DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This action is written in response to applicant’s correspondence received 09/28/2026. Claims 1-25 are currently pending. Claims 20-25 are withdrawn from prosecution pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention and claims 15-19 are withdrawn from prosecution pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Accordingly, claims 1-14 are examined herein.
The restriction requirement mailed 07/28/2026 is still deemed proper. Applicant's elected the invention of Group I without traverse in the reply filed 09/28/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 11 are objected to for the following minor informalities:
Claim 1 is drawn to an antisense oligonucleotide for inhibiting expression of a gene encoding “Cav3.12”. This appears to be a typographical error. A search of the art did not locate a gene by that name, and the specification indicates (e.g. on p. 5 at lines 20-22) that the target gene is intended to be Cav3.1, not Cav3.12. Amending the term to “Cav3.1[[2]]” would obviate this objection.
Claim 2 recites “SEQ IOD NO:1”, which is a typographical error. Amending the term to “SEQ I[[O]]D NO: 1” would obviate this objection.
Claim 3 recites, “the antisense molecule is DNA, RNA, or DNA/RNA chimeric nucleic acid molecule” etc. This is grammatically incorrect because it lacks an article before the species of molecule(s). Amending the claim to recite, “the antisense molecule is a DNA, RNA, or DNA/RNA chimeric nucleic acid molecule” would obviate this objection.
Claim 4 recites, “oligonucleotide comprises nucleic acid sequence”. This is grammatically incorrect because it lacks an article. Amending the claim to recite either “a” nucleic acid sequence or “the” nucleic acid sequence would obviate this objection.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant' s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Certified copies of the priority documents have been received from the International Bureau, as of 01/14/2025, with an availability date of 08/17/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 is indefinite over the phrase “comprises nucleic acid sequence”. The phrase lacks an article, i.e., “a” or “the” nucleic acid sequence. The choice of article materially affects the interpretation of the claim. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “a nucleic acid sequence” of SEQ ID NO: 20/21 comprises any sequence of two or more consecutive nucleotides present in the recited sequences. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “the nucleic acid sequence” of SEQ ID NO: 20/21 comprises the entirety of the recited sequences. Absent a clarifying article, it is not clear which interpretation should apply. As a result, the ordinary artisan would not be apprised of the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
In the interests of customer service and compact prosecution, the claim will be examined as if encompassing both interpretations.
Amending the claim to add either “a” or “the” before “nucleic acid sequence” would obviate this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a product of nature without significantly more.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis:
Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? (MPEP 2106.03.II)
The claim is to a composition of matter, which is an antisense oligonucleotide capable of inhibiting expression of a gene encoding Cav3.1 (a.k.a., CACNA1G; see p. 7 ln 21-25). The claim is eligible at Step 1.
Step 2A Prong 1: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, product of nature or natural phenomenon? (MPEP 2106.04.II.A.1)
The claim recites a product of nature, which is an antisense oligonucleotide capable of inhibiting expression of a gene encoding Cav3.1/CACNA1G.
Because the claim recites a product of nature, the judicial exception is subject to the markedly different characteristics analysis, which asks whether the product of nature is markedly different from its closest naturally occurring counterpart (MPEP 2106.04(c)).
In the instant case, the claim recites an antisense oligonucleotide targeting the nucleic acid sequence represented by SEQ ID NO: 1 for inhibiting expression of a gene encoding Cav3.1.
The specification defines the term “oligonucleotide” as including, “double-stranded or single-stranded DNA and double-stranded or single-stranded RNA” (p. 13 ln 8-13). This is interpreted as including naturally occurring structures such as microRNAs, which may exist in double-stranded form but also include single-stranded guide and passenger strands.
The functional limitation of “inhibiting expression” of a gene, in the context of an antisense oligonucleotide, is interpreted as conferring a structural requirement for antisense, i.e., complementary base-pairing with a target sequence sufficient to inhibit expression via any known gene silencing mechanism.
