DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9, 14-17, 20, 21, 23-25, 28, 31-34, 37, 38, 40, 41, 44, 47-50, 53, 54 and 56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bynum (United States Patent Application Publication 2006/0092649 A1) in view of Griesinger (WO 2005035308 A1),Castillo (United States Patent Application Publication 2013/0223062 ) and Pastrick (United States Patent Application Publication 2012/0320618 A1).
With respect to claims 1, 6, 9, 14-17, 20, 21, 23-25, 28, 31-34, 37, 38, 40, 41, 44, 47-50, 53, 54 and 56, Bynum discloses a vehicular illumination module (see figs.1-3), the vehicular illumination module comprising: a housing (see the housing of fig.3) having a first end (see the back of 10) and a second end (see the front end of 10); wherein structure of the housing is configured to attach the vehicular illumination module at a portion of a vehicle (see 60 and 68 in fig.3); a circuit board (see 14 in fig.3) accommodated at the first end of the housing (see the back of 10) ; wherein a plurality of electrical terminals (64 in fig.3) extend from the circuit board (14) and from the housing (10), and wherein, with the vehicular illumination module attached at the portion of the vehicle (see 68), the plurality of electrical terminals electrically connect the vehicular illumination module to a power source of the vehicle (para.[0019]:” Preferably, electrical connector 66 is a detachable electrical connection, so that lamp assembly 10 can be easily removed or installed by simply detaching or attaching connector 66 to the vehicle electrical system.”);an illumination source comprising a single light emitting diode (see 16 in fig.3) disposed at the circuit board (see 16 in fig.3), wherein the single light emitting diode (see 16 in fig.3) of illumination source (see 16) is operable to emit light; wherein the illumination source comprises at least one light emitting diode (see the 16 in fig.3); a lens (see 44) optic accommodated by the housing (see 10 in fig.3); wherein the housing comprises an outer cover (see 20 in fig.3) at the second end of the housing (see fig.1); wherein the circuit board (see 14) accommodated at the first end of the housing is at an oblique angle relative to the outer cover at the second end of the housing (see the angle alpha between 46 and 32); wherein, with the vehicular illumination module (see 10) attached at the portion of the vehicle (see 68 in fig.3) and with the illumination source operated to emit light, wherein the illumination source comprises at least one light emitting diode (see 16 in fig.3), light emitted by the illumination source passes through the lens optic (see 44) and through the outer cover (see 20); wherein the lens optic (see 44) is configured such that, with the vehicular illumination module attached at the portion of the vehicle (see the attachment to a portion of the vehicle 68), light emitted by the illumination source that passes through the lens optic (see 44) and through the outer cover (see 20) provides illumination at an illuminated region; wherein the vehicular illumination module comprises a unitary module (see fig.1, 10) that is configured to be attached as a unit at the portion of the vehicle (see fig.3), wherein the structure of the housing is configured to snap-attach the vehicular illumination module at the portion of the vehicle (see the snap attachment in fig.3), wherein the portion of the vehicle comprises an interior portion of the vehicle (see the disclosure of interior and exterior use in para.[0012] and [0013]), wherein, with the vehicular illumination module attached at the portion of the vehicle, the illumination source is operable to emit light responsive to at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) a touch at a door handle of the vehicle, (ii) movement of the door handle of the vehicle, (iii) a remote keyless entry module, (iv) a passive entry device (see para.[0002]:” Courtesy lamps can be activated automatically, such as by a door or lift gate sensor ”), (v) motion detection at the vehicle and (vi) a security system of the vehicle, wherein with the vehicular illumination module attached at the portion of the vehicle, an outer wall of the outer cover (see the outer cover of 12 in fig.1) corresponds to an surface of the portion (see 68 in fig.3) of the vehicle at which the vehicular illumination module is attached (again see fig.3), wherein the structure of the housing is configured to snap-attach the vehicular illumination module at the portion of the vehicle (see the snap attachment of fig.3).
