DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “first contact surface has a counterbore at a center” of claim 4; and “second contact surface has a radius of curvature equal to or greater than a length of a movable side electrode in a movable direction, the movable side electrode to which the movable side contact is attached” of claim 5; must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5, the phrase, “wherein the second contact surface has a radius of curvature equal to or greater than a length of a movable side electrode in a movable direction, the movable side electrode to which the movable side contact is attached” is unclear and leave doubts as to how these features are achieved.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Ren, US 20110186546.
Regarding claim 1, Ren discloses (figs.1-5) a vacuum interrupter comprising:
a vacuum insulation container (7);
a fixed side contact (1) provided in the vacuum insulation container (7); and
a movable side contact (2) provided in the vacuum insulation container (7) and configured to contact and separate from the fixed side contact (1), where
a first contact surface (4) of the movable side contact (2) configured to contact the fixed side contact (1) is planar, and a second contact surface (3) of the fixed side contact (1) configured to contact the movable side contact (2) is spherical protruding toward the movable side contact (2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of Kikuchi et al, US 20060081560 [Kikuchi].
Regarding claim 2, Ren discloses the claimed invention, but fails to explicitly disclose, wherein the fixed side contact and the movable side contact are made of a composite material containing tungsten carbide (WC), cobalt (Co), and silver (Ag).
Kikuchi discloses (figs.1-3) a vacuum interrupter (14) comprising:
a fixed side contact (1a) and a movable side contact (1b) made of a composite material containing tungsten carbide (WC), cobalt (Co), and silver (Ag) [para.0014].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the contact material of Ren with the teaching of the contact material of Kikuchi, thereby providing good conduction performance, sufficiently low surge voltage and good anti-welding performance.
Regarding claim 6, Ren fails to explicitly disclose a vacuum circuit breaker, comprising: the vacuum interrupter.
Kikuchi discloses (fgs.2-3) a vacuum circuit breaker, comprising a vacuum interrupter (14) [para.0037].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vacuum switch of Ren with the teaching of the vacuum circuit breaker of Kikuchi, thereby providing a vacuum interrupter exhibiting good conduction performance, sufficiently low surge voltage and good anti-welding performance.
Regarding claim 7, Ren fails to explicitly disclose a vacuum contactor, comprising: the vacuum interrupter.
Kikuchi discloses (fg.3) a vacuum contactor comprising a vacuum interrupter (14) [para.0037].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vacuum switch of Ren with the teaching of the vacuum contactor of Kikuchi, thereby providing a vacuum interrupter exhibiting good conduction performance, sufficiently low surge voltage and good anti-welding performance.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of Bolongeat-Mobleu et al, US 5726406 [Bolongeat-Mobleu].
Regarding claim 4, Ren fails to disclose wherein the first contact surface has a counterbore at a center.
Bolongeat-Mobleu discloses (figs.1-5) as best understood, a first contact surface (5a) having a counterbore (17) at a center.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the contacts of Ren with the teaching of the contacts of Bolongeat-Mobleu, thereby providing a contact surface producing an axial magnetic field in the arc formation zone, this magnetic field enabling the breaking capacity of the enclosure to be increased by generating diffusion of the arc and preventing any concentration of energy at a particular point.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, the prior art fails to teach or show, alone or in combination, the claimed vacuum interrupter, where the first contact surface is planar with a flatness of 0.1 mm or less.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Newinger, Schellekens et al, Ohara et al, Perreira et al, Seki et al and Slade are examples of vacuum interrupters configured similar to the present invention.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/WILLIAM A BOLTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833