The closest known naturally occurring counterpart of the claimed composition is microRNA-137. Per Zhang, miR-137 is a microRNA which targets Cav3.1 (Title and Figure 8(A), which shows the binding sequences of miR-137 to the CACNA1G/Cav3.1 3’ UTR)(Zhang et al. miR-137 and its target T-type CaV3.1 channel modulate dedifferentiation and proliferation of cerebrovascular smooth muscle cells in simulated microgravity rats by regulating calcineurin/NFAT pathway. Cell Prolif. 2020; 53:e12774.). As seen in Figure 8, miR-127 targets a region of the 3’ UTR of CACNA1G/Cav3.1 having the sequence 5’-GAGCTGTTGGGAGAAAGCAATAC-3’ via the microRNA’s complementary 5’-UUAUUGCU-3’ seed sequence. It is relevant to note that positions 1182-1203 of SEQ ID NO: 1 (5’-AGCTGTTGGGAGAAAGCAATAC-3’) comprise the target region for miR-137. There are no further structural limitations which differentiate the claimed oligonucleotide from miR-137. Thus, the claim is ineligible at Step 2A Prong 1.
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? (MPEP 2106.04.II.A.2, MPEP 2106.04(d))
The claim does not recite any additional elements, and thus does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claim is ineligible at Step 2A Prong 2.
Step 2B: Do the additional elements amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
The claim does not recite any additional elements, and thus does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 2, the term “capable of hybridizing to the nucleic acid sequence of SEQ IOD [sic] NO: 1” is interpreted as requiring the oligonucleotide to be capable of the “formation of hydrogen bonds, also known as Watson-Crick bonds between complementary bases, on two strands of nucleic acid to form a double helix duplex or triplex” (per p. 14 ln 13-16). This is not interpreted as particularly limiting the length of the oligonucleotide beyond that required to form a stable duplex. Typically, ‘miRNAs down-regulate genes, so called target genes, by binding to the 3’ UTR of the respective targets…The binding has however not to be perfect across the whole mature miRNA sequence: in mammals it is dominated by the so-called seed region…This seed region at the 5’ end of the mature miRNA consists of eight nucleotides.” (Kehl et al. About miRNAs, miRNA seeds, target genes and target pathways. Oncotarget, 2017, Vol. 8, (No. 63), pp: 107167-107175.; p. 107167). Thus, in the context of miRNA-target interactions, the minimal requirement for oligonucleotide length and complementary to SEQ ID NO: 1 is 8 nucleotides. miR-127 has a seed region which is capable of hybridizing to a portion of the nucleic acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 (see Figure 8), and is 23 nucleotides long (Id.), which is within the claimed range of 11 to 30 nucleotides. The structure of the claimed oligonucleotide is not markedly different from that of miR-127, and the claim is ineligible at Step 2A Prong 1.
Regarding claim 3, miR-127 is an RNA molecule, as recited in the claim. The structure of the claimed oligonucleotide is not markedly different from that of miR-127, and the claim is ineligible at Step 2A Prong 1.
Regarding claim 4, the claim is indefinite as already described above. However, under the interpretation that the oligonucleotide comprises “a” sequence of SEQ ID NO: 20 or 21, i.e., any two or more nucleotides present in SEQ ID NO: 20 or 21, the sequence of miR-127 comprises those elements at least as follows:
mir-127: UUAUUGCUUAAGAAUACGCGUAG
SEQ ID NO: 21: TATTGCTTTCTCCCAACAGC
SEQ ID NO: 20: GTCAGTCCTTATTGCTGCCT
The structure of the claimed oligonucleotide is not markedly different from that of miR-127, and the claim is ineligible at Step 2A Prong 1.
Regarding claim 14, the broadest reasonable interpretation of a pharmaceutical composition includes the antisense oligonucleotide in a water solution. This would not result in a structural change in the oligonucleotide, and thus does not cause the oligonucleotide to have markedly different characteristics from the naturally occurring miR-127 molecule. The claim is ineligible at Step 2A Prong 1.
Regarding the intended use for the composition as for treating Parkinson’s disease: During examination, statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether or not the recited purpose or intended use results in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art (MPEP 211.02). If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention' s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction (Id.). Further, “a preamble generally is not limiting when the claim body describes a structurally complete invention such that deletion of the preamble phrase does not affect the structure or steps of the claimed invention” (Id.). In the instant case, the body of the claim fully sets forth a structurally complete oligonucleotide, and the preamble phrase does not affect the structure of the oligonucleotide. Therefore, the intended use of the dsRNA is not considered limiting, does not result in any markedly different structural characteristics between the claimed oligonucleotide and miR-127, and is not given patentable weight in this analysis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (cited above).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches an antisense oligonucleotide (miR-127) targeting the nucleic acid sequence represented by SEQ ID NO: 1 for inhibiting the expression of a gene encoding Cav3.12 (Title, Figure 8). As seen in Figure 8, miR-127 targets a region of the 3’ UTR of CACNA1G/Cav3.1 having the sequence 5’-GAGCTGTTGGGAGAAAGCAATAC-3’ via a 5’-UUAUUGCU-3’ seed sequence, where the seed sequence is complementary to the underlined portion of the 3’ UTR sequence fragment, as shown above. It is relevant to note that positions 1182-1203 of SEQ ID NO: 1 ((5’-AGCTGTTGGGAGAAAGCAATAC-3’) comprises the target region for miR-137.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches wherein the seed region of miR-127 is capable of hybridizing to the corresponding portion of the nucleic acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 as already described in the rejection of the claim under 35 USC 101, above.