But Bynum does not disclose wherein the lens is a freeform optic wherein the freeformed lens optic is configured such that, with the vehicular illumination module attached at the portion of the vehicle, light emitted by the illumination source that passes through the freeformed lens optic and through the outer cover provides illumination at an illuminated region; wherein the illumination comprises background illumination of the illuminated region; wherein, within the illuminated region, a logo is formed by light emitted by the illumination source that passes through the freeformed lens optic; and wherein the logo formed by the freeformed lens optic has a light intensity greater than the light intensity of the background illumination of the illuminated region, wherein the freeformed lens optic comprises a three dimensional form, and wherein light that is emitted by the illumination source passes through the three dimensional form of the freeformed lens optic to provide (i) the background illumination of the illuminated region and (ii) the logo within the illuminated region, wherein the portion of the vehicle comprises an exterior rearview mirror assembly at a side of the vehicle, wherein, with the vehicular illumination module attached at the exterior rearview mirror assembly of the vehicle and when the illumination source is operated to emit light, light emitted by the illumination source that passes through the freeformed lens optic and through the outer cover provides the illumination at an illuminated ground region at or near the side of the vehicle, wherein said three dimension single formed lens optic is overmolded over the illumination light source, the vehicular illumination module, but does not disclose wherein, with the vehicular illumination module attached at the portion of the vehicle and when the illumination source is operated to emit light, the background illumination of the illuminated region comprises illumination of at least 2 lux over a 600 mm by 1200 mm rectangular-shaped illuminated region.
Griesinger discloses wherein the lens is a freeform optic (6 in fig.2) wherein the freeformed lens optic is configured such that, with the vehicular illumination module attached at the portion of the vehicle (see fig.1), light emitted by the illumination source that passes through the freeformed lens optic provides illumination at an illuminated region (see fig.1); wherein the illumination comprises background illumination of the illuminated region (see 2); wherein, within the illuminated region, a logo is formed by light emitted by the illumination source that passes through the freeformed lens optic (see 7); and wherein the logo formed by the freeformed lens optic has a light intensity greater than the light intensity of the background illumination of the illuminated region (see para. starting with fig.3: “The information for this entire illumination field 2 with the Logo 7, which is highlighted more brightly, is completely in the configuration of the free-form surface 6, as shown in FIG. 2. ”), wherein the freeformed lens optic comprises a three dimensional form, and wherein light that is emitted by the illumination source passes through the three dimensional form of the freeformed lens optic (see three dimension lens optic 6 in fig.2) to provide (i) the background illumination of the illuminated region (fig.3, 2) and (ii) the logo within the illuminated region (see 7 in fig.3), wherein the portion of the vehicle comprises an exterior rearview mirror assembly at a side of the vehicle (see fig.1), wherein, with the vehicular illumination module attached at the exterior rearview mirror (see fig.1) assembly of the vehicle and when the illumination source is operated to emit light (the operation disclosed in fig.1), light emitted by the illumination source that passes through the freeformed lens optic (see the freeform lens optic of 6 in fig.2) provides the illumination at an illuminated ground region at or near the side of the vehicle (see fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle illumination device of vehicle illumination device of Bynum with the teaching of Griesinger so that the lens is a freeform optic wherein the freeformed lens optic is configured such that, with the vehicular illumination module attached at the portion of the vehicle, light emitted by the illumination source that passes through the freeformed lens optic and through the outer cover provides illumination at an illuminated region; wherein the illumination comprises background illumination of the illuminated region; wherein, within the illuminated region, a logo is formed by light emitted by the illumination source that passes through the freeformed lens optic; and wherein the logo formed by the freeformed lens optic has a light intensity greater than the light intensity of the background illumination of the illuminated region, wherein the freeformed lens optic comprises a three dimensional form, and wherein light that is emitted by the illumination source passes through the three dimensional form of the freeformed lens optic to provide (i) the background illumination of the illuminated region and (ii) the logo within the illuminated region, wherein the portion of the vehicle comprises an exterior rearview mirror assembly at a side of the vehicle, wherein, with the vehicular illumination module attached at the exterior rearview mirror assembly of the vehicle and when the illumination source is operated to emit light, light emitted by the illumination source that passes through the freeformed lens optic and through the outer cover provides the illumination at an illuminated ground region at or near the side of the vehicle to enhance the versatility, the durability, commercial applicability of the illumination device and improve visibility for the user by providing a bespoke lens optic and puddle lamp with a protective housing.
