DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
After further review, it has been determined that claims 1-20 do not include allowable subject matter over the prior art, and have been rejected as set forth below.
Drawings
The previous drawing objections has been overcome by the present claim amendments.
Specification
The previous drawing objections has been overcome by the present specification amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous 112 rejections have been overcome by the present claim amendments however other issues have become apparent.
Claims 6-7 and 16-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claims 6-7 and 16-17, it’s unclear if the “a biasing spring” is included or separate from the “one or more springs” in claims 1 and 13. For the purpose of examination “a biasing spring” is assumed to be a part of the “one or more spring” in the claims from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 11, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen US 20230135493 A1 (hereinafter Chen) in view of Galindo et al. US 5308131 A (hereinafter Galindo).
In regards to claim 1 Chen teaches an electronic door lock assembly, comprising: an interlock housing member (10A and 10B) that includes a latch receiving space (17), the interlock housing member housing an actuator (50, at least as pressing it would actuate the spring 70), a plunger (40), and a module (at least 30); wherein the plunger has channels (46) on an exterior of the plunger (see fig 2); wherein the actuator comprises a head member (main body of 50) and shoulder members (58) that extend outwardly from the head member (see fig 2); wherein each of the shoulder members is configured to engage a respective one of the channels (see fig 11); wherein the module is coupled to the plunger on a distal end (at 42) and the actuator is coupled to the plunger on a proximal end (right end wrt fig 12) thereof, and wherein activation of the module is configured to cause the plunger to translate within the interlock housing member to bias one or more springs (70 and/or 80) coupled to the plunger and actuator and translate the actuator within the latch receiving space to cause the shoulder members of the actuator to be moved along the channels (see fig 11, 58 would move along 46 in the case 50 is initially blocked from extending i.e. by the door jamb).
However, Chen is silent on an outer housing that includes a proximal face member, at least one opening, and an internal space.
Galindo teaches an outer housing (20) that includes a proximal face member (fac facing 30 wrt fig 4), at least one opening (21), and an internal space (space within 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided Chen with an outer housing that includes a proximal face member, at least one opening, and an internal space in order to allow for interchangeable face plates (Galindo abstract).
In regards to claim 2, Chen in view of Galindo teaches the electronic door lock assembly of claim 1, wherein the outer housing is configured to fit behind a strike plate of a door jamb (at least when considering to the left wrt Chen’s fig 19 as behind A6).
In regards to claim 3, Chen in view of Galindo teaches the electronic door lock assembly of claim 1, wherein a strike plate (Chen A6) is removably attachable to the proximal face member of the outer housing (at least indirectly, and as Galindo’s outer housing is removable).
In regards to claim 6, as best understood in light of previous 112 rejections, Chen in view of Galindo teaches the electronic door lock assembly of claim 1, wherein a biasing spring (Chen: 80) is wrapped around a portion (Chen: 48) of the plunger (Chen: see fig 7).
In regards to claim 7, as best understood in light of previous 112 rejections, Chen in view of Galindo teaches the electronic door lock assembly of claim 1, wherein a biasing spring (Chen: 80) is disposed within an interior portion of the proximal end of the plunger and is in communication with a portion of the actuator (Chen: see fig 7).
In regards to claim 8, Chenin view of Galindo teaches the electronic door lock assembly of claim 1, wherein the latch receiving space is configured to receive a portion of a door latch or latch bolt (Chen: 60, see fig 12).
In regards to claim 11, Chen in view of Galindo teaches the electronic door lock assembly of claim 1, wherein a power supply supplies power to the module (Chen: as the electric motor 30 is powered to move 50).
In regards to claim 20, Chen teaches a method of moving a door latch out of a door jamb, comprising the steps of: providing an electronic door lock comprising an interior housing member (10A and 10B), the interior housing member housing one or more springs (70 and/or 80), a plunger (40), a module (at least 30) coupled to a distal end of the plunger (see fig 2), and an actuator coupled to a proximal end of the plunger providing a power supply powering the module (Chen: as the electric motor 30 is powered to move 50); wherein the plunger has channels (46) on an exterior of the plunger (see fig 2); wherein the actuator comprises a head member (main body of 50) and shoulder members (58) that extend outwardly from the head member; wherein each of the shoulder members is configured to engage a respective one of the channels (see fig 11) and sending an electrical signal (controlling signal) to the module to activate the module and translate the plunger within the interior housing member (para 44) biasing the one or more springs such that the actuator translates within a latch receiving space and causes the shoulder members of the actuator to be moved along the channels (see fig 11, 58 would move along 46 in the case 50 is initially blocked from extending i.e. by the door jamb).
