DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Thompson et al. (US 2013/0067454).
Consider claim 1, Thompson et al. discloses a coordination unit for use with a plurality of distributed computing systems, each distributed computing system including storage network memory and at least one managing unit, the coordination unit comprising: at least one network interface; memory that stores operational instructions; and processing circuitry operably coupled to the at least one network interface and to the memory, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to execute the operational instructions to: receive, via the at least one network interface, a plurality of connection messages from a plurality of managing units associated with a plurality of different distributed computing systems; in response to receiving the plurality of connection messages, establishing connections between the coordination unit and the plurality of managing units; transmit, via the at least one network interface, a first coordination message to a first managing unit of the plurality of managing units, wherein the first coordination message includes at least one request specifying an information gathering task to be executed by a first distributed computing system associated with the first managing unit; receive, via the at least one network interface, a response from the first managing unit including information responsive to the first coordination message; and transmit, via the at least one network interface, a second coordination message to a second managing unit of the plurality of managing units, wherein the second coordination message includes information related to the information gathered by the first distributed computing system in response to the first coordination message (abstract, Fig. 1 and 2, [0008]-[0012], [0026], [0050], [0054], [0060], Thompson et al. discloses a distributed system that goes through multiple back and forth communications to establish whether a device needs an updated and how to perform it based on gathered information (Fig. 2). These communications are considered connection messages.).
Consider claim 2, Thompson et al. discloses the coordination unit of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first coordination message or the second coordination message further includes software update information (abstract, Fig. 1 and 2, [0008]-[0012], [0026], [0050], [0054], [0060], Thompson et al. discloses that the discloses process is based around updating software.).
Consider claim 3, Thompson et al. discloses the coordination unit of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first coordination message or the second coordination message includes at least one of: a software patch, a software upgrader payload, an updated configuration parameter, updated authentication information, updated security information or updated billing information (abstract, Fig. 1 and 2, [0008]-[0012], [0026], [0050], [0054], [0060], Thompson et al. discloses that the discloses process is based around updating software.).
Consider claim 4, Thompson et al. discloses the coordination unit of claim 1, wherein the plurality of connection messages initiate the connections between the first managing unit and the coordination unit and the second managing unit and the coordination unit (abstract, Fig. 1 and 2, [0008]-[0012], [0026], [0050], [0054], [0060], Thompson et al. discloses that the back and forth communications establish connections among the devices for determining whether an update is needed and how to perform it.).
Consider claim 5, Thompson et al. discloses the coordination unit of claim 1, wherein the plurality of managing units perform management services for the plurality of distributed computing systems and the coordination unit coordinates gathering information from the plurality of distributed computing systems (abstract, Fig. 1 and 2, [0008]-[0012], [0026], [0050], [0054], [0060], Thompson et al. discloses that the discloses process is based around updating software.).
Consider claim 6, Thompson et al. discloses the coordination unit of claim 1, wherein the information gathering task includes collecting logs for a storage network memory associated with the first managing unit (abstract, Fig. 1 and 2, [0008]-[0012], [0026], [0050], [0054], [0060], Thompson et al. discloses collecting information for network devices.).
Consider claim 7, Thompson et al. discloses the coordination unit of claim 1, wherein establishing a connection between the coordination unit and a managing unit includes requiring, by the coordination unit, authentication of the managing unit (abstract, Fig. 1 and 2, [0008]-[0012], [0026], [0050], [0054], [0060], Thompson et al. discloses discovering the devices in the system and whether they need updates.).
Consider claim 8, Thompson et al. discloses a coordination unit for use with a plurality of distributed computing systems, each distributed computing system including storage network memory and at least one managing unit, the coordination unit comprising: at least one network interface; memory that stores operational instructions; and processing circuitry operably coupled to the at least one network interface and to the memory, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to execute the operational instructions to: establish connections with at least a first managing unit of a first distributed computing system and a second managing unit of a second distributed computing system, wherein the connections support coordination messages; transmit, via the at least one network interface, a first coordination message to a first managing unit of the plurality of managing units, wherein the first coordination message includes at least one request specifying an information gathering task to be executed by a first distributed computing system associated with the first managing unit; receive, via the at least one network interface, a response from the first managing unit including information responsive to the information gathering task; and transmit, via the at least one network interface, a second coordination message to a second managing unit of the plurality of managing units, wherein the second coordination message includes information related to the information gathered by the first distributed computing system in response to the information gathering task (abstract, Fig. 1 and 2, [0008]-[0012], [0026], [0050], [0054], [0060], Thompson et al. discloses a distributed system that goes through multiple back and forth communications to establish whether a device needs an updated and how to perform it based on gathered information (Fig. 2). These communications are considered connection messages.).
Consider claim 9, Thompson et al. discloses the coordination unit of claim 8, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to execute the operational instructions to: obtain software update information applicable to the first distributed computing system or the second distributed computing system, wherein at least one of the first coordination message or the second coordination message further includes the software update information (abstract, Fig. 1 and 2, [0008]-[0012], [0026], [0050], [0054], [0060], Thompson et al. discloses that the discloses process is based around updating software.).
Consider claim 10, Thompson et al. discloses the coordination unit of claim 8, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to execute the operational instructions to: transmit, via the at least one network interface, a third coordination message to the first managing unit or the second managing unit, the third coordination message including software update information applicable to the first distributed computing system or the second distributed computing system (abstract, Fig. 1 and 2, [0008]-[0012], [0026], [0050], [0054], [0060], Thompson et al. discloses that the discloses process is based around updating software.).