Bynum in view of Griesinger does not disclose wherein said three dimension single formed lens optic is overmolded over the illumination light source, the vehicular illumination module, but does not disclose wherein, with the vehicular illumination module attached at the portion of the vehicle and when the illumination source is operated to emit light, the background illumination of the illuminated region comprises illumination of at least 2 lux over a 600 mm by 1200 mm rectangular-shaped illuminated region.
Castillo discloses wherein said at least one illumination source (23A in fig.29, which comprises submount and LEDs 22, 25 thereon) and wherein said three dimensional single formed lens optic (24A in fig.29) is molded over said at least one the illumination light source (comprised by submount 20 and LED populated area 25) (para.[0052]: FIG. 29 is an enlarged perspective view of one example of an LED package and including an array of eight LEDs on a submount and an asymmetric primary lens overmolded over the LED array.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the illumination module of Bynum in view of Griesinger with the teaching of Castillo so that said three dimensional single formed lens optic is overmolded over said at least one light emitting diode to facilitate the fabrication of the illumination module and to make the projection system more compact by making integral a primary lens and LED array.
Bynum in view of Griesinger and Castillo discloses the vehicular illumination module, but does not disclose wherein, with the vehicular illumination module attached at the portion of the vehicle and when the illumination source is operated to emit light, the background illumination of the illuminated region comprises illumination of at least 2 lux over a 600 mm by 1200 mm rectangular-shaped illuminated region.
Pastrick discloses wherein utilizing an illumination of at least 2 lux over a 600 mm by 1200 mm (para.[0068]: “light source illuminates an approximately 2-foot by 4-foot or thereabouts ground area adjacent the vehicle with a light level of at least about 10 lux and an average light level of approximately 40 Iux.”, which is 609.6mm by 1219.2mm and thereby includes 600mm by 1200mm).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the illumination module of Bynum in view of Griesinger and Castillo with the teaching of Pastrick so that with the vehicular illumination module attached at the portion of the vehicle and when the illumination source is operated to emit light, the background illumination of the illuminated region comprises illumination of at least 2 lux over a 600 mm by 1200 mm rectangular-shaped illuminated region to enhance ground visibility thereby improving safety and convenience.
Claims 3 and 4 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bynum (United States Patent Application Publication 2006/0092649 A1) in view of Griesinger (WO 2005035308 A1), Castillo (United States Patent Application Publication 2013/0223062 ), Pastrick (United States Patent Application Publication 2012/0320618 A1) and Inaba (JP 2006164909 A).
With respect to claim 3 and 4, Bynum in view of Griesinger, Castillo and Pastrick discloses the vehicular illumination module of claims the vehicular illumination module of claim 2, but does not disclose wherein the single light emitting diode comprises a white or blue light-emitting light emitting diode.
Inaba disclose wherein the single light emitting diode comprises a white or blue light-emitting light emitting diode (see fourth para. from best mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicular illumination module of Bynum in view of Griesinger, Castillo and Pastrick with Inaba so that the single light emitting diode comprises a white or blue light -emitting light emitting diode to enhance the versatility of the illumination module and the visibility of the emitted light by implementing white or blue light.
Claim 8, 27, and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bynum (United States Patent Application Publication 2006/0092649 A1) in view of Griesinger (WO 2005035308 A1), Castillo (United States Patent Application Publication 2013/0223062 ), Pastrick (United States Patent Application Publication 2012/0320618 A1) and Boals (United States Patent Application Publication 2014/0185019).
With respect to claims 8, 27, and 43, Bynum in view of Griesinger, Castillo and Pastrick discloses illumination module of claims 1, 25 and 41, but does not disclose wherein said illumination module is substantially water impervious.
Boals discloses wherein said illumination module (see all the chambers which include power source 21, light source 22, and logo film 23) is substantially water impervious (see water proofing of the illumination module in para.[0025]: " All the chambers including the power source 21, light source 22 and logo film 23 chambers are sealed and water proof. ").