However, Chen is silent on an exterior housing member housing the interior housing.
Galindo teaches an outer housing (20) housing an interior housing (10)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided Chen with an outer housing that houses the interior housing in order to allow for interchangeable face plates (Galindo abstract).
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Galindo as applied to claims 1-3, 6-8, 11, and 20 above, and further in view of Picard US 20110203331 A1 (hereinafter Picard).
In regards to claim 4, Chen in view of Galindo teaches the electronic door lock assembly of claim 1.
However, Chen is silent if the module is a stepper motor.
Picard teaches a similar actuator(60) where the actuator could be any of a group, including stepper motors (para 27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have Chen’s module be a stepper motor as doing so would amount to "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (modules/actuators suitable for use in a locking device), with a reasonable expectation of success (successfully retracting the latch bolt) and involve only ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2141 III E).
In regards to claim 5, Chen in view of Galindo and Picard teaches the electronic door lock assembly of claim 4, wherein the stepper motor includes a driving member (Chen: rotor of 30) that is coupled to a coupling member (Chen: 31) that couples the driving member to the distal end of the plunger (Chen: see fig 2).
Claim(s) 9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Galindo as applied to claims 1-3, 6-8, 11, and 20 above, and further in view of Hawkins et al. US 5911460 A (hereinafter Hawkins).
In regards to claim 9, Chen in view of Galindo teaches the electronic door lock assembly of claim 1.
However, Chen is silent on if the module communicates with an electronic device capable of monitoring whether the electronic door assembly is in a locked configuration or an unlocked configuration.
Hawkins teaches the module (30) communicates with an electronic device capable (90 and/or 91) of monitoring whether the electronic door assembly is in a locked configuration or an unlocked configuration (Col 10 lines 31 – Col 10 line 50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the module communicates with an electronic device capable of monitoring whether the electronic door assembly is in a locked configuration or an unlocked configuration in Chen in order to stop the module when the plunger is at an end position (Hawkins Col 10 lines 31 – Col 10 line 50).
In regards to claim 12, Chen in view of Galindo teaches the electronic door lock assembly of claim 11.
However, Chen is silent on if the power supply includes an AC adaptor, a DC adaptor, a mains adaptor, a RFID power source, a battery, a rechargeable battery, or combinations thereof.
Hawkins teaches the use of batteries (Col 4 line 66 – Col 5 line 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have Chen’s power supply be batteries in order to prevent rewiring (Hawkins Col 4 line 66 – Col 5 line 4).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Galindo as applied to claims 1-3, 6-8, 11, and 20 above, and further in view of Caterino US 20180298640 A1 (hereinafter Caterino).
In regards to claim 10, Chen in view of Galindo teaches the electronic door lock assembly of claim 1.
However, Chen is silent on wherein the module communicates with a microprocessor configured to execute one or more commands and transmit signals to the module.
Caterino teaches a module (120) communicates with a microprocessor (described in para 98) configured to execute one or more commands and transmit signals to the module (para 93).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided Chen with a microprocessor configured to execute one or more commands and transmit signals to the module in order to provide a well-known and conventional way of controlling an electronic door lock assembly.
Claim(s) 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Galindo, Caterino and Picard.