Regarding claim 3, Zhang teaches wherein miR-127 is an RNA molecule (also see the above rejection under 35 USC 101).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang teaches wherein miR-127 comprises a nucleic acid sequence of SEQ ID NOs: 20 and/or 21 (also see the above rejection under 35 USC 101).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 5-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (cited above), as applied to claims 1-4 above, in view of Abewe (Abewe et al. Use of GapmeRs for gene expression knockdowns in human primary resting CD4+ T cells. Immunol Methods. 2020 January ; 476: 112674.) and Papargyri (Papargyri et al. Chemical Diversity of Locked Nucleic Acid-Modified Antisense Oligonucleotides Allows Optimization of Pharmaceutical Properties. Mol Ther Nucleic Acids. 2019 Dec 18;19:706–717.).
Zhang teaches the antisense oligonucleotide of claim 1, from which the instantly rejected claims depend, as described above.
Zhang does not teach wherein the antisense oligonucleotide is a gapmer (relevant to claim 11), wherein said gapmer has an RNA unit of 3-7 nt at each end and 8-12 nt of DNA between the RNA units (relevant to claim 12), and/or wherein the antisense oligonucleotide comprises phosphorothioate (PS) backbone substitutions (relevant to claim 5) and/or 2’-OH sugar substitutions, including LNAs (relevant to claims 6-10), and/or wherein it is in a pharmaceutical composition (relevant to claim 14).
However, Zhang does teach knocking down Cav3.1 with an antisense oligonucleotide which is either siRNA or miRNA (see Table 1).
Abewe teaches that, “GapmeRs present advantages over other commonly used synthetic molecules for knockdown, such as small interfering RNA (siRNA) due to their small size and stability. In addition, GapmeRs exhibit strand specificity, which reduces off-target activity.”
Papargyri teaches gapmer design strategies for optimization of pharmaceutical properties. Papargyri teaches that the, “identification of active gapmer hits has historically been based on the so-called gene walk strategy, where many different regions along the RNA are targeted by gapmers” (p. 706). Typical gapmer architectures include, “gapmers employing three or four locked nucleic acid (LNA) modifications in each flank, the 3-10-3 or 4-8-4 LNA designs” (Id.). It is noted that either architecture meets the limitations of claims 11 and 12 (with regard to the number and placement of RNA and DNA units), and claims 8-10 (regarding at least 33% of the total nucleotides being the flanking LNAs). Further, Papagyri teaches that, “combining LNA and 2’-O-methyl (20-OMe) sugar modifications can lead to reduced cellular protein binding to gapmers with full phosphorothioate backbones and mitigate toxicity in HeLa cells and in mice” (p. 714).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang’s Cav3.1 knockdown strategy by trying gapmers targeting the Cav3.1 coding sequence, including the portion comprising SEQ ID NO: 1. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to switch to gapmers from siRNA based on Abewe’s teachings that gapmers present advantages over siRNA. The ordinary artisan would further have been motivated to use a 3-10-3 or 4-8-4 LNA gapmer design with combined 2’-O-methyl and LNA modifications with full PS backbones to reduce cellular protein binding and toxicity for in vivo studies of Cav3.1’s physiological role, and to incorporate the gapmer into a pharmaceutical composition suitable for said in vivo studies. Regarding claim 14, as noted in the rejection of the claims under 35 USC 101 above, the intended use stated in the preamble of the claim (“for treating Parkinson’s disease”) is not considered limiting for the purposes of comparison to the prior art. Therefore, insofar as the prior art teaches the required structural elements of the oligonucleotide and pharmaceutical composition, it anticipates or renders obvious the claimed invention.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed at this time.
/AMANDA M ZAHORIK/Examiner, Art Unit 1636
/BRIAN WHITEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1636