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the illumination module of Bynum in view of Griesinger, Castillo and Pastrick with the teaching of Boals so that said illumination module is substantially water impervious to improve the durability of the illumination module by sealing the optical components in the housing.
Claims 10 and 11 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bynum (United States Patent Application Publication 2006/0092649 A1) in view of Griesinger (WO 2005035308 A1), Castillo (United States Patent Application Publication 2013/0223062 ), Pastrick (United States Patent Application Publication 2012/0320618 A1) and Lo (United States Patent Application Publication 2010/0149801 A1)
With respect to claims 10 and 11, Bynum in view of Griesinger,Castillo and Pastrick discloses the vehicular illumination module of claim 9, wherein Griesinger further discloses the three dimensional lens is formed in accordance with mathematical equations (see 4th from the last para.: “The geometry of the surface of the free-form surface 6 is adapted by means of corresponding calculations so that the free-form surface 6 depicts a highlighted or shaded logo 7 in the illumination field 2.”; i.e. the calculations are the processing of mathematical equations) that include parameters, wherein the parameters comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of 9i)targets, (ii) illuminance and (iii) optics parameters (that the freeform surface 6 in the illumination field 2 images a highlighted or shadowed logo 7; see the projection specifications disclosed in the 7th paragraph: “This free-form surface 6 was previously calculated with the desired specifications.” ), when the mathematical equation are solved using the parameters (disclosed by the adjustment of geometry of the surface by calculations in the 4th para. :”the geometry of the surface of the freeform surface 6 is adjusted by appropriate calculations”; the mathematical equation is solve when the geometry of the surface gives the images in the illumination field a highlighted or shadowed logo 7 in fig.3 as disclosed in the 4th para.) an the light exit surfaces of said three dimensional single formed freeform lens optic (see 4th from the last para.: “The geometry of the surface of the free-form surface 6 is adapted by means of corresponding calculations so that the free-form surface 6 depicts a highlighted or shaded logo 7 in the illumination field 2.”).
Bynum in view of Griesinger, Castillo and Pastrick does not explicitly disclose establishing the entrance surface being a freeform lens optic.
Lo discloses wherein mathematical equation are solved to establish the light entrance (see the entrance surface of 10 in fig.2) and light exit surface (see the exit surface of 20 in fig.1) of a three dimensional single formed freeform lens optic (see 1 in figs.1 and 2, and para. [0019]: “the light-source side surface 10 and the image side surface 20 are designed according to mathematical expressions of freeform surfaces. “).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the entrance surface of Bynum in view of Griesinger, Castillo and Pastrick with the teaching of Lo so that the entrance and exit surfaces of the said three dimensional single formed lens optic are freeform surfaces determined by mathematical equations to enhance the versatility and quality the lens by executing precise control of the lens surface properties.
Claims 13, 18, 19, 30, 35, 36, 46, 51 and 52 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bynum (United States Patent Application Publication 2006/0092649 A1) in view of Griesinger (WO 2005035308 A1), Castillo (United States Patent Application Publication 2013/0223062 ), Pastrick (United States Patent Application Publication 2012/0320618 A1) and Tindall (WO 2006/047306 A1).
With respect to claim 13, 30 and 46, Bynum in view of Griesinger and Castillo discloses the vehicular illumination module of claims 1, 25 and 41, but does not disclose wherein the outer cover comprises a diffuse optic.
Tindall discloses using an outer cover (see fig.2) comprises diffuse optic (see 120 in fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle illumination of Bynum in view of Griesinger, Castillo and Pastrick with the teaching of Tindall so that the outer cover comprises a diffuse optic to facilitate control of the illumination by providing a functional light steering optic.
With respect to claims 18, 19, 35, 36, 51 and 52, Bynum in view of Griesinger, Castillo and Pastrick discloses the vehicular illumination module of claims 1, 25, and 41, but does not disclose wherein the portion of the vehicle comprises an exterior door handle assembly at a side of the vehicle and wherein the portion of the vehicle comprises a trim element of the vehicle.