In regards to claim 13, Chen teaches an electronic door lock assembly, comprising: an interlock housing member (10A and 10B) including an upper half (10B wrt fig 7) removably attachable to a lower half (10A), the interlock housing member including a latch receiving space (17) and configured to house an actuator (50, at least as pressing it would actuate the spring 70), one or more springs (70 and/or 80), a plunger (40), and a controller (“an electric circuit of a control unit A1” as described in para 44) in communication with a motor (30); wherein the plunger has channels on an exterior of the plunger (see fig 2); wherein the actuator comprises a head member (main body of 50) and shoulder members (58) that extend outwardly from the head member (see fig 2); wherein each of the shoulder members is configured to engage a respective one of the channels (see fig 11); a power supply for powering the motor (as the electric motor 30 is powered to move 50); wherein the motor is coupled to the plunger on a distal end and the actuator is coupled to the plunger on a proximal end thereof (see fig 2), and wherein activation of the motor is configured to cause the plunger to translate within the interlock housing member to bias at least one of the springs coupled to the plunger or actuator and translate the actuator within the latch receiving space to cause the shoulder members of the actuator to be moved along the channels (see fig 11, 58 would move along 46 in the case 50 is initially blocked from extending i.e. by the door jamb).
However, Chen is silent on an outer housing that includes a proximal face member, at least one opening, and an internal space.
Galindo teaches an outer housing (20) that includes a proximal face member (fac facing 30 wrt fig 4), at least one opening (21), and an internal space (space within 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided Chen with an outer housing that includes a proximal face member, at least one opening, and an internal space in order to allow for interchangeable face plates (Galindo abstract).
Additionally, Chen is silent on if the controller is a microprocessor.
Caterino teaches a microprocessor (described in para 98) configured to execute one or more commands and transmit signals to the module (para 93).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided Chen with a microprocessor in order to provide a well-known and conventional way of controlling an electronic door lock assembly.
Additionally, Chen is silent if the motor is a stepper motor.
Picard teaches a similar actuator (60) where the actuator could be any of a group, including stepper motors (para 27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have Chen’s module be a stepper motor as doing so would amount to "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (motors suitable for use in a locking device), with a reasonable expectation of success (successfully retracting the latch bolt) and involve only ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2141 III E).
In regards to claim 14, Chen in view of Galindo, Caterino, and Picard teaches the electronic door lock assembly of claim 13, wherein the outer housing is configured to fit behind a strike plate of a door jamb (at least when considering to the left wrt Chen’s fig 19 as behind A6).
In regards to claim 15, Chen in view of Galindo, Caterino, and Picard teaches the electronic door lock assembly of claim 13, wherein the stepper motor includes a driving member (Chen: rotor of 30) that is coupled to a coupling member (Chen: 31) that couples the driving member to the distal end of the plunger (Chen: see fig 2).
In regards to claim 16, as best understood in light of previous 112 rejections, Chen in view of Galindo, Caterino, and Picard teaches the electronic door lock assembly of claim 13, wherein a biasing spring (Chen: 80) is wrapped around a portion (Chen: 48) of the plunger (Chen: see fig 7).
In regards to claim 17, as best understood in light of previous 112 rejections, Chen in view of Galindo, Caterino, and Picard teaches the electronic door assembly of claim 13, wherein a biasing spring (Chen: 80) is disposed within an interior portion of the proximal end of the plunger and is in communication with a portion of the actuator (Chen: see fig 7).
In regards to claim 18, Chen in view of Galindo, Caterino, and Picard teaches the electronic door assembly of claim 13, wherein the latch receiving space is configured to receive a portion of a door latch or latch bolt (Chen: 60, see fig 12).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Galindo, Caterino, and Picard as applied to claims 13-18 above, and further in view of Hawkins.
In regards to claim 19, Chen in view of Galindo teaches the electronic door lock assembly of claim 13.
However, Chen is silent on if the microprocessor and stepper motor communicate with an electronic device capable of monitoring whether the electronic door assembly is in a locked configuration or an unlocked configuration.
Hawkins teaches the module (30) communicates with an electronic device capable (90 and/or 91) of monitoring whether the electronic door assembly is in a locked configuration or an unlocked configuration (Col 10 lines 31 – Col 10 line 50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the microprocessor and stepper motor communicate with an electronic device capable of monitoring whether the electronic door assembly is in a locked configuration or an unlocked configuration in Chen in order to stop the module when the plunger is at an end position (Hawkins Col 10 lines 31 – Col 10 line 50).
Conclusion
/PETER H WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3675