 2019384288A1 A1 ) in view of Wang (US20170045892)
Regarding claim 14, Gu does not explicitly teach but Wang teaches comprising one or both of a central controller and a central IMU (primary controller 104 and IM sensor A1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the present invention to modify, VTOL flight control, as taught by Gu, a central controller and a central IMU, as taught by Wang, as Gu and Wang are directed to VTOL control (same field of endeavor), and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility using a central controller and a central IMU to provide unified control.
Regarding claim 15, Gu does not explicitly teach but Wang teaches wherein the central controller receives input from the plurality of flight controller units, calculates an estimated overall current aircraft flight state and distributes the estimated overall current aircraft flight state back to the plurality of flight controller units (Wang, [0026] The control module 102 may determine the validity of the measurement results received from the sensors, and further determine which measurement result can be used for the flight control of the UAV. the primary controller 104 is used to determine the validity of the measurement results from the first set of sensors, and the secondary controller 106 is used to determine the validity of the measurement results from the second set of sensors. Furthermore, the primary controller 104 and the secondary controller 106 may communicate with each other regarding the validity determination of the measurement results from the two sets of sensors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the present invention to modify, VTOL flight control, as taught by Gu, a central controller and a central IMU, as taught by Wang, as Gu and Wang are directed to VTOL control (same field of endeavor), and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility using a central controller and a central IMU to provide unified control.
Regarding claim 16, Gu does not explicitly teach but Wang teaches wherein the central controller receives input from the plurality of flight controller units, calculates an estimated overall current aircraft flight state and distributes the estimated overall current aircraft flight state back to the plurality of flight controller units (Wang, [0026] The control module 102 may determine the validity of the measurement results received from the sensors, and further determine which measurement result can be used for the flight control of the UAV. the primary controller 104 is used to determine the validity of the measurement results from the first set of sensors, and the secondary controller 106 is used to determine the validity of the measurement results from the second set of sensors. Furthermore, the primary controller 104 and the secondary controller 106 may communicate with each other regarding the validity determination of the measurement results from the two sets of sensors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the present invention to modify, VTOL flight control, as taught by Gu, a central controller and a central IMU, as taught by Wang, as Gu and Wang are directed to VTOL control (same field of endeavor), and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility using a central controller and a central IMU to provide unified control.
Regarding claim 17, Gu does not explicitly teach but Wang teaches wherein the rates calculation module and the attitude calculation module are configured to select to rely on said central controller depending on the pattern of failure detected ( Wang [0023]the primary controller 104 may have more functionality than the secondary controller 106; [0037] the primary controller 104 may determine the validity of the measurement results from both the first and second sets of sensors, wherein the measurement results from the second set of sensors are transmitted to the primary controller 104 immediately after it is collected by the secondary controller 106 without processing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the present invention to modify, VTOL flight control, as taught by Gu, a central controller and a central IMU, as taught by Wang, as Gu and Wang are directed to VTOL control (same field of endeavor), and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility using a central controller and a central IMU to provide unified control.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/J.W./ Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666