Tindall disclose wherein the portion of the vehicle comprises an exterior door handle assembly at a side of the vehicle (see para.[0040]: “handle”) and wherein the portion of the vehicle comprises a trim element of the vehicle (para.[0038]: “Vehicle 200 may also include a LED/emissive puddle lamp 208 mounted in a trim strip of a vehicle on the vehicle door or an LED/emissive puddle lamp 210 located in a trim strip mounted on the body of the vehicle 200.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicular illumination module of Bynum in view of Griesinger, Castillo and Pastrick with the teaching of Tindall so that the portion of the vehicle comprises an exterior door handle assembly at a side of the vehicle and wherein the portion of the vehicle comprises a trim element of the vehicle to enhance visibility in a variety of location upon entering and exiting the vehicle by virtue of the placement of the vehicular illumination module.
Claims 22, 39 and 55 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bynum (United States Patent Application Publication 2006/0092649 A1) in view of Griesinger (WO 2005035308 A1), Castillo (United States Patent Application Publication 2013/0223062 ), Pastrick (United States Patent Application Publication 2012/0320618 A1) and He (CN 101754513 A).
With respect to claim 22, 39 and 55, Bynum in view of Griesinger, Castillo and Pastrick discloses the vehicular illumination module of claims 1, 25 and 41, but does not disclose wherein the illumination source, when operated to emit light, progressively powers up to a full illumination state, and wherein the illumination source, when deactivated from the full illumination state, progressively powers down to a non-illumination state.
He discloses wherein the illumination source, when operated to emit light, progressively powers up to a full illumination state, and wherein the illumination source, when deactivated from the full illumination state, progressively powers down to a non-illumination state (see the disclosure of utilizing of a soft-start and soft turn-off circuit for use in a LED drive chip under USE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Bynum in view of Griesinger, Castillo and Pastrick with the teaching of He so that the illumination source, when operated to emit light, progressively powers up to a full illumination state, and wherein the illumination source, when deactivated from the full illumination state, progressively powers down to a non-illumination state to reduce the risk of damage to the LED or other components by selective power management.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Pastrick discloses that the lamp light source illuminates a ground area adjacent the vehicle of approximately 2-foot by 4-foot with a light level of at least about 10 lux. However, Pastrick discloses that the signal light includes six LEDs. See Pastrick at Paragraph [0068]. Thus, at least because Pastrick uses six LEDs to achieve the illumination, Pastrick fails to disclose or suggest that with the vehicular illumination module attached at the portion of the vehicle and when the illumination source (including a single light emitting diode) is operated to emit light, the background illumination of the illuminated region includes illumination of at least 2 lux over a 600 mm by 1200 mm rectangular- shaped illuminated region, as claimed (collectively and in combination with the other claim elements).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Pastrick explicitly disclosed a single light source operated to emit light, the background illumination of the illuminated region includes illumination of at least 2 lux over a 600 mm by 1200 mm rectangular- shaped illuminated region, as claimed (see para.[0058]: “light source 126 is an incandescent lamp that is a filament optic having a minimum five-candle power. Such candle power mounted within an exterior mirror assembly of an automobile will preferably produce a ground surface illumination intensity of at least approximately 5 lux or greater, more preferably at least about 10 lux, and most preferably at least about 20 lux.”; para.[0068]: “the lamp light source illuminates an approximately 2-foot by 4-foot or thereabouts ground area adjacent the vehicle with a light level of at least about 10 lux and an average light level of approximately 40 lux. ”; also see the explicit disclosure of the puddle lamp function of 126 in combination with 130 in para.[0058]: “Cover member 130 is a lens member, which affects the distribution of light emitted from light source 126. In the illustrated embodiment, cover member 130 is a clear optic lens that provides a substantially uniform puddle of light on the illuminated area adjacent the vehicle's door having a relatively wide light pattern, or flood pattern.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the illumination module of Bynum in view of Griesinger and Castillo with the teaching of Pastrick so that the background illumination of the illuminated region comprises illumination of at least 2 lux over a 600 mm by 1200 mm rectangular-shaped illuminated region to enhance ground visibility thereby improving safety and convenience.
Conclusion
/JERRY L BROOKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882