Consider claim 11, Thompson et al. discloses the coordination unit of claim 8, wherein the information gathering task includes collecting and returning an activity log for a storage network memory associated with the first managing unit (abstract, Fig. 1 and 2, [0008]-[0012], [0026], [0050], [0054], [0060], Thompson et al. discloses collecting information for network devices.).
Consider claim 12, Thompson et al. discloses the coordination unit of claim 8, wherein establishing a connection between the coordination unit and a particular managing unit includes requiring, by the coordination unit, authentication of the particular managing unit (abstract, Fig. 1 and 2, [0008]-[0012], [0026], [0050], [0054], [0060], Thompson et al. discloses discovering the devices in the system and whether they need updates.).
Consider claim 13, Thompson et al. discloses the coordination unit of claim 12, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to execute the operational instructions to: store at least a fingerprint of a public key associated with the first managing unit or the second managing unit (abstract, Fig. 1 and 2, [0008]-[0012], [0026], [0050], [0054], [0060], Thompson et al. discloses store reports that includes availability, success or failure, status information and other information.).
Consider claim 14, Thompson et al. discloses a method for use by a coordination unit for a plurality of distributed computing systems, each distributed computing system including storage network memory and at least one managing unit, the method comprising: establishing, by the coordination unit, connections with at least a first managing unit of a first distributed computing system and a second managing unit of a second distributed computing system, wherein the connections support coordination messages; transmitting, by the coordination unit, a first coordination message to the first managing unit, wherein the first coordination message includes at least one request specifying an information gathering task to be executed by the first distributed computing system; receiving, by the coordination unit, a response from the first managing unit, the response including information responsive to the information gathering task; and transmitting, by the coordination unit, a second coordination message to the second managing unit, wherein the second coordination message includes information related to the information gathered by the first distributed computing system in response to the first coordination message (abstract, Fig. 1 and 2, [0008]-[0012], [0026], [0050], [0054], [0060], Thompson et al. discloses a distributed system that goes through multiple back and forth communications to establish whether a device needs an updated and how to perform it based on gathered information (Fig. 2). These communications are considered connection messages.).
Consider claim 15, Thompson et al. discloses the method of claim 14, further comprising: obtaining, by the coordination unit, software update information applicable to the first distributed computing system and the second distributed computing system, wherein at least one of the first coordination message or the second coordination message further includes the software update information (abstract, Fig. 1 and 2, [0008]-[0012], [0026], [0050], [0054], [0060], Thompson et al. discloses that the discloses process is based around updating software.).
Consider claim 16, Thompson et al. discloses the method of claim 14, wherein at least one of the first coordination message or the second coordination message includes at least one of: a software patch, a software upgrader payload, an updated configuration parameter, updated authentication information, updated security information or updated billing information (abstract, Fig. 1 and 2, [0008]-[0012], [0026], [0050], [0054], [0060], Thompson et al. discloses that the discloses process is based around updating software.).
Consider claim 17, Thompson et al. discloses the method of claim 14, wherein establishing connections with at least a first managing unit and a second managing unit includes: receiving, by the coordination unit, a first connection message from the first managing unit and a second connection message from the second managing unit (abstract, Fig. 1 and 2, [0008]-[0012], [0026], [0050], [0054], [0060], Thompson et al. discloses that the back and forth communications establish connections among the devices for determining whether an update is needed and how to perform it.).
Consider claim 18, Thompson et al. discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the information gathering task includes collecting an activity log for a storage network memory associated with the first managing unit (abstract, Fig. 1 and 2, [0008]-[0012], [0026], [0050], [0054], [0060], Thompson et al. discloses collecting information for network devices.).
Consider claim 19, Thompson et al. discloses the method of claim 14, wherein establishing connections with at least a first managing unit and a second managing unit includes authenticating the first managing unit and the second managing unit (abstract, Fig. 1 and 2, [0008]-[0012], [0026], [0050], [0054], [0060], Thompson et al. discloses discovering the devices in the system and whether they need updates.).
Consider claim 20, Thompson et al. discloses the method of claim 19, further comprising: storing, by the coordination unit, at least a fingerprint of a public key associated with the first managing unit (abstract, Fig. 1 and 2, [0008]-[0012], [0026], [0050], [0054], [0060], Thompson et al. discloses store reports that includes availability, success or failure, status information and other information.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant first argues that nowhere does Thompson describe connection messages, which are messages whose receipt causes a system to establish a connection. However, any successful messaging back and forth is causing a connection to be established for achieving a particular goal and in this case its connecting back and forth to determine whether a device needs to be updated. The term: “establishing a connection” is broad enough to include this type of interaction.
Next, the applicant argues that the Thompson reference one relates to a single distributed system. However, Thompson teaches in [0008] and [0010] that the orchestrator can have multiple plugins that operate with different types of distributed systems and can include mechanisms for communicating with the plugins and may reconfigure the plugins when the system is reconfigured or improved.
Further, the applicant argues that the Thompson reference contains no disclosure of information transmitted from one device to another for their use. However, as stated in the rejection above, Thompson teaches that communication/connecting back and forth to collection and use information to establish and implement an updated to a device.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL ALSIP whose telephone number is (571)270-1182. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9-5.
/MICHAEL ALSIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2139